Autopsy Round 6, 2023 : Positives and Negatives v Port Adelaide

Do we really need a different jumper for every round?
Well, you dont, but the bar has been set for special rounds to the point that not having a jumper is taken as giving the middle finger to the event.

This, rightly or wrongly, pisses people off, if this doesn't bother the club, no biggie.

Positives:

Bailey was great today. Round 1 aside, where he was very ordinary, every game since he has shown something and has improved each game. Really happy to see him utilising his athleticism and growing in confidence and today was a complete game (with a couple of clumsy Bailey’s thrown in).

Culley and Ginbey great to see their growth. JJ may make mistakes but he is the spark that gets things moving and we are far better to watch with him playing. SPS a bit quiet again but what he does is quality. With a better team around him, I think we would see more of it. Barrass back in form.

Negatives:

Gaff really is a worry with his kicking and hand balling (to feet). He is putting in the effort each week but this week he is in the negatives.

All in all, I am enjoying the ride this year unlike the last few. No expectations at all and seeing some green shoots in finally a new game plan (injuries permitting) and the young guys that look like they will be good players in time.

BBBW with 21 disposals and a personal best of 13 clearances. Also, had the most contested possessions (16) for us. Hopefully, he can start delivering such performances consistently now.

He's a #1 ruck. Not a fwd/ruck, not a tag team option. He's a compete all day contest scraggy type who can also jump for a hitout and I love him for it. Will be an angry beast once he gets that old man strength.

SPS so clean, just does things well, he's a keeper. Culley nuff said.

Liked how we attacked and played the game to be honest, just didn't have the polish, talent or AFL consistency of an excellent side. Only negative will be that we won't be able to rest our younger players at any point, don't want to see OA or Ginbey battered out and lose confidence

The big positive is that i firmly believe we will win another premiership way before freo wins A premiership.

AND THAT JUST PUTS A BIG GRIN ON MY FACE
Quite possibly, or at least pass them on their way down? Their result last night almost predictable.
Ol' Mumbles J-Lo doesn't exactly fill you with confidence. All that silly palaver over Blondie, turning their backs etc. Glad we didn't carry on like that with Willy.
No more somersaults?

Back to the thread - am enjoying the ins + outs each week. Admit I lasted until mid 3rd Qtr, then had enough.
Not sure who can return to spice things up a bit over next few weeks - Cole, Chesser, Sheed, Hewett, Hurn, Long? The rest seem longer term..
We're really getting to see any shine amongst the rough diamonds and those stamped with 'exit door' at season's end...
Good to see Trew and Bazzo get on the board...
Culley improving with each game and Waterman seems to finally be cementing himself into the team, he will only improve...not sure about Petch, had lots of opportunities, but we need every soldier this season.

Seems a common thread with Petch on here. Ignore the good, highlight the bad.

He’s not perfect. He might not even be ‘good’ at this point. Fair cop. Does he have the tools and scope to contribute to this side? Yes.

If he doesn’t do it here, I hope he does it elsewhere. Except at Freo or Port.

Lack of pressure without the ball will be the death of him. Far too many half hearted one armed waves as he goes past or holding off on a corral and then getting beaten for pace anyway.

Watching Long, Ginbey, Culley and even guys like Edwards put in full blooded efforts is stamping Petch's papers for mine.

Circumstances meant I didn’t get to see all of the match but I did see most of it. General thoughts -

• Williams is working into this season quite nicely after an inauspicious start against North. Is getting better each game and is accepting the responsibility of leading our ruck. Increasingly becoming a genuine positive out of this season
• Our F50 entries need to be tidied up. It’s a connection piece between our mids and forwards that hopefully improves over time as players become more predictable to each other
• Allen keeps presenting but probably had his colours lowered today against a difficult opponent. It was pointed out last week by Brereton and was apparent again today - he needs to come back at the ball in a marking contest when the defender is coming back with the flight of the ball. He’s either going to take the mark or get infringed
• Love Jones and the way he takes the game on. If he can just tidy up his disposal a little he’d be in AA contention
• Culley showed another string to his bow that adds to his value, especially as he learns how to midfield
• Ginbey will be a star
• Nice to see Trew and Bazzo out there together after their respective family tragedies.
• Disappointing that the game was effectively decided again on the back of one poor quarter. It’s something we need to get on top of because otherwise the day will come when we’re unable to get the foot off our throat and we’ll end up on the end of a genuine blowout
• Really like the commitment to the game plan even if it is coming unstuck at times and leading to goals against on turnover. Keep at it and as skills/decision making improves those turnovers will become our own scoring opportunities
• Barrass seemed to get his mojo back and had his best game for the year
• Previous fringe players like Waterman, SPS and even Witherden to an extent have stepped up to best 22 level
• Kelly seems to have accepted the responsibility of leading the midfield after being reluctant to do so in years past. His game is better for it
• In a difficult time for the club, I think Simpson is doing a pretty good job despite the W/L column. The game plan is evolving and the players spirit is being maintained for now at least. The effort is unquestionably there

