Should 4WD purchases be taxed at a higher rate?

• Yes (for environmental and road safety reasons)

Votes: 60 67.4%
  • No (Leave 4WD owners alone)

Votes: 29 32.6%

Yes but going on that logic, the biggest killers on the road are <24yo males. Therefore, above everything else, that simple fact should be the deciding factor?

So, when are we banning under 24yo male drivers?

Just had a look at the 2006 official stats on road deaths.

588 were male / 173 female
227 deaths in the 17-25 yo bracket
378 deaths in the 26-59 yo bracket.

IMHO, the 26-59 yo bracket is misleading as this age bracket would be covering many more km than the lower bracket.

Okay, it's been decided, I am a male, 35yo, I am renouncing my licence as I am a "menace to society" and will one day, statistically speaking, "contribute to the OZ road death toll".

Edit: I would like to see these unsafe "surveys". I'm pretty sure that my family will be okay if it hits another midsized car head on, with its big bullbar and airbags. Especially with the 60mm lift I got 4 weeks ago. Would mean the opposing car would almost go underneath mine. The occupants of the opposing vehicle.....

Or are you referring to rear vision? Because I've got that covered as well with an aftermarket rear view (180 degree) camera hooked into my 7" LCD Sat Nav.

And let me tell you, I had a Camry home for a few weeks, and rear vision was atrociuous.

Actually, I'm referring to the bull-bar. The damage that can do other vehicles, pedestrians and anything else that may happen to cross the path of the vehicle is quite horrific.

The surveys wouldn't be hard to find...

The handling of a four wheel drive would feel much different from a normal car and I would have trouble handling it.
It's called, adjusting your driving habits to suit the road conditions and vehicle you are driving. Allowing more of a gap between the car in front you or driving to conditions rather than the posted speed limit.

I have many drivers in small cars (death traps) change into my lane, slam the breaks on and do a hard left on a T-Junction.

Falchoon said:
1. Future Proofing for possible impulse spending decisions often prevents further spending, good idea, particularly with the governments penchance for stamp duty. You could also buy a removals van in case you ever want to move house too.
And thats why we buy a 4x2 house, for future proofing. To plan ahead and allow for 2 kids.

It's why we have Superannuation.

I own a car, but I would never want to drive one in the city either. The handling of a four wheel drive would feel much different from a normal car and I would have trouble handling it.

Then again that doesn't appear to stop other people from driving one.:rolleyes:

Not really - you don`t drive with 4wd engaged in the city. I have a new Hilux which feels like a sedan.

What can a 4WD do that a car can't (in the city).
You are 21 / 22? this year.

Come back and join the debate when you've had children. Only then will you have real life experience of what you can / can't fit into the boot of a Camry / Commodore, whilst carting the kids around the suburbs.

What percentage of 4WD's have more floor storage space than this?

DavesAUForte_Beach1_med.jpg

What percentage of 4WD's have more floor storage space than this?

DavesAUForte_Beach1_med.jpg
They are not made anymore.

The equivalent would be the base model Territory TX RWD - 2,025kg as a 7 seater. Official consumption City / Highway 12.5L / 100km. 1,153L behind the 2nd row of seats. 75L Fuel Tank.

Diesel Prado - 2,190kg as an 8 seater with an 180L tank. Adjusting weight down to hold 75L makes it 2,085kg. Actual Fuel consumption in the City, 9.6L / 100km, driven hard. I don't have luggage room stats, but I suggest they would be much greater than 1,153L.

Well my 4x4 runs on Gas, doesn't more miles than the camry and is better for the enviroment. Use it for towing the caravan, and if you lose control and crash into me you are going to come off second best (Unless your a truck or bus driver)

Wouldn't you love to be doing this on weekends
[YOUTUBE]T-TSWL_zy-Q[/YOUTUBE]

looks a thrill a minute?

[YOUTUBE]rsowsH5jicY[/YOUTUBE]

This 4WD video looks more fun

[YOUTUBE]GeYmDOzoibk[/YOUTUBE]

My Mrs owns a Tribute and whilst not hardcore will get you up the odd dirt track,

[YOUTUBE]jOsmen0_go4[/YOUTUBE]

yet I've never bothered. I'd rather park the sedan in the carpark stick a backpack on and go for a walk.

or

looks a thrill a minute?

[YOUTUBE]http://au.youtube.com/watch?v=rsowsH5jicY[/YOUTUBE]

This 4WD video looks more fun

[YOUTUBE]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GeYmDOzoibk[/YOUTUBE]

My Mrs owns a Tribute and whilst not hardcore will get you up the odd dirt track,

[YOUTUBE]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jOsmen0_go4&feature=related[/YOUTUBE]

yet I've never bothered. I'd rather park the sedan in the carpark stick a backpack on and go for a walk.

or

Any possible way you could embed those properly so we can actually see them?

Tobacco and alcohol kill a lot more people than 4WDs. Ban them.

We own an X-Trail and a Prado. The X-Trail uses more juice per klm. Yet the Prado is the one that would be taxed or banned?

Whats with the talk of banning

I believe the thread was asking if they should be taxed at a higher rate exactly like tobacco and alcohol.

