Current Trial Russell Hill & Carol Clay - Wonnangatta *Pilot Greg Lynn Pleads Not Guilty to Murder

MOD NOTICE

This case is sub judice as under consideration by the courts. Sub judice contempt can occur if information is published that may be prejudicial to the court proceedings.

Please do not state as fact that which is opinion. Also, use 'IMO' and 'allegedly' a lot.

Rules - Updated Crime Board Rules - READ BEFORE POSTING

General Information The BigFooty Crime board is a community that fosters discussion on current and past crimes, some which have social and media notoriety, that attracts the attention of public opinion and discussion on such matters. Please read these rules very carefully, both the Big Footy...
www.bigfooty.com

On the Greg Lynn committal proceedings Crown Prosecutor Mr Dickie said 'It is clear hopefully from the document, and if it's not clear from the document it's clear hopefully from the charges put before the court, that it is alleged of course that the accused acted with murderous intent when he allegedly killed the two victims.'

They could have arrived on the 19th, left, camped up at HHP then returned on the 20th.
Yes, we have always believed this. Yet there have been witnesses that say they saw them at Wannangatta the day before. Perhaps they are mistaken?
Seems that is what occurred - every early report I can find (in my ever growing folder of boomarks! LOL) say 19th HHP, 20th WV but nothing to suggest why they thought that. I do recall reading somewhere though that the radio club had spoken on the 19th and that is where RH reported he was. Seems a bit of effort to drive down ZS, find your "choice" of site gone, and then back up again (when there are plenty of good alternate campsites in the valley), only to return again the next day

We worked it out in here somewhere that he could have done it but not that it was likely he did. I'm not fixed in that he did go back to the bodies that last trip, I'm just wary of locking anything in that hasn't been confirmed.

Approx a 8 hour round trip. Unlikely as the cops were worried he was going to off himself.

I dont think they would be that bothered if he offed himself and they had located the bodies. The main concern going off the language off the press release is GL offiing himself could mean they never locate the remains which would be devastating for the families.

+There's been a lot made of the drone in this case.

I could see GL getting pissy about their proximity to his camp, then flying that "noisy bloody drone just to piss me off" being a kick starter to the final confrontation.
You nailed it..! 100%

Seems that is what occurred - every early report I can find (in my ever growing folder of boomarks! LOL) say 19th HHP, 20th WV but nothing to suggest why they thought that. I do recall reading somewhere though that the radio club had spoken on the 19th and that is where RH reported he was. Seems a bit of effort to drive down ZS, find your "choice" of site gone, and then back up again (when there are plenty of good alternate campsites in the valley), only to return again the next day

I only heard of that radio call being on the 20th, at Wannangatta, but maybe the reporters got that wrong too? They didn't speak every night did they?

Here's a far more believable story:

"The frail 74-year-old man pounced on me like a jackal. Instead of just brushing him aside like a moth (which you'd think I could've easily done, being a much younger guy who carts around carcasses for fun), we engaged in a playfight that accidentally set off my shotgun. And ohhh boy, just my luck. In a forest so vast, guess where the totally un-aimed bullet ended up..."

Its not about what is believable. It is what is provable. Without supporting evidence its kinda hard to prove beyond reasonable doubt that a A320 pilot and gun license owner who is subject to strict psych / health / criminal checks all of a sudden blows a couple away because they annoy him.

We surely will hear from a witness soon that encountered GL at Wonnangatta to testify he was agitated / ready to snap etc etc. That would help the prosecution greatly.

I only heard of that radio call being on the 20th, at Wannangatta, but maybe the reporters got that wrong too? They didn't speak every night did they?
No they didn't get it wrong. The Radio call was on the 20th and ended at 6.40pm. Last light would have been around 8pm.

Is it possible that the accused (Greg Lynn) was covertly flying the drone?
He's an ex-pilot, and drone flying might have assisted with any piloting withdrawal symptoms he had (if any).