I don’t like seeing us lose and if we have to lose, I’d rather the losses to be a good 4-5 goals less at least but we’re battling through a significant injury crisis not entirely of our own making and the green shoots are there.

And as I said, the effort can’t really be questioned which is as much as we can ask for

I’ll also add this - as the middle to bottom end of our list gets exposed to the higher level we’re getting a look at who might or might not make it

There’s certainly some players who are struggling to have an impact but it’s only round 6 and those players will get more opportunity as the season goes on. Inevitably some of them will be moved on at the end of the year as that’s the way football works

In the meantime get behind them, they’re having a dip and with any luck they’ll come good. If not let’s not abuse them on the way out

• In a difficult time for think Simpson is doing a pretty good job despite the W/L column. The game plan is evolving and the players spirit is being maintained for now at least. The effort is unquestionably there

I don’t like seeing us lose and if we have to lose, I’d rather the losses to be a good 4-5 goals less at least but we’re battling through a significant injury crisis not entirely of our own making and the green shoots are there.

And as I said, the effort can’t really be questioned which is as much as we can ask for
I haven't seen the game yet. Won't until Monday, but this. Pre season the talk of this board was when can we can Simpson. The tight Kangas loss probably too.

Now, a quarter of the way into the season, despite being percentage off dead last, we can see the origins of a new identity. Rhinos article today was very well thought and put a spin on it I hadn't considered, which I like.

All in all, if we're going to be horrible, maybe this isn't the worst season to do so. As long as we're genuinely trying to win games. Its bad enough our WAFL club can barely field a team (get the auskickers to play!) and I worry about accepting a losing culture too readily. I predicted this week would be 100+ points loss vs Port and I'm very happy to be very wrong.

Sadly I called the Shuey injury

Culley becomes a much more interesting prospect if he can impact forward like today.

TBH to me it really doesn't. I've seen what he can produce as a mid sized forward and i'm worried about his athleticism if he starts copping a true defender in that role. IMO he needs to make it at least a 50/50 split between forward and inside mid to make it. Great for his confidence though and a bit of reward for really putting in not only to get on a list but get back out there after injury at the end of an amazing preseason.

Only just finished the replay and checked the stats. Couldn't believe Gaff had 32 disposals. Not being able to kick a 40m shot on goal is horrendous. His career saver boots or natural lessening of kicking penetration has also seen his shorter kicks seem slower and slower and slower. It's hard thinking back to a worse 30+ d game.

I think i'm the only one who still thinks Foley can make it.

Rotham showed a bit more physicality but I have given up on him making it. Tried hard but even when given space it's still always stop prop from the backline and I just think his footy IQ lines up with WAFL level but when the pace increases to AFL level he just can't mentally process the increase in speed of the game and to not think, just play. Things need to be instinctive out there or you are going to get found out unless you're an absolute physical beast / enforcer type or ruck.

Bailey Williams was impressive today although against a player even less developed that himself. Showed real mongrel which for me was actually the most impressive part of his game. Some of his taps were also pretty gorgeous.

Kelly, Barrass, Jones were all impressive.

Oscar Allen will be our star forward for the next 6-7 years after this one. If he had a competent midfield feeding it to him he would look even more impressive. If he stays injury free will have a long period of being one of the top 3 Key forwards in the game.

Snake Waterman was everywhere. Made a couple of mistakes but anyone running that much from offence to defence, to ruck and on and on and on is going to be gassed.

While I don't rate Witherden I have gained a lot of respect for him. Less mistakes, harder on defence and just putting his body on the line over and over again.

Shuey a couple of uncharacteristic mistakes by foot that are seeming to become more and more common. Hope it's just a basic rolled ankle and he misses the 1 game. I initially didn't see him roll the ankle just him limping and the first thought was 'Oh Shupe, that's the end of your career mate, I'm going to bloody miss you but will never forget how much heart he has shown and his 2018 grand final performance'

Some players starting to get real easy to put a line through.

