Opinion Senior coach options

Still dont get it. He didnt want the job a few days agoo_O:confused:
Bizarre even for us.
Why would we push so hard for somebody who didnt really want the job?
Did we just offer more money and he said " oh OK then"?
Richo has been knocked back more times than a drunken bloke at a lesbian bar.
Yes i know Hinkley was an assistant a long time as well, but Hinkleys record has been pumped up by taking over a team full of great kids. Richo wont have that luxury.
Somebody please convince me this is a good idea, cos it all seems a bit on the nose to me.

Matthew Primus had the same team, look how he went.
Besides, I don't think the majority of us are expecting miracles, we just want a coach to build up our team again by developing kids, which Richo is apparently great at.

Why would we push so hard for somebody who didnt really want the job?

Last time we went down that path (Blighty) it didn't go well.
Lets hope history doesn't repeat here.....

Who are you calling dickhead? If there was someone constantly stalking a mate of yours (pretty much the only time I ever see him post on here is when he's having a personal crack at Brian- it's like clockwork) would you not step in if you had the opportunity, especially if no-one else ever does? Stalking is supposed to be banned on BF.

i'm sure brians a big boy and can look after himself, take it up with the right people if need be

Who are you calling dickhead? If there was someone constantly stalking a mate of yours (pretty much the only time I ever see him post on here is when he's having a personal crack at Brian- it's like clockwork) would you not step in if you had the opportunity, especially if no-one else ever does? Stalking is supposed to be banned on BF.
You see what you want to see.

Perhaps I happen to step up and have a crack at those compromising the wishes of the club. Did you consider that before adopting the stance of helpless victimisation?

If al this is true then Richo has worked it beautifully. Always better to be wanted than to need a job. And good on him for doing so. I have no problem with that.

As for the club playing us like fools... not hard to do one would imagine as we seem to swallow everything that gets posted on here. No problem with them wheeling and dealing to get the best outcome.

It's about time it showed some aggression and go for the jugular instead of being rolled all the time by the whims of others. Liek the sacking of watters, they have done it on their terms and it would seem that will appoint a coach on their terms.

If some people are offended by their actions, then stiff cheddar.

:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

If al this is true then Richo has worked it beautifully. Always better to be wanted than to need a job. And good on him for doing so. I have no problem with that.

As for the club playing us like fools... not hard to do one would imagine as we seem to swallow everything that gets posted on here. No problem with them wheeling and dealing to get the best outcome.

It's about time it showed some aggression and go for the jugular instead of being rolled all the time by the whims of others. Liek the sacking of watters, they have done it on their terms and it would seem that will appoint a coach on their terms.

If some people are offended by their actions, then stiff cheddar.

:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

I wouldn't be surprised if Richo was always been keen and in line for an interview (despite what has been said by Port) and he didn't have to do the whole presentation thingy cos he had already done it last time round.

isnt he going through the interview now, plus the whole panel has changed since then hasnt it?

only andrew thompson was present on the last one?

Matthew Primus had the same team, look how he went.

I never rated Watters but if Ross, Wright, Curren and Hickey had another pre season or 2 under their belts in the 2013 season, i think his win /loss record mightve been a lot better.
think Hinkley can coach but it had A LOT to do with timing.
He got the Port job at the right time.

isnt he going through the interview now, plus the whole panel has changed since then hasnt it?

only andrew thompson was present on the last one?

I'm only speculating but I reckon his last presentation would've been video and audio recorded so the new panel could've watched it? Perhaps part of the negotiations was he wouldn't do it again, and we ended up saying no probs go directly to round 2 of the process - face-to-face interview.

And he was interviewed earlier today.

I was told a while back in business that it's always better if they need you more than you need them. It gives a decent power base. I still think back to guys like Spud who seemed to get the gig because Richmond had no one else. Lacked authority from day 1 IMO.

I am just wrapt that the club has been ruthless in its approach lately concerning trading, players, coach etc. Success doesn't just happen by accident... you have to take it.

Maybe this is the start of a new, bolder attitude by the club. There is some serious intent happening. Something we saw with Lyon, but I don't think the board was on the same page, other wise he'd still be coaching us.