So good idea 4WD's should be treated like tabbacco and alcohol

Leave my 4X4 alone, I pay enough tax as it is. Higher rego, insurance & diesel 10 cents a litre dearer than unleaded.
There are 2 types of 4X4's Those that go off road on weekends & the other ones with WCE stickers on the back window that never leave the bitumen.

Thats a pretty big assumption to make, half my friends have kids, but luckily for you I don't. But I can see that those 9 months have made you an expert on how objects can and can't fit in a car boot. Its not like I paid attention when I was growing up with my 2 older brother driving halfway accross the state in a little honda accord:rolleyes:. So of course I have no idea how to fit objects into a car.

But I do like your mentality of "F**k you, and anyone else who isn't my family", and while its understandable that you want to protect your family I reckon it should cost you for putting mine in extra danger.

P.S. For your sake I hope you don't get into an accident with someone you know who doesn't drive a 4WD

Is it just me or is it a poor mans - rich mans fight, I mean do you think you would give a **** if you had the money to fork out for a 4wd ? I own a 2wd ute and i have a 4wd work ute and a 6 wheel truck, so i cant win no matter what i do, The thing is ppl, no matter how much you sook about it you cant win,The ppl who make these laws have the $$$ to buy a fancy 4wd and dont want to tax themselfs anymore. :)

The big argument against 4WDs is the fact that many aren't used for a valid purpose.

After reading the many posts defending and attacking 4WD usage and as someone who strongly detests suburban 4WDers, I am convinced that apart from going off regularly and living in the country most of the reasons for having a 4WD are very poor. The argument that you need to have a 4WD beacue your little kid needs to be protected is just stupid. For the record I come from a family of six and there was no need for mum to have a 4WD to cart the kids around. Theres a good reason for why suburban 4WDers are detested in the same way as bogans are detested, not because of envy, but because of their stupidity.

I understand that theres people on here and family and friends I know that have a lifestyle where they love to regularly go outdoors in the bush and/or out in the country and they have a fair case for having a 4WD, but the fact remains strong that if you are not going off road regularly nor live in a country town you do not need a 4WD.

If I'm looking for a status symbol I'd go for an convertible.

OK then lets tax non-4WDs so everyone can be equally safe driving a fuel-efficient diesel fourby.

Yep then we'll have to bring in 3 metre high tanks for all the selfish halfwits to see over or ram safely away regular 4WDs.

Is it just me or is it a poor mans - rich mans fight,

it's just you
any knob can pick up a 2nd hand landcruiser for sub $15000
http://www.carsales.com.au/used-cars/TOYOTA/LANDCRUISER/private-results.aspx?State=Victoria&N=4294962861+82+410+4294962570&Model=LANDCRUISER&Make=TOYOTA&distance=25&state_id=82&PriceMax=15000
and if this thread is to be believed they'll be economical to boot

The oddest thing with 4wd owners is the assumed superiority complex, very odd.

The big argument against 4WDs is the fact that many aren't used for a valid purpose.

After reading the many posts defending and attacking 4WD usage and as someone who strongly detests suburban 4WDers, I am convinced that apart from going off regularly and living in the country most of the reasons for having a 4WD are very poor. The argument that you need to have a 4WD beacue your little kid needs to be protected is just stupid. For the record I come from a family of six and there was no need for mum to have a 4WD to cart the kids around. Theres a good reason for why suburban 4WDers are detested in the same way as bogans are detested, not because of envy, but because of their stupidity.

I understand that theres people on here and family and friends I know that have a lifestyle where they love to regularly go outdoors in the bush and/or out in the country and they have a fair case for having a 4WD, but the fact remains strong that if you are not going off road regularly nor live in a country town you do not need a 4WD.

If I'm looking for a status symbol I'd go for an convertible.
Whilst I take on board what you say, I disagree with a key point.

If my 4WD spends 100% of its time in suburbia, so what, that's my perogative. I choose to do that and I don't need anyones rubber stamp of approval.

The fact of the matter is, that it spends 10% of its time getting to remote places, outside the city, to go camping & fishing, where non 4WD cannot get to. But I digress, I do not need a valid reason to have one.

Just like I don't meddle in others lives if they have a large swimming pool that consumes water, or a large 2 storey home with only 1 child, with aircons cranked all day everyday.

Just on a friendly note: Yes, there are many 4WDers (particularly women) that are horrid drivers. But there also many 20 yo's that are hoons. There are stupid people on the road (freeways & women) that are on 100 and texting, at night. It would be stupid and ignorant of me to say all women should be banned from driving.

Whilst I take on board what you say, I disagree with a key point.

If my 4WD spends 100% of its time in suburbia, so what, that's my perogative. I choose to do that and I don't need anyones rubber stamp of approval.

The fact of the matter is, that it spends 10% of its time getting to remote places, outside the city, to go camping & fishing, where non 4WD cannot get to. But I digress, I do not need a valid reason to have one.

Just like I don't meddle in others lives if they have a large swimming pool that consumes water, or a large 2 storey home with only 1 child, with aircons cranked all day everyday.

Just on a friendly note: Yes, there are many 4WDers (particularly women) that are horrid drivers. But there also many 20 yo's that are hoons. There are stupid people on the road (freeways & women) that are on 100 and texting, at night. It would be stupid and ignorant of me to say all women should be banned from driving.

well said:thumbsu: