Autopsy Round 6, 2023 : Positives and Negatives v Port Adelaide

Whirlpool conversation now, I'm out.
one of us GIF

Mate, if my aunt had balls, she'd be my uncle. Whatever. The trade was done. Was it worth it? I don’t think so, but it is what it is. It’s not a question of whether he’s doing okay in coaches’ votes etc but what the team might look like if we’d never done the deal. We’ll never know the answer to that. In any case, he had a good game today…

Yeah we’d be tearing it up with cooper stephens.

Positives +

• The club done well to match them in contested possessions and Port are a strong contested side.
  • Also we did well in matching them in clearances.
  • Great effort from the team overall.
  • Much better tactically with ball movement and gameplan than the stale 2022 gameplan.
  • Pretty good first term and second half.
  • BBBW great in the ruck and around the ground. Hopefully he can keep this up for the rest of the year. Was pretty good against better rucks earlier on.
  • Kelly in AA form. No doubt the BODES shafted us but he's starting to prove to be an astute recruit. Will be important in leading newer players coming in.
  • Allen tried and had an potential AA form Aliir on him. Done well considering how bad the delivery is and lack of class the team has due to being forced to select WAFL standard players. Still should've kicked at least four.
  • Darling although quiet, he still bought the ball to ground competing against two or three Port defenders. Took a lot of heat off Allen or Waterman. Looks injured though.
  • Waterman worked hard as always and was at linking up around the ground and competed well in the ruck. Kicked two goals with one miss he should've gotten. In the past years when he has gone missing, the work rate was there but now he's become more smarter with his hard work and it's paying off.
  • Barrass held the backline together with his intercept marking. Gave Finlayson a bath which frustrated him with one his goals coming against Barrass. Nice to see him starting to rediscover his second halff 2022 form.
  • Jones continuously ran lines and maneuvered nicely. Still the odd lack of polish though but continued to provide drive the team lacked last year.
  • SPS showed class and great evasiveness. Showed why he was pick 6 in the 2016 national draft and is proving to be an astute pickup for cheap.
  • Hunt was good with his run as usual.
  • Bazzo looked good when he came on. Helped steadied the defense when the team needed an extra tall down back. Will get better as the season goes on.
  • Culley was a beast up forward with four goals. With Culley forward, the team gets a benefit of a small forwards crumbing and pressure abilities but a Key Forwards size and aerial presence. Shown some forward smarts as in not going after the same ball as Allen, Darling and Waterman. Was brave out there.
  • Ginbey tackled well and was pretty good.
  • Witherden was solid defensively and kicked well.
  • Still in potential contention for Harley Reid.

Meh =

= Clark was alright, although still not a wingman.
= Shuey before injury was working hard, getting into spots except for his one uncharacteristic brain fart.
= Gaff despite having 32 touches, lacked any hurt factor and lacks penetration or depth in his kicks. But he was pretty good as a defensive mid.
= West also tried as well and was pretty decent inside at times.
= Foley was alright with his rebounding and lockdown work.
= Trew showed something but went missing at times.

Negatives -

-
Team lacks class when delivering it inside 50 which is expected when you have 26 players to choose from and some of them being WAFL standard at best.
  • Accuracy was poor at times. Gettable goals gone begging. It was one of the features of a prime WCE team is our accurate goal kicking. JK gone will leave a huge void. Allen though has a beautiful set shot technique though and hopefully will get more consistent with time.
  • Team decided to put the parking brake in the second quarter just like last week. Costed us the game again.
  • Petch to me did not look good. He was too fumbly and burnt a few teammates at times. Did improve on the second half though.
  • Rotham got exposed against a bigger opponent in Finlayson. Seems to have been asked to play as our number one KPD (while Barrass plays as the second KPD and zones off) which he isn't. He's a third KPD at best but even then he's more of an oversized flanker being asked to play KPD. Should be tried on the wing instead of Clark as he has the leg speed to do it (he's got more leg speed than Clark who's pretty slow).
  • Shuey's injury was unlucky. If it were a hammy then I would've agreed with posters on the gameday thread that he's cooked and should retire like Glass in his final year. He should be fine even though he may miss a few weeks again. If he gets another hammy then it has to be all over for him. If it's actually a hammy and not an ankle then get ready for The wily weagle epic meltdown, I can't wait to see.
  • Inconsistent umpiring especially with HTB.

