• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

SEASON 2023

Gday fellas

Just thought I clear up a few things, of the so called rumours your hearing.
I’m currently away on a OS holiday before we kick off the season.
We had 9 players missing from our starting 22 today, 12 2s boys unavailable and about 30 there to rotate through the 4 quarter match, from all reports was even till half time and we mixed through a few after half time and got what we wanted out of it.
Well done to Seville as they have been a consistently good outfit for years and no doubt will be up there again this year.

In regards to a rift between a coach and committee couldn’t be coming from myself our relationship is as strong as it’s ever been since I stepped foot in the door in 2021.
As for our 2nds coach Matt Lord recently appointed, his been told he can not play football with the current situation with his knee and doesn’t want to be just a coach he was keen to play/coach.
If you know any different I would love for you to share with me.

As for the blokes who missed out in the grand final and have stuck around and committed to playing because that’s what happens at good footy clubs, don’t be surprised if you see him take the rains but we have a couple of options.
Like everyones numbers at training aren’t fantastic but that’s the way lower devision local footy has gone, Will just keep showing up and do the best we can as a club.
We are all extremely excited for the new rooms to be built and have no doubt it’s not going to be a easy road juggling things away from home.

We are all excited to get into it and have another enjoyable year of footy.

Any questions please don’t hesitate ask.

Cheers Jugga

Sth Belgrave by 8 goals but would’ve been plenty more if they’d kicked straight.
Wandin very underwhelming.
Wouldn't take too much notice of practice match form, South start there campaign next Saturday...Wandin still 5 weeks off starting there campaign...both teams will make the grand final in there respective comps, plenty too look forward too for both clubs.

Sth Belgrave by 8 goals but would’ve been plenty more if they’d kicked straight.
Wandin very underwhelming.

Practice matches always hard to tell. Sth Belgrave are a bloody strong side, will be better than anything in OE, even if Wandin don’t measure up to them it doesn’t mean much for their season.

South Belgra

South Belgrave are very strong so was curious. No doubt wandin we’re missing their VFL listed?

Speaking of VFL how many games do Emerald hope to get out of White??
Have since been informed that Wandin were missing 7 players that will start on the ground at 2pm round 1 if fit. Everyone says that in hindsight of practice match results but I trust the source of the above statement.

Stri

Stripped of 2022 premiership last night !
TeeS massive and rightly so. We all agree the salary cap is hard to police but if found guilty then premiership should be stripped.
I would think a lot of clubs in a number of different leagues would be checking and re-checking their books to make sure if AFLVIC or individual leagues come knocking, the books match what the salary cap is

TeeS massive and rightly so. We all agree the salary cap is hard to police but if found guilty then premiership should be stripped.
I would think a lot of clubs in a number of different leagues would be checking and re-checking their books to make sure if AFLVIC or individual leagues come knocking, the books match what the salary cap is

It’s what’s not on the books which is the problem. Salary caps are only there for honest admin and clubs.

Who’d they beat in the GF ?? You’d be absolutely bleeding…

Depending on who you listen to, the figure is $2000, $14,000, $28,000, $65,000 and now you have added $200,000 to the mix. I am sure we will never know the whole truth.

Stick to points only on a three or four tier sliding scale statewide, depending on the number of clubs. For example, 36 points for teams 1-4 on the previous season's ladder, 39 for the next tier (e.g. 5-7), 42 for the next tier and 45 for the lowest tier.

Add two points for teams if they haven't played senior finals for three or more years until they finally make them and two points for extraordinary cases ('remote' country clubs with no juniors, clubs coming out of recess, new clubs, etc).

The cap is a load of frogshit and cannot be policed properly unless dumb clubs break the rules and actually record it in their financials or else a whistle blower with a grievance put a former club in the sh1t.

I reckon around two-thirds do.

The others either have two sets of books or use intermediaries to exceed the cap via cash or benefits.

I’d imagine correspondence between leagues on previous submitted spending would help police it.
As an example a player on $800 one season who then signs an hour away for $200 should sound alarm bells.

Or players with new jobs, a netball playing partner on decent coin, a partner or family member working at non-existent jobs, renovations, blocks of land or even houses.

A new one I heard the other day was a club offering a player a number of cattle to be delivered to their farm to sign for them ... I think now I have heard it all.

Or players with new jobs, a netball playing partner on decent coin, a partner or family member working at non-existent jobs, renovations, blocks of land or even houses.

A new one I heard the other day was a club offering a player a number of cattle to be delivered to their farm to sign for them ... I think now I have heard it all.

The old he’s left to play with his mates card so taken a 95% pay cut doesn’t cut it.

Think you guys are a little delusional, in the Outer East I just don’t think the amount of money is around that you think there is. It’s incredibly hard to generate a profit in operating a club and sponsorship is increasing harder to get given the challenges most businesses are facing. Yes some get paid plenty but collectively I assume most would be well under cap.

With the demise of many junior teams in the Outer East clubs are being forced to recruit almost entire teams. Will only get worse.

How many clubs take the salary cap seriously?
The greatest pretender of all leagues are the Ammo’s blokes coming straight out of AFL and say they play for nothing & their kids get $20k school fees for nothing for 3 years so why shouldn’t clubs outside use sponsors to provide jobs instead of clubs paying for them, fix that and ban that form of payment to all clubs, but until they do that you can’t blame clubs for doing what the ammo’s have been doing for ever and claiming no one gets plaid

Really not the right attitude. Given majority of the clubs are stringent on doing the right thing. One of the reasons there is a salary cap is to protect clubs from themselves.

SEASON 2023