Round 5 - Richmond v West Coast

Disgraceful thing to hope for.

Maybe it will be one of the many many other players who goes in low?

Someone like Murphy who dives, stages and drops the knees? Hope not.

Some video evidence please. 2012 if possible

Please direct me to where I hoped this would happen?

Quite the opposite, I simply think it's a ridiculously daft thing to do and is going to end very badly for one of these players. I have never seen Murphy do anything like what I've seen Eagles players doing these past few weeks. It's not going in low, it's leading with the most important part of your body to gain an advantage in a game.
Then you musn't watch Carlton play?

One of the worst head duckers not to mention stagers in the game.

Finally the game is over was getting sick of watching the Richmond players diving everywhere would of watched a Man Utd game if I wanted to see that sort of shit.

Had to put up with the diving chuckers Hawks last week can't wait until we a break from playing all these Victorian cheats.

Can't believe people are saying the Schofield free kick for the tackle was soft. You CANNOT lift a player off of the ground and spin him into the ground on his head.

That one was most certainly soft. He barely lifted him at all. If that's the type of thing that is going to be a free kick I'll stop watching the game. Piss weak call by the ump.

Can't believe people are saying the Schofield free kick for the tackle was soft. You CANNOT lift a player off of the ground and spin him into the ground on his head.

That being said, I would not be surprised if most of the Eagles players wind up with serious neck problems in their later careers. It is absolutely disgraceful how they can get away with what they do. No they aren't the only ones who do it, but most other teams only have 1-2 players who do it. Eagles have their whole midfield, and most of their flankers. It is blatant!

Selwoods, Hams and Shuey are the only ones who do it. Whole midfield? Please :rolleyes:

Enjoy your 1-4 start

Port Adelaide v Richmond next week @ AAMI Stadium will be a ripper I reckon!

Both sides have been great and have pushed better teams right to the final quarter without much luck.

It'll be hot in the kitchen next Sunday, both teams will pencil in a win :thumbsu:

We will smash Port.

Good game of footy. Glad my boys battled till the bitter end. WC just too poised and classy. Kerr is a machine.

How has this thread deteriorated into an umpire whinge fest. Can't we all just appreciate a hard fought, tight contest anymore?

Some serious offended in this thread taking away from what was a great game of footy. :thumbsu:

Jack Darling steps up whenever the team needs him; so impressive for a second year player.

I want to bring myself to say that it looks like the Tigers are on the way up but I've heard the line before too many times. Put up a great show today regardless.

Then you musn't watch Carlton play?

One of the worst head duckers not to mention stagers in the game.
Hahah now you're acting like a petulant child. You have no counter argument to what I just said and are trying to get me to react angrily. Insult Murphy all you want but just know that it's going to be near impossible for the Eagles to shake the branding of 'Duckers'.

I honestly couldn't care less about the result as I tipped West Coast but what I don't like seeing is that passage of play on the wing, late in the last quarter that just about summed up why the Eagles are the most criticised.

Hahah now you're acting like a petulant child. You have no counter argument to what I just said and are trying to get me to react angrily. Insult Murphy all you want but just know that it's going to be near impossible for the Eagles to shake the branding of 'Duckers'.

I honestly couldn't care less about the result as I tipped West Coast but what I don't like seeing is that passage of play on the wing, late in the last quarter that just about summed up why the Eagles are the most criticised.
Not angry at all, excited by the win.

Just a statement of fact to illustrate your hypocrisy.

Well done Weagles, you've got a great team there.
And well done Tiges for showing up and keeping on fighting to the end :thumbsu:
Great game and umpiring wasn't a factor

So much negativity in this thread - ridiculous. High pressure game from start to finish and a joy to watch. Umps made mistakes and so did the players but the positives far outweigh it. Kerr put on a masterclass. Great win Eagles, it stings but **** it, the Tigers are heading in the right direction :thumbsu:

Good game of footy. Glad my boys battled till the bitter end. WC just too poised and classy. Kerr is a machine.

How has this thread deteriorated into an umpire whinge fest. Can't we all just appreciate a hard fought, tight contest anymore?

