Current Trial Russell Hill & Carol Clay - Wonnangatta *Pilot Greg Lynn Pleads Not Guilty to Murder

MOD NOTICE

This case is sub judice as under consideration by the courts. Sub judice contempt can occur if information is published that may be prejudicial to the court proceedings.

Please do not state as fact that which is opinion. Also, use 'IMO' and 'allegedly' a lot.

Rules - Updated Crime Board Rules - READ BEFORE POSTING

General Information The BigFooty Crime board is a community that fosters discussion on current and past crimes, some which have social and media notoriety, that attracts the attention of public opinion and discussion on such matters. Please read these rules very carefully, both the Big Footy...
www.bigfooty.com

On the Greg Lynn committal proceedings Crown Prosecutor Mr Dickie said 'It is clear hopefully from the document, and if it's not clear from the document it's clear hopefully from the charges put before the court, that it is alleged of course that the accused acted with murderous intent when he allegedly killed the two victims.'

I’m not ….

I reckon Hill was pissed that some one was in his camping spot that he had staked!! . probably even asked Lynn to move because he was on his own and Hill was trying to impress Carol…Hill sayiNg he was there first … May have even set up his Tarp to claim the spot, which Lynn took down.. Heated discussions .. Hill retreats to the sh*t spot… Lynn’s and Hills anger brews … Then Hill brings out the Drone… pissess off Lynn… Lynn confronts Hill about “rules” !!! Illegal Drone flying … two dickheads end up in a fight .. or Lynn pulls out a weapon ? Which I doubt .. a struggle happens … Carol is hysterical .. she shouldn’t be there with Hill!!! .. Lynn kills the witness.

scene out of Fargo the most plausible explanation 👍

At the end of the day, something like this seems the most logical set of events - would have to be short-odds favourite scenario. But favourites don't always get up! (I'm neither a betting person or condoning betting btw, just using for analogous purposes.)

I’m not ….

I reckon Hill was pissed that some one was in his camping spot that he had staked!! . probably even asked Lynn to move because he was on his own and Hill was trying to impress Carol…Hill sayiNg he was there first … May have even set up his Tarp to claim the spot, which Lynn took down.. Heated discussions .. Hill retreats to the sh*t spot… Lynn’s and Hills anger brews … Then Hill brings out the Drone… pissess off Lynn… Lynn confronts Hill about “rules” !!! Illegal Drone flying … two dickheads end up in a fight .. or Lynn pulls out a weapon ? Which I doubt .. a struggle happens … Carol is hysterical .. she shouldn’t be there with Hill!!! .. Lynn kills the witness.

scene out of Fargo the most plausible explanation 👍
This in spades. Drone the escalation point IMO. With Lynn already triggered, having fled to the bush after an alleged fight with his wife, then Hill has a go re camping spot, flies drone in his space to piss him off, and whammo, its on to the point of no return. Clay the innocent victim.

IMO, Lynn confronted them at their campsite, maybe even busted the drone and was returning it!

She was reported to have only started packing up all his radio gear. It would be awful though if she has disposed of something unknowingly that might hold airtight evidence.

Could well be involved. Maybe she attempted to call for help on the ham radio after RH died following altercation with perp. Perp tells her to stop, she ignores him, he silences her.

"As detectives prepare to take another look at the Toyota 4WD Mr Hill left abandoned at the scene, Mrs Hill said she has begun the grim task of packing up her husband's belongings.

'I don't think that he will still be alive,' she said on Monday.

he 71-year old said her husband had never gone missing before this trip.

'He's always been on the radio. He didn't call for quite a few days and then I started to get worried and thought "I've got to do something now".'

Mrs Hill said her husband would routinely broadcast at the same time every night when his other radio chums were on the air.

'They all get on at the same time and once I heard Russell I knew, on the Friday, that he was fine. But then I didn't hear him again,' she said.

With little to do but ponder the great unknown, Mrs Hill has started to sort through her husband's possessions.

'I'm just cleaning up now. It's just all the radio stuff - the antennas,' she said.

Detectives planned to take a closer look at her husband's vehicle on Monday, which was found partially damaged from fire where the pair went missing.

Their campsite was discovered burned out, but arson investigations suggest the fire was not deliberately lit.

Mrs Hill said she was aware of Mr Prideaux and others who had appeared to have simply dropped-off the face of the earth.

'There are so many that have gone missing,' Mrs Hill said. 'If he fell, and got injured, well there may be nothing left to find.'

Mrs Hill told Daily Mail Australia her husband was familiar with the terrain where he was believed to have gone missing.

