Opinion Senior coach options

Alan Richardson, Simon Goodwin, Leigh Tudor, Scott Burns and Rob Harvey all passed on the job. smartest blokes in the room.

still cant believe andrew thompson has been given enough responsibility to not only run a complete review of the football dept but now he's heading up a panel to find the new coach

surely an independent panel with past experience in running such things would be better. especially one that knows success

Alan Richardson, Simon Goodwin, Leigh Tudor, Scott Burns and Rob Harvey all passed on the job. smartest blokes in the room.

still cant believe andrew thompson has been given enough responsibility to not only run a complete review of the football dept but now he's heading up a panel to find the new coach

surely an independent panel with past experience in running such things would be better. especially one that knows success
agree more will open up over next few years, think Williams has it anyway but been talked into Kingsley and wouldn't be surprised if he gets it.

utaragaj.jpg

Although would love Harvey - don't think he's the right fit for what we need right now. (I just wanted an excuse to see this picture again). I'll go with the majority and say choco is perfect with our list - if everything goes balls up(in typical st kilda fashion) and we need to go with an untested coach I'd say we should go for Ling.

For years the Geelong players right through their years of reign said that Ling would be a great coach - bomber said he'd basically put the young kids under his wing. Although that's not even close to what his attributes need to be, he's good a good footy head (figuratively, not literally) and I believe would have the fire to succeed.

That being said, choco or Tudor please.

Not too worried about the number of coaches not applying. Richo is very specific in the job that he wants and will only apply if the stars align. Burns, Tudor and Goodwin have all applied for jobs this off season unsuccessfully so I imagine they are all aware that being turned down twice within two months isn't great for their future hopes. Especially when it looks like the job is Chocco's anyway.

Let's be honest...

Choosing the right coach is as much a lottery as the draft, if said coach is untried at senior level.

There are no guarantees as we have seen. Is Williams the answer? Time will tell.

Anyone who believes that we can pick someone who will guarantee our success is living in Noddy Land. So a few coaches have decided not to apply... so what? Who is to say they would have succeeded?

Even Harvey has admitted that he first wants a senior assistant role and is not ready to be a senior coach.

It's all good. :thumbsu:

I think this issue with Pelchen & coaches to be totally overstated. While his departure from Hawthorn is still unclear, from what I understand it had more to do with the Hawks re-structuring their footy department & his responsibilities being cut back (& his salary along with it). Put yourself in that situation... would you walk?

CP stated during the Member's night presentation that he left Hawthorn & was approached by Nettlefold some weeks later.

The Lyon departure has now been re-written as he & CP could not work together, despite many of us accepting that the combination of Ross' precarious personal finances & a offer from Freo that he couldn't refuse. He of course also saw the much quoted 'end of an era' & was probably frustrated with the board holding out on an extension when he wanted it (at the start of 2011).

Whether RL & CP saw eye to eye with List Management issues & both were on board with what needed to be done is a mystery. I don't buy the 'Seaford isnt big enough for the two of them' or CP ran him out of town thinking.

As for Watters... well who really knows. By the sounds of the mail coming out of Seaford though, there was numerous staff that had issues with SW other than CP. It's obvious that they couldn't work together... who's fault is that? Probably 50/50.

So all this hand grinding about needing a coach that will purely be Pelchen's monkey boy is ridiculous IMO. To me the issue with SW was that he overstepped the boundary of what his job description was; to coach & develop the list. I think Nettles' quote about hiring Watters for his holistic approach more referred to how they wanted him to develop kids in the academy, both as footballers & people. They didn't want him to be sticking his nose is in areas that were not his domain.

Every man & his dog gives Geelong a wrap for the infamous 2006 review that saw Bomber survive by the skin of his fishlips & have his responsibilities cut back to what he should be doing... coaching. They got Balme in to run footy ops, Wells recruited & Thompson coached. A simple structure that was held in place by a very very strong CEO.

IMO we have a number of very key people in position already. I'm impressed with Summers (despite the much criticised press conference), I obviously rate Pelchen exceptionally highly as Head of Football, Trout & his recruiting department have done a fantastic job in the last few years with mid & late picks, & have some great development coaches that are fast tracking the development of our kids.

I am exceptionally excited with the impending appointment of Choco... he was my pick when RL left. An experienced, strong & respected coach who has the runs on the board to pull this club back together.

And of course the most vital appoinment for the club in a long long time... a CEO.

Can we get Andy D to ask Briza Cook if he would rather live in Portsea? It's a quick run up Peninsula link to Seaford from the playground of the rich.

Get excited kids... get your St Kilda supporting mates excited too. Get them to dig into their pockets & sign up now.

One thing is for sure, if you love St Kilda then the club needs everyone on board now more than ever.

I think this issue with Pelchen & coaches to be totally overstated. While his departure from Hawthorn is still unclear, from what I understand it had more to do with the Hawks re-structuring their footy department & his responsibilities being cut back (& his salary along with it). Put yourself in that situation... would you walk?

CP stated during the Member's night presentation that he left Hawthorn & was approached by Nettlefold some weeks later.

The Lyon departure has now been re-written as he & CP could not work together, despite many of us accepting that the combination of Ross' precarious personal finances & a offer from Freo that he couldn't refuse. He of course also saw the much quoted 'end of an era' & was probably frustrated with the board holding out on an extension when he wanted it (at the start of 2011).

Whether RL & CP saw eye to eye with List Management issues & both were on board with what needed to be done is a mystery. I don't buy the 'Seaford isnt big enough for the two of them' or CP ran him out of town thinking.

