Great man.Huge loss.RIP bigfella.Only happened in past 24 hours so probably won't be finalised until mid next week. Am sure will be posted once known.
CashI'm hearing the mob at the end of the Warby Hwy have a league triple BnF on board for 2016 !
Great pick up for them no doubt, will certainly compliment a developing midfield, but unsure why he wouldn't return to his original club ???
Welcome back ol son....
With Brett Fisher standing down at Wandin, will they have to re-jig their assistant coaches? I' guess where I'm going with this is how much emphasis do clubs put on assistants? With first division normally being pretty tight between third and eigth are clubs starting to realise that good help on the bench might just give them an edge, or do clubs only have assistants because every one else does?
Woori must've had some faith in assistants with Brendan Donovan signing at Olinda as the senior coach. If Donovan has a successful season, or seasons, at Olinda it may just start a new trend in coaching in the Valley. Any other assistants around that could make the step up?
i on the grapevine hear Big Jason has been sacked,Paul Preston taking over and most of the players that have left are returning.Not a good start to the year.Drove past it this morning MIW, they were putting the glass up, looks unreal. I think the initial plans were end of March and my mate up there hasn't said otherwise.
He did say though that there's big issues at the club. I'll speak to him in the next day or so and find out for sure, but the initial indication is far from ideal.
i on the grapevine hear Big Jason has been sacked,Paul Preston taking over and most of the players that have left are returning.Not a good start to the year.
Correct me if lm wrong
Players felt he couldnt coach.Bit of a worry when players dictate whos coaching.Heard a lot of stuff about Jasons coaching. Best not repeated.Doesnt help anyone.The bloke would be pissed of enough with out comments floating around.Hopefully the club has sorted it and will be competitive in Div 1.Not looking forward to watching floggings if the players arent sticking around.Premiership coach WTF happened there?
Players felt he couldnt coach.Bit of a worry when players dictate whos coaching.Heard a lot of stuff about Jasons coaching. Best not repeated.Doesnt help anyone.The bloke would be pissed of enough with out comments floating around.Hopefully the club has sorted it and will be competitive in Div 1.Not looking forward to watching floggings if the players arent sticking around.
Don't think the Woori boys had a problem with Nick as a person, just didn't think he was a great coachNick Tennant, Peter Brown and now Jason Bek. All coached their teams to finals and one to a flag; now all sacked due to player unrest. Maybe we better change the old saying "It doesn't matter whether you win or lose, it's how you play the game" (I think Ron Barassi changed it to "It doesn't matter how you play the game, it's whether you win or lose) to "It doesn't matter how you coach, it's whether you are likeable". Probably a sad reflection in general on today's society.
Nick Tennant, Peter Brown and now Jason Bek. All coached their teams to finals and one to a flag; now all sacked due to player unrest. Maybe we better change the old saying "It doesn't matter whether you win or lose, it's how you play the game" (I think Ron Barassi changed it to "It doesn't matter how you play the game, it's whether you win or lose) to "It doesn't matter how you coach, it's whether you are likeable". Probably a sad reflection in general on today's society.
Yep, it's certainly the era of entitlement, and even footy club executives now bow to the masses.
I've always said there are quite often far more capable, credentialed coaches getting around than those blokes who actually try and help clubs .... yet those guys either don't have the time (or balls) to put the heads on the block.
Often it's these characters that are most dangerous around clubs, planting seeds in players heads etc etc
Too bloody right! And often when these blokes are asked why they did what they did, they reply "I only had the best interest of the club at heart". To which I usually think "Yes, but which club"?
Rip fooieVery sad news today with the passing of Tony Foo. SO sad he will be missed by us all R.I.P my friend saturday arvo wont be the same without you.
Jason
A lot of opinions going on around here without any knowledge of the situation.
Not my place to go into details, but poorly handled situation overall.
Jason would be a great president or junior coach, but doesn't cut the mustard at senior level.
Which clubs are tracking well coming into 2016
Heard the Burras have picked up a few
Few outs down the kennel
Think the top 3 will be a ripping contest
Hard to see emerald or belgrave being competitive
Woori due for another flag