TBH to me it really doesn't. I've seen what he can produce as a mid sized forward and i'm worried about his athleticism if he starts copping a true defender in that role. IMO he needs to make it at least a 50/50 split between forward and inside mid to make it. Great for his confidence though and a bit of reward for really putting in not only to get on a list but get back out there after injury at the end of an amazing preseason.

For mine whilst I agree he'll need to produce AFL (not just exciting rookie) quality value as an inside mid, is nice as to see he has that goal sense to be able to even kick 4 goals in a game.

Our mids have struggled in that area recently. Gaff would never kick 4 on his best day, nor would Redden, XON, West, Clark, probably not Shuey or Kelly often really, even Ginbey unlikely (I know I'm throwing out some irrelevant names but still)

Very nice to see that string to his bow that locks in the vibe that he's got goal sense and can be swung forward if needed, though think we all agree would be ideal for him to nail it in the midfield. Gives us options when we're actually contending where we can shuffle pieces around rather than traditional recent eagles where it's very 1 position, plan A type stuff. Was glad to see it.

Hopefully in a future excellent side if he goes forward the opposition won't be able to throw their best defender on him anyway and we can capitalise in wins, not just decent losses

Only just finished the replay and checked the stats. Couldn't believe Gaff had 32 disposals. Not being able to kick a 40m shot on goal is horrendous. His career saver boots or natural lessening of kicking penetration has also seen his shorter kicks seem slower and slower and slower. It's hard thinking back to a worse 30+ d game.

I think i'm the only one who still thinks Foley can make it.

Rotham showed a bit more physicality but I have given up on him making it. Tried hard but even when given space it's still always stop prop from the backline and I just think his footy IQ lines up with WAFL level but when the pace increases to AFL level he just can't mentally process the increase in speed of the game and to not think, just play. Things need to be instinctive out there or you are going to get found out unless you're an absolute physical beast / enforcer type or ruck.

Bailey Williams was impressive today although against a player even less developed that himself. Showed real mongrel which for me was actually the most impressive part of his game. Some of his taps were also pretty gorgeous.

Kelly, Barrass, Jones were all impressive.

Oscar Allen will be our star forward for the next 6-7 years after this one. If he had a competent midfield feeding it to him he would look even more impressive. If he stays injury free will have a long period of being one of the top 3 Key forwards in the game.

Snake Waterman was everywhere. Made a couple of mistakes but anyone running that much from offence to defence, to ruck and on and on and on is going to be gassed.

While I don't rate Witherden I have gained a lot of respect for him. Less mistakes, harder on defence and just putting his body on the line over and over again.

Shuey a couple of uncharacteristic mistakes by foot that are seeming to become more and more common. Hope it's just a basic rolled ankle and he misses the 1 game. I initially didn't see him roll the ankle just him limping and the first thought was 'Oh Shupe, that's the end of your career mate, I'm going to bloody miss you but will never forget how much heart he has shown and his 2018 grand final performance'

Some players starting to get real easy to put a line through.
I agree on him needing to have that split of mid/forward, having that versatility would really help. I guess a lot of the time it would ideally be hunting for mismatches for him while resting forward with his overhead ability.

I kind of agree with Foley too.

At this point, logically, you are actually pathetic

I am a doctor, and such and act defines stupidity

If you are also a doctor please DM me so we can swap notes

Dr Russell Cooper? Now it all makes sense. How is your research into polycystic ovary syndrome going? How is the weather in Tassie?

I don’t know whether or not this is some kind of inside joke, but if it isn’t, doxing people is not a direction we should be heading in. When that type of thing starts, forums like this can turn ugly pretty quickly.

If someone says he’s a doctor or an engineer, or a lawyer or a former player – or that he was actually at a game, or that he spoke to someone who knows something – then we don’t have to set out to prove him wrong. What for? If what he says makes sense: fine. If it doesn’t: ignore it and move on…

I don’t know whether or not this is some kind of inside joke, but if it isn’t, doxing people is not a direction we should be heading in. When that type of thing starts, forums like this can turn ugly pretty quickly.

If someone says he’s a doctor or an engineer, or a lawyer or a former player – or that he was actually at a game, or that he spoke to someone who knows something – then we don’t have to set out to prove him wrong. What for? If what he says makes sense: fine. If it doesn’t: ignore it and move on…

Thats just what I was saying at last nights Mensa conference.

45ABA6E2-7996-4952-A43E-21BE914052D5.gif

It’s a joke

Dr Russell Cooper is the alternative type doctor that was said to be advising Darling with his vaccine stuff last year

Autopsy Round 6, 2023 : Positives and Negatives v Port Adelaide