SFL Division 1 Only

Has anyone got any insights on any divi 1 clashes for this weekend?? I hope that the upsets keep coming as it is making it a very interesting competition at present.
Anyone give Chelsea Heights a chance this weekend? It would be great to see St Kilda finally get knocked off there perch. I watched the Mordialloc v St Kilda game last weekend, and while St Kilda had some really good players, the bickering that went on the field was crazy and I think it will be the downfall of the team in a close game against a better knit team such as Clayton and St Pauls. This may get moderated but they really are a team of individuals and I dont think that they will win the flag. And there supporters are pretty crazy too, I heard one St K supporter threaten to glass no. 20 for Mordi!!
Anyway thats what grinds my gears!!

Go the Bloods!!

I know for a fact that East Brighton was playing with some ordinary players in their one's last week and still got over the line. Captain Clint Einsdale has been playing well and with Matt Jamieson still 4-6 away, Scurah still a couple away. If they can win a few in this bloke of four games and avoid injury (which is always hard) they will be a mighty side soon!
Also my old mob Highett, I wouldn't write them off. They have built a pretty potent midfield and if they can keep Andrews kicking goals and Meadie at his feet kicking a few they will be the suprise packets! Also Matty Sheehan has again been playing great footy, along with Abba! They have won 3-2 stiff to lose to Mordi also. We haven't seen Luke Harris kick a big bag yet, so expect that soon! They could be alrightttttttttt, imagine Poelsma & Marshal in this side!

Has anyone got any insights on any divi 1 clashes for this weekend?? I hope that the upsets keep coming as it is making it a very interesting competition at present.
Anyone give Chelsea Heights a chance this weekend? It would be great to see St Kilda finally get knocked off there perch. I watched the Mordialloc v St Kilda game last weekend, and while St Kilda had some really good players, the bickering that went on the field was crazy and I think it will be the downfall of the team in a close game against a better knit team such as Clayton and St Pauls. This may get moderated but they really are a team of individuals and I dont think that they will win the flag. And there supporters are pretty crazy too, I heard one St K supporter threaten to glass no. 20 for Mordi!!

Go the Bloods!!

Mate as a player at StKilda I reckon your way out of line with the so called drama & bickering on the ground, its not an issue, all clubs do it, some worse than others as far as claimimg blokes were glassing and all the other make believe crap,why dont you look at he idiot who got 7 weeks trying to start a fight all day in the crowd, he is a nuisance.Anyway back to the footy we are a close bunch off the field we had a dinner for 50 blokes & team meeting last night was real good just to keep things on track .At 5-0 , the next 4 weeks will be a good test,also just side issue we are playing without our best player(probably best in the comp in Arvanitis who has played 2qtrs this year and will miss another
6 - 8 weeks with injury also Hassan has missed 3,walker has missed 3,Nudge Johnston has missed 4 amongst others, also we have kicked pourly for goal,to be honest we have not gelled 100% yet but we are improving, we should have our best quota of players available this year for tomorrow which is danger game at Chelsea. As far as the opposition goes Clayton are always dangerous, pretty impressed with East Brighton effort on the day, Mordi,Highett & Tmalvern were competitive. Interesting to hear a couple of big injuries at St Pauls - Sziller has blown a hammy & Cooke has had a finger operation 2 big losses, will be interesting to see how that affects them. Good luck to Mordy chaddles hope you stay up in Divvy1

Go the Bloods!!

Mate as a player at StKilda I reckon your way out of line with the so called drama & bickering on the ground, its not an issue, all clubs do it, some worse than others as far as claimimg blokes were glassing and all the other make believe crap,why dont you look at he idiot who got 7 weeks trying to start a fight all day in the crowd, he is a nuisance.Anyway back to the footy we are a close bunch off the field we had a dinner for 50 blokes & team meeting last night was real good just to keep things on track .At 5-0 , the next 4 weeks will be a good test,also just side issue we are playing without our best player(probably best in the comp in Arvanitis who has played 2qtrs this year and will miss another
6 - 8 weeks with injury also Hassan has missed 3,walker has missed 3,Nudge Johnston has missed 4 amongst others, also we have kicked pourly for goal,to be honest we have not gelled 100% yet but we are improving, we should have our best quota of players available this year for tomorrow which is danger game at Chelsea. As far as the opposition goes Clayton are always dangerous, pretty impressed with East Brighton effort on the day, Mordi,Highett & Tmalvern were competitive. Interesting to hear a couple of big injuries at St Pauls - Sziller has blown a hammy & Cooke has had a finger operation 2 big losses, will be interesting to see how that affects them. Good luck to Mordy chaddles hope you stay up in Divvy1

