Season 2013 Division 1

The cloke one is not on the league video. I saw it live along with the other 100's of people there. I have talked about it with plenty of people who also saw it including bundoora people. I don't think anyone from bundoora who was there would deny it.

As i stated i dont think either should necessarily face suspension . All im stating is out of Mitchell and Tenant, Tenant was out of the game longer as he was on the ground for a significant amount of time.

King hit???? are you taking the piss. is that what you saw behind play?? what was obvious from his reaction was it was to his stomach and he was up and back into the play 20 seconds later. If thats what you call a " king hit" then there are a lot more king hits in every game than i thought. As i said before open both eyes. The mont players didnt even think it warented any action.

Didnt see this post. So clearly you saw it as well? If Tenant was up and fine in 20 seconds (i think it was closer to 45 seconds) then im not sure how anyone could call for Ryan Jacksons head seeing as Mitchell was back up in less than 10 seconds and straight back into the midfield.

Having trouble viewing Heidelberg..Nthcote Park semi ..on Ipad2 or laptop..all other games this year ok, can any one help

The cloke one is not on the league video. I saw it live along with the other 100's of people there. I have talked about it with plenty of people who also saw it including bundoora people. I don't think anyone from bundoora who was there would deny it.

As i stated i dont think either should necessarily face suspension . All im stating is out of Mitchell and Tenant, Tenant was out of the game longer as he was on the ground for a significant amount of time.
So what you are saying is ... Not on video... 100s of people who were watching behind play saw it yet the goal umpire 10feet away either saw nothing or didnt think anything of it. This is why we have umpires and mrp. so decisions arent made by the crowd.

And the goal umpire or field umpires who are clearly in view of Jackson also took no action. Only on the video afterwards. Just because Clokes isn't on the video or reported on the day doesn't means its not report worthy or wont be investigated.

Very happy with the mental strength that the players showed to come back from what seemed like a game winning defecit, and to continue to believe when all looked lost. The boys had plenty of chances to start thinking about a prelim as Bundoora went out to a sizeable lead.

Very unhappy with a couple of blokes who ran onto the ground after the siren and it seemed to me their only intent was to abuse Cloke and Moorcroft (who had a fantastic game and had done nothing to deserve it.) I was a bit bemused with the passion they showed seeing as I reckon I haven't seen one of them at a Mont game all season and the other at only a few. Maybe the contents of a few cans too many taking their toll.
Spectators need to remember that the game is there for the players to contest and that we're there to watch it. That game should have been appreciated as a great final and the only involvement of supporters of both teams should have been clapping their players off afterwards. Gazza's comment of "we don't need this sh*t" during the moments after the game were spot on.
Someone above said Clokey is the easiest bloke to suck in, well without giving an opinion on that it seems he's pretty good at sucking in the opposition spectators too. We should love seeing passion on the field and not be chasing after blokes to abuse them after the battle is over! Spectators should ALWAYS stay away from opposition players no matter what the circumstances. Obviously some of them were 'sucked in'.

Also on Montyboy69's comments above.... Pull your head in pal. Nobody deserves to be knocked out on the field. That's just stupid. Marshall was very damaging and played well for the Bulls..... the only reason he's annoying is that he seems to play well against Mont every time we play!

Will be interesting to see now if Bundoora can get up again given the injuries and now having to play 4 games on that ground to win the GF (with a 6 day break after the prelim). We know NP can do that and they will not lack confidence. It's 1:1 between them this season so both sides will think they can beat the other.

And is this the changing of the guard for the league and Heidelberg? Will a few bow out now down there?

Not sure why people would abuse Moorcroft but Cloke was begging for it. Giving the choking sign constantly throughout the day only for his team to perform possibly the biggest choke i have ever seen. 40 points up 10 minutes into the last! obviously i dont condone the spitting or threatening of bashing but im not sure if thats true (you would want to be pretty tough and big to "bash" cloke".

Anyway onto the game well done to Mont. First grand final since 2008 and a good chance i hope they can break there drought.

