Preview Saints vs Blues, Monday May 12, 7:20pm at Etihad

Okay, let's get this Preview thread going.

This game is on Monday night, so a long break to recover and plan, and purge the demons from the Hawks game.

My team:

OUT: Geary, Gwilt, Savage
IN: Siposs, Bruce, Shenton

2 Tall defensive backs: Delaney, Bruce
2 Small defensive backs: Dempster, Simpkin
2 Offensive backs: Shenton, Webster

8 Inside mids: Hayes, Montagna, Steven, Jones, Newnes, Weller, Saunders, Schneider (+sm fwd)
2 Outside mids: Ray, Acres (+med fwd)
1 Tagger: Curren

2 Rucks: Longer, Stanley (+ tl fwd)

1 (+1) Tall Forwards: Riewoldt, (+Stanley)
1 (+1) Small Forwards: Billings, (+Schneider)
1 (+1) Medium Forwards: Siposs, (+Acres)​

• Rather conservative ins and outs, but yeah. I think the two injuries and then Savage (enough is enough).
  • In the back-line, Shenton deserves his crack, and we need Bruce to come in. Simpkin to play a little smaller and maintain that bash-and-and-crash.
  • In the forward-line, I'm not going to judge the forwards by the game against the Hawks, given it hardly got down there. But I have long thought we needed at least another prong up forward, and after Siposs game that's who I think can come in. Dunell is probably in better form, but I think the selectors have drawn a line-in-the-sand on those middle-aged state-leaguers up forward, so Milera and Dunell won't get another shot unless things get really desperate - I don't necessarily agree with that policy, but yeah (btw, if Shents doesn't get picked, that's why). Siposs IS young enough still, and the club's need and his form warrants selection.
  • The midfield, given Ross's form, he's unfortunate, but I think we keep the inside-midfield basically as is. We give Ray and Acres the outside game, and TC keeps doing his job well.

Oh, and if Dunstan's injury was only for a week, he may well come straight back in. So that's two inside mids that we have to find spots for: Dunstan and Ross.

So of the insiders/taggers:

Hayes = 100% safe, Montagna = 100%, Steven = 100%, Jones = 70%, Newnes = 80%, Weller = 80% (can't drop him after one game!), Saunders = 70%, Schneider = 100%, Curren =90%.

Weird, a 145 point loss, and it's hard to see who to drop in the midfield... Perhaps that's because, despite that result, we only lost the clearances by 3: 45 to 48. We nearly broke even at stoppages. We lost the game in countless ways, but clearances wasn't one of them.

Not sure how to feel about this game. We usually play well against Carlton, but both teams coming off terrible losses. At least Carlton showed some fight in the last quarter though.

Some good points Persy, can't see Mav or Acres being dropped after one game.

In: Luke Dunstan, Josh Bruce, Terry Milera/Dan Markworth, Arryn Siposs, Cam Shenton/Dylan Roberton/Brodie Murdoch
Out: Shane Savage (Omit, VFL), Tom Simpkin (Stiff maybe), Jarryn Geary (Injured), Jack Newnes (Rest/VFL), Josh Saunders (Rest/VFL)

Doubt my changes will happen but just my thoughts.

If Gwilt is injured well i'd take him out but i'll say it again and i'll always say this, he ISN'T a key defender and when he is played as one plays sh*t and has everyone calling for his head. Yet when he is playing his normal rebounding role he is always in our best, doesn't deserve being dropped and i doubt he will be.

I'm dropping Gwilt mainly because I think he's injured. He came off the ground and straight down to the rooms yesterday.

Just give me a marking option in the forward line outside of Riewoldt and Stanley. Bring in Siposs or Dunell.

Agreed. Need more options and need to give them a run to reward their recent form.

Think Shenton deserves a run but it wouldn't surprise me to see Robbo back instead.
Bruce should come back, too. If Gwilt's had a heavy knock he could probably take the week off.

Would really love to see Rooey get some rest to see how the forward line could function without him, but it won't happen.

Out: Savage, Gwilt, Geary
In: Siposs, Bruce, Shenton

Milera should get a gig, tore Carlton a new one two years ago, was all over them last year, is getting it done on the VFL and our AFL side can't find an avenue to goal. Iy may be between he and TDL but I'd like to see TDL in this one too almost as a lead up full forward.

