Current Trial Russell Hill & Carol Clay - Wonnangatta *Pilot Greg Lynn Pleads Not Guilty to Murder

MOD NOTICE

This case is sub judice as under consideration by the courts. Sub judice contempt can occur if information is published that may be prejudicial to the court proceedings.

Please do not state as fact that which is opinion. Also, use 'IMO' and 'allegedly' a lot.

Rules - Updated Crime Board Rules - READ BEFORE POSTING

General Information The BigFooty Crime board is a community that fosters discussion on current and past crimes, some which have social and media notoriety, that attracts the attention of public opinion and discussion on such matters. Please read these rules very carefully, both the Big Footy...
www.bigfooty.com

On the Greg Lynn committal proceedings Crown Prosecutor Mr Dickie said 'It is clear hopefully from the document, and if it's not clear from the document it's clear hopefully from the charges put before the court, that it is alleged of course that the accused acted with murderous intent when he allegedly killed the two victims.'

Absolutely sickening eh?
Agree absolutely with both of you..it was hard to hear, hard not to see this as intent IMO, and callous and detached. As i noted yesterday, his tone and intonation changed markedly when describing the more macabre aspects in his evidence...but the Prs. pished him on several occasions, and paused dramatically when he stated he stayed all night till dawn...he arrive just before dusk (to be discrete), avoided a "blazing fire", started with a small amount of accelerant, and fed sticks and branches until "just ash was left". Prs. asked "how long did that take, 1hr, 2hrs, 3hrs?"..Lyn replied" All night, i stayed until just before sunrise". He was solemn (partly reflecting on his own words/actions? Partly appearing to be remorseful IMO), but noticeably lost a bit of the conviction and confidence. Almost a bit ashamed.
Once again, all my own observations from observing his evidence yesterday, intently.
I can't help but think, as may jury members, this is compelling insight into what he was really thinking....even some of the more violent, evil "gangstas" of the underbelly era, IMO, would probably struggle with such a task. As he stated in his own words, "I never expected i would be here in this courtroom", and i imagine, have to tell the story of such a despicable act, in front of his wife and family. It speaks, IMO, of a dogged and tenacious determination to eradicate every piece of evidence imaginable, in such a calculated, methodical way. Despite having months to pontificate and refelect (regret?) on his actions in the camp, and dumping the bodies. How his character, IMO, could reconcile these actions as just and essential as opposed to a "reasonable person" is beyond belief, and is a tell to his true intent. He just kept digging a deeper hole, a more abhorrent sequence of events in my estimation, yet a reasonable person at some point well before this, would have ceased...realising they are undermining the very story/evidence that would vindicate their version of events. (Purely IMO). It would be interesting (but impossible and inadmissable) to speak for former subordinate pilots under his command...imbalance of (perceived) authority is a frequent causal factor in many aircraft accidents...the chief pilot's authorative manner and conviction prevent the more junior copilot from voicing concerns/risks/ alternate commands if the pilot is in error.
IMO, without any evidence for this, i feel from watching his testimony, Lynn COULD display elements of this in times he needs to make decisions/take charge. PURELY SPECULATION ON MY PART, but it has made me curious fir the last 24hrs. ie: perhaps he just so belives/convinced himself of his own BS, IMO🤔

Oh, and adding to above, his suggestion and subtle doubt-casting on the provenace of the Clay-dna slug subsequently discovered on the later (18mths?) Search of the campsite...IMO, that also indicates a self conviction, self validating his beliefs.🤔 (purely my musings)
Yes… that was weird… there’s no other way those two items could have been obtained! Very random suggestion from him.

