Thinking Nick R might be a nice addition..?
As in the Nick R who has absolutely no coaching experience?
Pass.
Thinking Nick R might be a nice addition..?
Yeah but looks to me like this will be the worst period of the season - injuries, hard fixture, etc. I doubt we end up lower than 12th.
We have 2 extra days to freshen up. Imo the players looked collectively fatigued apart from the couple who didn't play all 3 of last games.Depends on how we bounce back. Could see us lose confidence and momentum and finish bottom 4. We have 5 winnable games left and then need to knock a few better sides off.
Good call there Tyrian re the 2 extra days.We have 2 extra days to freshen up. Imo the players looked collectively fatigued apart from the couple who didn't play all 3 of last games.
We'll win next week, you'll see
Honestly couldn’t disagree more he’s given almost everyone a chance bar Owens.Hoping that Ross starts to throw the magnets around with the midfield a bit now. He is pretty reluctant to have more than four main midfielders in most weeks. It was great last night to see Garcia start at the first centre bounce, but disappointing to see him moved to half forward 10 minutes in. He went back there at times in the second half at least. He's certainly giving the kids games which is good, but he is still very quick to go back to Seb, Jones etc in the midfield.
He said it pre game last night on the radio.Where did he say that?
Jon Ralph reported that apparently there are meant to be regulations that prevent you from having a 5 day break after back to back travel. Yet, it was forgotten for us.
That’s why despite people seeing himI think Pou averaging the 2nd most pressure acts at 21.7 a game, just behind Steele, probably says he’s doing at least something right. Clearly that’s an area lacking without Butler healthy or playing competitive footy.
Why should we not be relying on our older guys to lift standards.Thats where we are paying for the lost years. Clark, Coff, Paton, Long and the drafts we paid for Hill, Howard and Butler types. Those players would now be that middle core. We have recruited Dow, Stocker, Bonner, Henry, Cordy etc to make up the short fall.
As in the Nick R who has absolutely no coaching experience?
Pass.
Why should we not be relying on our older guys to lift standards.
Wilkie
Sinclair
Steele
Marshall
Literally every team has their experienced guys setting standards.
Also arguably our best guys were Wilson windy and Garcia so I think your wrong on this point.
No more talls plsWondering if Silvani might be a good depth pick up next year? Back from an ACL, looks surplus to Carlton's requirement likely wouldn't cost much.
If we are farked 3/4 of the way through THIS year with players back Ross will be under pressure??so what? He’s accountable and should be.I mean… the point being made was if we’re properly and truly ****ed by mid way through next year woukd Ross be under pressure and the Ross believers are up in arms like we’re suggesting he should be drawn and quartered JUST on last nights game.
If you’re all happy to keep riding with Ross under the hypothetical that were dead last and hopeless next season then by all means argue that point but don’t strawman it into we’re all out to get him based just on last night.
He’s shown some progress and he’s shown some regression. That’s just literally we’re we stand based on results without emotion. I’m not shaving my head and singing Lyonesque throat music off that.
We aren’t a contender. Which means we need to add to get there. With a huge need for an inside mid. Key back. Ruck/forward.Don't believe any of this talk about a "rebuild".
What we will be doing is what every club does every season - turns over a portion of their list in the search for players either through the draft or trade.
Might have a different focus because of a different coach but it isn't a "rebuild"
We have 22 players OOC at the end of the season, so like nearly every year we will turn over 6 to 10 players.
I've had a quick look through the OOC and I reckon 10 are certain to get a new offer, another 4 or 6 likely to get an offer (likes of Membrey, Ross, Webster, Paton, Hayes, Butler, Jones, McLennan, Hotton, Heath etc).
That leaves Campbell, Allison as the most likely automatic delistings along with whoever misses out in the above group.
Hardly a rebuild and certainly not a hard rebuild (unless we plan on trading the likes of Marshall, Steele or King for multiple first round picks or some mega trade)
We aren’t a contender. Which means we need to add to get there. With a huge need for an inside mid. Key back. Ruck/forward.
Our current draft assets for 2024:
Stkilda first round pick
Adelaide second round pick
Melbourne third rounder
A 4th rounder.