Out Geary/Gwilt/Saunders/Savage/Simpkin

In Shenton/Siposs or Dunnell/TDL/Milera/Bruce

If we're dropping players based on performance, then Savage & Schneider have to be omitted. I have never seen such bruise-free performances by a senior player & by a new recruit that should be busting his ass to impress

Feel free to cut me down, but that had to be said. I mean, I know Supercoach scores don't really mean a lot, but Schneider had 18 points. I'd expect a senior bloke like him to stand up and show some fight like Lenny, Joey. He was poor

It's bad for us that Carlton will be looking to make amends after their very ordinary performance on Friday night, but it's hard to be worse than we were so I expect us to come out breathing fire. Changes, hmm, players in the VFL continue to stake their claims so it will be an interesting week for the selectors.
This is what I reckon should happen:

OUT: Geary (injured), Gwilt (injured), Savage (omitted)
IN: Bruce, Dunstan, and one of Siposs, Dunell, Milera or maybe Shenton (I don't think I've seen TDL play a good game at AFL level so he is out of the equation for mine).

I am expecting the intensity, effort and hardness at the contest that I saw against Essendon, and if we don't deliver it will be very disappointing.

I think that Dunell may still be in front of Siposs at this stage, just his effort when the ball isn't around is a lot better than Siposs's.

Doubt Armitage will be right to go this week.. Was one of about 20 assistant coaches at SAndringham today!

He is predicted for after the bye return.

Yeah thats what I thought, just saw someone mention him. Was limping today...

On VFL form.... Dunell, Shenton Milera, Bruce, Roberton, Ross, Holmes :D , Siposs, Murdoch be the order I'd be bringing them in, just depends on needs.. Ross be higher but rated him bit lower cos he only played one game, the others few more.. But yeah that would be my rankings.

IN: Siposs, Milera, Bruce, Dunstan, (Shenton)
OUT: Gwilt, Geary, Savage, Saunders, (Jones)

Webster / Delaney / Simpkin
Dempster / Bruce / Ray

Montagna / Hayes / Steven
Dunstan / Longer / Curren

Siposs / Riewoldt / Billings
Milera / Stanley / Schneider

Weller / Newnes / Jones (Acres)

Get Siposs in if he's confident, could put a few noses out of joint (Dunell, Shenton possibly stiff) but the kid does have talent and has done alright against Carlton before. Happily settle for Dunny too. Jones lucky for mine, works hard but tempted to throw another in there instead and give them a chance. Think he stays though. If Simpkin doesn't own it by the bye Shenton gets his chance afterwards. If Siposs can't get the job done Lee or Dunell gets a chance soon.

Really like that forward line, two key forwards, a medium marking target as well as Billings who can take a grab, then a couple who can hopefully be dangerous when the ball hits the ground and provide options further up the ground. Looks good on paper at least :D

Gotta bounce back here.

We need someone that kicks goals!
Unfortunately when Riewoldt is held out of the game, we don't find another option to kick goals. At this stage Stanley isn't constant enough, and when his rucking that leaves Riewoldt the only tall key forward option, and his then being double teamed.
We either need somebody like Maister back, who was helping Riewoldt out in terms of taking a decent defender the whole game and getting to contests, but then he hadn't been kicking goals.
Then there's TDL, who kicks goals on a regular basis in the VFL, his mature and doesn't take a decent backman due to him not being dangerous around goals at AFL level, but isn't a key forward, to really help Riewoldt out.
There's Dunell, his been finding the goals as of lately for Sandy, playing in the midfeild as well as forward. His hard to match up on due to his size and height, he reads the play well, his defiantly warrants selection but we don't know how he'll go at AFL level
Siposs, who is dangerous when his on, he can find the goals, beautiful kick, and may take a decent Backman just due to his long range kicking and height. But when his off he finds it hard to get the ball.
And Lee, didn't play on the weekend but we know he can kick goals and help out Riewoldt, but obviously fitness is an issue, can't see him coming in atm, but defaintly one for the coming weeks if form is on his side!!

From that, I think people forget how important Maister was to Riewoldt's game. He took a decent Backman, and got to contests and crashed packs etc. I know he didn't find the goals and dropped marks but him there limited the time Riewoldt was double teamed, thus him impacting the scoreboard and him finding a fair bit of the footy.
I wouldn't be surprised if he got the call up.

So IMO
Maister and one of Dunell/Siposs/TDL in
Haven't thought who may be out as of yet, and maybe more in's

My way too early thoughts:

In: Dunstan, Bruce, Siposs, Dunell

Out: Geary, Savage, Saunders, Simpkin

Didn't think Simpkin was too bad but I still see him as only depth and wouldn't have had him in in the first place. Not a rebounding option and I think Bruce has to be persisted with so unfortunately he makes way.