Agree absolutely with both of you..it was hard to hear, hard not to see this as intent IMO, and callous and detached. As i noted yesterday, his tone and intonation changed markedly when describing the more macabre aspects in his evidence...but the Prs. pished him on several occasions, and paused dramatically when he stated he stayed all night till dawn...he arrive just before dusk (to be discrete), avoided a "blazing fire", started with a small amount of accelerant, and fed sticks and branches until "just ash was left". Prs. asked "how long did that take, 1hr, 2hrs, 3hrs?"..Lyn replied" All night, i stayed until just before sunrise". He was solemn (partly reflecting on his own words/actions? Partly appearing to be remorseful IMO), but noticeably lost a bit of the conviction and confidence. Almost a bit ashamed.
Once again, all my own observations from observing his evidence yesterday, intently.
I can't help but think, as may jury members, this is compelling insight into what he was really thinking....even some of the more violent, evil "gangstas" of the underbelly era, IMO, would probably struggle with such a task. As he stated in his own words, "I never expected i would be here in this courtroom", and i imagine, have to tell the story of such a despicable act, in front of his wife and family. It speaks, IMO, of a dogged and tenacious determination to eradicate every piece of evidence imaginable, in such a calculated, methodical way. Despite having months to pontificate and refelect (regret?) on his actions in the camp, and dumping the bodies. How his character, IMO, could reconcile these actions as just and essential as opposed to a "reasonable person" is beyond belief, and is a tell to his true intent. He just kept digging a deeper hole, a more abhorrent sequence of events in my estimation, yet a reasonable person at some point well before this, would have ceased...realising they are undermining the very story/evidence that would vindicate their version of events. (Purely IMO). It would be interesting (but impossible and inadmissable) to speak for former subordinate pilots under his command...imbalance of (perceived) authority is a frequent causal factor in many aircraft accidents...the chief pilot's authorative manner and conviction prevent the more junior copilot from voicing concerns/risks/ alternate commands if the pilot is in error.
IMO, without any evidence for this, i feel from watching his testimony, Lynn COULD display elements of this in times he needs to make decisions/take charge. PURELY SPECULATION ON MY PART, but it has made me curious fir the last 24hrs. ie: perhaps he just so belives/convinced himself of his own BS, IMO🤔
I see his change in confidence and conviction as a result of knowing exactly how this made him look.
He sat and watched the two families beg for any information and then set about to do his final act of making sure he was ok. On the show that he watched, one of Hill’s daughters seemed to have some peace that her Father’s final resting place could be buried in the bush (where he loved) but he proceeded to go back and make their final departure yet a more sickening act and nothing of them left to be found.

Oh, and adding to above, his suggestion and subtle doubt-casting on the provenace of the Clay-dna slug subsequently discovered on the later (18mths?) Search of the campsite...IMO, that also indicates a self conviction, self validating his beliefs.🤔 (purely my musings)
Fair call, obviously he has developed a conceit of his own abilities as a pilot and a hunter and by extension, the inherent "rightness" of his actions in this situation and probably other social interactions.

He has invested so much of his self esteem and, dare I say, ego into this that any attack would almost be considered a personal affront to which a personal physical attack is not beyond the realms of possibility

Almost like a tradie on Green P plates driving his ute in peak hour traffic getting a blast from another driver or two about a dodgy overtaking move and responding with road rage.

It's always somebody else's fault and the story he has concocted (and no, I don't believe his narrative) has been to minimise his culpability and to place the blame on Hill and, to a lesser extent, Clay.

This has manifested itself into the almost total destruction of them as physical entities and his desire to wish himself away so that he didn't have to take personal responsibity.

After both sides make their final summations and the Judge makes his final direction to the Jury, it basically comes down to whether the Jury believes "beyond reasonable doubt" the accuracy of Lynn's narrative.

The prosecution haven't really led any evidence other than they were all there on the day and the camp was burnt, the physical post mortem evidence and Lynn's own words in the ROI, so there is little contrary evidence for the jury to consider in this regard

If they don't, he'll go down for 2 counts of murder or 1 manslaughter and 1 murder

From your observations, did the guy rope seem to have any weight on the case?

Here’s another article by Erin Pearson (could someone pls post the text? It’s behind a paywall) thank you

When crime scene officers arrived at Bucks Camp in the remote Wonnangatta Valley in March 2020, they pulled out a mobile phone to record a mysterious burnt-out campsite.
As an officer filmed the blackened remnants of a tent, filled with twisted metal and glass shards, he walked around it, ducking under a black rope tied up between the bull bar of a nearby four-wheel drive ute and a small blue tent covering a portable camp toilet.

It’s this black rope, the Office of Public Prosecutions says, that makes it impossible that airline pilot Gregory Lynn, 57, is innocent of murdering missing campers Russell Hill, 74, and Carol Clay, 73.
They say this is because in Lynn’s version of what happened, the “tragic” events all began when he and Hill struggled for a control over a loaded shotgun while wrestling against the bull bar of a white Toyota LandCruiser ute.