'He knows the area,' she said. 'He used to work out there. But it was a long time ago and he was a lot younger.'

Mr Hill had been a professional logger back in the day where he worked in some of the country's toughest bush.

'It's unbelievable actually,' Mrs Hill said of his disappearance.

Mrs Hill reportedly had no idea her husband was with another woman when he went missing.

She said her husband had been friendly with Ms Clay for decades but was unaware they were travelling together.

While specialist detectives move to rule out foul play, Mrs Hill said she was coping as best as she could while being kept in isolation due to the COVID-19 crisis.

'Some days are better than others,' she said. '(Family) have been coming up a little bit, but the virus is keeping people away. I'm a bit of a loner so it's not to bad.'"

Police to take another look at vehicle of missing camper | Daily Mail Online

I’ve seen older white guys punch on at the footy over the most trivial stuff. Usually with a skinful granted. Maybe they were two blokes who didn’t take a backward step on anything? I just thought it was an interesting observation by the musterer

Speaking of old white guys, I got abused by one over a parking space while I had a busted leg and was in an orthopaedic moon boot. He was actually waiting for me when I left the supermarket with his phone up filming and giving me a sermon about my not being authorised to park where I did. I was so upset with his harassment and filming I turned and hopped in to his space so he had to back up. Then I had to ring the cops and report it because he fell over.

So yeh I can see how something might get out of control with drones/phones up filming an argument for example.

We read different media reports, then. Because the one I read said she had said that she'd disposed of all his stuff with only the radio stuff left
It shocked me at the time. Maybe different if I'd heard her say it in person, but in print it sounded a bit cold. No judgement right, so later I decided she's just a pragmatic woman. In that same media piece, from memory, she stated she'd known he wouldn't becoming back once she'd learned he hadn't been heard on radio. Maybe she'd sensed it, too. Long marriage

By his stuff and disposal, I took it to mean his clothes, odds and sods etc. And they'd have no evidentiary value as far as his then disappearance, now murder investigation. Unless he'd kept a diary and had noted some fracas with a pilot when out camping (not serious)
Perhaps it's just the way we've each interpreted it. I took this to mean she had just started and was focused on his radio stuff rather than it was all that was left....

"With little to do but ponder the great unknown, Mrs Hill has started to sort through her husband's possessions.

'I'm just cleaning up now. It's just all the radio stuff - the antennas,' she said.
"

This in spades. Drone the escalation point IMO. With Lynn already triggered, having fled to the bush after an alleged fight with his wife, then Hill has a go re camping spot, flies drone in his space to piss him off, and whammo, its on to the point of no return. Clay the innocent victim.

IMO, Lynn confronted them at their campsite, maybe even busted the drone and was returning it!

Alleged fight was day he was arrested though. Or was there another one before he went camping in March 2020?

no phones or drones. He’s definitely had his wits about him getting rid of evidence. Don’t think the drunk accidentally drove over the tent theory holds much water TBH.
I agree. Why transport the bodies unless he's got his DNA on them or has an identifiable way of murder (e.g. bullet wounds)? Depending on the firearm available the sound may have been muzzled if shoved up into their abdomen (and/or used a pillow)? He may have forced them at gunpoint into the tent then shot them both. Removed the bodies to conceal method of murder and set fire to the tent to destroy DNA evidence.

We read different media reports, then. Because the one I read said she had said that she'd disposed of all his stuff with only the radio stuff left
It shocked me at the time. Maybe different if I'd heard her say it in person, but in print it sounded a bit cold. No judgement right, so later I decided she's just a pragmatic woman. In that same media piece, from memory, she stated she'd known he wouldn't becoming back once she'd learned he hadn't been heard on radio. Maybe she'd sensed it, too. Long marriage

By his stuff and disposal, I took it to mean his clothes, odds and sods etc. And they'd have no evidentiary value as far as his then disappearance, now murder investigation. Unless he'd kept a diary and had noted some fracas with a pilot when out camping (not serious)
Perhaps it's just the way we've each interpreted it. I took this to mean she had just started and was focused on his radio stuff rather than it was all that was left....

"With little to do but ponder the great unknown, Mrs Hill has started to sort through her husband's possessions.

"

Maybe Mrs H knew he wouldn't be coming back because she "knew" he wouldn't be coming back? Did she know about the affair? GL was a hired hitman?
I think I need to go for a walk and clear my mind, sorry!

