Seymour District Cricket Association

Believe the CW side copped a pasting today, some players apparently went home when the game was relocated from Colbinabbin back towards Bendigo. Wonder what will happen after Howie and Bubba Polson got suspended for a similar offence a few years back???

I hear Gisborne got over 300, bowled SDCA out for 120 and then GDCA hit up over 200 odd in their 2nd dig............sounds like a tough day if the lads were a few players short

Bendigo Advetiser
Friday, 19 January 2007

Centuries to Glen Warner and Jason King helped Gisborne to a crushing 241-run victory over Seymour and top spot on the ladder.

King finished unbeaten on 117 and Warner made 104 as Gisborne reached 4-349 at Mandurang.

Gisborne's total was built on the back of partnerships, with the side having two stands over 100, and another two above 50.

Warner and King put on 116 for the fourth wicket, before Warner and Mark Hourigan (49 n.o.) later shared in an unbeaten 112-run stand.

The bulk off the Seymour overs were bowled by Sportspower Player of the Week Stuart Peterson (2-155 off 23) and Dallas Bergonicz (0-131 off 17).

Seymour was bundled out for 108 in just 19 overs in reply, with only Peterson (38) and Mark Moran (25) getting into double figures. Heath Boffey (4-24) and Stuart McDowell (3-28) were on the spot with the ball for Gisborne, which smashed 4-229 off 22 overs in its second innings.

Bendigo Advetiser
Friday, 19 January 2007

Centuries to Glen Warner and Jason King helped Gisborne to a crushing 241-run victory over Seymour and top spot on the ladder.

King finished unbeaten on 117 and Warner made 104 as Gisborne reached 4-349 at Mandurang.

Gisborne's total was built on the back of partnerships, with the side having two stands over 100, and another two above 50.

Warner and King put on 116 for the fourth wicket, before Warner and Mark Hourigan (49 n.o.) later shared in an unbeaten 112-run stand.

The bulk off the Seymour overs were bowled by Sportspower Player of the Week Stuart Peterson (2-155 off 23) and Dallas Bergonicz (0-131 off 17).

Seymour was bundled out for 108 in just 19 overs in reply, with only Peterson (38) and Mark Moran (25) getting into double figures. Heath Boffey (4-24) and Stuart McDowell (3-28) were on the spot with the ball for Gisborne, which smashed 4-229 off 22 overs in its second innings.

Obviously didn't have too many bowling options!

Maybe the players tha went home were bowlers, guess we'll know more tomorrow. You going to support ya Maroons Sunday mate?

f.u.c.k u seymour boy are so sooky

Now now, little fella, I was just explaining to the Jazzman why Chittick Park is in the tired old state she is at the moment.
He might not have to worry about it anyway, by the sounds of things, looking at the forecast.

Maybe the players tha went home were bowlers, guess we'll know more tomorrow. You going to support ya Maroons Sunday mate?

Actually declared my availability for the Cs this week but have not yet heard whether I'm required.
So, yeah, I'll be hanging around for the big game Sunday. That's if she goes ahead. Mike Larkan doesn't hold much hope for us getting a game.
Who's umpiring?

The three Kilmore blokes who went home yesterday should be ashamed of themselves.

To turn up at Colbinabbin, then refuse to go to a venue 45 minutes away because Colbo was washed out, is disappointing.

Watching yesterday, Stuey Peterson was obviously frustrated that he didn't have

a) two good fielders
b) wicketkeeper
c) three batsmen

The Seymour lads fielded well in touch conditions against a division one side.

Gisborne finished equal second last year but got relegated on percentage.

Hope the SDCA lads keep their chin up and turn up next year.

Now that sounds like a news story Matty;) now imagine if this whole local paper thing was a Tuesday/Friday set up like we wanted 3-4 years back, you'd have had the scoop this morning :thumbsu:

Trouble is Doon, that what do you put in your Friday paper that will attract a strong readership. Sports previews, weekend carp and what else?

Whats with the weeked carp, not much fishing round here;)

Probably not the forum to discuss it mate, but having been involved with a few demographical media studies of the area the concept had merit back then as it does now, unfortunately all it lacked was the rubber stamp from some narrow minded decision makers.

But hey thats for another time . . . . . we still haven't caught up for a coffee either!!!

