HB: Will Day, James Sicily, Blake Hardwick
C: Jarman Impey, Tom Mitchell, Josh Ward
HF: Finn Maginness, Jacob Koschitzke, Dylan Moore
F: Jaeger O'Meara, Jackson Callow, Luke Breust
R: Max Lynch, Jai Newcombe, Chad Wingard
Int: James Worpel, Harry Morrison, Jack Gunston, Denver Grainger-Barras

Emer: Daniel Howe, Conor Nash, Connor Macdonald, Liam Shiels

IN: Ward, Grainger-Barras, Morrison
OUT: Macdonald (managed), Nash (managed), Shiels (managed), Howe (sub)

Ins and outs!

In comes:
Jiath, Lewis, Morrison, Ward, DGB.

Out goes:
Nash (injured), Finn (omitted, don't see a role for him this week and we need these other players in the side tbh, wouldn't be disappointeed if he stays.), MacDonald (managed), Shiels (omitted), Callow (omitted).

Long a chance.

Not sure what's going on with Harry. Fit plays, if not he doesn't and you keep Macca.

Reeves would come straight in but idk if he's fit.

This game might finally be the game where our army of HBF are finally released. With it looking like Scrim, Impey, CJ, Day, Bramble and Morrison all looking like they will be available for selection.
Against a team that doesn't defend which could be very enjoyable.

Or very frustrating if it doesn't work

This game might finally be the game where our army of HBF are finally released. With it looking like Scrim, Impey, CJ, Day, Bramble and Morrison all looking like they will be available for selection.
Plus the interceptors of Sicily, DGB, and Frost (add Scrim also)

What I am most worried about is the ability of our midfield (apart from Mitchell) to back up two good games in a row.

JOM and Worps were decentish against Melbourne but historically they struggle to back up multiple good games in a row.
One thing Essendon does have is a crap load of midfielders who can get the ball (admittedly not great at using but still) so we really need our senior midfielders to dig deep and back up again against the scum

Merrett is a star when he kicks it and sets them up. Against the Dogs he spent the day hand passing it.

I hope we are doing our homework on this.

Changes and all that in here.

Nash was icing the Hammy, so he's having a spell unfortunately.

Lewis, CJ, Morrison, DGB and Ward should all be available.

Hopefully Ned is good to go too.
After watching the Box Hill game it didn't look like Ned helped his chances of a debut which sux because he's been pretty consistent.

Wrong Ned.

Having Lewis and Koschitzke as the two tall forwards means that Gunston goes back to being the third tall instead of having to play as a centre half forward.

I think Sicily is better off being the third tall defender instead of having to currently play as the centre half back and being forced to defend against bigger opponents which is taking away his effectiveness at being able to take intercept marks.

The best 22 would be so much better if we can just get a second ruck and another key defender to pair alongside Grainger-Barras. It would also mean that Koschitzke and Nash no longer have to do any ruck work.

Having Lewis and Koschitzke as the two tall forwards means that Gunston goes back to being the third tall instead of having to play as a centre half forward. I think Sicily is better off being the third tall defender instead of having to currently play as the centre half back and being forced to defend against bigger opponents.

The best 22 would be so much better overall if we can just get a second ruck and another key defender. It would also mean that Koschitzke and Nash no longer have to do any ruck work.
Agreed 150%.

We have two potentially dominant tall forwards on our hands there, with at least two others pushing up from below to keep them honest. I reckon Sammy would be silly not to have them playing together all the time to build their mutual understanding.

Having Lewis and Koschitzke as the two tall forwards means that Gunston goes back to being the third tall instead of having to play as a centre half forward.

I think Sicily is better off being the third tall defender instead of having to currently play as the centre half back and being forced to defend against bigger opponents which is taking away his effectiveness at being able to take intercept marks.

The best 22 would be so much better if we can just get a second ruck and another key defender to pair alongside Grainger-Barras. It would also mean that Koschitzke and Nash no longer have to do any ruck work.
Agreed. Gunston just doesn't seem himself playing as the CHF. Kosi and Lewis is a dominant force I believe. Put Gunston as the third tall and there's a Tall Forward group that is one of the best in the league.

Gunston doesn't really want to compete for high balls, because it's never really been his thing.

We'll see the best of Jack when we have 2 genuine key talls.

Lewis and Kosi can be that. Starting Saturday night.

Gunston doesn't really want to compete for high balls, because it's never really been his thing.

It should have been that since Round 1 2021.

He's a master at 1 on 1s. Uses his body excellently most times but we really do need to utilise his strengths more which is to lead up to the ball carrier and get the opponents caught out running towards the goals. That's when he is at his best.

Nash is a big loss. Always thought in recent years when they've beaten us it was on the back of more break away speed from the clearances. At least we've got a few others in now with some toe.

Yep, don’t know how we’ll cope without his 3 tackles and 10 disposals at 60%.

Yeah his averages for the year are better than that without even excluding the last game he barely played after being subbed off. Run along flog.

He's a master at 1 on 1s. Uses his body excellently most times but we really do need to utilise his strengths more which is to lead up to the ball carrier and get the opponents caught out running towards the goals. That's when he is at his best.
I was more talking about high balls. He's not a pack marker. We need to play to his strengths, as he has a lot of them.
Main point is, he's only really suited to the 3rd tall role.

Don't care how much fury essdn cop this week from the media. We have our own story to write , we've been very good but have lost 4 out of our past 5 games!! Need to bury them into the Marvel turf.
Just hope that this isn’t another down game after some decent footy in the last 2 weeks, without winning.

They are low on form and confidence , they wont flick a switch in one week. Match and better their 'response' to the media barrelling in the first 1/4 and a bit and they will break .

We can show not only are we a young quick team but have hard edge too .
Real foot on the throat time .

Just hope that this isn’t another down game after some decent footy in the last 2 weeks, without winning.
Nice that we finally get a longer break than our opponents. Apart from the 2 hours extra than St Kilda every one else has been playing on at least the day before