"

Sounds as if you're getting toey with me :)

'As detectives prepare to take another look at the Toyota 4WD Mr Hill left abandoned at the scene, Mrs Hill said she has begun the grim task of packing up her husband's belongings'.

vs

"With little to do but ponder the great unknown, Mrs Hill has started to sort through her husband's possessions"

same article

and sure, amongst his possession which she was sorting through, she mentions 'antennas'

There's another article which I haven't bothered to search out, in which she says words to the effect -- 'There's not much left to go now apart from the antennas'

Not that it matters, does it? The man failed to return. His wife accepted early-on that he wasn't coming home. And she began the sort-through. Not as if she's going to use the antennas herself and sounds as if she's not one to hoard things when their owner has gone. Sounds like a realist, a pragmatist to me. Since then, the media's been click-baiting from the word-go with it's 'Secret Lovers' stuff. Hope Ms RH and family are doing well. RIP RH and CC

and hope we're still mates :)

It'll make a great movie if done well!
Re: hikers. Very few people hike into the valley. It's a long hard slog from down off the Viking or down the very steep Dry River track and a big chunk of it on 4wd tracks. There's no real walking tracks in the area. Most people don't bother - they just loop back up from the river to the Howitt Rd. We get some odd looks when we hike in.
What's the bush like down the Dry River track? Super thick? Any open faces/gullies? How long does the drop in take?
I've been toying with getting a mate to drop me off up at Howitt and hunting my way down to the Valley. See any deer?

Sounds as if you're getting toey with me :)

'As detectives prepare to take another look at the Toyota 4WD Mr Hill left abandoned at the scene, Mrs Hill said she has begun the grim task of packing up her husband's belongings'.

vs

"With little to do but ponder the great unknown, Mrs Hill has started to sort through her husband's possessions"

same article

and sure, amongst his possession which she was sorting through, she mentions 'antennas'

There's another article which I haven't bothered to search out, in which she says words to the effect -- 'There's not much left to go now apart from the antennas'

Not that it matters, does it? The man failed to return. His wife accepted early-on that he wasn't coming home. And she began the sort-through. Not as if she's going to use the antennas herself and sounds as if she's not one to hoard things when their owner has gone. Sounds like a realist, a pragmatist to me. Since then, the media's been click-baiting from the word-go with it's 'Secret Lovers' stuff. Hope Ms RH and family are doing well. RIP RH and CC

and hope we're still mates :)
No, not at all. Apologies if it came across that way. We're AG.
I was just referring to what I had read re the possibility of evidence being potentially destroyed and I hadn't seen the other article you've referred to. You're right, it doesn't matter - unless she has disposed of something that might clinch the case. I do doubt it though.
I think you're on the money with her disposition (realist), she described somewhere that she was a bit of a loner - I guess she'd have to be with RH flitting off at the drop of a hat. I also think that the police have possibly shared (deliberately or indirectly through questioning) some info with the families that has given her cause to assume he wasn't coming back.
I do wish they would stop inserting the line in articles that his wife wasn't aware that CC was with him - completely irrelevant at this stage in the game.

What's the bush like down the Dry River track? Super thick? Any open faces/gullies? How long does the drop in take?
I've been toying with getting a mate to drop me off up at Howitt and hunting my way down to the Valley. See any deer?
It's a tight single track, steep AF in places, rocky but no open faces. Only ever gone up it, never down so I can't tell you how long it'd take. it's part of the Bicentennial trail. There'd be deer there for sure. There's a makeshift campsite along the river that looks like deer hunters have set up. The track along the river is 4wd for a while but peters out toward the foothills. Last I was there we had to bush-bash through to the river to get across....but I believe that Parks have recently done some slashing and marking of the trail.

When was his car painted from white to blue? This hit and run happened on Nov 25 2017. Lynn's car was white in 2014 and painted blue sometime before 2019. Why did he paint it blue, and is anyone able to provide evidence of when this was repainted between these years.

View attachment 1290270

Hit-and-run by 'high clearance vehicle' leads police to new leads in road death of Bryce Airs
ABC Goulburn Murray
/ By Erin Somerville
Posted Thu 29 Nov 2018 at 2:38pmThursday 29 Nov 2018 at 2:38pm
Bryce Airs in hunting clothing poses in the bush with the body of a deer.

Bryce Airs was struck by a vehicle and killed near Jamieson around midnight in November 2017.(Facebook: Bryce Airs)
Share this article
abc.net.au/news/new-information-on-the-death-of-bryce-airs/10567246
COPY LINKSHARE
Police say they will begin investigating promising leads following a fresh appeal into the hit and run death of a Jamieson man last year.
Bryce Airs, 43, was walking home from a hotel on the Mansfield-Woods Point Road around midnight on November 25 last year when he was struck by what a post-mortem examination indicated was a high clearance vehicle, possibly with a bull bar.
The conclusion has led police to believe it could have driven by deer hunters.
Investigators established caravans in Mansfield and Jamieson this week to appeal for further information a year on from his death.
Victoria Police Detective Sergeant Christian von Tunk said police are hoping recent tip-offs from the public will help them close in on the culprit.

