SFL Division Two - 2012

I'm past player and have follwed Big Footy for years but haven't posted. One thing has really bugged me over the past few years and that's why other clubs don't stick around. Yesterday there were 35 opposition players in our rooms after our senior game and created a great atmosphere despite my team losing. Good ol Days umps, players and supporters would support both home and away games.

ive only seen one dragon game this year and that was round one against BR, and ive also seen a southyarra game and confident to say i think the dragons are safe from relegation, may just miss finals is my prediction though. hope they prove me wrong after following them thru the finals campaign last year and closely following them this year do have a soft spot for them. looks like tehy have had an up and down season so far, and from looking at the teamsheet i think any team with a few new recruits, will take time to gel. whats your opinion?? if i can make it down to nepean highway reserve tomorrow/today look out for me and come share a beer. silver haired geezer, with the navy blue sweater although if its a cold one, got no chance of meleaving the mazda.

Any news about Tommy Clappers from the dragons vs oakleigh game. Heard he got injured in the first five minutes in the last quater.

There were a few injuries early on for the dragons, nothing too serious though.. hirata injured his knee but returned to play after half time, and clappers looked to be down for a while but think he was ok. one dragon hurt his shoulder i think did not return. Very interesting and entertaining game to watch the dragon boys turned up to play and pushed the boys from oakleigh all the way, but oaks just managed to kicked away a little bit in the last quarter. oakleigh have some good players and i think theyre skills by foot and the ability to hit a target were just too much for the dragons on the day. very good to see this comp so even i think the majority of the teams can beat anyone on the day.

Was caught a little by surprise on Saturday out at Springy, to see a one Greg Walker out of retirement & lining up for his first game of the year in the 2s.

Played ruck / changing up forward & looked to be lacking a little match fitness (understandably) but still took some nice strong grabs around the ground that people were accustomed to last year.

What does this mean? Is he just helping out the 2s for the year or will he be playing in the later game this week or in coming weeks? I'm thinking the latter.

Some food for thought ;)

Fish, what would you put down for the reason of bentleigh's poor results lately??

is there injuries?? i understand plapp has also missed the last few games, or has the level of competition just gotten better from last year??

clearly you have the depth in the reserves, why arnt some of these gun reserves players not playing senior football??

I think the standard of SFL Div 2 has just got that much better. Oakleigh have improved, Skye have definitley improved, Murrumbeena have recuited well & Springy have started the year slowly but are gaining momentum. Don't know much about East Malvern, but they're doing enough to win most weeks. I'll go with the Chris Judd press conference line in that "the sky isn't falling yet"

We have a big month ahead with another big game ths week against Oakleigh.

As for the reserves playing up in the seniors, some have had a go, but we have a lot a players with the same size & ability & any "Captain Obvious" can tell you that you can only pick 22 players in the 1s. The step up, as everyone knows between reserves & seniors is a big one. Anyway I know I'm not one of these reserves players that you refer to :D ;)

well you blokes in the ressies are clearly a step above the rest of us, our job now is to work out how to knock bentleigh off in the 2's

how many straight Vicotries have you blokes had now?? 35?? 40??

well you blokes in the ressies are clearly a step above the rest of us, our job now is to work out how to knock bentleigh off in the 2's

how many straight Vicotries have you blokes had now?? 35?? 40??

Haha no not that many!! :D

I do know the figure but I don't want to sound self praising/self indulgent / up myself w***er :). I say that because there was a time where we only used to win 2 games a year, back in the day (2007 & 2008 especially). But our juniors coming through over the past 4 - 5 years have really strengthened the club & we have another 15+ colts coming through next year.

Just concentrating on Oakleigh Dist 2s this week who'll be out for revenge this Saturday from last year's Grand Final. Will be a very tough match.

Yeah nah....

We did lose the 2010 Grand Final to Banyule by 4 goals out at Highgate Reserve, Craigieburn. I'll let you do the math from there. Like I said, I do know what it's like to be at the other end of the ladder, so you do have to show some humility when your misfortune changes.

I do like the sudden talk on 2s footy on here though, its a refreshing change for us dew kickers :thumbsu:

Yeah nah....

We did lose the 2010 Grand Final to Banyule by 4 goals out at Highgate Reserve, Craigieburn. I'll let you do the math from there. Like I said, I do know what it's like to be at the other end of the ladder, so you do have to show some humility when your misfortune changes.

I do like the sudden talk on 2s footy on here though, its a refreshing change for us dew kickers :thumbsu:

Fish, just out of curiousity there is a young fella playing in your Colts team who played a few games in the ones last year including the granny if memory serves. Can't believe he is running around in the Colts which let's be honest is a pretty ordinary standard. I would have thought you need everyone you can get and he wasn't a bad prospect. I would have thought he may have cracked it for a game in all conquering magoos.

