Review Semi Final, 2022 - Melbourne vs. Brisbane Lions

Who were your five best players against Melbourne?

Going to own up and say I was critical and cynical of some of you that were saying during the year that we were building for the finals series or latter part of the year and to be honest, I just didn't see it. We either won ugly, lost ugly, dropped games we should'nt have or crapped the bed on occasions but boy were some of you right - we look really good and in fact, better than any time of the year which has coincided with the coaches being daring and learning and like they say a lot in US sports - Believe and Belief.I think we are and we can.

Go Lions
In the past two weeks we have eliminated the past two Premiers and the two teams that have monstered us in recent years. I fear no one left like I did those two, therefore…

Coached to hack kick to the opposition multiple times and show no composure?

Doesn’t sound like that’s what he’d be coached to do

Exaggetion. Went at 79% and only had 1 turnover. If you rewatch the game and pay attention to it, you'll see it was deliberate and done to make it hard to mark. It worked.

Without sounding too presumptuous I thought we'd win at half time.

Melbourne have coughed it up like this a few times this year. They didn't bury us when they had the chance and that was it.

But without Berry and Neale who were both supreme in the last half we couldn't have done it.

I was amazed at how Fort was able to take Gawn on and keep going . Is Oscar better ?

How insanely loud were the Lions supporters, especially in the second half?

Bloody great stuff from all of you

I don't know what %age of the crowd we had but it almost sounded like a Gabba home game at times.

Do it again next week.

The G against Geelong will practically be a neutral venue.

Let's see how that mob go for a second game away from the safety and security of Alphabet Soup Stadium.

No easy road kills anymore Cats

Except the handful that resulted in turnovers to Melbourne defenders

I saw it differently. There were shocking turnovers tonight from so many of our players, especially in the 1st half. Mcstay and Starcevich had some shockers. The whole 2nd half it seemed like we controlled the ball when we wanted and when it was time to hack it forward, everyone was ready for it.

How insanely loud were the Lions supporters, especially in the second half?

Bloody great stuff from all of you

I don't know what %age of the crowd we had but it almost sounded like a Gabba home game at times.

Do it again next week.

The G against Geelong will practically be a neutral venue.

Let's see how that mob go for a second game away from the safety and security of Alphabet Soup Stadium.
Heaps of young Lions about. I think recent success + generational Roy’s will continue to contribute to a healthy Melbourne supporter base.

I reckon we’ll get even more fans at the ground next week. Can’t bloody wait.

Yep no edge shown. Not sure why. Lever one was fantastic stuff.
I assume Edge doesn't work when the umpire has his back against the post. Would have to create interference.

The day we took the phone call that lachie Neale wanted to come to the lions was the best thing to happen to the Lions for the previous 15 years. Without him we don’t even make finals I recon.

Because the umpire asked the arc to check which side of the post the ball through. He didn’t ask to check if it hit the post.

No idea why the arc said it was inconclusive if it hit the post or not.
To be fair if you don't know which side of the post it went then all scenarios between those two wide references are possible

The day we took the phone call that lachie Neale wanted to come to the lions was the best thing to happen to the Lions for the previous 15 years. Without him we don’t even make finals I recon.

That and the Charlie Cameron phone call!

Childish booing by sections of the crowd backfired

Every time they did it , he seemed to lift his game.

Great game by the Captain
Petty got booed just as much from our fans .
Was so good 👌

Zorko was very level headed tonight. That leader we need. He wanted to headlock campaigners but he did the happy gilmore and restrained himself.

Two clear frees to him that the Umpires just ignored

Just about got decapitated once and on another occasion was blatantly roughed up whilst on his back .

Felt like the umps were mentally joining in the puerile booing.

Despite that, he kept his composure and refused to be drawn into any silly stuff

Well played captain.

A mature professional win ... never in doubt once we started playing 😁

If.course if we had lost I would have held Warwick and his fat lady gif completely responsible 😉
Yeah I apologise. She’s retired for another decade. I thought we’d be safe 20 points up with 4 mins left but the power of the fat lady curse is strong

Coached to hack kick to the opposition multiple times and show no composure?

Doesn’t sound like that’s what he’d be coached to do

Best win for the club since 2003 and you're still being contrarian and negative. Never change

Wow was at the game and sat with the two bays of lions supporters at the punt road end - what a game. Was really worried that first quarter And incredibly nervous that last 5 minutes of the last quarter. How good was Berry and Hipwood. Was one of the best half’s for Berry. Thought Zorko handled the pressure really well and the stupid booing. Loved being amongst the supporters and being part of us all going nuts at the end of the game. Live in the eastern suburbs which is Demon territory so had the best train journey home in many a long time post mcg game and cannot wipe the smile off my face.

Prelim final week is one of the best weeks of footy. It’s the peoples matches before the corporates and hanger ons take up the final tickets and we get to be a part of it and hopefully I get a ticket, Can’t wait! Hope all goes well for Joe and he is back but how good was Eric! Yeh lions!

Review Semi Final, 2022 - Melbourne vs. Brisbane Lions