Review Round 9, 2020 - Brisbane Lions vs. Essendon

Who were your five best players against Essendon?

CEY’s tackle on Shiel with a WWE soundtrack:

Was literally just typing that I needed to see that tackle again as the page refreshed. Love the expression on his face after, kind of "who's next?"

Massive win, had a cheeky fiver on it with a mate but still wasn't comfortable until deep into the fourth with how we have been letting games slip away. Not tonight though!

I must of missed Berry's game, he wasn't bad, just didn't feel like I noticed him as much this week and I put it down to CEY being included and limiting his time in the middle. CEY did a few nice things, some great tackles, it's really noticable having a guy his size moving through the midfield. He just acts like a brick wall it's crazy. I can't wait to see what a player with Berry's disposal can do when he ends up that size.

I felt like we learnt a lot about how the coaches view Answerth and Witherden tonight. Witho played that back sweeper role that Lester has been playing and Answerth seemed to replace Rich with some run and attack off half back. I could see Witho holding his spot over Lester even when he comes back from injury, pending the height of other forward line matchups. He played very well tonight.

As for the forwards, it was good to see both Skinner and Ballenden get in the goals. Neither looked great in the ruck, but I liked Ballenden upforward. Good lead, took a few contested marks and most importantly kicked accurately from 45. Skinner I thought did well to impact that game around the ground in the second half, but he didn't really look that likely when the ball was inside the forward 50, his only goal being an out the back.

They both have another week to impress before McStay comes back, but on tonight's game I think McStay playing further up the ground with Ballenden closer to goal will be the more dangerous setup. We will have to be a bit more defensive in the middle when Ballenden is rucking, but I think our mids are pretty used to sharking the opponents taps.

Anyone got any more word on The Big O? Couldn't help but think of that scene from Happy Gilmore as he was chasing Cutler down the wing.
Haha that is gold

Richmond have had the wood on us for about 1,000 years and they have a massive advantage coming off a 6 day break compared to our 4.

I remain more hopeful than optimistic.

But 4 of us have our tickets for next Tuesday night and will do our best to get the boys home.

GO LIONS!!!

meh. You have no faith - or perhaps not enough feel goodjuice while watching that display of fine football.

all we have to do is declare every game Mitch’s 200th and we’ll never lose again.Simples.

Something is deeply broken with the officiating at the moment. Umpiring has always been contentious, but the exponentially expanding rules and interpretations have catapulted the whole league into a chook lotto free-kick-a-thon worse than ever before. And they keep wanting to pay more. Every contest there are usually five to seven things that happen that could technically be interpreted as infringements. It's turning me away from the sport I've loved for a long time, it frustrates me to no end. The AFL wants higher scoring, but who gets pleasure out of watching a team kick goals handed to them by the umpire, be it for their team, against them, or in a neutral game?

I'd rest Skinner on Tuesday as well and play Eagles as 2nd ruck with Ballenden forward. Special seasons call for special approaches. Matho and Christensen to play one of the next two games as well. Rotations worked well tonight, we need to keep doing it.

Resting Skinner would be ****ing harsh

Rest after 1 game in 2+ years? Skinner will be raring to go against Richmond.

Best we've played all season! The inclusions were all fantastic. And we started kicking straight 😁

We did not start kicking straight, but we went from 5.5 to 14.7. Early on I was wondering if we would pay for a few easy misses, but ............ shazam. Full demolition mode. Late in the second I said to my mate "we are just resting, you wait. Sure enough. We truly look like we do have depth. '

I will never post again if we win tonight. That's how much confidence I have in us in a primetime game. Had this been on a Saturday afternoon, we would have won. But we never have been able to play a huge game.

Alright, i'll shut up

EeQi-XeUcAIWQwE

Rest after 1 game in 2+ years? Skinner will be raring to go against Richmond.

"Resting" Skinner is one of the silliest suggestions I've ever heard.

He's either picked again or dropped.

He worked hard in the second half

Pick again

Whaaaaaaat? Resting skinner would be a massive slap in the face. Would be ridiculous if we rest him. Only change I would think would be Birch for Payne

Nice win.

Highlight of the year for me was CEY dumping Shiel . That was brute force and scientific at the same time and he gets a game every week on that alone because one thing we've lacked a little is some nastiness in the M/F.

Ballenden can't ruck much at present but he moves well around the ground and just needs to build confidence .

Skinner was clearly nervous but geez he's a nice size and stuck at it. Not concluding anything on their games tonight but it's nice to have those bigger bodies out there as the game wears on.

Witherden and Answerth came in with points to prove and they did it. That's just gold for us going forward because we have genuine competition for spots.

Neale is a complete jet. Rayner is looking more solid every week.

McInerny has a very underrated footy brain in my view .I hated that 100m chase in vain in the last quarter from a conserve your energy point of view but what an example to the rest of the team . Some of his work inside was outstanding.

Lyons is like a robot. No one notices he's out there and he just crunches the numbers and effectiveness every week . Very smart footballer. Likewise McCarthy , does the little things that make a big difference.

Hipwood , well he's not in great form but he's getting into position to win the ball more often than not.

"Resting" Skinner is one of the silliest suggestions I've ever heard.

He's either picked again or dropped.

He worked hard in the second half

Pick again
Nothing to do with how he played. I just think 4 day breaks need different approaches and I think Eagles would offer heaps more in the ruck than either of Sam and Connor and I think we will need more back up for Oscar on Tuesday. I don't think it will happen and I also know it's a long way from many of the very silly things said on this board. The modern terminology is managed and it's not the same as dropped. But with time on the ground being 70% Skinner, 70% Ballenden and 68%Oscar, maybe they will all come up fine. I hope so.

Sort of get where you’re coming from but from watching reserves Ballenden is a better ruck than Eagles, and better around the ground. As said before, if everyone is fine and feeling good, if it ain’t broke don’t fix it.

Needs less falcons and more marks
Yeah. He's currently a bit static as far as his career goes and doesn't seem to be improving like we would like and you can sense a lot of inner frustration with himself.

But I think we stick with him. CHF is the toughest position on the ground ,I wonder if we could afford to find a different role for him for parts of games just to ease the pressure.

Review Round 9, 2020 - Brisbane Lions vs. Essendon