SFL Division 1 Only

No St Kilda missed a lot of kickable goals. I would say Casset probably kicked 2.6 and I couldn't see him doing that again. Hassan didn't have a huge possession count, but all were stamped with quality. Took a couple of hangers and also put a couple of bruising bumps on Wyld and Shaw. Zosens was also prolific for StKilda.

St Pauls were kept in it by McIntyre. Clearly BOG for mine and would have had high 30s. Dewar took some good marks too, terrific leap on him. Sziller will no doubt make a difference, and Boeh Davies got through the 2s game well. Both good players so they do have some options.

It was a much better game than Chelt/Clay last week and would be tough to see StK out in straight sets. Not the most convincing display from St Pauls so the GF should be a cracker.

No St Kilda missed a lot of kickable goals. I would say Casset probably kicked 2.6 and I couldn't see him doing that again. Hassan didn't have a huge possession count, but all were stamped with quality. Took a couple of hangers and also put a couple of bruising bumps on Wyld and Shaw. Zosens was also prolific for StKilda.

St Pauls were kept in it by McIntyre. Clearly BOG for mine and would have had high 30s. Dewar took some good marks too, terrific leap on him. Sziller will no doubt make a difference, and Boeh Davies got through the 2s game well. Both good players so they do have some options.

It was a much better game than Chelt/Clay last week and would be tough to see StK out in straight sets. Not the most convincing display from St Pauls so the GF should be a cracker.

Lets hope SKC make it through, lets also hope umpire McNiece doesnt get a gig, he is a cheat and a disgrace, he is the most bias umpire to be in the SFL, he will destroy a good game as he tried valiantly on Sunday to do .
Well done to St Pauls they converted there opportunities, including the 6 frees they got in the forward 30, and finished in front on the day, we now have to get over clayton which will be a huge task, we would love another
crack at the doggies

lets also hope umpire McNiece doesnt get a gig, he is a cheat and a disgrace, he is the most bias umpire to be in the SFL, he will destroy a good game as he tried valiantly on Sunday to do .

I'd be interested to hear the views of some of the Cheltenham users on this umpire. Superfreak???

After speaking to a few of their senior players on the weekend he was they umpire at the centre of the debacle when they played St.Pauls.

Maybe he just has a thing for wanting to see St Pauls win.

I'd be interested to hear the views of some of the Cheltenham users on this umpire. Superfreak???

After speaking to a few of their senior players on the weekend he was they umpire at the centre of the debacle when they played St.Pauls.

Put it this way... he hasn't done us any favours in the two years he has umpired in the SFL.......Thats all i will say on that matter.

On the other point.....

Most of those frees to St Pauls yesterday were there. City are a very undisciplined team and this might be there ultimate downfall.

City to poleaxe the Clays this week (both St Pauls and City breathed a sigh of relief when Clayton won the first semi).

Hassan summed it up best during his 3/4 Time speech. St Kilda City had no one to blame for the free kicks and goals but themselves. They played stupid football for the majority of the game.

For City to win the flag, they need alot more out of Arvo (who would've barely travelled 1km for the entire game).

Will be interesting to see how the injured Saints players pull up (Newman went down with a knock to the ribs on the final siren, and Cassett was in lalaland for the majority of the last 10 minutes). However, I can't see Clayton getting within a Bull's Roar of the Saints but it will be a very physical game nonetheless.

Put it this way... he hasn't done us any favours in the two years he has umpired in the SFL.......Thats all i will say on that matter.

On the other point.....

Most of those frees to St Pauls yesterday were there. City are a very undisciplined team and this might be there ultimate downfall.

City to poleaxe the Clays this week (both St Pauls and City breathed a sigh of relief when Clayton won the first semi).

i don't know why st pauls would be breathing a sigh of relief.... haven't clayton had their number in finals time for a while now??

Yeah I dunno if they would they would either, Clayton are one of those teams who turn up and play finals footy. Wouldn't surprise me in the least if they pushed St Kilda all the way this wkd.

For one, the top three teams on the ladder were the standouts during the home and away season. They were all very even. So for Chelt to be knocked out in the first semi both sides would have been happy as Chelt are the only other team that can cut it with them.

Secondly St Pauls beat Clayton by 100 points last time they met. In the past they have had the wood on them but this is a different side and Clayton arent up to their standard this year. The Clays have alot of injured players who were nearly their downfall last week and wont be much better this week.

Clayton do lift for finals as we saw last week but they aren't in the same class as St Pauls/St Kilda City. They are slow (apart from Johnson and Gags) and don't run both ways.

To match it with St Pauls/St Kilda City, you need to run as simply belting them and trying to intimidate them (Clayton's only game plan) wont cut the mustard.

Just my opinion lads!!

For one, the top three teams on the ladder were the standouts during the home and away season. They were all very even. So for Chelt to be knocked out in the first semi both sides would have been happy as Chelt are the only other team that can cut it with them.

Secondly St Pauls beat Clayton by 100 points last time they met. In the past they have had the wood on them but this is a different side and Clayton arent up to their standard this year. The Clays have alot of injured players who were nearly their downfall last week and wont be much better this week.

Clayton do lift for finals as we saw last week but they aren't in the same class as St Pauls/St Kilda City. They are slow (apart from Johnson and Gags) and don't run both ways.

