SC 2016 - My Team (Pre-NAB Challenge)

No thanks. All I've tried to do is present some research & analysis in order to provoke some constructive discussions and I've just been ripped apart and abused. I don't see the point in posting my side and getting a similar response.

try it

you never know the reaction you will get.

and occasionally good research combined with gut feel might deliver a different outlook

as a CEO i spoke with today said - okay..so lets put some science behind the gut feel, then we can implement the plan

My first go for 2016 and no doubt will change a heap over the NAB Cup.

SC%20team%201%202016_zpsm7sslesq.jpg

262k still in the bank as well and i always like to save cash and have something left for an early mistake/correction.

Like selecting Weitering :)

262k still in the bank as well and i always like to save cash and have something left for an early mistake/correction.
I'll be keeping a very close eye on Yarran during the nab cup, could be a great pick.

Nice team. Like the McLovin POD. I'd use some of that cash to upgrade Yaz to someone with a heart bigger than a pea though.

Bloody hell don't be so precious mate. People have different opinions on everything. At least put your side up so you can show us where you've used your money. No-one will rip apart your side just for the sake of it.

Shaw, McVeigh, Laird, Bartel, Byrne, Brown
Pendlebury, Ablett, Sloane, Rockliff, Liberatore, Gresham, Kerridge, Gore
Jacobs, Naitanui
Montagna, Martin, Barlow, Greene, Cockatoo, Petracca

Only $6k left so will probably need to make a change once the best rookies emerge.

Jacobs, Naitanui

Only $6k left so will probably need to make a change once the best rookies emerge.
I like the Sloane pick even tho others think he'll get tagged out of it.
Still a long waay to go to rd one.

Like selecting Weitering :)

Contested/intercept marking Gun with great disposal and will be getting the 2nd/3rd best forwardline player or even playing the loose man while getting a heap of games for us this year. 200k is a bit pricey but JW screams cash cow IMO.
I'll be keeping a very close eye on Yarran during the nab cup, could be a great pick.

Yarran will light it up for the Tigers and watch out for a 100+ Rd 1 game against us. He has all the ability in the world but needs to be switched on up stairs while wanting to play at 100%. He has this now IMO.

Nice team. Like the McLovin POD. I'd use some of that cash to upgrade Yaz to someone with a heart bigger than a pea though.

McLoving is a beast across the WC half back line and by all reports will see forward time as well kicking goals. ;)

Jacobs, Naitanui

Rucks look shit

Jacobs, Naitanui

Nah in all seriousness it's good....except the forward line. Barlow is slowing down and I dint get the Greene love, I know he scored well a few years ago but his role has changed and there's nothing to suggest it will again (Cameron has said he likes him forward = less points).
Probably wouldn't go Sloane either, better options at that price.

Nah in all seriousness it's good....except the forward line. Barlow is slowing down and I dint get the Greene love, I know he scored well a few years ago but his role has changed and there's nothing to suggest it will again (Cameron has said he likes him forward = less points).
Probably wouldn't go Sloane either, better options at that price.

I actually don't have Sloane or Greene. I replaced a few of my smoky picks that I don't want to reveal with Sloane, Greene and 1-2 others. It's more fun having some smoky POD's up your sleeve ;)

View attachment 210226

My explanation:

DEF: hardest position to score and find consistently playing rookies, no brainer to spend more here for me.
MIDS: Pretty standard, If wines stays fit he'll be my M8 and I'll trade in Fyfe, JPK ect.
RUCKS: I stuffed up here, should've saved 150k and won SuperCoach.
FWDS: there's enough rookies that will score well IMO. Tossing up between Buddy/Wingard. Deledio will most likely be my first player traded in. Saints have a tough start so steering clear of Joey for now.
No Lids & Fyfe? I'm shocked.

But seriously very, very solid team..

Wingard easily over yo-yo Buddy.

Contested/intercept marking Gun with great disposal and will be getting the 2nd/3rd best forwardline player or even playing the loose man while getting a heap of games for us this year. 200k is a bit pricey but JW screams cash cow IMO.

Yarran will light it up for the Tigers and watch out for a 100+ Rd 1 game against us. He has all the ability in the world but needs to be switched on up stairs while wanting to play at 100%. He has this now IMO.

McLoving is a beast across the WC half back line and by all reports will see forward time as well kicking goals. ;)

JW screams NOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

not again as the ball sails over his head for another opposition goal

no 200K rookie KPdefender is worth selecting imo - has there ever been one who has delivered on the SC stage?

No Lids & Fyfe? I'm shocked.

But seriously very, very solid team..

Wingard easily over yo-yo Buddy.

This was a hard decision for me but i reckon Buddy will have a decent year and is very well priced and the cheapest he has been for over 5 years!

Wingard i do like and cannot fault people for taking him. Upgrade target for me.

Jacobs, Naitanui

solid side imvho (actually I'm far from humble)

good GnR approach

Joey over Lids??

JW screams NOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

not again as the ball sails over his head for another opposition goal

no 200K rookie KPdefender is worth selecting imo - has there ever been one who has delivered on the SC stage?

People said the same thing about Hogan to being a KP forward last season.

JW can easily average 70-80pts a game and when he peaks you trade him, i know the same can be said for a lot of rookie backs but i like JW's job security.

This was a hard decision for me but i reckon Buddy will have a decent year and is very well priced and the cheapest he has been for over 5 years!

Wingard i do like and cannot fault people for taking him. Upgrade target for me.
Yeah I'm liking Buddy this year also, just a gut feeling.

I have Wingard & Buddy at F3 & F4 so I rate both highly :rainbow:

OK, so after asking for assistance earlier I have fixed my team up and hopefully this is what I will be taking into the NAB cup.

DEFENDERS: Heath Shaw, Bachar Houli, Dane Rampe, Ben Reid, Ciaran Byrne, Mitch Hibberd (Kieren Collins, Mitch Brown)

MIDFIELDERS: Scott Pendlebury, Garry Ablett, Robbie Gray, Oliver Wines, Tom Liberatore, Brad Crouch, Jade Gresham, Jack Trengove (Dean Gore, Jarrod Jansen, Daniel Cunningham)

RUCKMAN: Todd Goldstein, Callum Sinclair (Luke Lowden)

FORWARDS: Brett Deledio, Luke Dahlhaus, Chad Wingard, Jack Martin, Jed Anderson, Sam Kerridge (Nick Kommer, Christian Petracca)

Structure:
3/1/4
4/2/5
2/0/1
3/1/4
Fairly stock standard I would imagine, But thoughts on this newly improved team?

Reid plays his best footy down back and has averaged 80 before. Injury free and in the prime of his career I can see a 85-90 average being a possibility if his body holds up.

I believe Callum Sinclair will ruck 80% of the time so he should get a good opportunity to score well, whether he does is another thing I will watch for over the NAB.

And I love Jack Martin, so clean with ball in hand and uses it well, should score OK.

Shhh.gif