'Gregory Lynn: ‘Possible’ blood stains allegedly found on weapons seized from accused missing campers killer’s home

By LIAM BEATTY

5:22PM JANUARY 18, 2023'

' ... In a signed statement provided to the Melbourne Magistrates’ Court, forensic officer Mark Gellatly said ....
In Mr Gellatly’s statement, he wrote he had been told investigators were working on a theory that the childhood sweethearts were allegedly killed after Mr Lynn became “annoyed” by Mr Hill’s drone.'

' Mr Gellatly said police informed him they were investigating if Mr Lynn had become “annoyed” with Mr Hill’s drone in the lead up to the alleged murder.
He said he was told Mr Hill and Mr Lynn allegedly “wrestled” over a shotgun, leading the weapon to accidentally discharge a hit Ms Clay in the head.
The pair allegedly continued to fight until Mr Hill was fatally stabbed.
Before the court, crown prosecutor John Dickie said this account “might not actually reflect” how police intend to put the case against Mr Lynn.

Mr Williams, who was camping in the area after work, told the court he allegedly observed a drone flying around the valley around 4.30pm on March 19.
“I could just hear this strange noise, I looked up and could see this drone coming up the river,” he said.
“It was filming me, not a problem, I waved to it. It went over the other campsites I noticed.”'

Under questioning by Mr Lynn’s lawyer, Dermot Dann KC, Mr Williams conceded he thought it was “rude”, saying people went to the area for a “peaceful camp”.

He did not know who was piloting the drone.

Mr Williams said he watched the drone for about 35 or 40 minutes flying around other campsites before disappearing.
He said it appeared to have come from the direction of Bucks Camp.

Its not about what is believable. It is what is provable. Without supporting evidence its kinda hard to prove beyond reasonable doubt that a A320 pilot and gun license owner who is subject to strict psych / health / criminal checks all of a sudden blows a couple away because they annoy him.

Pilots eh ..

Apparently it was out of character if he didn't - which is what prompted the report of him being missing.
"Both men were members of the East Gippsland Amateur Radio Group, of which Mr Ashlin is president, and if any of them were out camping, there was an unwritten rule about checking in via radio at 6pm each night.

Mr Ashlin described the nightly ritual as an unofficial “safety net”.

The alarm bells started ringing when Mr Hill didn’t check in after a couple of nights because he had previously been meticulous in doing so."

Pilots eh ..

There are millions of flights with hundreds of thousanda of pilots every year. This in general is not an issue. To be a pilot you have to undergo some very strict screening. Its not the job murdering psychos generally have.

So this "explosive" evidence.

I'd assume it's something that if made public now would unfairly sway a jury ahead of any trial and would therefore have to be treated as inadmissible.

My opinion - I reckon he had something on/with him at Arbuckle that would have been at Wonnangatta. Clothes, weapons. The drone? We know it's alleged he visited Grant at least once after the bodies were dumped there, perhaps he was going, or had been back to either Grant or (more likely) Wonnangatta to collect something.

My only other theory is perhaps he made a video confession before he was planning suicide, and got busted with it?

This case always gives me the chills. I was in Grant and drove past Providence Spur Track in Feb 2021. Knowing now that I was only a stones throw from their undiscovered bodies makes my skin crawl

We have heard from different witnesses that encountered RH/CC on the day of the tragedy and the previous day.

But none yet that encountered GL.
Unless they were also camped at the same spot (which no one has come forward to say they were), or stopped there, it's unlikely that they would have. He arrived a couple of days earlier - looks like he set up camp and stayed put.

White dual cab ute driver a key witness. Whoever that may be.

I'd assume it's something that if made public now would unfairly sway a jury ahead of any trial and would therefore have to be treated as inadmissible.

My opinion - I reckon he had something on/with him at Arbuckle that would have been at Wonnangatta. Clothes, weapons. The drone? We know it's alleged he visited Grant at least once after the bodies were dumped there, perhaps he was going, or had been back to either Grant or (more likely) Wonnangatta to collect something.

My only other theory is perhaps he made a video confession before he was planning suicide, and got busted with it?

This case always gives me the chills. I was in Grant and drove past Providence Spur Track in Feb 2021. Knowing now that I was only a stones throw from their undiscovered bodies makes my skin crawl
Wouldn't the defense want it to be inadmissable though if that were the case? I can understand the prosecution requesting it if it were key to their case and likely to be thrown out, but not the other way around...

