Rudest/Nicest player you've met?

Originally posted by mattyc2422
Bollocks. He is egotistical, full of himself and arrogant.

Among the nicest blokes at Hawthorn are :
-John Turnbull
-Luke McCabe
-Brett Johnson
-Changa
-Timmy Hazell
-Ricky Ladson
-Tim Clarke
-Johnny Barker
-Campbell Brown
-Robbie Campbell
-Michael Osborne

Just to name a few. :D

Billy Nicholls is a ripper of a bloke.

Djaren Whyman (Former Hawk rookie and current Coburg player is a great fella. Always up for a laugh and chat.
I am sure you must of riled Aaron up when you met him.
He was nice to me and he remains nice to me

Originally posted by Pies rock
Micky McGuane, Peter Dacios, Brad Rowe and Andrew Tranquilli were the best I've ever met. Absolute top blokes. Others who were pretty cool are Bucks, Monkey, Pants, Andrew Wills, Matthew Burton, Troy Simmonds, Jason Norrish, Roger Hayden and Andrew Seigert.

Rudest was definitely James Hird. Never met someone so full of himself in all my life. Didn't have the time of the day for anyone. At this particular function where he was guest speaker with some horse trainer, Hird stood away from everyone talking to an Essendon official who he came with, whilst the other bloke (can't remember his name) mingled with everyone there. Refused autographs also. Anyone who I've ever spoken to about Hird has said the same thing. Creep.

Gavin Crosisca is extremely conceited and rude, as is Franky Coughlan (former Saint).
That's funny because Gavin Crosisca was nice to me.

The rudest umpire I have met was Andrew Coates. He is a real knob.

All the rest of the umpires are quite good

Originally posted by lamby29
Obviously talking about a different Clint Bizzell. The one I'm thinking of is one of the nicest guys at the club.

Same. I met Clint when he was still at Geelong, and he was so sweet. As was David Spriggs. Of the others I've met, Robbie Forster Knight was really nice, and Lloyd & Henneman were quiet. I also met David Haynes and Jonathon Brown just before they were drafted - Haynes was really nice, Brown wasn't so. Seemed a bit arrogant.

Played basketball against Peter Riccardi in the early nineties. What a dead set Corio dwelling, mullett haired, mocassin wearing bogon. Very arrogant and acted like a big tough man whenever he received some slight contact. Our team spanked his team of Kevins and Trevours every time we played them. Beautiful! A mate of mine went out with Riccardi's ex, and the stories i heard about how he treated her sounded about what i expected. I hear she's back with him now, must be a sucker for punishment.

When i was a kid of about 8yo, my brother and i were at the local pool and we noticed nobody was in the spa so we jumped in. A few minutes later David Clarke senior and some old fart came over to use it and when they saw us started angrily yelling at us to get out. arseh*le. Glad his name turned to mud after the Pyramid collapse.

Like Windyhill, i avoid talking to players.

Nicest- Lloyd- went to same School , was quiet but had no ego what so ever.
Scott Lucas- also went to same school, very down to earth funny bloke.
Mark Bolton- Was on the same flight as him a few years back from Bangkok to Melbourne, very good bloke.

Rudest- Joe Misiti- up himself.
Michael Symons- used to go to the same dingy night club (cactus) one of the most arrogant up himself pricks you would ever meet.

Nicest I've met are:
Gavin Brown
Terry Daniher
Brad Johnson
Paul Licuria
Ryan Lonie
Brodie Holland
Josh Fraser
Neil Balme
Tarkyn Lockyer
Alan Didak
Matthew Lokan
Rupert Betheras
Richard Cole
Chris Tarrant
Doug Hawkins.

Not so friendly:
Jason Cloke
Anthony Rocca
Ben Kinnear

not much, but...

Not met many, really.

Tony Shaw seemed nice enough. Made him a sandwich (worked in a sandwich bar). Ham and Salad if i remember correctly...
Nicky Winmar was mostly just quiet.
Barnaby French spent the entire Carlton family day crouched down signing autographs for kids. Didn't seem to mind a bit.
Kouta is always kinda shy, but polite and friendly.
Matthew Croft came across as nice too.

A few I missed earlier

Bubba Smith and Brad Johnson, terrific fellas

Dougie Hawkins,gives new meaning to the term "Down to earth"

Leon Cameron. Always up for a chat.

Originally posted by goaldrush
The rudest umpire I have met was Andrew Coates. He is a real knob.

All the rest of the umpires are quite good

I got booed by an umpire in 99. It was during the grandfinal parade, the players are going past in the cars, everyones clapping, then along come the umps, everyone stops. For a bit of a laugh being right at the front I go "booe the umpires". Well the umps who are only 10 feet away from me by now, suddenly yell out "booe yourself mate". They, me plus everyone else laughed and said it was the first time they'd ever been able to booe the crowd!!

Nice guys:

Trevor Barker - was great to my little brother when we were at Moorabbin waiting for autographs in about 1995.

Nathan Burke - I posted a whole load of questions to him for a year 11 assignment, and he wrote a few pages in reply!

Robert Harvey - quite, but a very nice guy.

Steven Sziller - always talked to me.

Jason Dunstall - top bloke.

Brad Plain - Very nice too.

Originally posted by 1jasonoz
I got booed by an umpire in 99. It was during the grandfinal parade, the players are going past in the cars, everyones clapping, then along come the umps, everyone stops. For a bit of a laugh being right at the front I go "booe the umpires". Well the umps who are only 10 feet away from me by now, suddenly yell out "booe yourself mate". They, me plus everyone else laughed and said it was the first time they'd ever been able to booe the crowd!!

Reminds me of the story of last years Grand Final Parade when the umpires went past and I gave Steve McBurney an absolute spray to the description of...."You've cost Cloke a Grand Final you so and so, etc, etc"

The big **** turned around to start waving to me and then realised he was copping a spray and quickly turned back.

The worst umpire to ever umpire a Grand Final and has a vendetta against Collingwood and Essendon.

Other nice guys I've met are...

Mick Malthouse
Neil Balme
Kevin Sheedy
Tom Hafey
Gavin Brown
Terry Daniher
Jason Dunstall
Adam Simpson
Brett Ratten
Matthew Hogg
Brad Nicholson

and on a personal note Ben Finnin is a pretty good bloke as I've played footy with him and I have also played footy with Tim Walsh but he turned a bit arrogant as he got older.

Originally posted by Hoggy

and on a personal note Ben Finnin is a pretty good bloke as I've played footy with him

Very nice kid, but he makes Dash Milburn look like a great conversationalist.

Very quiet.

The following players that I met that were nice were:

Alex McDonald (Haw/ Coll)- very friendly
Shane Crawford
Stephen "Bomber"James (played on him in the amateurs)- ripper bloke (ex Richmond)
Matthew Capuano- very friendly
Heath Scotland
Martin Pike- very down to earth
John Worsfold- got his autograph during 1988 GF and was very different to his on field persona
Peter Daicos- laid back, interested
Ron Barassi- very genuine
Scott Russell (Coll/ Syd)- very normal, friendly with sense of humour

Not so nice:

Tom Alvin
Chris Johnson
Wayne Johnston

Two of the best:-
Barrie Robran, came up to me after a tennis match and complimented me on my play. We ended talking for nearly an hour. Remembered my name on the odd occaision he saw me after that too. A bloody saint. He is the epitomy of nice.

Ryan Fitzgerald - knock a beer out of my hand while staggeriung around my mates pub, bought me freebies for the rest of the night. Farken funny fella.

Originally posted by SCRAY72

Leon Cameron. Always up for a chat.

Only met Leon once despite being related to him in some fashion. (Mum's 2nd cousin or some nonsense)
We were at mine (and his) Great Grand-dad's 100th birthday, and he was very quiet back then, almost shy. He's about a week older than me from memory.

Best
Paul Barnard (best by a mile)
Jason Johnson (absolutely sensational bloke)
Damien Peverill
Steve Alessio
Mark Johnson
Brad Green (Melb)
Sean Wellman
Darren Bewick
Shane McInerney (ump)
Chris Heffernan
Dustin Fletcher
John Barnes - I was on Barnesy's footy quiz in year 9, won the whole thing and Barnes made my day with his personality.
Dean Wallis
Michael Long
Damien Hardwick
Scott Lucas
Cory McGrath

Worst
Mark McVeigh
Adam Ramanauskas
Blake Caracella
Gary Moorcroft

Originally posted by sabre_ac

Kerr: At first he reminded me off Medhurst, still remeber him trying to break up a fight and being laughed at. That said he once walked past a mate of mine and spilt a drink on him, my mate considerably bigger than him was just about to swing. When Kerr shouted him a Jug of the finest. Hes a top bloke now :D

Just on that, Kerr is the kind of guy you want to be linked with in a 6 degrees of separation-type manner, he'll buy just about anyone a drink if there is a remote connection between you and him.

Rudest/Nicest player you've met?