Ryan Griffen Requests Trade

That's ******ed.

He could make a statement and still play for an Adelaide/Nth/Freo/Hawth/Geel.

GWS just does not compute.

Leaving us with prob the club we can get the best deal from in terms of picks etc.

The timing of this is interesting is it not?

Many have said about our senior players been upset, controlling the club etc. And we offer Lonergan a 31yo when the ball is bounced $500K a year.

Serious? For a developing team such as the bulldogs you could really set yourselves up with 4 & 7, Boyd & 4/7 or Cameron
Yep it is a silly call.

Shortsighted and wrong.

I know where you're coming from, but Griff is just one of those blokes who is part of the club. It would be like seeing Hodge or Cox leaving for GWS. I'm sure we can make some positives from the deal, but it still hurts.

Leaving us with prob the club we can get the best deal from in terms of picks etc.

The timing of this is interesting is it not?

Many have said about our senior players been upset, controlling the club etc. And we offer Lonergan a 31yo when the ball is bounced $500K a year.

SEN reporting Club says Griffen a required player and will have to fulfil his contract. Negotiations commence....

I know where you're coming from, but Griff is just one of those blokes who is part of the club. It would be like seeing Hodge or Cox leaving for GWS. I'm sure we can make some positives from the deal, but it still hurts.

Bit like Buddy going to Sydney?

Mate you are actually getting compensated, and your club is on the right track.

Head up!

Terry pulling up Barret for talking crap lol

Settle down people. I understand that from the outside looking in and not knowing everything behind the scens this is making you freak out. Settle down. The hard calls needed to be made, no one is bigger then the club. NO ONE! We need to calm down and wait for every party to have it's say. Just take a deep breath for a minute.

Don't be austin's and crack under pressure.

First laugh I've had all afternoon. Thanks ;)

More than that my boy. I'm down the club, you just might be in for a few more shocks, what about you telling us something instead of sniping.
I tried to tell people like you what was going on, and you are still having a go at me, because I did not name Griffen.
GIVE ME A BREAK, ANYHOW I WONT BOTHER ANYMORE.
YOU WIN.

Well as an ex-player you should have an inside source, pray tell what has happened in our history.

Enjoyed Footscray all my life but only had the one chance to see the flag come west and since i started going over fifty years ago, we have had some brilliant players but rarely a strong team.

Now we have a coach challenging the players instead of the players calling the tune. About time, even if BMac has many weaknesses, players are employees and get paid for their efforts.

Players come and go the Club remains. Hopefully we will be stronger for this but you take your bat and ball and go home instead of adding an explanation to your position. You know we do enjoy reading your ideas.

Stevens saying Griffen never wanted to captain and was uncomfortable with media work.

Wants to get away and simply play footy and not worry about the extra work?

One thing I take out of this. Surely the club knew what was going on. All the new promo stuff had other players involved and Griffen hadn't done any media at all for the club. Could this have been one of the big moves that King was talking about last week?

Regardless, someone had posted a tweet about a rumour of pick #4, a second rounder and 2 lower ranked players.
This is a trade I wouldn't mind too much. The lower ranked players could easily be players like Sam Darley. Talented but left behind a bit because of the massive amounts of other talent around him. Could also be KPP players who would be developing fine elsewhere, but not getting games at GWS because they have so many KPP's to develop.

let us know what he says..

He just said..."The club is bigger than the individual". "If players don't want to be there, then they don't stay there"

Level headed and honest. Nothing sensational like Barrett DEMANDING that McCartney gets sacked.

Wallace also very positive about the potential loss of Griffen.

Man whoever is responsible for all the player turmoil needs to be moved on... terrible situation

Paging Clay Smith, we need you in the middle Clay. For once footy gods give us a bit of luck and fix that poor buggers knees and give us the A grader he looked like being early on.

This trade period could get rough as a result of this. Clubs are going to come hard with a hell of a lot of money at the likes of Macrae, Libba and Bont if they smell blood in the water. I seriously hope this is the end of it but I'm worried.
I think those three you mentioned may well see this as a prime opportunity to be the ones to finally take this club places.

He just said..."The club is bigger than the individual". "If players don't want to be there, then they don't stay there"

Level headed and honest. Nothing sensational like Barrett DEMANDING that McCartney gets sacked.

Wallace also very positive about the potential loss of Griffen.

If Griffen wants to go north, I'd rather have the power to negotiate a trade now than let the AFL screw us over with another shitty compo pick

Mate if Buddy had told us in 2012 that he wanted out, I would have pulled the trigger ASAP. Macca sees that what you said will occur and he will probably only get you a late pick 20's.

It's the most positive thing that could happen, and I reckon more clubs will do this in the future. Pull the trigger and trade players before FA! Especially clubs lower on the ladder.

You guys must feel a bit gutted, but this could be a fantastic trade for you. If you're going to lose a star/leader, lose them when they're 28 turning 29 - let's be honest the peak has been reached. Bit like the Crows and Dangerfield - I don't want to lose him now, but in 3,4 years it wouldn't be so bad - especially if we got some juicey draft picks for him. Pick 4 could get you Peter Wright, which would be a great pick.

But that's a neutral person thinking purely with his non-supporter head. If it was a Crows player in a similar situation I would probably be going around punching walls!

Ryan Griffen Requests Trade