Do we prefer Richo because we consider him the better option of the two, or because Choco was asking for too much in terms of his contract size and/or length?
This is a good point. I hope we're not being backed into a corner because of finances but can't discount it as a possibility

I never rated Watters but if Ross, Wright, Curren and Hickey had another pre season or 2 under their belts in the 2013 season, i think his win /loss record mightve been a lot better.
think Hinkley can coach but it had A LOT to do with timing.
He got the Port job at the right time.

I'm a massive fan of Hinkley and a bit biased because my brother-in-law knows him and speaks very highly of him, but the thing with him is that he is a no nonsense down-to-earth country sort of bloke that from all reports got passed over a few times (including by us) due to not presenting so well in a Powerpoint and winning over the board types on the various selection panels. He sounds less sophisticated than a Watters but has a razor sharp footy brain behind the laconic talk and won't suffer fools. He is also a brilliant teacher and is great at teaching the basics to kids (you can see the way Port played this year). I am really glad he was a success this year as it goes to show that for all the move towards having coaches presenting a certain way in the media with their corporate speak, there is still no substitute for a coach that bases his philosophies around simple old fashioned man management techniques of respect, hard work etc. Yes he had the benefits of taking over the group of youngsters after their early development was done with Primus but what is noticeable about Port is not just how many players improved under Hinkley but that they all played for him.I would love to have a coach back at the Saints who the players played for. It is key to any success and Watters, while talking the talk, couldn't get that buy-in from the group.

Now, not saying Richardson will be the same as Hinkley but there are similarities. Been around for a while. Missed on jobs to so-called better credentialed candidates etc. If nothing else, he would have learned a lot from Ken this year. I would love a similar no-nonsense, down to earth teacher and man-manager as our next coach that the kids can grow with over the next few years in the same mould as Hinkley and it seems from the wraps on him that Richardson could be just that bloke.

This is a good point. I hope we're not being backed into a corner because of finances but can't discount it as a possibility

party-1.gif

From the main board:

Port CEO Keith Thomas on 3aw just before

"Alan wants something that we cannot give him" (senior coaching gig)

"I'm bracing myself that he is gone ( to St Kilda )"

I'm a massive fan of Hinkley and a bit biased because my brother-in-law knows him and speaks very highly of him, but the thing with him is that he is a no nonsense down-to-earth country sort of bloke that from all reports got passed over a few times (including by us) due to not presenting so well in a Powerpoint and winning over the board types on the various selection panels. He sounds less sophisticated than a Watters but has a razor sharp footy brain behind the laconic talk and won't suffer fools. He is also a brilliant teacher and is great at teaching the basics to kids (you can see the way Port played this year). I am really glad he was a success this year as it goes to show that for all the move towards having coaches presenting a certain way in the media with their corporate speak, there is still no substitute for a coach that bases his philosophies around simple old fashioned man management techniques of respect, hard work etc. Yes he had the benefits of taking over the group of youngsters after their early development was done with Primus but what is noticeable about Port is not just how many players improved under Hinkley but that they all played for him.I would love to have a coach back at the Saints who the players played for. It is key to any success and Watters, while talking the talk, couldn't get that buy-in from the group.

Now, not saying Richardson will be the same as Hinkley but there are similarities. Been around for a while. Missed on jobs to so-called better credentialed candidates etc. If nothing else, he would have learned a lot from Ken this year. I would love a similar no-nonsense, down to earth teacher and man-manager as our next coach that the kids can grow with over the next few years in the same mould as Hinkley and it seems from the wraps on him that Richardson could be just that bloke.

Yes ive always rated Hinkley and i was dissapointed he didnt get our job. But after being part of Blights team i never really gave him a chance to be honest.
I dont get that vibe fro Richo for some reason. I just see somebody who has never got the job cos he wasnt good enough.
For the sake of the football club that we all love i hope im wrong :thumbsu:
But im not gonna lie, if he gets the job im gonna be very dissapointed. But that doesnt mean i will be cooking my membership in the microwave :D
GO SAINTS 2014:thumbsu:

Opinion Senior coach options