But while questioning the accused man in the Supreme Court this week, Crown prosecutor Daniel Porceddu suggested the rope, seen in crime scene footage, would have been in the way.
“See, the problem is that you never knew that there was a piece of rope between the toilet and the bulbar, did you?” Porceddu asked.
“I didn’t see it,” Lynn said.
“You’re just making this up, aren’t you?” Porceddu asked.
“No, I’m not making it up. That’s the way it happened. The … the … the guy rope never got in the way of the struggle,” Lynn replied.

Lynn is accused of killing Hill and Clay at the campsite, in a valley so remote there’s no phone reception for kilometres, on March 20, 2020 – an accusation he denies.
On Thursday, after 16 days of evidence from more than 40 witnesses, that very man, Lynn, took to the witness box in his own murder trial.

He told a jury that while his actions after the deaths – including burning human remains – were “despicable”, he maintained Hill and Clay died accidental deaths.
During questioning from his defence barrister, Dermot Dann, KC, who had called his client as the defence team’s only witness, Lynn took the jury step by step through what he says happened.

Lynn said Hill had accused him of hunting too close to camp, so Lynn had left the doors of his Nissan Patrol open with music blasting to annoy the older man.
“I wasn’t trying to provoke a response. I just thought if he could be rude, I could be rude, too,” he told the jury.
After Hill took a Barathrum Arms shotgun from Lynn’s car, there was a struggle.
The accused man told the jury he got up from his campfire and followed Hill back to his campsite in the dark, as the 74-year-old fired warning shots into the air.

Lynn said the pair had struggled for control of the shotgun at the front of Hill’s Toyota ute, pushed up against the black bullbar, when the gun accidentally fired and fatally struck Clay as she crouched nearby.
Lynn then recounted how he went to return the loaded shotgun to the safety of his own car, when Hill ran at him with a knife.
He said he then donned his Jetstar-branded gloves and used a torch to find and remove blood and spatter from the “horrendous scene”, including nearby solar panels and camp furniture.
Lynn explained that at the time of the two accidental deaths, it was dark, between 9pm and 10pm. He said he put the bodies into the trailer attached to his Nissan before driving through the night and dumping them alongside the unsealed Union Spur Track, near Dargo.
During his almost four hours on the witness stand, the 57-year-old pointed out drawings he made for police during his questioning at Sale police station before he was charged. He relayed to the jury that he had told police everything he could remember at the time to assist them with their investigation, including finding what remained of Hill and Clay in a bush grave.

He said he continued through with a plan to distance himself from what had occurred for more than 18 months, maintaining he had never told anyone else what he’d done.

“The whole plan, ill-conceived as it was, was for me to disappear,” he said.
While Lynn maintains both were accidental deaths, the prosecution alleges the airline pilot killed Hill and Clay with murderous intent.
During cross-examination by Porceddu, Lynn was asked if he murdered Hill following a dispute over a drone, and then took aim and killed Clay after she saw what happened – something the accused denied.

He told the jury that in the aftermath of watching Clay die from a gunshot wound to the head while struggling for control of a gun with Hill and then watching Hill fatally fall on his own kitchen knife, he feared he would be blamed and devised a plan to protect his future.
He agreed that while he was trained to be calm as an airline pilot, he had panicked and made a series of bad decisions.
These, he said, included burning the campsite, pulling a knife from Hill’s chest, moving the bodies some distance away, stealing money from the pair to pay for petrol, painting his car, and returning eight months later to the bush to burn the remains, among other things.
Lynn told the court that by the time police visited his family home in Caroline Springs in July 2020 to ask about his car passing through the Mount Hotham area the day after the deaths, he believed he was on the police’s radar and his plan to distance himself from Hill and Clay was fast failing.

Once the hastily devised plan was under way, Lynn said, it was too late to turn back and report what had happened to police. He risked losing everything that meant anything to him – family, career and membership to exclusive clubs.

Porceddu put to Lynn that when he returned to Union Spur Track in November 2020, he had with him a plan to burn the bodies and went on to spend the night there, stoking the fire he’d lit until the sun rose.
“Despite feeling sick, you remained there until the job was done?” Porceddu asked.
“Yes,” Lynn replied.

Ultimately, it’ll be up to a jury of 12 men and women to decide whether the accused man is guilty or not guilty of murder.
They’re due back in court on Tuesday next week, where the prosecution and defence will begin their closing arguments. After that, they’ll be sent away to deliberate.