To match it with St Pauls/St Kilda City, you need to run as simply belting them and trying to intimidate them (Clayton's only game plan) wont cut the mustard.

Just my opinion lads!!
Player movemets,Clint Sheedy and his best mate from the sandown cobras i think he used to play at tooronga to Mordialloc,does anyone else know any movements .

I think you're a bit harsh on Clayton. I would have thought they would lose by 6-8 goals last week and they got up. If belting people and intimidating were the only criteria we would see Heatherton and Highett playing off this weekend. Clayton beat Chelt in the skills and rebound department which is where Chelt are usually strong.

Having said that I agree that it would be an extreme upset to see them knock off StKC.

CuttingEdge I think it's a cop-out to blame the umps. StKC can only blame themselves for missing goals and giving away undisciplined free kicks. There was one clear shocker 150m off the play in StPauls goal square which was terrible judgement by the ump. The rest were there.

Just my opinion!

I think you're a bit harsh on Clayton. I would have thought they would lose by 6-8 goals last week and they got up. If belting people and intimidating were the only criteria we would see Heatherton and Highett playing off this weekend. Clayton beat Chelt in the skills and rebound department which is where Chelt are usually strong.

Having said that I agree that it would be an extreme upset to see them knock off StKC.

CuttingEdge I think it's a cop-out to blame the umps. StKC can only blame themselves for missing goals and giving away undisciplined free kicks. There was one clear shocker 150m off the play in StPauls goal square which was terrible judgement by the ump. The rest were there.

Just my opinion!

didnt blame umps overall they were good,our discipline was no good,goal kicking bad

Lets hope SKC make it through, lets also hope umpire McNiece doesnt get a gig, he is a cheat and a disgrace, he is the most bias umpire to be in the SFL, he will destroy a good game as he tried valiantly on Sunday to do .
Well done to St Pauls they converted there opportunities, including the 6 frees they got in the forward 30, and finished in front on the day, we now have to get over clayton which will be a huge task, we would love another
crack at the doggies
Don't you just love it when Clubs or Officials blame the Umpire.Umpires only have an influence when you let them it's all in the mind your just not mentaly strong enough.

Calling him a cheat is harsh and i'm sure the Powers of Be will look into these comments.

I hope the Clays smash StKc on the scoreboard were it really counts.

Who do you blame the Umpire the Players the Coach only time will tell.That Is All

CuttingEdge, what was the injury problem with Casset? He was very slow to get up on several occasions the other day. Didn't help having big Mimo climbing over him every time it came in long, but will he be fully fit this week?

Apparantly McNiece wasnt meant to umpire Div 1 for the rest of the year as punishment for the ballsup at St Pauls, but the umpiring fraternity threatened to go on strike if he wasnt given the game on the weekend. (we should all be so lucky!!)

Just my opinion!

Not too sure where you're getting that from.

Over the last 4 years we've had one reported and rubbed out, a few have been reported and got off (one reported for head butting an umpire but the video showed clearly that there was meters between each other and he got off).

I think we would all agree that the umpires don't necessarily pick everything up, but that was a throw-away line and not really the point anyway. The point is that you need to be more than just physical to make finals, let alone be the reigning Div 1 premiers. Surely Clayton deserves a bit more acknowlegement than to just be labelled as a bunch of thugs - I'm sure their record is equally as clean. They have been consistently at the top end of the ladder for a while now and they should be respected for that.

StKilda city were brutal on the weekend ,a completely different and commited unit from the wek before, there pressure all over the ground was phenomonal. This week the two best sides will play for the cup, one side with a pretty good record in grand finals the other team 4 time losers. The question on everybodies lips is can St Pauls withstand the pressure internally & externally and also the pressure the saints will poor on and not suffer from stage fright as in previous years. It will be a huge test for both clubs. Who will win & why?

Make no mistake Mr. Edge The doggies have arrived and are on the charge for the Division One premiership cup

Who will win & why?

Id like to see the doggies win, but i think the saints might just get them.

A lot will depend on the weather.

The saints have got to many stars for stpauls to hold 3 games in row. If the saints can hold stpauls in similar way they did to the clays then they will win in close one. Either way it should be a good game. What sort of crowd size would the sfl be expecting?

Yeh your right the saints a tough unit and have a got a heap of talent,but houstons got know idea,thats the downfall,shepard will out coach him,i listened to richard at 1/4 time and 3/4 time,his got know idea what his talking about,my 10 year old could inspire the team better than him,good luck trying to attract players next year,St Pauls by 6 goals.

I think he is an easy target and your comments are unwarranted, we have alot of experienced players who dont need acoach that rants and raves about nothing, the days of coaches inspiring the players stopped about 10 years ago, its all tactics and direction and sticking to the team rules.
He outcoached Jones on the weekend and he looks forward to the tactical battle with Shep on the weekend, what a game it should be, hope we get a good crowd, next year is next year and Im sure we will have no trouble with players

I think he is an easy target and your comments are unwarranted, we have alot of experienced players who dont need acoach that rants and raves about nothing, the days of coaches inspiring the players stopped about 10 years ago, its all tactics and direction and sticking to the team rules.
He outcoached Jones on the weekend and he looks forward to the tactical battle with Shep on the weekend, what a game it should be, hope we get a good crowd, next year is next year and Im sure we will have no trouble with players
Whatever I;ve coached for years and at the top level have some balls and be honest, dont cover it up.:thumbsdown: