Current Trial Russell Hill & Carol Clay - Wonnangatta *Pilot Greg Lynn Pleads Not Guilty to Murder

MOD NOTICE

This case is sub judice as under consideration by the courts. Sub judice contempt can occur if information is published that may be prejudicial to the court proceedings.

Please do not state as fact that which is opinion. Also, use 'IMO' and 'allegedly' a lot.

Rules - Updated Crime Board Rules - READ BEFORE POSTING

General Information The BigFooty Crime board is a community that fosters discussion on current and past crimes, some which have social and media notoriety, that attracts the attention of public opinion and discussion on such matters. Please read these rules very carefully, both the Big Footy...
www.bigfooty.com

On the Greg Lynn committal proceedings Crown Prosecutor Mr Dickie said 'It is clear hopefully from the document, and if it's not clear from the document it's clear hopefully from the charges put before the court, that it is alleged of course that the accused acted with murderous intent when he allegedly killed the two victims.'

Being a pilot - imagine the argument started over the drone and casa laws lol

Given the earlier post that said it was the day of international flights being cancelled I think you are onto something here.

If it ends up being the accused there's a high chance he went bush to relax and be on his own and collect his thoughts and then some old couple have rocked up, set up site right near him and started making a shit load of noise with a drone which has triggered his already fragile mental state.

Confrontation ensues. Escalates and ends. Old mate disposes of the drone with the bodies as it contains video footage of his campsite etc

I'm wondering what people's thoughts are on the removal of the bodies.
If they have the right suspect you would assume that he wasn't towing a trailer with nothing in it to the site originally. So if he has put the bodies in the trailer what has he done with whatever was in there. Did he throw all that in their tent as well and burn it?

What if he was dear shooting and had space to bring back dear meat?

The respray does not seem logical in terms of it being done to conceal the identity of the car.

Lynn's a clever bloke obviously and would have been aware there's a trail on vic roads databases of its colour plus many many digital footprint images of the car painted in its original colour.
Can only think that he was more worried about an eye witness seeing a blue car than about his number plate being identified, but even then it doesn’t make much sense as there would be a record of who owned cars matching that description at that time.

If that’s the kind of decision making he was engaging in god knows what else he’s said and done.

What if he was dear shooting and had space to bring back dear meat?

One more theory on that - what if Carol & Rusell were on a walk far from their campsite and this was a deer shooting accident? Perp panics and covers up.

Who knows what happened. Could have been drink driving and hit one or both of them in his car whilst they were out for a walk.
All these are possible.

It does beg the question why the fire though. Strongly suspect something happened there that he was trying to cover.

Given the earlier post that said it was the day of international flights being cancelled I think you are onto something here.

If it ends up being the accused there's a high chance he went bush to relax and be on his own and collect his thoughts and then some old couple have rocked up, set up site right near him and started making a sh*t load of noise with a drone which has triggered his already fragile mental state.

Confrontation ensues. Escalates and ends. Old mate disposes of the drone with the bodies as it contains video footage of his campsite etc
This sounds pretty plausible to me and lines up with what the cops have hinted at.

What if this all happened within the context of Russel stumbling on evidence of poaching? The trailer is something a poacher would need more than a legitimate hunter.
Imagine Russel seeing said evidence, having a stern word amongst the tensions you've already mentioned, and threatning to give his details to the authorities.

Being a pilot - imagine the argument started over the drone and casa laws lol

… and to add to that the reason his job looked shaky was to protect the elderly from the virus… I remember being pissed off at the elderly during this time also … especially seeing them ignore advice and fill places like BUNNINGS.
Maybe that was part of his anger ?

Haha yep.

Its just stupid anyway, if your car is involved in a crime and spotted you’re in trouble, full stop. Respraying it isn’t going to change a thing, nor is dumping it, torching it or anything else. A car colour is on the registration so the cops know who owned blue Patrols at the time.

There’s a reason stolen cars are used in organised crimes, they don’t just use their own car and say “I’ll just paint it a different colour!”. The dumbest crook wouldn’t do that.
Yeah, they obviously knew who the car belonged to I reckon. I think the changing of the colour of the vehicle may just be a coincidence and have happened prior to the revealing of the image.

Who knows, but changing the appearance of you vehicles colour but then not changing any other of the unique details (missing fender, racks etc) seems too daft to be true.

I'm wondering what people's thoughts are on the removal of the bodies.
If they have the right suspect you would assume that he wasn't towing a trailer with nothing in it to the site originally. So if he has put the bodies in the trailer what has he done with whatever was in there. Did he throw all that in their tent as well and burn it?
Now that they've located the car, they need to find that trailer. Hired? Sold? Dumped?

Yeah, they obviously knew who the car belonged to I reckon. I think the changing of the colour of the vehicle may just be a coincidence and have happened prior to the revealing of the image.

Who knows, but changing the appearance of you vehicles colour but then not changing any other of the unique details (missing fender, racks etc) seems too daft to be true.

Think the cops have known for quite a while and he's been under surveillance to gather evidence. When they released the photo about a month ago, they said how they accounted for every other car that passed that road camera over a 24hr period, "except this one". Which didn't ring true, at a minimum we're talking dozens of cars (quite possibly hundreds)... they didn't know them all expect this one. it wasn't that they didn't know who it is, it's that he was their suspect and they wanted him to incriminate himself further.

They've gone in all guns blazing (so to speak) with this arrest, dropping from helicopters etc, so you'd think they were crawling the hills watching him and he's quite possibly done something. Perhaps he was up there moving previously hidden evidence or something.

No doubt the coppers have known for a while and filtered the info about the blue 4WD to see if he’d panic and by having him bugged, he may have let slip what happened/confessed.

Why would a seemingly well off Pilot/ avid camper have such a shoddy looking trailer?

Pilots are well paid but it's not as if they're squillionaires. As for being well-off, what you earn is only half of that equation. He wouldn't necessarily be well-off depending on whether he's responsible with his money. You can be a high earner and not have much to your name if you waste it all, particularly if you have vices.