Power Penguin

Feb 24, 2009
Port Adelaide
Just wondering what you think of Ruccis article in The Advertiser today about Boaks development? Do you think he is developing well at the club or would develop better elsewhere?

http://www.adelaidenow.com.au/sport/afl/travis-boak-may-not-renew-contract-at-port-adelaide/story-e6freco3-1226360654341
TRAVIS Boak's signature at Port Adelaide is no longer a certainty.

As Geelong prepares to claim the Power midfielder in a second-string raid after Patrick Dangerfield commits to the Crows, Port coach Matthew Primus concedes there is "some kind of doubt" on Boak staying at Alberton.
Rather than extra money from the cashed-up Cats or a "go-home" factor working against the Power's plays to keep its vice-captain, Boak has to consider if staying at Alberton is the best for his progress to be an elite AFL player.
"He's not happy with how he's developing," Primus said.
"But he's certainly happy with being here at our footy club.
"We're pretty confident we'll be able to keep Travis. These things do take some time, but we're hoping we'll get Travis' signature sooner rather than later."

http://www.adelaidenow.com.au/sport/afl/travis-boak-may-not-renew-contract-at-port-adelaide/story-e6freco3-1226360654341

Re: Travis Boak may not renew contract at Port Adelaide

1. Boak will re-sign.

2. Rodan is being dropped for his lack of defensive pressure and nothing else.

3. Rucci needs to **** off and stop putting his own agendas ahead of the club he claims to support. He is the only Australian Rules Football "Journalist" that actively campaigns against the club he supports. Can you imagine Whately doing this to Geelong or Robinson doing it to Essendon? Any club identities that are on the media now doing it to their former club? Lyon to Melbourne? Roos to Sydney? Lyon is a ****wit but at least he supports his club.

**** you Rucci **** you very much for destabilising the very club you claim to love. You are the Julian Assange of the Australian sports media. ****ing Ruccileaks, it must be your aim to be more well know and more famous than Port Adelaide. Blokes like Fos Williams and Bob McLean must be turning in their graves. A "Port Adelaide" person doing this to their own club is a disgrace. This club was built on, and by people, whose very ethos was club first, self second. You are a ****ing disgrace and should be banned from being anywhere near Alberton. You ****.

I think he will re-sign and it would be a double standard if he didn't after telling other players they should.

I as well would also be interested in his trade value (not that I am saying we should get rid of him) I would just be interested to know.

I think people seem to think he's actually on the verge of being a superstar so his trade value would be quite high.

He'll sign though

Assuming it is a Victorian club other than Melbourne circling, two first round picks or the equivalent would be the ambit claim. It's not like too many clubs will head us off at the PSD pass.

2 first rounders...

Deal deal deal deal deal deal deal

I with Macca here.

Interesting talking about Boak I thought Patty was all the rage? Trying to take the heat off the Crows?

Just wondering what you think of Ruccis article in The Advertiser today about Boaks development? Do you think he is developing well at the club or would develop better elsewhere?

What a bullshit headline for a fairly nothing article.
No wonder the Port players have no respect for Rucci.
:thumbsdown:

I think he will re-sign and it would be a double standard if he didn't after telling other players they should.

I as well would also be interested in his trade value (not that I am saying we should get rid of him) I would just be interested to know.

Think he will stay
Taken a leadership role at the club
Best mate Gray who has already signed on

But playing devils advocate
would cost at least a first rounder maybe 2
Given that Geelong was thrown in the conversation
--> Geelong has those 2 compo picks for Ablett

Would mean in a season where we're heading towards a priority pick

--> Potentially 4 first round picks

To suggest we would get 2 first rounders is ridiculous. He is worth one first rounder at most, probably similar to Brock Mclean a fellow first rounder who didn't come on as people had thought. Shaun Burgoyne got us 2 because he was a premiership player All Australian and proven gun. Boak is still a good young player with potential who could become a gun or just never go on to be more than that.

A competitive ruck man would help his development a bit. But i reckon he will stay.

2 first round picks for Boak? i would take that in a heart beat.
he will look and be better in a better side but is not and never will be elite.

Gee Rucci is really having crack at you guys whenever he gets a chance
He tries to pretend he is even handed.
Every time he has a minute chance to get stuck into the Crows he goes in like a bull at a gate. When they are performing well and he can't get stuck into them he pretends to be even handed by writing ridiculous articles about Port.
Overall he is a crap journalist as he lets his emotions get in the way of his work.

Well another really poor game from Boak. 7 touches to half time and a few of them have been clangers. Not to mention the holding the balls that he is being penalised for.

He is way down on form and confidence but his work-rate looks non-existent. He and Hartlett are certainly partners in crime.

primus " were confident he will resign"

rucci " primus with some doubts he will re-sign"

wtf??????

where does he get this shit from???

seriously, people have beens sued for defamation for less than he has said in the past 4 years.

Who cares, really.

This. Even if he did start performing to his potential it'd be a Nick Stevens@Carlton-style waste.