Fair call Spongey, it was just my assessment of what I saw last weekend. Im not saying there not a very good team, there were just a couple of incidents where they seemed to just go over the top with what the said to each other. YOu guys are a very good team, and I hope Chelsea Heights knock you off just to open up the competition a bit more.
As for Rob Lemon (7 wks suspension) that was an utter embarrassment to the Mordialloc FC and all supporters are very disappointed with the way that he behaved and the way he abused and tried to start a fight after the game.
Spongey, I am personally embarassed by his actions during and after the game and it is not good for the game or our clubs image.
I personally think Mordi wont have to worry about staying up this year, once all players are available we will push you Chelts, Heights and East B's. There is a succession plan in place at Mordi in a bid to build a competitive squad for next year, by recruiting a few more players t ocomplement the squad and build depth.
I am new to the club but I came on board because they are looking for sustained future success which is a credit to the club- as they have the financial resources to buy big, but have opted to build a squad to be a competitive force for years to come. I hope for St Kilda's case that the team management is after sustained success and not just trying to buy a premiership for a season.
Good luck with your title bid, and hope your club is looking at the long term and not just after paying alot of money for short term gain.

Hey Spongy, just one more thing....
Mordi weren't competitive last week!!! They had a handful of players who weren't intimidated by you guys, the rest played like scared school girls.

Hey Spongy, just one more thing....
Mordi weren't competitive last week!!! They had a handful of players who weren't intimidated by you guys, the rest played like scared school girls.

how would you sum up their performance today chaddles? i thought they would give chelt a real good game but from the first bounce it was all over. totally outclassed and were lucky to kick 4 goals. umpiring was delporable also. seems there is a new set of rules once a team gets in front by 10 goals.

Super,
Please expand further on the umpiring today and what you mean by once a team gets in front by 10 goals a new set of rules applies.

Super,
Please expand further on the umpiring today and what you mean by once a team gets in front by 10 goals a new set of rules applies.

Its happened a few times this year where teams have been winning by a fair margin and the umpires decide to keep some respectabilty to the scoreboard for the losing team by giving them a golden ride with frees. They are paid soft, dubious frees, especially in front of goal whilst the team that is winning cant get a free to save themselves, even when they have their heads ripped off. No one likes to see on sided floggings but thats a part of footy and the umps shouldnt try to help teams out. All we ask for is consistency. so if they are paying certain frees at the start of the game, they should still be paying them at the end, no matter what the scoreboard says. after half time yesterday they cost chelt 6-7 goals at both ends and with the evenness of the comp so far, percentage might be a very important thing come finals time.

Totally agree with this superfreak. Can really hurt sides, especially when there's a lot of game time still to play. Its nearly cost us games before. The opposition get a run on because of ridiculous frees, and then your side crack the $hits with the umps and loose concentration on the game. Then before you know it a they're right back into the contest.:thumbsdown:
If umpires wanna be respected by the players and spectators they have to realise their roles. And thats to umpire the game without having an impact on it. Once they can do that people will get off their backs.:)

Totally agree with this superfreak. Can really hurt sides, especially when there's a lot of game time still to play. Its nearly cost us games before. The opposition get a run on because of ridiculous frees, and then your side crack the $hits with the umps and loose concentration on the game. Then before you know it a they're right back into the contest.:thumbsdown:
If umpires wanna be respected by the players and spectators they have to realise their roles. And thats to umpire the game without having an impact on it. Once they can do that people will get off their backs.:)
Problem is that they think the game can't exist withou them!
They really think they are in the game....like a third team or something...the orange team! I'm sure some of them wish they could get a kick
The best games of footy whether it be park footy or right up to the AFL are when you don't even notice them.
The worst thing they ever did in footy was to give them coloured uniforms
They should be dressed in white and just blow the ones they see and get out of the way and shut up
Footy would be a much better game if they did.

Down with the Orange team!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Mordi were ordinary from the first bounce. Injuries and missing good players really hurt the team. Really struggled all over the park, I thought they would of been alot more competitive but as i've said before they are lacking a forward structure (and talent) at present.
Mind you Cheltenham did look really switched on and played some good passages of football.
As for the umpiring.... well I hate to rip on umpires, but one of them was aweful in his positioning! He was not fit enough even to push to position to give himself a chance to see what was happening to make a correct decision! He was half guessing all day long and thats how umpires get a bad name, pure laziness in his performance.

