Review Round 7- Review/Rant megathread

I loved the early afternoon start - 10:10PM Sat. here. Great match to watch. We seemed to have a bit of that old intensity back. And the Captain led the way - 44 possessions! Plus... Crossy got a goal! Wish I could have been there.

That's one of Maccas biggest KPIs isn't it? He wants the team to be tough and win the contested ball consistently.
177 - 123. An absolute clobbering. That would have to be the biggest differential in any game this year :eek:

Mitch is a gun!!! He's on fire, great in close and so tough!! Vez was great, killed Cunnington, provided run and was huge in the 3rd quarter. Picken was amazing on Boomer, Tory was fantastic and Sherman pivotal. Boyd was a machine and Lake is well and truly back. Cross' aerial work was amazing, he is so brave.

Best part of the game was our young mids smashed theirs :D

I honestly cannot find one player who didn't contribute. Thought Austin did a great job with a number of spoils at crucial times, they gave it to Picken all day but he stod]od up every time and shut down that little rat Harvey. Great win, the best for the year played the type of football mccartney has been drumming into them from day 1.

Just back from the game, finally won a mother's day game! Great 4 quarter effort today. A lot to like, however I must say. Higgins was ordinary as usual, doesn't do enough, and should be traded at years end. Along with Grant. Did some nice things here and there, but just doesn't have a football brain. Seems to be lost out there, whether the coaching staff don't know his best position or he doesn't know it, I think he might be moved on at years end also.

Cordy, great today, Tory Dickson, brilliant. What we've been looking for in a leading forward. We've found our 3rd tall, just need to keep developing the others now, to find our permanent FF and keep working on what we're doing. Great game by the side! Go dogs! :D

I can only echo most of the above sentiments so take them as read. A few extra thoughts:

• North were coming off a road trip to WA and a hard game against the Weagles with one day less rest. I doubt it was the difference but it certainly helped in the end when EVERYone's legs were leaden.
  • Gia and Higgins - both have had their knockers this year - neither had huge stats but Higgins contested well and Gia got his 3 goals. If we get 5 goals from these two each week they'll be worthwhile. Higgins has kicked 6 in his last 3 games and Gia 8.
  • Great to win without Cooney. He'll come back rested and better than before. I'm liking the rotation policy.
  • Gotta love Clay. On for about 15 minutes and he registers 4 tackles.
  • The older hands played well (as usual) but the young ones really showed character and skill.
  • Beat GC next week and we're 4 and 4. The only really sad thing is we might end up without a pick in the top 10 if we keep improving at this rate. I'll take it!

I must also mention, Pat Veszpremi. Loved this guy from day one, and his 3rd quarter today was first class. Loved his run from the backline, really gave us the spark that Wood gave us last week.

Rodney Eade should've played this guy round 1 last year, after he had a great pre season in the NAB games. Eade didn't play him all year, and now we can see what this guy can do. -1 for Eade, and the reason why I wanted him to go.

Absolutely love McCartney, hopefully he can bring us the success we've all longed for! :thumbsu:

Forgot to say - we did it with Jones having a rest as well. Apart from the break he got which may freshen him up, the week off forced our mids and defenders to think about a different set of forward targets. This can only be good and may ease the pressure on Jones when he gets back, presumably next week.

Crikey, there's a thought, who do we drop to bring in Cooney and Jones? I guess Clay would be one (unlucky). Maybe it'll be Roughy's turn for a bit of R&R next week?

What a difference in contested ball to when we played norf last year; the younguns are getting game time and their midfield work today was all about toughness and sharing the ball. What about little dahl, the excitement machine starts so many of our scoring oportunities.

Cordy looks good. Plucks contested grabs, which is something we haven't had much of.

Lots of things to like, but I find it hard to get too carried away. I don't reckon North are in the top echelon of teams, and for all our hard work and domination around the ground, we only ended up winning by 3 goals.

Since Barry's gone, we're back to relying on small forwards to have a good day. We need someone - better still a couple - to be able to take a mark inside 50, go back and slot it.

Ayce took some nice contested grabs around the ground. I couldn't believe we won the contested marks 22 - 9! North used to bury us in this stat! Sherman missed a lot today, he really should've had 4-5 goals.

I don't think 3 ruckmen will work most weeks, so don't know if we should go with the same set up next week. Big Will was great again today, Roughy was also good, but he might be the one having a rest next week.

Grant - no real impact, laid a nice tackle and took a good contested mark, that's about it.

Murphy - made one error with that pass to Roughead but aside from that he was terrific down the back. Excellent goal too.

Wallis - magnificent. So rapt for him that he's form has been so good, people were questioning him last year and he has really started to come of age. Best game yet. Well done mate :thumbsu:

Cross - man, you just have to love him, he was brilliant, loved his goal, love his hardness. I'm sorry for everything I have said about your kicking Crossy, you are a legend

Boyd - very good, as always had a million touches, kicking let him down at times but he dominated their so called "hard nut" midfield

Higgins - much better, liked his game, he is slowly improving week by week

Veszpremi - loved his game, excellent run and carry and good disposal.

Sherman - did what he was there for, kicking goals.

Gia - best game for a while. He cops it on here and you've got to give credit where it's due, he was excellent - loved that mark

Smith - laid a great tackle, otherwise not enough time to impact

Griffen - I love him I wanna boof him get him up here! Just sensational, our best again, can't say enough good things about him.

Libba - again, all those Norf idiots talking up their 'hard nut' midfield make me laugh, this kid thrashed them in close all day. Terrific

Addison - much better, used the ball so much better this week.

Roughead - I like him and he'll be good but he might be due for a rest.

Hargrave - has returned to form, very solid today I thought.

Minson - great game, was worried because I think Goldstein is an excellent ruckman but Minson killed him I thought.

Dickson - fantastic game, dangerous right throughout, 4 goals in his second game, well done

Lake - saved our arse time and again and was brilliant, so glad he kep bloody Petrie quiet

Dahlhaus - a little quiet but a few nice things, got plenty of credits in the bank

Picken - absolutely thrashed Harvey. Loved it.

Austin - looks a bit too nervous. Took a nice contested mark but not much else.

Cordy - very good game but that last shot in the last quarter :eek: I just wanted it through to settle our nerves

And a big kudos to McCartney, game plan today was spot on.

Jeez where to start. Saw the future today: Roughie, Wallis, Libba, Cordy, Dickson, Pat Vez, Dahl. So promising.

Griffen again put in a performance which showed he is a pure A grade thoroughbred.

I know the captain had 44 but Cross was just about BOG for me. His corage was inspiring. Gia good also.

In the end the scoreboard flattered North.

I LOVE BMAC - he's "good people"

Bomber and Hird do not speak highly of people lightly. Both of them in no uncertain terms think Macca is one of the best coaches they have seen. Ignore the silly people of bigfooty who change their mind with the wind or follow the media, you've got someone who will give you the best chance for the future.

Congrats on the win, you guys played a wonderful team game today. :thumbsu:

I rated Grant's game to be honest. Great chase and tackle in the 3rd and then a big contested mark. I really like him as a high half forward pushing up to the wing.

I think it's Smith and Roughead who might be very stiff in order for Jones and Cooney to come back in.

I'm a very happy man at the moment. Great win.

The midfield just continues to gel together and is playing some great footy at the moment. Loved seeing Cross kick a goal, he's always so pumped after it!! Picken did a great job on Harvey throughout the whole game, the backline was as solid as ever and the forwards played well. As other said, Grant doesn't do enough at all, he should have a spell and Dickson should hopefully keep his spot in the side.