Final thoughts.

Great effort for the team. However if we had a fit and firing best 22 team (With Nic Nat of course) and we showed more class and fixed those second quarter fade outs, first of all the Beagles would be more competitive and second the team is good enough for a top 8 finish. As I said many times and I'll say it again, we do not want to be finishing in the middle since the club is in need of top draft picks. I have a feeling that if we get our best 22 back and fit near the end of the season then I fear this maybe a repeat of 2009 where the club had four extra wins out of it's last five matches and we miss out on top end talent (still got Shep though and the 2009 draft is pretty weak in hindsight) and we'll be frustrated in a decades time on what quality we missed out on because we finished on the middle unless those mid first round picks turns out to be absolute gems.

No doubt the team got shafted by the BODES at the trade table for Kelly but Kelly has been excellent for us this year and will be crucial to leading our young mids in the future especially if Shuey retires. Freo fans try to compare the Kelly trade and reckon they did better with Jackson but oh boy if they finish bottom four lol, they really thought they were contending this year hence one of the reasons why they done it. The difference though is that when we did the Kelly trade is that we were still contending having won the flag the previous year as frustrating 2019 was. Freo still haven't won a flag till this day and think Jackson is the answer. Watch the Dees make off like bandits come draft day if Freo continue to be shit.

• Williams and Culley. Maybe the small forward is where Culley should be. Williams went beast mode today
  • Waterman and Allen still chugging along
  • Competitive 2nd half
  • Ginbey is a tackling machine, would love to see those touches moving into the 20's but easily the best of our youngsters

• Another game over at half time, extremely frustrating to watch 40 point defeats every week
  • Simmos gameplay coming together? I am not convinced, we get carved up coming through the middle and our defence refuses to be in the same postcode as an opponent. Our delivery forward is status quo, bomb it in and hope WatermAllen can drag in a mark.
There a million excuses we use but at what point does Simmo come pressure? Over a nearly 2 year span we are 5-32 with a percentage around 65. In comparison that puts out a few percentage points of GCs first 2 years in the comp
  • Darling was quite poor
  • A few youngsters just aren't up to the level even after a multiple years in the system. Trew, Foley, West, Clarke, and almost Edwards and add in XON
  • For SPS to look dangerous he needs to get his hands on the ball more.
  • Shuey is cooked
  • What to do with Rotham? Seems like his biggest impact was giving away frees
  • What to do with Petch? Has all the leg speed but does nothing with it

Positives

- Bailey was great - loved that he had the confidence to do it himself out the the middle, even if it didn't always come off. Hope he is starting to build a bit of faith in himself. Clunking a couple of intercept marks down back was another positive.
  • Culley - having a big-bodied mid who can go forward and be a legitimate goalscoring threat is going to be a huge asset for us if he can keep it up.
  • TK was really good, Barrass also seemed to turn a corner.
  • Not sure if it's a negative or a positive, but would love for SPS to get his hands on it more. He always seems composed and able to pick a good option under pressure.
  • Ginbey not having a bar of SPP.

Negatives
  • Playing 3 quarters, again. I feel like our second quarter against GWS would be beating our other 5 combined.
  • Another injury.
  • Gaff has been a loyal servant and probably gets points at this point for being a senior player without a history of longterm injuries, but it is sad the way he has regressed to the point where he basically has no weapons. It's probably an unfair comparison, but seeing our other top 10 draft pick in the midfield stick tackles, attack the contest and accelerate away from stoppages is just night and day with what Gaff gives us.

Overall, I felt there were pretty decent signs. I'm not sure how to articulate it, but I don't feel as despondent watching us this year as I did last year - even when we're getting beaten, we're still trying to attack the corridor and move it quickly.

And the guys 3rd* in the coaches votes in one of the worst teams in the comp

Did we overpay for him or did we completely s**t the bed in the years we should've been contending?

Edit: *6th before this week
Partly that, and partly he was meant to be part of a midfield collective with NN, Yeo and Shuey. And then the latter two basically have been injured on and off since. NN at least had 2 AA years but now looks done as well.