Sifting through clues
Police will now begin working with analysts to sift through information gathered from this week's appeal, which included interviews with Jamieson locals.
Some information received indicates that the culprit may not be from the region, with many visitors travelling to the Jamieson area for its recreational appeal, including deer hunting.
A blurry black and white image of a car travelling along a road at night.

Victoria Police previously released CCTV footage of a car of interest that was travelling in the area around the time of Mr Airs' death.(Supplied: Victoria Police)
Mr Airs was treated by paramedics at the scene of collision and was unable to be saved, but told a passer-by as he was injured on the roadside that he believed he had been hit by lightning, pointing the investigation to illegal deer hunters who are known to frequently spotlight in the region.
Detective Sergeant Christian von Tunk said he does not believe those responsible could have confused Mr Airs for wildlife.
"When you hit a deer it's a bit different to hitting a person, and we must remember Bryce was alive for some time after the collision as well," he said.

Public help needed to solve mystery
Police have said the public plays a vital role in helping solve the crime.
Those responsible could face charges including dangerous or culpable driving, leaving the scene of a fatal crash, and failing to render assistance.
Meanwhile, Detective Sergeant von Tunk has urged anyone with information to come forward, as Mr Airs' family struggles for answers.
"The 25th of November will stay with them forever," he said.
"Anyone involved in road trauma knows the effects reverberate right through the family, and right through the local community as well.
"They're devastated and it feels just like yesterday for them."
Curve , can you please do a thread on this?

Yes, absolutely. Thanks for reminding me, earlier this afternoon I made a mental note to go back and find this article so he could have his own thread.

New thread for Bryce Airs.

Does Lynn always go camping after a fight with his missus LOL.? It was only when he was arrested did they mention a fight with Melanie not the night of the murder. He certainly goes camping a lot perhaps to get away from Melanie.? The drone is the favorite but I also like the campsite position as well. Police in their 60 minute show said Hill wasn't next to the River which was the best spot and that was because somebody was already there so it's possible Hill staked it our earlier and Lynn got there and simply removed it. In terms of camping etiquette is it acceptable to stake out a spot even when you aren't there? Opinions?

Mr Hills best mate Rob Ashlin said in the 60 minutes show that Hill's wife didn't sound surprised when told her husband had gone away with Clay. So it sounds like she knew it was going on, woman's intuition etc. Sad though she stuck at her marriage even though her husband was having an affair at 74 years old. I'm extremely sad for her. Clay's sister knew the affair was going on. Sad for all the family and I feel for Lynn's children what would be going through their minds, going to need some serious help I'm tipping to overcome their emotions of knowing their father could be a convicted murderer?

Some random observations or possibilities (still have 5 pages to catch up on so apologies)...

1. Clay and Hill may not have been together when they were murdered. Hill might have gone for a walk alone (perhaps with his drone) while Clay stayed behind. Might explain why no blood curdling screams?

2. Who knows, Lynn could have taken a fancy to Clay and decided to attack her while Hill was off on his walk. Remember, he's had 3(?) wives for a reason and he's allegedly killed at least two people, so who knows what he's capable of. He's just had a stoush with his wife and may be in the mind of hating all women at that point. This means that he would have had every intention of also killing Hill when he arrived back from his walk.

3. Mavics can be set to follow you in your vehicle, so Hill may have had it up in the air even before arriving at camp.

4. The bonnet of Lynn's car was painted some time after Sept 2016.

5. Lynn's wife may have dobbed him in after he'd left and after their argument, considering they knew at the time he'd just had a fight with her. Yes I realise they had him bugged.

6. He wasn't putting up with someone flying a drone over him.* Only qualified pilots (and few others) are allowed to fly them in national parks and Lynn knows it.

7. The wallet and cards being strewn about inside Hill's car means Lynn (allegedly) went through them. He may have done the same inside the tent, perhaps after trophies or valuables, hence it being burned.

8. He may have hung around after the murders wondering what to do, where to hide the evidence, before finally deciding to head off with the bodies. Finding his north route blocked by gates he turned around and headed off to Grant Historic Area, dumped the bodies, had some rest in the campground knowing that no-one would catch him there at that time of night and then headed off north via the Great Alpine Road.

9. Trailer with hard lid was to hide deer and is why he didn't take his caravan with him instead.

*EDIT: Now that I've fully woken up I've made an edit :p