Yeah its no coincidence that us 2's players initiated the ressies talk, hence i better stop mentioning the magoos after this post before the haters come out and bag me for it

Am I correct in saying that you are infact the Captain of the all conquering Bentleigh 2's team Fish??

Anyways I will get back to the seniors, Looking forward to seeing the result of the Oakleigh V Bentleigh game this week

For some reason, after losses to most of the top 4 teams I have a feeling that Bentleig will knock Oakleigh off this week, not sure what sort of odds id take but if $2.50 was offered id probaly chuck a 20 on it!!

The other game that interests me this week is the Dragons V East malvern game at the Dragons home ground!! This is a massive chance for Souther Dragons to get that prized top 5 scalp, East Malvern are a quality side but they have been up for awhile now this year, every team has lapses so they would wanna be on there ball

Most other games are fairly self explanatary this week, maybe Hampton can give Murrumbeena a run for there money, but after watching the Beena boys come back from a 40pt qtr time deficit last week, they are a quality unit!!

In the 2's I expect all results to be fairly straight forward except for the Hampton V Beena game, playing against Murrumbeena last week who were 2nd on the ladder they didnt put up as much of a fight as we thought they would, talking to them after the game they had a few out and Hamptons 2's are a tall side who are capable so that will be close one i reckon!! The Key to beating hampton is obviously reducing the influence of Bennet and Collins....

Yeah its no coincidence that us 2's players initiated the ressies talk, hence i better stop mentioning the magoos after this post before the haters come out and bag me for it. The change of topic has been refreshing but all good things must come to an end :)

Am I correct in saying that you are infact the Captain of the all conquering Bentleigh 2's team Fish?? Was the captain until the end last year now just a player

Anyways I will get back to the seniors, Looking forward to seeing the result of the Oakleigh V Bentleigh game this week
For some reason, after losses to most of the top 4 teams I have a feeling that Bentleig will knock Oakleigh off this week, not sure what sort of odds id take but if $2.50 was offered id probaly chuck a 20 on it!!.... I hope you're hunch is right!!

Well Fish it is an 8 point game this week for Bentleigh. If they drop this one then a gap starts to open up which could be hard to make up.
Added to that Bentleigh has played 6 of the first 9 rounds at home which leaves them with a very tough run home. Not looking very promising with all of the expectations pre season. Might be time to start blooding some of the young lads and give them a taste for next season.

Looks like springy districts have had a major boost to their midfield with peter o'brien ex noble park premiership player and vfl player signing on. :thumbsu:

re: Murrumbeena

i noticed that douma hasn't been in the best players much this year. when i watch beena play oakleigh i didnt see him. I know he won the b&f down there a few years ago...is he still at the club? or is he playing 2's now because he cant crack into the seniors. Beena seem to be flying..

anyone know?

Looks like springy districts have had a major boost to their midfield with peter o'brien ex noble park premiership player and vfl player signing on. :thumbsu:

Yeh great pick up but I saw Skye last week and they are a fair way in front of Springvale. Have solid forward line with a real goal kicker down there and great depth. O'brien will be great player and with GV will be a force but Skye were sensational last week. Does anyone think we can stay up this year?

Great win by Springy which keeps them in touch with the top 2 and now puts a bit of pressure on Skye. O'brien is a seriously good player and I suspect would be on good coin.Once he gets his fitness watch out. Bentleigh playing for their survival managed to pull out a great victory against East Malvern and they remain in the hunt. Their problem is that they have only beaten one team in the top 5 and they are going to have beat a few more if they want to play finals.

Hit the nail right on the head Moody Blue, was a great away win on Saturday against East Malvern. Need to win probably 7 more games to see some September action, which i believe is quite possible if other results can go our way & we can keep the percentage nice & healthy.

We probably could be thankful we were only to 1 goal down at half time as East Malvern had the ascendancy for the half, or so it appeared to me. Simon Hart is a great footballer & kick for goal (just thought I'd throw that out there ;)), had 3 goals on the board in a flash, with an injured shoulder.

So as you said it was "backs to the wall stuff" & Bentleigh dug real deep in the second half & topped it off with a 5 goal last quarter. Made the club function on Saturday night a lot more enjoyable.

In regards to Springy Districts, I think a sleeping giant may have awoken after a slow start to the season. They're gaining momentum every week leading into what looks like a big round 9 with some big games.

We play the speedy Dragons in a 6th v 8th game which is another must win for us. Skye play Oakleigh & Beena play Springy (try to pick a match of the round out of those 2 games!