- Depends on how deep we cut this year, but I'd swing the axe on West, Clark, Foley, Trew, Petrucelle and Rotham for starters. Ditto XON. Just not AFL standard. It's more and more evident.

- Both finished with a couple goals each, but watching us kick to Darling and Allen over and over again with an opponent right next to them to spoil the ball was just painful. Wasted so many F50 entry's when they haven't got separation on their opponent.

- Petrucelle got schooled on how to be an opportunist forward by a slow inside midfielder playing his 9th game.

- Gaff was Gaff. Nothing new. We know the quality of his touches. Still a very frustrating player to watch.

- Shuey super "unlucky" with yet another injury. Lasted 2 quarters. 44 players out there but only he got injured (Marshall excluded) in the most unfortunate of circumstances. Impact ankle injury follows his hamstring injury he's just returned from.

That's our captain missing again for approx 50% of the season so far to this point, if my maths is correct? 2 half games, 2 whole games, 2 missed.
Agree instantly with West (much as I love his effort), Petrucelle (57 games of which only a couple have been standouts, but completely MIA too often) and Rotham (49 games - not sure any have been 'standout' but quite a few ... adequate). I think that the latter two seem MC favourites but I suspect/hope others will come past them.

Hopefully, Clark (12) and Trew (3) will get more games. Not sure on Trew but this is probably the season for him to get lots of chances to prove his worth (or not). Clark is a quandary. At 195/94 he is the same size as The Bont; he's taller than Darling (191), Waterman, Rotham and Culley (193) and almost Allen 196/95. So I wonder if he is an AFL quality player or whether we just haven't found his position yet (my Subi mate is reasonably strong on him - premiership CHF and all).

XON (26) hasn't seemed to set the world on fire over a pretty fair sample. I haven't seen him in any play where you go 'wow that was good'. And then you hope over time he can string more of those wow moments together.

The other two I would add as under notice are Witherden (86) and SPS (113). I'd suggest/hope others will pass them - again too little too often. Prior to the start of the season I had Waterman (76) in with them too as again I felt 'too little too often'. But he's stringing together some good form (although his two goals today were offset by the two he cost us.)

PS: Of course I hope all the mentioned players now star week in week out. Don't wish bad form on any of them.

Positives:

Culley was great. Ginbey plays with more focus for lack of a better word, like he’s there to do a job. I think Culley will benefit when he feels more comfortable as an AFL player and isn’t so timid at times. But enough signs here to know he’s not a bust as has potential to be a B-A grade player.

BBBW was great, came on in leaps and bounds. Another guy that doesn’t seem to be naturally aggressive in his game. He’s always been reasonably mobile, yes maybe sometimes clumsy (all big guys are) but I think another who will play better once he feels more comfortable and confident at this level.

Barrass back in some form

SPS, Waterman and Hunt didn’t set the world on fire today but 3 guys before the start of the year that we were unsure if they were keepers, but have shown by round 6 they still have good careers ahead.

Oscar wasn’t amazing today but still came away with 3 goals. He’s going to be at a bare minimum a serviceable reliable full forward who is going to kick his share even on a quiet day.

Kelly is really doing his thing this year

Bazzo. Just leave him in if he’s fit. Just knows how to footy.

Was my fave eagle til last year, but losing Junior at this point in his career isn’t going to set us back in the rebuild.

Enough tid bits on both the team front and individual performances to take some solid positives away from this game. By the end of the year if we can bank 23 games worth of those little things, we can take a bigger step forward next year.

Negatives:

Gaffy had a plonker. Been very solid this year so far and just had an off day. More than all of his shortcomings he just isn’t quick minded. Handballs to shins and just not having the smarts to do little clever things in the midfield.

Shuey. Fine if the injury was unrelated but just let him come slowly next time. Doesn’t matter if we are at a point that Schoey is considering playing for the league, just give him the proper time.

Foley and Trew didnt capitalise on their opportunities.

Culley and Williams. No need to say any more.