Will be interesting to see who runs out for both teams this week. My early tip would be NP. Bundoora really could have used that weeks break but i think there are to many niggles in the team.

And the goal umpire or field umpires who are clearly in view of Jackson also took no action. Only on the video afterwards. Just because Clokes isn't on the video or reported on the day doesn't means its not report worthy or wont be investigated.

Couple of points to make here.
1. Cloke elbowed Tannant to the stomach and knocked the wind out of him because he wasn't expecting it. The goal umpire couldn't have been too far away given Tennant was on hands and knees in the goal square. Not on video. No report on the day. Hardly a King Hit and probably the act of a frustrated player....but in honesty, this would happen numerous times every week across the league.

2. Watched the MRP reviewed incident. Would hardly even be a yellow at any stage in the game.
Mitchell and Jackson run towards each other so you can't say Mitchell didn't see it coming. He had his eyes on Jackson.
Just before the bump, you can see Mitchells knees bend so he is either bracing for contact or preparing to fall over.
No raised elbow, no high contact. It's body on body.
Watch a few seconds afterwards, no Bundoora player goes to Mitchell as he stays there and hopes for a free.
An umpire is in clear view in the camera and has a perfect angle to see the entire incident, and chose to do nothing about it. In fact I think he actually said "Get up and get on with it" to Mitchell.
Mitchell gets up and jogs back into the middle for the next bounce and continues to play. If he's in any way hurt surely he goes to the bench or at least calls a team mate in for the bounce so he can recover.
Again, this happens all the time, it even happened at other times in this game and no more than a free was awarded to either side.

This one should be a storm in a teacup boys.

Couple of points to make here.
1. Cloke elbowed Tannant to the stomach and knocked the wind out of him because he wasn't expecting it. The goal umpire couldn't have been too far away given Tennant was on hands and knees in the goal square. Not on video. No report on the day. Hardly a King Hit and probably the act of a frustrated player....but in honesty, this would happen numerous times every week across the league.

2. Watched the MRP reviewed incident. Would hardly even be a yellow at any stage in the game.
Mitchell and Jackson run towards each other so you can't say Mitchell didn't see it coming. He had his eyes on Jackson.
Just before the bump, you can see Mitchells knees bend so he is either bracing for contact or preparing to fall over.
No raised elbow, no high contact. It's body on body.
Watch a few seconds afterwards, no Bundoora player goes to Mitchell as he stays there and hopes for a free.
An umpire is in clear view in the camera and has a perfect angle to see the entire incident, and chose to do nothing about it. In fact I think he actually said "Get up and get on with it" to Mitchell.
Mitchell gets up and jogs back into the middle for the next bounce and continues to play. If he's in any way hurt surely he goes to the bench or at least calls a team mate in for the bounce so he can recover.
Again, this happens all the time, it even happened at other times in this game and no more than a free was awarded to either side.

This one should be a storm in a teacup boys.
Hes has to go, u bump a guy in the head, he has a black eye, the ball was 100 metres over the fence, it doesnt matter if he sees it coming or not!

He didn't hit him in the head. It was a hip and shoulder after a goal and the bloke got up and played the rest of the game on the ball. I dunno how you could possibly think someone deserves weeks for that. A free kick or a yellow card at best

No high contact whatsoever. The umpire in the back of the picture was watching it! Black eye was caused by another incident.
Tennant has a black eye too..... Should they be blaming Cloke?

Mitchell and Jackson run towards each other, it's a mutual decision to make contact. Both bump. One just bent his knees before impact meaning he had a worse position balance wise and ended up being the one that fell over. If it had been the other way around Jackson would have fallen.
Have a look at the after footage... when Mitchell gets up he doesn't hold his head, touch his head or even put a hand up to his face. He just jogs back into the centre square.

What percentage of blokes that get a black eye don't even feel to see what it's like?

Not sure why people would abuse Moorcroft but Cloke was begging for it. Giving the choking sign constantly throughout the day only for his team to perform possibly the biggest choke i have ever seen. 40 points up 10 minutes into the last! obviously i dont condone the spitting or threatening of bashing but im not sure if thats true (you would want to be pretty tough and big to "bash" cloke".