[Who will win the big game between between City & cheltenham, could be a danger game for us, we hope Worner is still in the twos! Could shape Chelts season with StPauls & Clayton to follow, they were premiership favourites after their Anzac day demolition of Chelsea but seem to have stuttered since then, should be physical contest. We rate them highly !

I would expect City to win but Chelt have super record at the Peanut Farm. Its sure is a good test of where both teams are at as they have both been talked up alot on here so far this year. Chelt is probably still missing 3-4 through injury, dunno about City (maybe spongey can help out here) but i understand they have been hit by the injury bug. So its a great effort to be 6-0.

we have about 5 out the big one being Arvanitis hopefuly back by round 12/13, but our depth has stood up, your right chelt have a good record at peanut farm, hopefully we will get on 31 should be a game worth watching
we have had a stack of injuries but slowly getting them back, not having the break hurts a bit

Went down to watch the battle of the Kennels last week, and must say that the Dogs' of the St Pauls variety looked very impressive!! The return of McKenzie and James, as well as the addition of Best makes them look alot more dangerous than last season. They would have to be favourites for the flag this season, marginally ahead of the winner of tomorrow's battle at the Farm. Season is shaping up as a beauty!!

Been a bit quiet on the old Division 1 front.
Anybody got any top 4 predictions for the season?

There have been quiet a few surprise results this season, and even on the weekend with St Kilda handing out an absolute thrashing on the weekend.
Mordialloc and Chelsea Heights are both unpredictable each week, don't be too surprised if you see Heatherton push Mordi this week or even beat them.

There have been quiet a few surprise results this season, and even on the weekend with St Kilda handing out an absolute thrashing on the weekend.
Mordialloc and Chelsea Heights are both unpredictable each week, don't be too surprised if you see Heatherton push Mordi this week or even beat them.

I think the teams that are in the four at the moment will be there come the end of the season.

St.Kilda City at their best will not be stopped.
Mordi will smash the tonners on Satday.

Don't be surprised if Chelsea Heights get over the Rosellas this week, they looked super impressive last week.

Four will be St.kilda City, St.Pauls, Clayton and Cheltenham only side capable of breaking into top four outside of teams mentioned would be East Brighton, but injuries and depth may hinder there charge.Any news on where the divvy 1 finals are going to be played and which clubs tendered for them.:thumbsu:

We put it together for 4 qrts Saturday, best we played all year, this week is our biggest test as we have never won at Clayton, last week was good to win so well without Dimachki, Walker,Arvanitis Mills & Johnston all out of the side.The comp at rthe top is even with a goal or 2 separating the 4 sides, injuries will play a major factor in the finals>

I might be going over old ground here, but i was wondering if anything came (reports/suspension) of the scuffle between Highett & Chelsea Hieghts a couple of weeks ago. I believe the league were looking into it but haven't heard to much more about it?

Anyone know?

I might be going over old ground here, but i was wondering if anything came (reports/suspension) of the scuffle between Highett & Chelsea Hieghts a couple of weeks ago. I believe the league were looking into it but haven't heard to much more about it?

Anyone know?

still pending i think. from what i have heard of the incident, there could be a few lengthy suspensions on both sides.

I am new to this. Have read a few of the threads. Not a lot of discussion about Div 1, which is my main area of interest. 4 out of 5 games could go either way this week? Last roll of the dice for EB & StP v Clay could be a ripper. This will determine whether Clays are a serious contender or just making up the four IMO. Thoughts??

Good to have you on board. The Clays are slowly getting their full list back and will take it right up to St Pauls, East knocked over the Rosellas in Round 1 so they must fancy themselves to do it again.

What do people think about Sunday games? I bring this up as Heighters play Mordi on Sunday, and I would be interested to see if anyone would make the effort to go down and watch any divi 1 teams that play.
I know a lot of leagues throughout Vic and NSW have a few Sunday games thoughout the season which usually brings in large crowds.
I would like to see more of it next season, as it gives an opportunity for other teams in lower divisions, and other leagues to check out the standard of division 1.
Any thoughts??

I agree, but only 1-2 per club each year. You end up with problems with people who organise their lives around Saturday footy, who can't keep chopping and changing availability. Particularly in SFL, with no juniors a lot of clubs can struggle for numbers at the best of times. From this perspective it makes sense to keep it to the higher divisions.