Negative:

We only had 26 players to pick from for this game, now with Shuey likely out, that's down to 25. So who are the three listed players who don't get a game.
Rotham, Rotham and Rotham

Positives:

Jai Culley was excellent. Kicked a bag, was dangerous all day and is starting to use his size and strength to put himself in good spots.
Bailey Williams. Needed to stand up today against an inexperienced opponent, he was everywhere. Did very well.
Oscar Allen, continues to string great games together. Aliir Aliir is in excellent form and Allen did well considering some of the delivery.
Tim Kelly continues with his strong midfield form. Big ball winning leader that we recruited him to be.
Ginbey is going to be a superstar. Cripps like the way he uses his size, great skills, delivery and vision.
Second quarter aside, we did the best with what we had and remained competitive. Didn't get absolutely pummeled like we would have in recent years.
Can really see the game plan coming along even with a crop of young blokes. Simmo shouldn't cop any criticism for this year. Hunt and Jones off the half back line has really given us a bit of x-factor.

Negatives:

Second quarter - gotta be a mental thing.
Missed some valuable chances particularly early in the game where we could have found ourselves with a lead.
Some of the delivery inside 50 was poor.
Andrew ******* Gaff continues to be a liability. No right side, poor disposal.
Is Darling injured? Does a few things around the ground and Dermott sings his praises but he wasn't there for us today.
Rotham got toweled up, unlucky at times but he's been around for long enough.
Shuey injury - if it was a hammy I'd say he's done for us, injury appeared unlucky and seemed to be moving well otherwise.
So many blokes that don't really offer a huge amount all stuck in the one side together. Not like we have a choice at the moment - however names like Foley, Trew, Clark, West, Petrucelle come to mind. Where do they fit in over the next few years?
Darling is def injured. It's amazing he's playing given that fractured ankle yet alone the back injury he got in the derby. He's sacrificing his game and Allen and Waterman reap the rewards. Still getting a goal or 2 as well.

I've finally made up my mind on Petch, he can't be given another contract. Though of course we have to keep playing him for the forseeable because there's literally no one else.

Twice he was responsible for a 2 goal turnaround.

1st incident, 1st quarter a pathetic attempt at a snapshot at goal eventually being forced through for a point. Port rush it down the other end for a goal.

2nd incident. Running with the ball inside f50 under no pressure picks out a Port defender either side of 2 Eagles. Port rush the ball downfield for a goal.

Cherry of top; We're taking the ball inside our f50 but umpire pings him for his idiotic free kick on a Port player (Jonas?)

I've finally made up my mind on Petch, he can't be given another contract. Though of course we have to keep playing him for the forseeable because there's literally no one else.

1st incident, 1st quarter a pathetic attempt at a snapshot at goal eventually being forced through for a point. Port rush it down the other end for a goal.

2nd incident. Running with the ball inside f50 under no pressure picks out a Port defender either side of 2 Eagles. Port rush the ball downfield for a goal.

Cherry of top; We're taking the ball inside our f50 but umpire pings him for his idiotic free kick on a Port player (Jonas?)
Carbine Chaos

Seems a common thread with Petch on here. Ignore the good, highlight the bad.

He’s not perfect. He might not even be ‘good’ at this point. Fair cop. Does he have the tools and scope to contribute to this side? Yes.

If he doesn’t do it here, I hope he does it elsewhere. Except at Freo or Port.

Bailey Willliams. Great game. And as mentioned up against similar aged opponents.

Best game he's played. Won plenty of taps to our advantage. He looked powerful around the ball which was a new look. Had energy, run, follow up and aggression.

Reports were he was sore this week, maybe we backed off and managed him. Whatever we did do it again.

Culley with 4 was great. Can see a similar development time line as Petracca. He spent a fair amount of his first 3 seasons playing forward and mid. Built his core and endurance before spending more time on ball. Culley a tad taller and maybe a bit more defensive!

We didnt get blown off the park in the 2nd half.

Ginbey also a good game.

We are bleeding easy goals when the run and overlap hand ball game falls down and that will improve.

Barrass, Hunt and Kelly solid games. J Jones having a crack adding run.

Wasnt the worse loss Ive watched and we can take positives out of it,l

Autopsy Round 6, 2023 : Positives and Negatives v Port Adelaide