Anyway onto the game well done to Mont. First grand final since 2008 and a good chance i hope they can break there drought.

Will be interesting to see who runs out for both teams this week. My early tip would be NP. Bundoora really could have used that weeks break but i think there are to many niggles in the team.
cloke as begging for it...???? are you seriously saying that it was ok for these idiots to run on the ground and abuse and spit on players ( not moorcroft but cloke was ok ???) you must be a bigger moron than i thought if you in any way condone this... the after game celebrations will be great if you get your way.
As for Jackson the league offered him 2 weeks after viewing the video but he is challenging it hence the wednesday night hearing. He will need to produce some argument for them to overturn it as the very rarely go back on their original decisions.

cloke as begging for it...???? are you seriously saying that it was ok for these idiots to run on the ground and abuse and spit on players ( not moorcroft but cloke was ok ???) you must be a bigger moron than i thought if you in any way condone this... the after game celebrations will be great if you get your way.
As for Jackson the league offered him 2 weeks after viewing the video but he is challenging it hence the wednesday night hearing. He will need to produce some argument for them to overturn it as the very rarely go back on their original decisions.

Clearly i said "obviously i dont condone the spitting or threatening of bashing "
I dont condone "abuse" but of course there will be banter by fans after he kept grabbing his throat saying mont are chokers and his team ended up performing one of the biggest chokes in the history of Australian Rules football. Yes the fans will give it to you if you act like a w***er.

They didn't make a decision! As with any report, they give the player the option of making his own decision and saving everyone time. That's the process that has to be followed. In this case the decision was simple because the incident didn't warrant any free kick, 50m penalty, yellow or red card and was seen first hand by the umpires. Why wouldn't you say "No thanks, I think we would like to talk this one through"?

If a decision has been made you'd have to appeal it. This isn't an appeal so hence no decision has yet been made.
It's an incident that someone has deemed worthy of review and they're having that review now to see if it warrants any penalty.

We may as well start playing hybrid netball rules if this amounts to anything.

They didn't make a decision! As with any report, they give the player the option of making his own decision and saving everyone time. That's the process that has to be followed. In this case the decision was simple because the incident didn't warrant any free kick, 50m penalty, yellow or red card and was seen first hand by the umpires. Why wouldn't you say "No thanks, I think we would like to talk this one through"?

If a decision has been made you'd have to appeal it. This isn't an appeal so hence no decision has yet been made.
It's an incident that someone has deemed worthy of review and they're having that review now to see if it warrants any penalty.

We may as well start playing hybrid netball rules if this amounts to anything.
I think a few of the people in this thread would be better suited to the friday night netball. If you think anyone deserves to miss weeks (including a grand final) for a hip and shoulder resulting in no injury or game time missed by the player then you need to reevaluate the sport you watch.

Clearly i said "obviously i dont condone the spitting or threatening of bashing "
I dont condone "abuse" but of course there will be banter by fans after he kept grabbing his throat saying mont are chokers and his team ended up performing one of the biggest chokes in the history of Australian Rules football. Yes the fans will give it to you if you act like a ******.
one of the biggest chokes in the history of australian rules football. You are one of the biggest JOKES in australian rules history. 2 injured players on the bench kicking into a strong wind.!!!
But being a mont supporter i supose you are an expert on the subject

I think a few of the people in this thread would be better suited to the friday night netball. If you think anyone deserves to miss weeks (including a grand final) for a hip and shoulder resulting in no injury or game time missed by the player then you need to reevaluate the sport you watch.
So you obviously are one of these people if you believe cloke should be put out. open both eyes

one of the biggest chokes in the history of australian rules football. You are one of the biggest JOKES in australian rules history. 2 injured players on the bench kicking into a strong wind.!!!
But being a mont supporter i supose you are an expert on the subject
I havent seen a bigger comeback in such a short period of time. And the wind wasn't bad at all. Also Mont had 2 sitting on the bench at least.