As for Watters... well who really knows. By the sounds of the mail coming out of Seaford though, there was numerous staff that had issues with SW other than CP. It's obvious that they couldn't work together... who's fault is that? Probably 50/50.

So all this hand grinding about needing a coach that will purely be Pelchen's monkey boy is ridiculous IMO. To me the issue with SW was that he overstepped the boundary of what his job description was; to coach & develop the list. I think Nettles' quote about hiring Watters for his holistic approach more referred to how they wanted him to develop kids in the academy, both as footballers & people. They didn't want him to be sticking his nose is in areas that were not his domain.

Every man & his dog gives Geelong a wrap for the infamous 2006 review that saw Bomber survive by the skin of his fishlips & have his responsibilities cut back to what he should be doing... coaching. They got Balme in to run footy ops, Wells recruited & Thompson coached. A simple structure that was held in place by a very very strong CEO.

IMO we have a number of very key people in position already. I'm impressed with Summers (despite the much criticised press conference), I obviously rate Pelchen exceptionally highly as Head of Football, Trout & his recruiting department have done a fantastic job in the last few years with mid & late picks, & have some great development coaches that are fast tracking the development of our kids.

I am exceptionally excited with the impending appointment of Choco... he was my pick when RL left. An experienced, strong & respected coach who has the runs on the board to pull this club back together.

And of course the most vital appoinment for the club in a long long time... a CEO.

Can we get Andy D to ask Briza Cook if he would rather live in Portsea? It's a quick run up Peninsula link to Seaford from the playground of the rich.

Get excited kids... get your St Kilda supporting mates excited too. Get them to dig into their pockets & sign up now.

One thing is for sure, if you love St Kilda then the club needs everyone on board now more than ever.

Great post. Love the positivity

Ignore outside noises and focus on what is happening behind the scenes. all this finger pointing is food for the chooks and headline fodder that sells papers. And we can debate it for the next 10 years and nothing will change.

Time to move on and look forward. whilst events have looked bad, there have been significant changes happening... that basically had to happen when Lyon left IMO.

FWIW, I think Pelch's vision statement and list analysis is something we have probably never seen in our history. Let's get behind it and see what it yields... for no other reason than the alternative is to just navel gaze and watch our club go into free fall.

Williams is my choice because he will give us a safe pair of hands... like a father figure. Like any other appointment, we will find out soon enough if it is correct.

As W2L says, maybe should have come in after Lyon, and I also reckon Ayres should have got a look in at the time. But the trend was all about hot shot assistants and younger coaches back then.

Time to unite behind the club. Blood is thicker than water... especially when it is red, white and black blood!

I have been thinking about who we need to coach us quite a bit (surprise surprise) l got up this morning and it was crystal clear.
I remembered before Choco won the flag at the Power he had about a 2 year feud with "Allan Scott you were wrong" a sponsor who was reported to be tipping in about 5 mill a year.
He won the battle and then the flag so his ability to play the politics and coach the side is exactly what is required right now.
l hope the Adam Kingsley thing is not about finances as going for a cheaper option is will be false economy.
Choco will be worth every bit of the reported 600k and l am now well and truly the Choco Bandwagon.

Michael Gleeson's article in today's Age says we've interviewed Williams, Kingsley and McPhee, but that there is one final pair to go, who are both current assistant coaches. He then rules out Rob Harvey, Richardson, Goodwin, Tudor, Ratten, Burns, Voss and Eade; so who the hell are the other two?

Knights, Sumich?

From the reports, I'm almost certain we are just going through the motions and we have planned to give the job to Williams, should be announced within the next few days.

I for one would be highly excited if we did do this: he is a premiership coach, has worked with the kids at GWS and Richmond, has been through a rebuild, and clearly has a burning desire to return to coaching (was reportedly very cheesed to be passed over at the Giants). Added to the fact he gets on with Commandant Pelican, which appears to be an absolute must (and why the hell not?)

I can see great things happening IF he is given the time and space to grow the team in his style from the ground up (ie, not Blight-esq inflated expectations), I can see the time rebuilding shortening dramatically.

The decision to future endeavor snotty Scotty will be painted as an organization hungry for success and ruthless enough to go after those who can make it happen, instead of the current view of a club in disarray making baffling inexplicable decisions.

The respect we deserved to earn in the 2007-11 era (when we were totally overshadowed by the medias obsession with Geewrong) will come to us eventually, I'm certain of it.

From the reports, I'm almost certain we are just going through the motions and we have planned to give the job to Williams, should be announced within the next few days.

I for one would be highly excited if we did do this: he is a premiership coach, has worked with the kids at GWS and Richmond, has been through a rebuild, and clearly has a burning desire to return to coaching (was reportedly very cheesed to be passed over at the Giants). Added to the fact he gets on with Commandant Pelican, which appears to be an absolute must (and why the hell not?)

I can see great things happening IF he is given the time and space to grow the team in his style from the ground up (ie, not Blight-esq inflated expectations), I can see the time rebuilding shortening dramatically.

The decision to future endeavor snotty Scotty will be painted as an organization hungry for success and ruthless enough to go after those who can make it happen, instead of the current view of a club in disarray making baffling inexplicable decisions.

The respect we deserved to earn in the 2007-11 era (when we were totally overshadowed by the medias obsession with Geewrong) will come to us eventually, I'm certain of it.

You are joking right?

Knights, Sumich?

I doubt Sumich would be a contender, at least I hope not.

Knights could be an outside chance, I thought he was a bit harshly done by getting knifed at Essendon and he's done a great job with the Geelong VFL side.

Opinion Senior coach options