Current Trial Russell Hill & Carol Clay - Wonnangatta *Pilot Greg Lynn Pleads Not Guilty to Murder

MOD NOTICE

This case is sub judice as under consideration by the courts. Sub judice contempt can occur if information is published that may be prejudicial to the court proceedings.

Please do not state as fact that which is opinion. Also, use 'IMO' and 'allegedly' a lot.

Rules - Updated Crime Board Rules - READ BEFORE POSTING

General Information The BigFooty Crime board is a community that fosters discussion on current and past crimes, some which have social and media notoriety, that attracts the attention of public opinion and discussion on such matters. Please read these rules very carefully, both the Big Footy...
www.bigfooty.com

On the Greg Lynn committal proceedings Crown Prosecutor Mr Dickie said 'It is clear hopefully from the document, and if it's not clear from the document it's clear hopefully from the charges put before the court, that it is alleged of course that the accused acted with murderous intent when he allegedly killed the two victims.'

Wonder if he was alone, both at the time of his arrest, and more interestingly, at the time of the disappearance? From the snippets I've seen, he seemed to share his outdoors activities with family.

Pilots are well paid but it's not as if they're squillionaires. As for being well-off, what you earn is only half of that equation. He wouldn't necessarily be well-off depending on whether he's responsible with his money. You can be a high earner and not have much to your name if you waste it all, particularly if you have vices.

Everyone in here thinking pilots get paid like investment bankers.

Think the cops have known for quite a while and he's been under surveillance to gather evidence. When they released the photo about a month ago, they said how they accounted for every other car that passed that road camera over a 24hr period, "except this one". Which didn't ring true, at a minimum we're talking dozens of cars (quite possibly hundreds)... they didn't know them all expect this one. it wasn't that they didn't know who it is, it's that he was their suspect and they wanted him to incriminate himself further.

They've gone in all guns blazing (so to speak) with this arrest, dropping from helicopters etc, so you'd think they were crawling the hills watching him and he's quite possibly done something. Perhaps he was up there moving previously hidden evidence or something.
If they matched all the info from the footage but couldn't find the blue 4WD, they might have guessed it had been resprayed but it would have taken a while to find the match. I wonder if they also had the plates and if it had been re-registered. Blue was ABC and beige was XYZ. Amazing to see those photos, above - BINGO!

It's not the case at all. Mate of mine from high school slugged it out with a regional carrier back in mid to late 00s. He was on 60k then (which was a very good wage back then) but because it was regional he pretty much was involved with loading and unloading the plane, doing all the paperwork for it. He ended up doing 60+ hours per week easily but still only getting 60k plus a few perks. It wasn't glamorous at all and getting roles with bigger airlines was difficult so he binned it off in the end even after spending 50k on flight school.

You only see the real big bucks when you are a captain for domestic or fly international routes (obviously non existent atm).

Yeah, they obviously knew who the car belonged to I reckon. I think the changing of the colour of the vehicle may just be a coincidence and have happened prior to the revealing of the image.

Who knows, but changing the appearance of you vehicles colour but then not changing any other of the unique details (missing fender, racks etc) seems too daft to be true.

In his video of a river crossing from his fb account (now deactivated) it appeared that in January the bonnet was still blue but the guards had been repainted beige.

But yeah if your intent was to disguise the car you surely remove / change all the accessories, change wheel rims etc.

One more theory on that - what if Carol & Rusell were on a walk far from their campsite and this was a deer shooting accident? Perp panics and covers up.
I don’t think your then risk going to their campsite and trashing it, and theoretically he wouldn’t know which camp was theirs

Pilots are well paid but it's not as if they're squillionaires. As for being well-off, what you earn is only half of that equation. He wouldn't necessarily be well-off depending on whether he's responsible with his money. You can be a high earner and not have much to your name if you waste it all, particularly if you have vices.