So you obviously are one of these people if you believe cloke should be put out. open both eyes

Put out? Do you mean suspended for his hit on tennant? No i dont think he should. Neither should Jackson

He hip and shouldered him after a goal was kicked. Happens in 99.95% of afl games. The guy got up and ran straight back into the midfield.

Sure a free kick or at worst a yellowcard should have been given. But suspension would be a bit of a joke especially as nearly exactly the same thing happened under 5 minutes later to a Mont player and they only received a free kick. You can see in the video they pull the ball back and give monty a free kick over 50 meters off the ball.

Yeah lets look after Mont, That Mitchell falls over all the time - What a load of crap - The coach repeatedly said stop Mitchell at the 3/4 time break and the third time, they got him on the wing at a boundary stoppage and he was knocked out not to take any further part in the game.
Mont of old If they are too good for you, belt them behind play!

Yeah lets look after Mont, That Mitchell falls over all the time - What a load of crap - The coach repeatedly said stop Mitchell at the 3/4 time break and the third time, they got him on the wing at a boundary stoppage and he was knocked out not to take any further part in the game.

Mont of old?? Wow. LOL. They accuse Mont people of sooking!?! For what it is worth it appears sanity prevails - neither the Jackson nor the Cloke incident worthy of suspension, let alone missing a GF

Phoenix your ability to mount a non sensical one way arguement is amazing. Bravo.

So Jackson should have been suspended for something that happened elsewhere with another player should he?
Maybe we should go study the video tapes and see if we can lock up Matty Dennis for shooting JFK as well?
The incident that the match review panel reviewed was not worthy of a yellow card let alone a report. And that has now been proven.

"At a boundary stoppage".... Hmmmm. Not many of them tend to be behind play! Nice one.

"Stop Mitchell".... yep, he was playing well. What coach wouldn't be asking his players to stop the oppositions best?

The Grapes they're feeding you seem distinctly sour pal. Smile, go hard, and win this week.

Don't be mad bro. I'm sure most say stop Gary ablett as well. Whatever the coach did seemed
To work pretty darn well.

Are you talking about the third time were he fell over in a marking contest?

He didn't hit him in the head. It was a hip and shoulder after a goal and the bloke got up and played the rest of the game on the ball. I dunno how you could possibly think someone deserves weeks for that. A free kick or a yellow card at best

sanity prevailed? well it was a stupid act but it was very soft .mind you he is 8 inches bigger and most likely 20 kilos heavier. should he have been rubbed out , no way but should he feel lucky, bloody oath.its in monty's hands now to win or lose.i bet they have the t-shirts sitting in the boxes now.we can only wait and smile.

Phoenix your ability to mount a non sensical one way arguement is amazing. Bravo.

So Jackson should have been suspended for something that happened elsewhere with another player should he?
Maybe we should go study the video tapes and see if we can lock up Matty Dennis for shooting JFK as well?
The incident that the match review panel reviewed was not worthy of a yellow card let alone a report. And that has now been proven.

"At a boundary stoppage".... Hmmmm. Not many of them tend to be behind play! Nice one.

"Stop Mitchell".... yep, he was playing well. What coach wouldn't be asking his players to stop the oppositions best?

The Grapes they're feeding you seem distinctly sour pal. Smile, go hard, and win this week.
They actually found him guilty mate. But some dodgy dealings or something has gone on, because he has recieved 3 weeks suspended sentence. What a joke the NFL is. Hes either guilty or not, when have u heard of a suspended sentence? Smells very funny

Just noticed that on the website.

Isn't the tribunal an 'independant' body? They should decide without any influence from anywhere else so I doubt any 'dodgy dealings'..... Maybe they thought it was borderline behaviour but not warranted of a suspension. Sort of like a 'don't do it again or you'll go' warning? Who knows.

From my viewing of it, I'd have called it trivial and thrown it out...... but that's why they have independant people there.

My points above were about the Phoenix argument and the holes in it. I'm always happy to discuss and debate stuff where there's reason and logic applied.