True, running the paper (editorially wise) on my own between December 17 and January 19 was a touch gig. Thoroughly enjoyed it but it was time consuming.

We'll definately catch up in the next week or two.

Also, what do other people think of the Kilmore player situation yesterday.

Vantheman, can you clarify what happened? There's every chance the Kilmore blokes left for a good reason. Innocent until proved guilty.

I know William is on leave and yeah give the boys a right of reply before anyone hangs em . . . . . at least they werent on the soup like bloody Howard was :D

if you talent like youngman n enrico, going to bed early on a friday night wont help! could u imagine xuvvy sitting still for more than 5 mins, ive been mates with himfor near on 10 years prob more n the kids a menace simple as that, got skill, n he may act a clown but thats him! all this talk bout role models is the biggest load of crap ever! its the sdca not state cricket! xuvvys a role model he enjoys his cricket n isnt that what its really all about? if ya not enjoying it ya lose interest, he doesnt have 2 b a role model, if u wanna idolise youngman feel free!

Thats true Trav. Young Waddo is simply stating that Xuvvy is Vice Captain of the SCC and he is one of the People he looks up 2.

I can see your point about it only being SDCA cricket but I would like to think Xuvvy will return down south soon to Carlton or South Melbourne where he has played previously & I think being older & more mature will see him go along way.

Just reading here, did the boys all drive out to Colbo and then told that the game is washed out and moved to Mandurang?

if so, i don't blame some of the guys for not wanting to play back in bendigo, especially when they would had all their stuff packed knowing full well that they wern't in the friday final. I think the administrators running the show need to be questioned first if this is the case.

The reschedulling of the game to Mandurang is also a disgrace. That ground is about the same size as the hockey oval in seymour, and it's a concrete wicket - that's allright for Gisborne as they have a combo of both concrete and turf in their top flight grade, unlike sdca. Besides, dunno why they couldnt have played on another turf wicket? there was no rain in bendigo on Wed night....

Have spoken to Trav Hede and he gave me some very good reasons.

I don't think the actions were disgraceful after all.

I won't reveal their reasons here, but if the boys want to they can.

Lets wait for next week's local papers where Im sure the boys reasons will be put forward along with the SDCA executives view.

Whatever their reasons, I've heard they have to front the SDCA President next week... and being questioned by Butch about your committment to sport is not something I would want to experience...

Is that Butch Inness or Canobie.

Butch is a big softie, Im sure he'll understand :D Maybe not when he reads all this though as he loves getting on big footy. Cant wait for his response next week when Matty or Lauren Henry asks him the tough questions about em being pooly organsied and what took place yesty

HJ, I think you are misinformed.

I went to Colbo yesterday to find the pitch very wet. It was still drizzling rain at 11am (game scheduled to start at 10am). Mandurang was also fixtured as a back-up CW venue.

Yes it's small but if you've been to the UK you should see some of the pocket sized grounds they play on. The GDCA also do not play on turf.

I feel sorry for the Kilmore boys. The whole SDCA squad was poorly organised. The trio didn't have runners to play in and shouldn't be expected to buy shoes for one game.

It basically it was one big co ck up

i'm sure they could have taken their spikes out of their shoes and used them like runners. come on vantheman tell us why u collis and robo didn't want to play

The three Kilmore blokes who went home yesterday should be ashamed of themselves.

To turn up at Colbinabbin, then refuse to go to a venue 45 minutes away because Colbo was washed out, is disappointing.

Have spoken to Trav Hede and he gave me some very good reasons.

I don't think the actions were disgraceful after all.

I won't reveal their reasons here, but if the boys want to they can.

I feel sorry for the Kilmore boys. The whole SDCA squad was poorly organised. The trio didn't have runners to play in and shouldn't be expected to buy shoes for one game.

It basically it was one big co ck up

Geez a lot has developed on this one over the day, Im sure once all parties meet and discuss it everything will be sorted out :thumbsu:

Righto, time for One-Day final predictions.
I reckon the Maroons will lose the toss and bowl, knock the Rookers over for something like 110 only to get nothing out of their top order before scraping home by two wickets.
MOTM: Nathan Allum (after bringing up the winning runs with a boundary, following from a neat spell with the ball with yielded two wickets).

