Official Match Thread S31 First Qualifying Final: Gumbies FFC vs West Coast Wonders The House of Gumby (MOTR)

Wait wait wait wait got to pull the breaks on this situation.

View attachment 1144903

You need to buy me a drink first
Another one? You know I'm a sole income parent right? My family will be eating baked beans on toast for another week when you're done at the bar.

On second thoughts, worth it.

Wow, you really are taking things way out of context here. I'm not sulking, but since you offered, I'm always down for free hugs.
I didn't offer you a hug. Taking things out of context there.

Another one? You know I'm a sole income parent right? My family will be eating baked beans on toast for another week when you're done at the bar.

On second thoughts, worth it.

It's good that you know me by now, I just take, take and take.

easy gif1622022437985.gif

I'm sure you've had plenty of practice on your time mate.

Being a rather sheltered innocent old geezer, I only learnt recently what the modern interpretation is. After being pulled up, as it were, I have exercised great care in using the term.

I just had to Google it.
Had no idea.

Warning junior sport rant coming.
Just got off the phone from a parent who is coaching his kids u/11 team who keeps on winning by mercy rule and has just copped a comp points penalty.
He has been arguing with the district that it is impossible for his team not to win by as much as they are, they are just too good.
They put him touch with me as I used to run a lot of talent squads and have strategies for coaches not to win by too much (which does no good for anyone)

These mercy rules aren't for kids they are for win at all cost parents which are far too prevalent.

So I start giving him strategies to increase his players skills, that result in the game being closer. There are heaps, change the players positions to give everyone a chance to learn new roles (this is something we do in elite pathways to make better players anyway), Only try and score in certain ways. Practice on getting to the right part of the field rather than trying to score, a certain amount of passes n any play before they score, all stuff that makes them better players, still a challenge and keeps the score down.

Wasn't having any of it, trying to tell me that I've just never seen a team as good as this etc etc, it is impossible to keep the score down.

I explained to him that we take away sides with literally the best 14 year olds in the country (as selected any way) and play them against club sides in gala ays and tournaments and keep it under mercy rules it can be done if you focus on other thing.

Told me that I just didnt get footy, and everyone gets a medal ruins sport.

He hung up before I could tell him that it was parents trying to win U/11's games by 50 that were the problem.

Glad that this no longer part what I do on a regular basis, but still frustrating none the less.

Don't worry children. I am here
And hello fellow Wonders

Hi hayds! Welcome to the beginning of the end. Hope you're lunch is as good as my sushi.

With Pepsi on the side

Hi hayds! Welcome to the beginning of the end. Hope you're lunch is as good as my sushi.

With Pepsi on the side
Beginning of the end, not sure if you know big fella but both sides have the double chance this week ;)

Fun fact: I tried sushi for the first time a few months back and it was one of the best things I've ever ate. Should have tried it much sooner

Warning junior sport rant coming.
Just got off the phone from a parent who is coaching his kids u/11 team who keeps on winning by mercy rule and has just copped a comp points penalty.
He has been arguing with the district that it is impossible for his team not to win by as much as they are, they are just too good.
They put him touch with me as I used to run a lot of talent squads and have strategies for coaches not to win by too much (which does no good for anyone)

These mercy rules aren't for kids they are for win at all cost parents which are far too prevalent.

So I start giving him strategies to increase his players skills, that result in the game being closer. There are heaps, change the players positions to give everyone a chance to learn new roles (this is something we do in elite pathways to make better players anyway), Only try and score in certain ways. Practice on getting to the right part of the field rather than trying to score, a certain amount of passes n any play before they score, all stuff that makes them better players, still a challenge and keeps the score down.

Wasn't having any of it, trying to tell me that I've just never seen a team as good as this etc etc, it is impossible to keep the score down.

I explained to him that we take away sides with literally the best 14 year olds in the country (as selected any way) and play them against club sides in gala ays and tournaments and keep it under mercy rules it can be done if you focus on other thing.

Told me that I just didnt get footy, and everyone gets a medal ruins sport.

He hung up before I could tell him that it was parents trying to win U/11's games by 50 that were the problem.

Glad that this no longer part what I do on a regular basis, but still frustrating none the less.
Relax Goose. Rodney Dangerfield has kicked fewer goals this season. Sheesh.

Official Match Thread S31 First Qualifying Final: Gumbies FFC vs West Coast Wonders The House of Gumby (MOTR)