Player Watch Sam Walsh is ranked 16th in the AFL for turnovers when under no pressure

Get over yourself mate, it's a story on the AFL website using Champion data. Are they both trolls too? You Carlton supporters are unbelievable.
Typical Richmond supporter response. It’s a troll thread. Trying to justify its merit is further trolling that the mods need to get under control

He really isn’t.

Looks like it to me. Very solid player, will have a good long career, poll votes annually, unlikely to win a brownlow or have a season like martin or dangerfield a couple of years back. Nothing wrong with that like I said he's already a very good player. But he lacks "x factor". Standard top end footballer though.

I think the ‘Walsh has no superstar attributes’ thing is hilarious. Walsh is a ninja. He repeatedly gets the ball, uses it well, then pops up 10 seconds later on the opposite side of the ground, in a totally unlikely spot, and is part of a different contest. Basically, his biggest weapon is he reads the game better than anyone and as an 18yo is getting a heap of the footy as a result.

Had one play va Bulldogs that made me gasp - even though on tv it probably looked routine. Gave a handball of the left hbf that opened play for a team-mate who kicked down the same wing. Ball went into a contest, Carlton player won it and a couple of handballs later centred it under pressure to the goalsquare to a 1-on-3 situation. Happens 15x per game. The defender punched to the opposite pocket, one of the spare men went to mop up... and got tackled by Walsh for a boundary throw in.

The only way this makes any sense is that Walsh handballed to a team mate who kicked down the line - while Walsh sprinted full pace diagonally the full length of the ground to the opposite pocket, away from the contest, the ball and his man. I mean, when the kick went to the goal square he had to have been already running full pace to cover the 60-odd metres necessary to make the tackle... yet he was the only player on the entire ground who made that play, and he had to have been already going full pelt before his team-mate won the ball to kick it inside 50. I was at the game, and I still have no idea how he got there.

So yeah - either he had some random guy feeling that he ‘needed’ to be in the far opposite pocket, or he is a ninja.

Anyway, the point is that Sam Walsh is vanilla in the same way James Hird was vanilla.

Stack? He’s great, really talented guy, playing nice footy. But 18 teams looked at him and agreed that while he’s amazing, they would rather just... pass. Let’s wait 6-7 years on this one. If Richmond keep him on the field and out of trouble, well done to them. Footy might be his saviour. If so, it won’t be Richmond’s recruiting team that deserve the credit but their player wellbeing and management.

And the rising star award? Walsh should win and anything else is overthinking it. But who cares, really. It’s a weird award with an unclear premise and very strange eligibility criteria and voting process, so who knows what will happen...

The fallacy is that the insecure OP believes for Stack to be appreciated, he needs to tear down Walsh.

Walsh is a jet, is better now, and imo will be better for their careers.

Id still love Stack though, hard and talented player who has had some excellent games.

The fact that this idiotic thread exists comparing the two on a false premise is a real shame on the insecure OP.

Get over yourself mate, it's a story on the AFL website using Champion data. Are they both trolls too? You Carlton supporters are unbelievable.
I’ve enjoyed reading everyone burn you in here.
I’d tell you what I really think of your opinions and conclusions but I know you’ll have a sook and report me.
As predictable as Richmond sitting ninth.
Pulling the race card was the cherry on top.

Carry on...

Intersting article saying Champion Data has Sydney Stack, Connor Rozee and Bailey Smith ranked above Sam Walsh for Rising Star Award. https://m.afl.com.au/news/2019-06-2...ar-stats-say-gun-blue-is-not-in-the-top-three

"EARLY in the season, it seemed a fait accompli the No.1 draftee from last year, Sam Walsh, was destined to win the NAB AFL Rising Star Award. Now, the stats reveal he might not deserve to finish on the podium.

That's the verdict from Champion Data, which has a surprise name in the top three, ahead of the ultra-impressive Blue."
I said it after the draft that i thought Bailey Smith will be better and said that if i was Carlton i would have picked Rankin instead at pick 1, then some Carlton person on here replied after the first few games of his that do i feel stupid now for that comment. I said not at all, i seen him in the under 18's and he always seems to rush his disposals.

I’ve enjoyed reading everyone burn you in here.
I’d tell you what I really think of your opinions and conclusions but I know you’ll have a sook and report me.
As predictable as Richmond sitting ninth.
Pulling the race card was the cherry on top.

Carry on...
Thanks tough guy, if you don't like people talking about Carlton players go to another thread.

Admit it though, you wanted to make a thread about Sydney Stack and the only way you could do it is by undermining the achievements of another 18 year old. Read the thread, everybody knows it, it's so transparent what you are trying to do.

