1980GFVideo

Jun 21, 2004
Heidelberg
On the fifth quarter they mentioned that Shane Crawford has tried his hand at serious writing by calling our senior players selfish.

I cant see it on the heraldsun website yet but if anyone has a link then can you put in here. If its not up yet then should be by tommorrow.

Look forward to seeing what he has to say. Apparently even Richo cops it.

we all know crawford from the footy show, he is a buffoon and idiot, so whatever he says people cant take seriously.

Once upon a time I would totally agree. I can’t stand the (footy show) tool. But on the ch9 Sunday footy show he is completely different. He shows his serious and well informed side. Who knows, maybe he will point out what the majority on this site already think. I For one are looking forward to reading his comments, then I will make an informed opinion on it.

And of course he's safe in his little media box where none of these 30 plus players can get at him.

How courageous.

He's probably bitter these guys are still running around, while he languishes on the Footy Show.

And of course he's safe in his little media box where none of these 30 plus players can get at him.

How courageous.

He's probably bitter these guys are still running around, while he languishes on the Footy Show.

lol what are you on? he won a premiership and a brownlow for the hawks, at least he made an impact at his club at his age,
Richo is the only one who can hold his head up high.

lol brown is on the footy show also, but he does shit all on the field!

No offence but,

- 300+ games
- Brownlow Medallist
- AFLPA MVP
- All Australian x 4
- Best and Fairest x 4
- Premiership player
- Hawthorn Team of the Century

I'm not sure his motive would be jealousy towards the likes of Kane Johnson, Troy Simmonds and Joel Bowden.

I sort of agree with Crawford. Your older players who play on are not going to take your club forward and are robbing the young guys who are your future a run to gain experience but...
On the other hand you cant drop players like Richo, Simmonds, Bowden and co because they are basically your best players. So in this instance i dont think Crawf shouldnt of said anything. Its going to be interesting what he has to say though.

I sort of agree with Crawford. Your older players who play on are not going to take your club forward and are robbing the young guys who are your future a run to gain experience but...
On the other hand you cant drop players like Richo, Simmonds, Bowden and co because they are basically your best players. So in this instance i dont think Crawf shouldnt of said anything. Its going to be interesting what he has to say though.

For starters, your club has a total druggo culture so you reaqlly haven't a leg to stand on. Intersting to note that CHris Judd was captain during this period.

Simonds has been in the Tweos at Coburg but according to you he is one of our best players...get with the program.

he is lucky to be in the side

No offence but,

- 300+ games
- Brownlow Medallist
- AFLPA MVP
- All Australian x 4
- Best and Fairest x 4
- Premiership player
- Hawthorn Team of the Century

I'm not sure his motive would be jealousy towards the likes of Kane Johnson, Troy Simmonds and Joel Bowden.

While I totally agree with your point, I have to say your avatar cracks me up..... Shitloads of SANFL Premierships..and Buckley played for our SANFL team...wow wee!! The way you Port fans crap on about what is essentially your reserves team's domination of a pissant provincial comp. is hilarious...seriously mate, no-one gives a toss...:eek:

1. And of course he's safe in his little media box where none of these 30 plus players can get at him.

How courageous.

2. He's probably bitter these guys are still running around, while he languishes on the Footy Show.

1. He won't hide, he will sit next to Browny or Richo next time they are on the footy show and you can bet someone will bring this up:thumbsu:.

2. He new when his time was up, he did the best thing by the club and retired rather than hanging on and playing 50/50 AFL/VFL.

Some of us need to listen to what someone from outside the club see while we sit here on this forum etc with our rose coloured glasses on:eek:

When a Brownlow medalist, 300+ gamer, premiership player speaks, dont be so quick and naive to judge.

He's entitled to his opinion and I bet there's a lot who agree with him.
I'm expecting he's just another Tiger supporter-former Tiger supporter who is frustrated with how we're going. Don't think it would be done out of some kind of maliciousness. And if it helps, then I'm definitely not complaining. If he makes reasonable criticisms then that is fair enough IMO. As I heard Buckley on the radio say yesterday, you should be able to take criticism of yourself. I'm talking realistic criticism where it's due, not unreasonable stuff that sometimes gets bantered around the place :D

Anyone got the article?

I dont think crawf should comment much
he was well over 30 when he retired and was actually going to play on
we have 6 guys over 30 and 5 are younger than crawf himself
and it took a flag for him to retire and if they lost last year he would still be there now
you think if the tiges won the flag this year that most of those guys wouldnt retire?
the new coach i think we retire bowden and johnson this year
simmo may go also depending on form
cuz is a chance with injuries
but i expect richo, browny and cuz to all play on and probaly even simmo
which coach wouldnt want cuz, brown and richo in their team

AN attitude of self-preservation has brought about the death of many AFL careers, and that's what I fear is happening at the Richmond Football Club.

I saw it with the Tigers last weekend, and unless there is a rapid change in philosophy, you are likely to see it today against Port Adelaide, too.

I know all about it, because I was even guilty of it at a few stages in my career at Hawthorn.

But unless some of the senior players who appear to be gripped with it at the moment eradicate that from their game, then they will gone next year.

It's been well documented that Richmond has more players aged 30 or more than any other team - six.

That's a damning stat when you consider where the Tigers are on the ladder.

It's a fair bet that regardless of who is coach next year, the bulk of them will be moved on. How many are gone probably depends on who gets the gig.

If a development coach replaces Terry Wallace, the chances are most of them will be pushed into retirement.

But if a more senior coach, such as Mick Malthouse, gets the job, he will know the importance of keeping a few old hands.

