SEASON 2019

Woori’s 2s have always been bad. The difference is EVERY ranges club is getting smashed in the reserves each week. None of these country clubs have a chance.

The South East clubs have always had strong depth.
We are talking about clubs that regularly get 50-60 to training and if you dont train you dont get picked. Clubs like Narre would have some relatively handy blokes miss getting a game in the twos.

It would be near impossible to build that kind of depth in the Yarra Valley.

Do I really have to point out the idiotic logic here?

Vermont is in the middle of metro Melbourne. There is literally 1000s of potential footballers within close distance of the club.

Comparing their population to a country town is moronic.

There’s also a half dozen clubs within a 10 minute drive that they have to compete with; not an issue Valley clubs face

Woori’s 2s have always been bad. The difference is EVERY ranges club is getting smashed in the reserves each week. None of these country clubs have a chance.

And eventually if clubs can’t continue to compete they’ll slide down the divisions to one that is more befitting of their resources.

There’s also a half dozen clubs within a 10 minute drive that they have to compete with; not an issue Valley clubs face
That’s the problem. Narre, beacy and Cranbourne are one team towns with Very strong junior feeder systems feeding them. They don’t have strong local clubs competing with them for players to the same extent as other regions of Metro Melbourne.

Afl Vic know this and that’s why there are now plans to establish several new senior clubs in the area. It’ll take a decade to water down their strength though.

Lol ok you are correct. Wandin should be easily able to recruit 2s players like Vermont can. They are so secluded from the next town as well. Yep spot on

That’s the problem. Narre, beacy and Cranbourne are one team towns with Very strong junior feeder systems feeding them. They don’t have strong local clubs competing with them for players to the same extent as other regions of Metro Melbourne.

Afl Vic know this and that’s why there are now plans to establish several new senior clubs in the area. It’ll take a decade to water down their strength though.
I agree with what you are saying,but with Berwick Springs starting a senior team,they will have too start in D2 and they will be traveling up too Yea Thornton and Alexandra and that is ridiculous,plus theres so many teams in the Dandenong area,Doveton,Doveton eagles, Hampton park,hallam,Endeavour hills,lyndale and those teams rely on players coming from narre berwick and pakenham areas.

Some of the commentary on here around Reserves and U18s "hardening up" or "building character" by getting flogged are amongst the most ridiculous things I have read.

I'd love to see some of those "experts" taking hours (likely days) week in week out of their paid day job to call 20,30,40 blokes to try and cobble a side together like our footy department does - instead they find it productive to sit on here behind an alias and take pot shots at the kids or young men - I think I know who needs to 'build some character'...

Plus, some of the so called understanding of how this process evolved to get to where we are today is laughable...

Nicko, I coached Thornton-Eildon from 2004 - 2008 then 2014 - 2016. Every week was a slog to organise a senior team let alone a reserves team.

Our "Footy Department" consisted of me and the reserves coach both of which were self employed at the time and i traveled an hour and three quarters to get to training. We used to leave the track 15 minutes early to start the last minute phone calls to get the team together.

i think that would make me qualified to weigh in.

Nicko, I coached Thornton-Eildon from 2004 - 2008 then 2014 - 2016. Every week was a slog to organise a senior team let alone a reserves team.

Our "Footy Department" consisted of me and the reserves coach both of which were self employed at the time and i traveled an hour and three quarters to get to training. We used to leave the track 15 minutes early to start the last minute phone calls to get the team together.

i think that would make me qualified to weigh in.

Yep Pup, you are more than qualified mate and I regularly marveled at your former clubs ability to rally the troops and the lengths you guys would go to make it happen (used to consistently discuss with a mate heavily involved with Thornton).
I’m not on the same page as you for this topic as we each have our own intricacies which drive decision making, but that’s ok.

Also for all the speculators on here, I can categorically tell you - our reserves forfeit was to do with injury & availability - not to walk away from a tough situation or send any subliminal messages.

Having played reserves football at a very successful yarra valley club for a long time it's no surprise to me that this is happening.
The club I played for could not give a fat rats if we had a reserves side or not we were simply a group of guys that ran around before the seniors started and looked at as if we were a pest on the club.

As our seniors had been and still are very successful it did not matter on the club if we played or not or if we got thumped as they never brought young guys up through us and never dropped anyone back who wasn't getting a kick and I've never seen a senior player who's time was up drop down to the 2s for a season or so to give a little back to the club.

And now they want blokes to comeback and give them a chop out. No chance

Having played reserves football at a very successful yarra valley club for a long time it's no surprise to me that this is happening.
The club I played for could not give a fat rats if we had a reserves side or not we were simply a group of guys that ran around before the seniors started and looked at as if we were a pest on the club.

As our seniors had been and still are very successful it did not matter on the club if we played or not or if we got thumped as they never brought young guys up through us and never dropped anyone back who wasn't getting a kick and I've never seen a senior player who's time was up drop down to the 2s for a season or so to give a little back to the club.

You didn’t happen to play at Wandin did you?

Yikes that interleague score!

To be honest I’m not quite following....

“They never dropped anyone back
who wasn’t getting a kick”

Where did they drop blokes back to? Who could they replace them with.

“they never brought young guys up through us“

Where did they bring these young guys up from? 18s to seniors? That’s normal.

Talk coming out of Beacy after game against Wandin is that Wandin want to go to EFL! Surely not!

Not all about the population.
Vermont’s is under 12,000 and would wipe the floor with any of those top 4 listed.

Vermont FC are a big exception to almost any club in Melbourne.

They’re a large, very successful business which happens to also operate a footy club.

Take a look through their list, it’s littered with recent players from the AFL, VFL and other EFL D1 clubs.

Off the field they have a better setup than probably every VFL club.

Vermont FC are a big exception to almost any club in Melbourne.

They’re a large, very successful business which happens to also operate a footy club.

Take a look through their list, it’s littered with recent players from the AFL, VFL and other EFL D1 clubs.

Off the field they have a better setup than probably every VFL club.

What is the business structure behind Vermont?

When blokes on VFL lists are directed to certain clubs when not selected (not their original club) the you create super teams in that competition. EFL clubs are the beneficiaries............Hey, we want you on our list but you have to play with Balwyn, Vermont etc. when not selected...we don't care if your from Woori Yallock or Yarra Glen........(hence the other EFL Div1 clubs scenario)

They own a pub and have massive sponsors and have built a brand over 3 decades of sustained success. Strong juniors and well linked in with Vfl and tac clubs to get guys floating back from there.

First local club to appoint a full time administrator on salary many moons ago

They operate Wantirna Hill Club (60 pokies) and the Lilydale International (80 pokies).

They have full time administration running the football club.

Stability, success and money breeds stability, success and money. They’ve been hugely successful and well-run for decades, won over 20 flags. That brings in heaps of players, sponsors, and juniors all keen to get involved. People love a winner.

Huge network, big junior club which pays dividends with players returning to play seniors, plus bottomless resources for further recruiting.

The Vermont junior setup has been the ire of many of many other EFL junior clubs for years with free subs, gear and other extras thrown in to entice kids there. Even when they live miles away. Other clubs just couldn't keep up.