Current Trial Russell Hill & Carol Clay - Wonnangatta *Pilot Greg Lynn Pleads Not Guilty to Murder

MOD NOTICE

This case is sub judice as under consideration by the courts. Sub judice contempt can occur if information is published that may be prejudicial to the court proceedings.

Please do not state as fact that which is opinion. Also, use 'IMO' and 'allegedly' a lot.

Rules - Updated Crime Board Rules - READ BEFORE POSTING

General Information The BigFooty Crime board is a community that fosters discussion on current and past crimes, some which have social and media notoriety, that attracts the attention of public opinion and discussion on such matters. Please read these rules very carefully, both the Big Footy...
www.bigfooty.com

On the Greg Lynn committal proceedings Crown Prosecutor Mr Dickie said 'It is clear hopefully from the document, and if it's not clear from the document it's clear hopefully from the charges put before the court, that it is alleged of course that the accused acted with murderous intent when he allegedly killed the two victims.'

Reckon this bloke will be the killer. Cops been making noises for some time and I imagine he has been reacting each time. Just slowly building their case against him. Also be surprised if this is a case of manslaughter (Russell) into murder (Carol). Be interested to actually know how many cases there has been in say the past fifty years in which someone who has committed manslaughter has gone up a level and committed murder immediately after the first crime. Imagine it would be rare and limited to people who have records or killed before etc. Be cold blooded murder IMO and it wouldn’t shock if there is a fair twist to come here.

My best mate (since grade 4, at primary school) is a Checking Captain on another airline....

Very stressful job...

Also, the virtual collapse of the industry during covid has really caused a lot of stress and hardship for many cabin crew...

The older they get, (the perp is in his 50s); often the more difficult and vigorous their mandatory health checks become....

Something like twice a year your job and future is 100% on the line - gota pass your next health appraisal....

Ditto approx 3 times a year; year in year out; CASA requires job competency checks on the SIMs.... including for the check captains...

Omong other things; the testing involves loading up the SIM; until it's almost guaranteed to crash and burn - unless you can "ace it out" ...AKA you pass; and your job is safe for another approx 4 months....

And pilots and guns .... don't get me started ... the stories I could tell ...

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk

My best mate (since grade 4, at primary school) is a Checking Captain on another airline....

Very stressful job...

Also, the virtual collapse of the industry during covid has really caused a lot of stress and hardship for many cabin crew...

The older they get, (the perp is in his 50s); often the more difficult and vigorous their mandatory health checks become....

Something like twice a year your job and future is 100% on the line - gota pass your next health appraisal....

Ditto approx 3 times a year; year in year out; CASA requires job competency checks on the SIMs.... including for the check captains...

Omong other things; the testing involves loading up the SIM; until it's almost guaranteed to crash and burn - unless you can "ace it out" ...AKA you pass; and your job is safe for another approx 4 months....

I'll get you started. Tell us more about pilots and guns

F*** that, if I’d murdered someone I’d at least torch the car not f****** paint it a diff colour lol, this isn’t Grand theft auto…

Haha yep.

Its just stupid anyway, if your car is involved in a crime and spotted you’re in trouble, full stop. Respraying it isn’t going to change a thing, nor is dumping it, torching it or anything else. A car colour is on the registration so the cops know who owned blue Patrols at the time.

There’s a reason stolen cars are used in organised crimes, they don’t just use their own car and say “I’ll just paint it a different colour!”. The dumbest crook wouldn’t do that.

The more I think about it the more I'm sure they tracked him until they busted him removing or at least checking evidence up there. They arrested him near an area called Arbuckle Junction. Arbuckle Junction is a fairly major intersection as it links up 3 of the more major high country roads. Tamboritha Rd comes South through Licola. Moroka Rd comes from the East and Howitt Rd comes from the West. If you take Howitt road it takes you through to the Howitt High Plain and down to Wonnangatta Valley. It's maybe an hour drive from Arbuckle Junction down into Wonnangatta and arguably the easiest route in and out of the valley.

If it's not related, it's a monstrous coincidence.

Very stressful job...

And psychological tests and health checks? That could rule out any insanity defence. Might also put Jetstars processes in the spotlight.

The respray does not seem logical in terms of it being done to conceal the identity of the car.

Lynn's a clever bloke obviously and would have been aware there's a trail on vic roads databases of its colour plus many many digital footprint images of the car painted in its original colour.

True. And while I'm speculating massively, Russell could have been the aggressor given snippets of what we've heard over time, and then it can only take one punch/whack/swing/shot/whatever and it's lights out, goodnight. After that who knows how anyone would react given the consequences they're facing.. But he's reacted with full cover up. And some pretty poor covering up at that given the car was the smoking gun and he's been cruising around in it with a different spray job.

If the story is along those lines where it's an altercation turned deadly I feel we'll get all the facts out of the case in time, rather than some premeditated killer who might go to his grave with his secrets.
Also, killing a 2nd person if part of a cover-up can't be defended in court.

Very stressful job...

The campers disappeared March 20. Could hardly claim covid collapse/lockdown stress etc as March 2020 was the very early stages of when it started.

I'm wondering what people's thoughts are on the removal of the bodies.
If they have the right suspect you would assume that he wasn't towing a trailer with nothing in it to the site originally. So if he has put the bodies in the trailer what has he done with whatever was in there. Did he throw all that in their tent as well and burn it?

Being a pilot, there's a fair chance he's not a smoker. With the car being seen with driver window down, maybe their was a second person. However why drive another persons car with them there.
Or the car was fogging up, so he wound down the window?

They will need something linking him to the campsite or an admission to charge.

Their was talk the campsite fire was stsrted by igniting a gas bottle. Could be traced to the suspect. Maybe dna found in victims vehicle or victims dna in his vehicle.

There must be something more than him just being confirmed to be the Patrol driver in the area on that weekend because if there isnt he will walk free in days if he doesn't budge.
They are going to need DNA given they don't currently have any bodies... unless he tells all.

The campers disappeared March 20. Could hardly claim covid collapse/lockdown stress etc as March 2020 was the very early stages of when it started.

It was the actual day internatinal flights being shut down was announced plus massivr cutbacks on domestic. He could have been in a bad way mentally.

The more I think about it the more I'm sure they tracked him until they busted him removing or at least checking evidence up there. They arrested him near an area called Arbuckle Junction. Arbuckle Junction is a fairly major intersection as it links up 3 of the more major high country roads. Tamboritha Rd comes South through Licola. Moroka Rd comes from the East and Howitt Rd comes from the West. If you take Howitt road it takes you through to the Howitt High Plain and down to Wonnangatta Valley. It's maybe an hour drive from Arbuckle Junction down into Wonnangatta and arguably the easiest route in and out of the valley.

If it's not related, it's a monstrous coincidence.
I'm thinking coincidence as he exited on the other side of the range via Hotham and any evidence is likely up that way, a few hours away. From Arbuckle to Wonangatta via Zeka is around 3hrs in good conditions, Zeka alone is 2-2.15 hrs from Howitt Rd

I noticed he had a bike on the back, to me one possibility is that he was camped at either end of Kelly's Lane (probably the north exit at Howitt a few kms up from Arbuckle) which is closed until the 30th, and is very popular with deer hunters.
The bike would allow him to ride along the closed track and get into better hunting spots. The terrain around there is definitely flatter and more suited to older/less fit walkers.

Also, killing a 2nd person if part of a cover-up can't be defended in court.

Yep, can see an accidental killing of one person in a struggle happening. I cant imagine a scenario where both victims are killed accidentally in a struggle. That seems highly improbable.