Matthew Richardson and Kane Johnson are injured, but the Tigers will go into today's game with four of their over 30s -- Joel Bowden, Nathan Brown, Ben Cousins and Troy Simmonds.

They all have fantastic traits and have had great individual careers.
The thing that strikes me about all six, though, is that I don't really see any of them as completely team-oriented players.

It pains me to say that about Richo, because he has been a superstar and is one of my all-time favourite players.

But when you are fighting to keep your spot, survival mode kicks in, and it can be detrimental to the team balance.

And sometimes the individual brilliance of those ageing Tigers has overshadowed the team aspect, perhaps not always of their own making.

It's a delicate balancing act, particularly for players at the tailend of their careers. When you are getting towards the end, you tend to jealously guard your patch.

Sometimes you think in trying to help your club you need to have 30 possessions or kick four goals.

http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/sport/afl/story/0,26576,25494989-19742,00.html

Read the whole article by clickling the link. In fairness to Crawf, I think it is actually a well written article, he isn't taking cheap shots at anyone and is telling it like it is.

I dont think crawf should comment much
he was well over 30 when he retired and was actually going to play on
we have 6 guys over 30 and 5 are younger than crawf himself
and it took a flag for him to retire and if they lost last year he would still be there now
you think if the tiges won the flag this year that most of those guys wouldnt retire?
the new coach i think we retire bowden and johnson this year
simmo may go also depending on form
cuz is a chance with injuries
but i expect richo, browny and cuz to all play on and probaly even simmo
which coach wouldnt want cuz, brown and richo in their team

A coach who is looking to play kids might not want them around or he might come in and say look guys if you want to stay on the list, you must do the team things and follow team rules, if you don't then you wont be getting a game. Which in turn forces them to retire.

Well, I apologise. I didn't think Crawf could separate his usual clown nature from serious footy talk...but it seems I was mistaken.

Well then, what is his motive? Is he auditioning for the coaching spot, perhaps? Or did he write it because its an easy article to complete at the moment, and hope his added insights would make it different from those that came before?

Well, I apologise. I didn't think Crawf could separate his usual clown nature from serious footy talk...but it seems I was mistaken.

Well then, what is his motive? Is he auditioning for the coaching spot, perhaps? Or did he write it because its an easy article to complete at the moment, and hope his added insights would make it different from those that came before?

I wouldnt bother apologising skybeau, the guy's remains a flog just trying to make a name for himself in media (at the expense of our club) by bringing up a controversial point - a that has already been visited by numerous sports writers already. The footy world is well aware of our 30+ y.o. players. :rolleyes:

If he wants to point fingers why doesnt he look at his own teams performances this year, and remember that he was also over 30 last year when they team carried his old, injury-ravaged body over the line. :thumbsdown:

I think Crawf is very qualified to speak on this subject as that is exactly what happened at Hawthorn 'til Clarkson got there. We had a bunch of 200+ gamers just coasting along for themselves, probably resigned to the fact that there will never be a premiership for them. Players like N Holland, M Graham, B Dixon etc. I am not saying these players are bad at all, neither am I saying the Richmond guys are either. The similarities are there you must admit. Holland was more focused on his law degree and N Brown is more focused on fashion. It took someone like Al Clarkson to come along and broom these guys and retain the keepers and start fresh. I don't really rate N Brown, since the leg break, or Bowden but Richo is the Crawf of Richmond... an out and out bloody supertar who gives his all for the club in good times and bad. Richo is a Champion, I dont say that lightly either. It's a pity Wallace didn't start the clean out earlier, Richardson may have had a Premiership. His time is almost up. He will join the list of greats that never won a flag, it's not too bad... G Ablett Snr, R Harvey etc.

For starters, your club has a total druggo culture so you reaqlly haven't a leg to stand on. Intersting to note that CHris Judd was captain during this period.

Simonds has been in the Tweos at Coburg but according to you he is one of our best players...get with the program.

he is lucky to be in the side
I can see iv upset you now mate. I never ment to make you cry gee.

Last time i checked pretty sure Troy Simmonds is back playing seniors and was your best player against the Lions.
Anyway snapper undies im sure that 7/10 of your supporters would agree with the statement i made. Its true that your older players arnt helping the club by playing on, Its not going to take them forward.
Btw im not trying to troll mate so you can settle down.:thumbsu:

I wouldnt bother apologising skybeau, the guy's remains a flog just trying to make a name for himself in media (at the expense of our club) by bringing up a controversial point - a that has already been visited by numerous sports writers already. The footy world is well aware of our 30+ y.o. players. :rolleyes:

If he wants to point fingers why doesnt he look at his own teams performances this year, and remember that he was also over 30 last year when they team carried his old, injury-ravaged body over the line. :thumbsdown:
Crawford is on record as saying he thought the Hawks would struggle this year. He has also picked against them a few times this year.

As for carrying him over the line and us carrying 6 of them, there is a slight difference, the Hawks were on a charge for the finals, we're currently charging towards another bottom 4 finish.

As much as some supporters might dislike it, we're only going to get better when we move these guys on, because at the moment they are stopping younger guys from getting gametime.

Crawford is on record as saying he thought the Hawks would struggle this year. He has also picked against them a few times this year.

As for carrying him over the line and us carrying 6 of them, there is a slight difference, the Hawks were on a charge for the finals, we're currently charging towards another bottom 4 finish.

As much as some supporters might dislike it, we're only going to get better when we move these guys on, because at the moment they are stopping younger guys from getting gametime.

Agree with that, every time I see Joel Bowden with the ball in defence I can only imagine how quickly the mindset of our defenders would change without him calling the shots back there. He's an anchor to the development of our defenders and plays the style of footy we're trying to get past. Get him out of there.

Shane Crawford lays into our 30 plus players