So true. Ask me how I know :-(

It's not the case at all. Mate of mine from high school slugged it out with a regional carrier back in mid to late 00s. He was on 60k then (which was a very good wage back then) but because it was regional he pretty much was involved with loading and unloading the plane, doing all the paperwork for it. He ended up doing 60+ hours per week easily but still only getting 60k plus a few perks. It wasn't glamorous at all and getting roles with bigger airlines was difficult so he binned it off in the end even after spending 50k on flight school.

You only see the real big bucks when you are a captain for domestic or fly international routes (obviously non existent atm).

60+ hours a week is highly illegal….

It was the actual day internatinal flights being shut down was announced plus massivr cutbacks on domestic. He could have been in a bad way mentally.
True ....there has been suicide pilots before.... So mentally gone that tbere is no hope....
One final straw and bang....

There was MH370; the German guy who flew his plane into a mountain as a way of topping himself; the DHL pilot - among a few other known cases. .

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk

Checking Captains for the big carriers in Australia are on about $280Kpa ....

Deduct 40%+ in income tax; be a one income family because the musses don't work; and it ain't as fabulous as you may think...

Then the pilots I know all seem to fit that stereotype of big spenders; with very little savings.... (The $500K yacht; high maintenance European cars; engineering type hobbies and games etc)....

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk

Not actual flight time. That was way less. Repositioning, travelling, back end work behind the scenes doesn't count towards your flight time. It's a tough job at the entry level.

It is a tough job … but 90 hours duty time is the max you can do in a 14 day period.

Time travelling to work and time working before and after arrival doesn't count towards the duty time. That's where regional pilots get shafted. They spend hours travelling for flights and often are needed for duties on the ground due to a lack of staff.

Lots of feasible scenarios being proposed on here, will be interesting to see what the actual events were when it all comes out.

Also I note a poster above mentioned a neighbour contacted police regarding the colour change.

I wonder where the alleged perp's family stand in all this - surely they couldn't fail to make the connection with the police info released 2 weeks ago regarding the blue Patrol, trailer, etc. Tough position to be in - do you assume the worst, that someone you love is a murderer who has been covering up for 20 months, do you try and convince yourself it's all coincidence, do things that have occurred in the past 20 months appear in a new light, have you been witnessing a slow-motion mental disintegration due to professional/personal issues? I haven't seen (or intend to try to view) any of his alleged social media shots of family, but without knowing his kids' ages, he has a wife/partner, possibly siblings, parents still alive, mates, cousins, work colleagues who discuss aspects of private lives like many people do. Did any of them have suspicions before, how many twigged when the initial Patrol info was released, how many are in denial, and how many lives are now in turmoil to varying degrees because of this? Sadly, the two vanished campers and their families and friends are not the only victims here, and the ripple effect will be an unavoidable, but still sad, outcome for many people.

Time travelling to work and time working before and after arrival doesn't count towards the duty time. That's where regional pilots get shafted. They spend hours travelling for flights and often are needed for duties on the ground due to a lack of staff.
Traveling to work doesn’t count obviously .. but any paxing, or traveling on the commencement of duty does… sounds like he was working for a very dodgy outfit.

"Footage has emerged of police helicopters hovering over a remote East Gippsland campsite to arrest high country murder suspect Greg Lynn. It can be revealed Mr Lynn was first spoken to by police last year"

Dang paywall, that's all I can get, so they spoke to him last year, interesting

"Footage has emerged of police helicopters hovering over a remote East Gippsland campsite to arrest high country murder suspect Greg Lynn. It can be revealed Mr Lynn was first spoken to by police last year"

Dang paywall, that's all I can get, so they spoke to him last year, interesting

I'm guessing the convo went nothing like this, but alleged perp seems to have made some grave miscalculations on the face of current reports:

"Hey mate, we're just following up on the campers who disappeared, and believe you may have been in the area around that time?"

"Nah, not me, I do go there occasionally in my BEIGE Patrol with NO trailer, but nowhere near Wonnangatta Valley and I don't know anything about drones or tent fires or anything. Besides, I'm too busy as a pilot, so I rarely get a chance to take my BEIGE Patrol up there, and certainly don't own a trailer. Did I mention I'm a pilot, and I drive a BEIGE Patrol?"