The thread is about an article in AFL.com about champion data rating Walsh below 3 other 1st year players. The discussion is whether Walsh is a certainty to win the Rising Star award or not.

I like a lot of what I read from many in this thread.
You on the other hand...keep upstaging yourself in the lost cause category.

Edit.. btw. This thread is about you talking up Stack - just admit it.

The thread is about an article in AFL.com about champion data rating Walsh below 3 other 1st year players. The discussion is whether Walsh is a certainty to win the Rising Star award or not.
So why not discuss it in the already existing Rising Star thread? Or alternatively, why not make a thread on Stacks achievements rather than one that bashes Walsh?

(I already know the answer. Trolling.)

So why not discuss it in the already existing Rising Star thread? Or alternatively, why not make a thread on Stacks achievements rather than one that bashes Walsh?

(I already know the answer. Trolling.)

Initially I was trying to work out the angle of a Richmond supporter starting the thread, then he kept banging on about Stack and the motive revealed itself.

Walsh is putting together one of the most complete rookie seasons I can remember.
Not to denigrate the other rookies, who have also been excellent, but he just looks sublime in a very tough role.

Honestly the harsh version of me watching him: He runs super hard, he competes pretty well for a young fella and he has a nice enough pop gun kick that goes 35m-45 often with very safe and slow decision making. You'd be excited if he was pick 20 but for pick one you're thinking he's vanilla.

He's getting a stack of ball and he's made Carlton better. And of course the idea is he moves inside after a preseason or two and starts showing his clearance skills - which are very good for a guy not blessed with pace/size/agility - even more.

So when that happens he probably quickly goes up a level.

My biggest concern is what happens in the mean time. Why is an 18 year old running huge distances in games and running himself to the point where he kicks it only 30m and doesn't take anyone on? I can't help but think it must be taking a huge toll on his body to run himself to such fatigue every game.

If it were me I'd be giving him some different things to do. Maybe go back to the VFL and dominate an inside midfield game against VFL opponents. Play some half back and half forward in the AFL side. Try a first half forward/on ball before a second half back on the wing.

Running all day + decreasing kicking penetration has me worried about the chance of OP.

1​
Clayton Oliver​
12​
64​
2​
13​
62​
2​
12​
62​
2​
11​
62​
5​
Suns
13​
61​
6​
12​
60​
7​
12​
59​
8​
12​
58​
9​
12​
57​
10​
13​
54​
11​
Cats
11​
53​
12​
13​
52​
12​
12​
52​
12​
12​
52​
15​
Cats
12​
51​
16​
13​
50​
16​
12​
50​
16​
11​
50​
19​
13​
49​
19​
13​
49​
Look at all those absolute spuds who are above him on the list! It's almost as if Getting a lot of the ball results in Turning the ball over more often

Geez. Looks like top 16 turnovers is a list you want to be on. I wonder if Walsh is the first debut season player to make such an esteemed list.

One of the philosopher Socrates' famous quotes is "One thing I know is that ai know nothing".

OP has shown himself to truly live up to his namesake through his failed attempts to bash an 18yr old.
Yes, Socrates certainly showing his malevolent side. In his determination to pump up his own player’s tyres, he goes out of his way to denigrate an excellent young player. Childish in the extreme.

Honestly the harsh version of me watching him: He runs super hard, he competes pretty well for a young fella and he has a nice enough pop gun kick that goes 35m-45 often with very safe and slow decision making. You'd be excited if he was pick 20 but for pick one you're thinking he's vanilla.

He's getting a stack of ball and he's made Carlton better. And of course the idea is he moves inside after a preseason or two and starts showing his clearance skills - which are very good for a guy not blessed with pace/size/agility - even more.

So when that happens he probably quickly goes up a level.

My biggest concern is what happens in the mean time. Why is an 18 year old running huge distances in games and running himself to the point where he kicks it only 30m and doesn't take anyone on? I can't help but think it must be taking a huge toll on his body to run himself to such fatigue every game.

If it were me I'd be giving him some different things to do. Maybe go back to the VFL and dominate an inside midfield game against VFL opponents. Play some half back and half forward in the AFL side. Try a first half forward/on ball before a second half back on the wing.

Running all day + decreasing kicking penetration has me worried about the chance of OP.
watch that whole thing and tell me again how hes a slow decision maker and always takes the safe option

Why do we still listen to anything Champion Data say after they dropped this turd pre-season...

View attachment 697036
3 of their top 4 aren't in the 8 half way through the season
Half of the top 8, CD have outside it.

Clearly know what they are talking about
......much like the OP

Tipping Rozee may just pip Walsh in a surprise result , but these 2 will be the top 2 with either duursma, stack or Smith in 3rd

Player Watch Sam Walsh is ranked 16th in the AFL for turnovers when under no pressure