Classy responses here.
I ask myself the same question. There are games that are strongly influenced by umpiring decisions but today wasn't one of them. It was a magnificent game. I was waiting for the Tigers to fall away but they didn't give an inch.
But there are sheep on here who just need something to cry about, generally they take their cues from the media.
Regarding the ducking issue, Hams tried it a few times in the last and none of them were paid, and I'm glad because I don't like it.
But I find it amusing how every head high or in the back free that the eagles get now, is due to ducking, according to the BF think tank.
Me thinks a few in here lost some cash today.

Also, the Tigers draw is a joke. Very tough start.

Not angry at all, excited by the win.

Just a statement of fact to illustrate your hypocrisy.
First you claimed I had hoped for players to get serious injuries and then started attacking players who play for the team I support. Seems a little mad. I still can't see this hypocrisy you speak of you just made a statement with no evidence to back it up.

Murphy first free kick last week http://www.gameanalyser.afl.com.au/?round=1089&match=10340502&eventType=free&seek=692&videoQuality=high flopped straight forward to get the free kick, raised the arm to try and win the free kick as Dennis mentioned.

Second free kick http://www.gameanalyser.afl.com.au/?round=1089&match=10340502&eventType=free&seek=2468&videoQuality=high gathered, leaned straight into the tackle, that's a Selwood special. Not isolated incidents for Murphy, he's a serial offender at attempting to win free kicks. And good on him, the rules allow it.

We are finally on the way up- pushed some very good sides to the brink- still no cigar but I can feel it coming (Knocking off top 4-6 sides).

A few things cost us the game today. Dusty had three very gettable goals and missed, Jack missed that soda in the last (as well as that easy one earlier in the game when he tried to hook it through instead of just using a normal drop punt!!) and why we subbed out Ellis for Matty White blew my mind when sitting there at the ground and it came up on the scoreboard.

We are definately making up ground fellow Tigers, have never been so certain that we will get there.

We are finally on the way up- pushed some very good sides to the brink- still no cigar but I can feel it coming (Knocking off top 4-6 sides).

A few things cost us the game today. Dusty had three very gettable goals and missed, Jack missed that soda in the last (as well as that easy one earlier in the game when he tried to hook it through instead of just using a normal drop punt!!) and why we subbed out Ellis for Matty White blew my mind when sitting there at the ground and it came up on the scoreboard.

We are definately making up ground fellow Tigers, have never been so certain that we will get there.

Richmond were solid today, they just lacked polish. Make no mistake, West Coast were going full tilt.

Richmond also missed a lot of kickable goals throughout that game. Convert a couple more of those and we have a different result.
There really was hardly anything separating the two teams today, and the loser was always going to be unlucky.

Was a great game to watch- the deciders were probably a combination of Kerr lifting and Reiwoldt making a couple of howlers in that final term.

Really feel for Hardwick- the Tiges are probably about the fourth best side in the competition at the moment on form- they need to hold that form because things will open up for them fixture wise very shortly. They will make a mess of port next week.

Does anyone know what odds Richmond are paying to make the finals? Looking at their second half of the year draw, they should come home like a steam train.

I'm going to roll my eyes if I hear Hardwick say "An honourable loss isn't good enough".

Richmond should even be thinking about winning and losing. They should be thinking improvement and getting all ducks in a row. Last week Geelong were a bit flat but today they Eagles were playing their A game.

Surely Richmond must be thinking they're on the right path to being a contender. That's all that matters.

Thank god someone with a bit of perspective. We are not ready to Challenge yet our entire back line are under 50 game players and half of them have played 13 games or less. This year was always just about improvement for me, and we have seen plenty of that so far. Next year we should be placing expectation on the squad.

Shame there is so much focusing on the umpiring. I watched it with a Richmond mate, we both agree there were some dodgy ones payed but overall the umpring was fine. I thought it was a great game to watch.

I thought that was some of the better footy we've played this year and Richmond were super close to winning the game. They should be very happy with how they are playing and I expect big things from them second half of the season, setting them up for next year.

Round 5 - Richmond v West Coast