If you believe it did not happen, then Lynn's reason for the struggle leading to the 'accidental' shooting of Clay and the subsequent struggle resulting in the 'accidental' stabbing of Hill, is a total fabrication.

I do not believe it is the Jury's responsibility to come up with an alternative. If you do not believe Lynn's "accident" story, then they must find him guilty.

This is the difficult part for the jury.
Find Lynn guilty... of what, exactly?

If it's double murder, how did Russell Hill die, exactly, to warrant a charge of murder?
RH's death could very well be an accident.

Reflecting on this week's sessions, i feel it is swinging the way of the prosecution, maybe not for Murder, but cetainly Manslaughter. As pointed out by many people here, i feel there is some truth to the Prs. taking a bit of a stand back approach, and let him slip up and bring himself undone....reflecting on yesterday

Going on the latest podcast episode it sounds like the prosecution did a good job putting a few doubts in his description of the struggle for the gun with RH.

From your observations, did the guy rope seem to have any weight on the case?
Yes, as i wrote on Thursday, the prosecution spent a reasonable time (prob 10-12minutes) just questioing him about the guy rope, from a few different aspects. I felt he could tell what Prs. Was trying to do. LYNN spoke with conviction, brushing off simply he didnt see the guy wire, it didnt interfere with his passage.
Similarly, the Prs. pressed him about Hill's head torch, and weather it was illuminated in the stuggle. Similarly, he just said he couldnt rembember, but pressed and asked if that would be easy to remember during the struggle, wouldnt it, a bright light shining at you.
IMO it seems Prs. Cast significant doubt on the validity on the struggle story..Lynn alleges he snuck around to front of vehicle, to grab gun, and wrestle with Hill, which he described in minute detail...yet know mention/knowlege of the guy wire, which was in evidence as being their, an an obvious phyiscal obstacle in Lynn's alledged story. Prs. Made point of noting the guy rope was black....
As others have stated, I feel his story has some elements of truth, and some fiction to fit his narrative...the catch IMO is when he can't explain simple little things, that a fabricated story created to fit a narrative couldn't contain, if the events didn't truly unfold as he described.
"The devil is in the detail"😉
IMO, at least one Murder will be found by Jury, strongly linked to the incriminating conduct post- deaths.

Fair call, obviously he has developed a conceit of his own abilities as a pilot and a hunter and by extension, the inherent "rightness" of his actions in this situation and probably other social interactions.

He has invested so much of his self esteem and, dare I say, ego into this that any attack would almost be considered a personal affront to which a personal physical attack is not beyond the realms of possibility

Almost like a tradie on Green P plates driving his ute in peak hour traffic getting a blast from another driver or two about a dodgy overtaking move and responding with road rage.

It's always somebody else's fault and the story he has concocted (and no, I don't believe his narrative) has been to minimise his culpability and to place the blame on Hill and, to a lesser extent, Clay.

This has manifested itself into the almost total destruction of them as physical entities and his desire to wish himself away so that he didn't have to take personal responsibity.

After both sides make their final summations and the Judge makes his final direction to the Jury, it basically comes down to whether the Jury believes "beyond reasonable doubt" the accuracy of Lynn's narrative.

The prosecution haven't really led any evidence other than they were all there on the day and the camp was burnt, the physical post mortem evidence and Lynn's own words in the ROI, so there is little contrary evidence for the jury to consider in this regard

If they don't, he'll go down for 2 counts of murder or 1 manslaughter and 1 murder
Well put @GreyRanga! As someone who used to frequently endure the "high viz Grand Prix" that is the Ring Road and M1 in the morning commute, I totally concur with your P plater in a ute analogy!!!!

Also, as a result of his after death conduct, there isn't much hard evidence for Prs. to lead.😔
However, this allowance into evidence of this incriminating conduct, IMO, will be significant in the jury's decision of whether it is beyond reasonable doubt.
----------
Just another interest, i asked a few pages back...i thought you GreyRanga, or someone, would have a bit of an idea of what Dann's typical fee would for such a case..25-30k/ day?🤔 Plus junior counsel/assistants? Certainly not an inconsiderate sum of money.
----------
It leads me to think if convicted, and the family house had been put up as collateral for Mr Dann's fees, maybe Mrs. Lynn might cut and run...this would be significant burden on family finances....and her standing in the community, IMO.

Similarly, the Prs. pressed him about Hill's head torch, and weather it was illuminated in the stuggle. Similarly, he just said he couldnt rembember, but pressed and asked if that would be easy to remember during the struggle, wouldnt it, a bright light shining at you.