So based on your thinking we are 2-6 picks short of replacing the players we exit.
That then means we need to trade players for picks.
Looking at the out of contract list of players who may be desirable at other clubs:
Howard
Butler
Sharman
Membrey ?
Paton
Jones ?
All would then leave a hole for us and none bar Howard at a reach would give us a decent pick.
You could even say Hunter Clark. But still we are talking a second rounder at best. (Assuming after what seems like 4 injury interrupted seasons he wants a fresh start)
The plus for us is that we have mammoth cap space. So, could we buy a pick?
Looking at what’s still available in terms of OOC:
Bailey smith (apparently Collingwood)
Hugh McCluggage (Gun, can’t see him leaving - would be 27 round 1 25’)
Max Holmes (Perfect fit, would he leave a side looking at playing finals again)
Ollie florent (just can’t see what issues he fixes for us)
Tarryn Thomas (ticks all boxes for needs. Personality is a huge cross)
Other names we could try for that wouldn’t move the needle:
Jordan Berry
Liam Duggan
Ned Moyle
If our season looks shot by the bye. A blooding of whatever youth we have left should be the priority with an eye on the best pick possible.
As it then opens up the possibility of pick splitting to acquire more talent.
But what is clearly evident is that we are going to have to cut hard to go to the draft again in a meaningful way. Otherwise we tread water hoping for further internal development.
We aren’t a contender. Which means we need to add to get there. With a huge need for an inside mid. Key back. Ruck/forward.
Our current draft assets for 2024:
Stkilda first round pick
Adelaide second round pick
Melbourne third rounder
A 4th rounder.
So based on your thinking we are 2-6 picks short of replacing the players we exit.
That then means we need to trade players for picks.
Looking at the out of contract list of players who may be desirable at other clubs:
Howard
Butler
Sharman
Membrey ?
Paton
Jones ?
All would then leave a hole for us and none bar Howard at a reach would give us a decent pick.
You could even say Hunter Clark. But still we are talking a second rounder at best. (Assuming after what seems like 4 injury interrupted seasons he wants a fresh start)
The plus for us is that we have mammoth cap space. So, could we buy a pick?
Looking at what’s still available in terms of OOC:
Bailey smith (apparently Collingwood)
Hugh McCluggage (Gun, can’t see him leaving - would be 27 round 1 25’)
Max Holmes (Perfect fit, would he leave a side looking at playing finals again)
Ollie florent (just can’t see what issues he fixes for us)
Tarryn Thomas (ticks all boxes for needs. Personality is a huge cross)
Other names we could try for that wouldn’t move the needle:
Jordan Berry
Liam Duggan
Ned Moyle
If our season looks shot by the bye. A blooding of whatever youth we have left should be the priority with an eye on the best pick possible.
As it then opens up the possibility of pick splitting to acquire more talent.
But what is clearly evident is that we are going to have to cut hard to go to the draft again in a meaningful way. Otherwise we tread water hoping for further internal development.
He is a very good young mid that actually hurts sides forward of the centre. Supremely skilled and massively athletic.Why do you think Tarryn ticks all the boxes. He's just another general mid, not a great clearence player. No better ( long term ) than Windhager.
He is a very good young mid that actually hurts sides forward of the centre. Supremely skilled and massively athletic.
Also about 190cm.
Are we filled with so much talent we can turn our noses up at a blue chip talent (who has massive personal tissues) that is free to a good home?He's not overly contested, and given that Henry tracks ok, do we need another, anti-social version?
Are we filled with so much talent we can turn our noses up at a blue chip talent (who has massive personal tissues) that is free to a good home?
Gringo why haven't they given Owens the inside mid role - it is doing my head in - he wins contested ball better than anyone in the team but the still go with Ross , are they that stupid or what.Ross has been okay out of the midfield this year. We have an issue with Marshall being a star as an extra mid but having a poor group of contested inside ball winners so we lose clearance unless Marshall can win it himself and he usually dump kicks out of the centre and they get picked off. Snags, King etc are slow to chase or show interest in anything but clean delivery so it rebounds back over our heads.
Owens - but why don't they use himHis talent overlaps with what we already have, without addressing what we are lacking.
INSIDE mids.