I'm over not having enough marking options so I think we should go with two mediums in Siposs and Dunell with the former in good contested marking form. End this madness!

Dunstan in speaks for itself and unfortunately Savage makes way. Decided to go in with an extra medium instead of a like for like replacement for Geary.

At a glance ^^^^ looks alright. Geary, Simpkin and Savage would be my definite outs (maybe Saunders or make him sub) and Dunstan, Bruce and Siposs are in. Bruce shouldn't have been dropped IMO, Dunstan had a concussion and has had a weeks break, should come back with a good game and Siposs just kicked 3 and played a really good game. Geary out injured, Simpkin just squeezed out and Sav needs a solid 3 games tearing it up in the VFL before he gets another recall. The NZ romanticism has passed and he needs some consistency.

Schneider and Savage were disappointing when there's others showing good form with Sandy.
Agree with Stkildathunda that Dunell and Shenton are first in line for another shot.
Dunstan in for Geary.

B: J.Gwilt T.Simpkin J.Newnes
HB: S.Dempster L.Delaney J.Webster
C: L.Dunstan J.Steven F.Ray
HF: L.Montagna N.Riewoldt C.Jones
F:J.Billings R.Stanley S.Dunell
R: B.Longer L.Hayes T.Curren
I/C: B.Acres M.Weller C.Shenton (J.Saunders)
Emerg: A.Schneider J.Bruce S.Ross

Out - Geary, Schneider, Savage
In - Dunstan, Dunell, Shenton

We need someone that kicks goals!

Unfortunately when Riewoldt is held out of the game, we don't find another option to kick goals. At this stage Stanley isn't constant enough, and when his rucking that leaves Riewoldt the only tall key forward option, and his then being double teamed.

We either need somebody like Maister back, who was helping Riewoldt out in terms of taking a decent defender the whole game and getting to contests, but then he hadn't been kicking goals.

Then there's TDL, who kicks goals on a regular basis in the VFL, his mature and doesn't take a decent backman due to him not being dangerous around goals at AFL level, but isn't a key forward, to really help Riewoldt out.

There's Dunell, his been finding the goals as of lately for Sandy, playing in the midfeild as well as forward. His hard to match up on due to his size and height, he reads the play well, his defiantly warrants selection but we don't know how he'll go at AFL level

Siposs, who is dangerous when his on, he can find the goals, beautiful kick, and may take a decent Backman just due to his long range kicking and height. But when his off he finds it hard to get the ball.

And Lee, didn't play on the weekend but we know he can kick goals and help out Riewoldt, but obviously fitness is an issue, can't see him coming in atm, but defaintly one for the coming weeks if form is on his side!!

From that, I think people forget how important Maister was to Riewoldt's game. He took a decent Backman, and got to contests and crashed packs etc. I know he didn't find the goals and dropped marks but him there limited the time Riewoldt was double teamed, thus him impacting the scoreboard and him finding a fair bit of the footy.

I wouldn't be surprised if he got the call up.

So IMO

Maister and one of Dunell/Siposs/TDL in

Haven't thought who may be out as of yet, and maybe more in's

Sigh. The more people talk about Maister the more it reminds me of the stuff we heard about Kosi. We need to stop being so concerned about what would help Roo's game as he's not going to be around when we're competing again, so I think it's time to start developing a more even forward line that has multiple options.

Just a reminder if needed that its back at Etihad and we are playing the Blues. That's light years away from the Hawks at the MCG.

Shenton deserves his chance but we may go Roberton instead. Dunstan will be automatic and one of Milera, Dunnell or Siposs will get their chance (not all). Would much prefer Bruce to Simpkin and still can't understand why Bruce was dropped. Personally, I think Simpkin should be one step behind Maister on the 2015 "see ya later list". Quite happy for both to play out the season at Sandy.

Those calling for Schneider's head must be joking. You could drop 20 players if you based it on the Hawk's game. He won't be dropped nor should he be. He was one our best against Essendon and always plays well at Etihad.

Finally, what is it with our long term injuries this year ? Even a f'n cut leg to Armo turns into a major event. But the most significant injury, given his form was the injury to Hickey. He will be a big loss. If he had got a full season in I reckon it would've been a case of "Big Boy Who" by the end of the year.

Saints to down the Blues by 16. Get on... we're over $3 at Etihad FFS !!!!!

Preview Saints vs Blues, Monday May 12, 7:20pm at Etihad