All the things he supposedly remembers but can't remember if the guy he had a struggle with had a light shining on his head or not, lmao!

If it's double murder, how did Russell Hill die, exactly, to warrant a charge of murder?
IMO for all said herein.

"Once the hastily devised plan was under way, Lynn said, it was too late to turn back and report what had happened to police. He risked losing everything that meant anything to him – family, career and membership to exclusive clubs."
Ref: #9005.

In response to this and from your long piece above, which was very nicely written thank you see 2/:

1/
It will be no doubt difficult for the jury.
To sit on a jury is a civil service in a democratic society.
No matter how big or how small a case it is a serious endeavour.
The charge is 2 x murder and that is exactly what the jury is required to find, guilty or not.

We may sit in front of a keyboard speculating and considering all that runs through our imaginations and thoughts.
The jury however must concentrate on only the evidence that is led.
The Jury will have direction and assistance, it will be difficult to assimilate the black holes as to what exactly occurred, however by concentrating on what is put before them in evidence they will make judgement.

The Crowns case is not an alternative 'story' the Prosecution has aimed itself squarley at the provable facts alone.
The 'story' offered by the Defence has been shown to have many elements that have been dismantled by the hard evidence led.
The emotive aspects that appeal to the human sensitivities, of the method of disposal of the evidence that was virtually complete, will have real impact in the deliberations.
This is what the Defence can not explain away as it is not at all reasonable to the common moral compass.
The jury is not required to construct an alternative 'story'.
We can and we do here, to reconcile the actions known in an attempt to understand and make our own sense of it.
The jury will not be doing that.
It is a fundemental misunderstanding to confuse what the truth is to us as opposed to what the jury is asked to do in passing judgement on the case as presented.

'High Country' and others here have pointed this out in various ways.

2/
Seperately I find it highly questionable that anything was at all 'hasty' in the devising of a plan given that GL is trained professionally to process 'problems' with rapidity and would be accustomed to do so.

Yes, as i wrote on Thursday, the prosecution spent a reasonable time (prob 10-12minutes) just questioing him about the guy rope, from a few different aspects. I felt he could tell what Prs. Was trying to do. Hill spoke with conviction, brushing off simply he didnt see the guy wire, it didnt interfere with his passage.
IMO it seems Prs. Cast significant doubt on the validity on the struggle story..Lynn alleges he snuck around to front of vehicle, to grab gun, and wrestle with Hill, which he described in minute detail...yet know mention/knowlege of the guy wire, which was in evidence as being their, an an obvious phyiscal obstacle in Lynn's alledged story. Prs. Made point of noting the guy rope was black....
As others have stated, I feel his story has some elements of truth, and some fiction to fit his narrative...the catch IMO is when he can't explain simple little things, that a fabricated story created to fit a narrative couldn't contain, if the events didn't truly unfold as he described.
IMO, at least one Murder will be found by Jury, strongly linked to the incriminating conduct post- deaths.
You mean GL spoke with conviction. Edit required.
Sorry to appear to be petty, I really appreciate reading your screeds from the court and your highly atuned observations.
Thank you very much.

So did Lynn's version have Hill stealing his gun, firing into the air, then take the gun back to Hill's camp where the struggle took place?

So, I said "If you do not believe Lynn's "accident" story, then they must find him guilty.", and then you say "RH's death could very well be an accident".

If you do believe it was an accident, then you believe Lynn's story. Get it?

No character witnesses is very telling IMO but possibly also because I watched too many episodes of Law and Order before it had too many franchises and started tripping.

So, I said "If you do not believe Lynn's "accident" story, then they must find him guilty.", and then you say "RH's death could very well be an accident".

If you do believe it was an accident, then you believe Lynn's story. Get it?
Accident vs Murder?
If it was indeed an accident, I find it VERY ironic that Lynn destroyed evidence that may have actually proven his story.

Yes, as i wrote on Thursday, the prosecution spent a reasonable time (prob 10-12minutes) just questioing him about the guy rope, from a few different aspects. I felt he could tell what Prs. Was trying to do. Hill spoke with conviction, brushing off simply he didnt see the guy wire, it didnt interfere with his passage.
Thats my go to when sneaking up to a car on a campsite - wear a head torch, just to keep extra low profile and not stand out like goats knackers 🙄