Pilots eh ..

'Na-na-na, na-na-na
Na-na-na, na-na-na-na-na
Na-na-na, na-na-na
Na-na-na, na-na-na-na-na'

The accused's defence appears to have a lot in common with Bernie Taupin's "That sounds good" quote below.

One things for sure, we know that Greg Lynn is not a Virgin*
* he's a Jetstar ;)

'What does that song mean?' and in the case of 'Take me to the pilot/Lead me through the chamber/Take me to the pilot/I am but a stranger', I have no idea! You're on your own, I tell you."

'Lyricist Bernie Taupin has admitted to not knowing what the song's lyrics represent, comparing his writing style in "Pilot" to poets like "Baudelaire and Rimbaud...(who) just threw things together and went 'Wow! That sounds good'".'

I remember reading that about the radio club on the 19th also, can't remember where!

As you know it's a good 7-8hr drive from Melbourne to the Gatta, makes perfect sense that they would take it easy and stay a night up high.
I hate driving straight through unless I leave pre-sunrise to get in early enough to setup camp and relax, and I am much younger than they were. And there would be no chance I would do that then go back up Zeka just to come back the next day, insanity.

Wouldn't the defense want it to be inadmissable though if that were the case? I can understand the prosecution requesting it if it were key to their case and likely to be thrown out, but not the other way around...

The prosecution hinted at not introducing the statements through the committal due to possible issues raised by the defence but it's the defence who made the request they be suppressed.

Lawyers for the man accused of killing campers Russell Hill and Carol Clay are fighting to keep his police interviews a secret from the public, fearing “explosive” information contained in the recordings could have a detrimental impact on any upcoming trial.

Defence counsel Dermot Dann, KC, told Melbourne Magistrates’ Court that pilot Gregory Lynn’s police interview, recorded at Sale police station over several days following Lynn’s arrest on November 22, 2021, should be suppressed as the contents are “explosive or may be seen as explosive in the eyes of readers or viewers”.

Apparently it was out of character if he didn't - which is what prompted the report of him being missing.
"Both men were members of the East Gippsland Amateur Radio Group, of which Mr Ashlin is president, and if any of them were out camping, there was an unwritten rule about checking in via radio at 6pm each night.

Mr Ashlin described the nightly ritual as an unofficial “safety net”.

The alarm bells started ringing when Mr Hill didn’t check in after a couple of nights because he had previously been meticulous in doing so."
So yes it looks like he spoke to him on both the 19th and 20th. So I wonder where RH told him he was on the 19th? I thought when Rob Ashlin was interviewed on TV he said RH said on the 20th that he was at Wonnangatta and had to go and set up camp? Surely all these people can't have been mistaken in saying RH & CC were at Wonnangatta on the 19th, especially as they then saw them the following day?

We have heard from different witnesses that encountered RH/CC on the day of the tragedy and the previous day.

But none yet that encountered GL.
RH and CC were plastered over the news for ages. GL’s face is a much more recent addition. But if people really saw them during that brief window of a few hours why didn’t they mention another man camped nearby? That’s what I mean by saying witnesses are unreliable.

Skin crawl? You do have Chopper as your avatar!! 😂

The prosecution hinted at not introducing the statements through the committal due to possible issues raised by the defence but it's the defence who made the request they be suppressed.

Lawyers for the man accused of killing campers Russell Hill and Carol Clay are fighting to keep his police interviews a secret from the public, fearing “explosive” information contained in the recordings could have a detrimental impact on any upcoming trial.

Defence counsel Dermot Dann, KC, told Melbourne Magistrates’ Court that pilot Gregory Lynn’s police interview, recorded at Sale police station over several days following Lynn’s arrest on November 22, 2021, should be suppressed as the contents are “explosive or may be seen as explosive in the eyes of readers or viewers”.

That's my point...if his statement content is that explosive that it would be considered inadmissable in a trial, why wouldn't the defence take advantage of that? If he has incriminated himself in some way, wouldn't it make sense to move to have that removed from admissable evidence. Unless I am missing something - quite possible after a few wines! ;)