Butch is a big softie, Im sure he'll understand :D Maybe not when he reads all this though as he loves getting on big footy. Cant wait for his response next week when Matty or Lauren Henry asks him the tough questions about em being pooly organsied and what took place yesty

I wont be asking Butch that, it wasnt my opinion that the SDCA was poorly organised. When I spoke to a SDCA selector on Monday, it seemed to be under control.

Matt, if you can inform us of the reasons they didn't come across?

I can tell you for a fact that those 3 kilmore guys are very good players. But i can also tell you that if their attitudes during the week are anything to go by, it doesn't supprise me at all to see Kilmore at the base of the SDCA ladder. They showed no ticker at any stage what so ever, not in the field, and definitely not when they batted.

They are all gutless and let down 9 other blokes who all could have not played because of the same excuses they made. Many of us didn't have runners and had to change shoes throughout the day to bat and bowl. Straz wore shoes you would only go out in, etc. they did it such that the SDCA could be represented, and they did it because they put their hand up and wanted to have a crack.

All i can say is that i hope butch inness suspends these 3 p i ss ants for the rest of the year. Otherwise it won't hit home, they simply just don't give a rats clacker about anyone but themselves. If you make yourself available, honour your word and rock up. If they had any real issues (other than they had no shoes), then they should grow some nuts and say something. When the Bendigo CA secretary rocked up and saw Seymour with 9 guys, he was livered, especially after what happened a decade or so ago with those guys who didn't front after lunch.

Credit to the 3 young blokes, Dave Martin, Leight Irving, and Travis Muir who drove all the way over to represented their league. All 3 showed great endeavour and committment throughout the week.

A lot of good players were unavailable, and it was thanks to these three guys that the SDCA were able to field a side for the final 3 days. As a couple of guys pulled out on the saturday, and one guy on the monday.

Also a great performance on the final day from Straz "Big Cat" Moran who fielded on the fence all day yesterday. Who fetched many a ball which wizzed over his head and over the highway. Yet still managed to entertain us with many a dropped catch and some even funnier sledges and comments.

why dont you all get off their f.u.c.k.i.n.g case
they are good guys!!!!!!
they had good reason not to turn up.
as for you stewy you are only as good as your leader
???????????????????????????????????????????????????

why dont you all get off their f.u.c.k.i.n.g case
they are good guys!!!!!!
they had good reason not to turn up.
as for you stewy you are only as good as your leader
???????????????????????????????????????????????????

Possibly the dumbest comment i've heard dave. Take a closer look at the figures my friend. Or check out the Bendigo Advertiser, pretty sure friday's paper will take you through all you need to know about their leader. I wished that between the 3 of them they could have scored 40 runs in 3 days. Their performances during the first 3 days were a direct reflection of the events of the final day.

And if they were good blokes, they wouldn't have shat in 9 guys faces by not showing would they. Care to re-think how good those guys are?

As for the comments about Xuvvy, he is a pain in the ring to control at training, before a game, and when you're fielding, but i can tell you that he never takes the same care free attitude into his batting. He values his wicket, even though he does occasionally get himself out through a rush of blood to the head. He is upset with himself if he gets out. He'll only get better with age...last years Grand final was proof, off the back of 5 ducks, he got 60 to win the maroons a flag.

Fat Back Pocket going out with a bang!!! Nice to have you back.

If anyone cares, Royals and Seymour got on at 2pm yesterday and played through til tea before the rain came and washed the rest of the day out.
Royals are 4/39 with Tommy Stevens and Leigh Wyatt two of the dismissed batsmen.

Tallarook was sent in by Kilmore and got to 2/118 at tea when the heavens opened. A. Howard is on about 25, Joey Tarran close to 70 after being dropped on 4.

Braodford were 6/70 at Kings Park when rain haltered play also, Trav Blackwell 18 was the best to date, Alby not out on a dozen with wickets shared between Stu Hanley Mick Hard and Darcy Waugh.

In an amazing C-grade clash, Mick Enrico smashed 214 out of Royals total of 249 (apparently had 9 players only) off 30 overs. Putting into context he hit 20 boundaries and 16 towering sixes and the innings lasted some 180 balls, the rest of his team mates accumulated 35 from 21 scoring shots and a few dot balls no doubt Mick has probabaly faced no more than 120 balls Id reckon.
The young Broady kids battled gamely but fell 12 runs in the driving rain, Duncan Wittingslow getting 74.