Analysis Should we be pursuing a secondary market post-Hobart? If yes, then where?

You don't think the club would have hoped to maintain some Tassie members moving forward?
It's a softer landing compared with our exit strategy from the Gold Coast though. Were you all that concerned by what happened to our Gold Coast members who had games wrenched from them without warning?

Lovely spot Bunbury.

When I lived in WA I used to travel to Bunbury - and straight around it with my doors locked and windows up!

Enjoy! (and try to come home alive....) ;)

Hawthorn supporter commenting on crime. What's the bet he's a white collar criminal? Anyone who wears a sleeveless footy jumper over a white business shirt is at the very least a white collar criminal committing crimes against fashion.

Lovely spot Bunbury.

When I lived in WA I used to travel to Bunbury - and straight around it with my doors locked and windows up!

Enjoy! (and try to come home alive....) ;)

If they can play games in Ballarat, Western Sydney, Alice Springs and just down from the safe injecting room here in Melbourne, reckon Bunbury will be OK.

I would have preferred the club to pursue a secondary market in Northern Regional Victoria and Southern Regional NSW.

GWS already owns it

Direct flight into Busselton (gorgeous place) then 45km north to Bunbury.

Which is literally the point of the exercise, WA Govt promoting this.

It's a softer landing compared with our exit strategy from the Gold Coast though. Were you all that concerned by what happened to our Gold Coast members who had games wrenched from them without warning?

Fair point for sure.

But different circumstances - we never wore the words "Gold Coast Kangaroos" on our jumpers. I think Gold Coast members knew from day 1 that we were either relocating up there... or we weren't.

Like it or not the club definitely embraced an approach to our Tassie-based members that we were a team with a Tasmanian identity.

1730340168679.png

True, if we ditched the Tassie crap 10 years ago, we wouldn't be having this convo because we'd still be millions in debt. And the split second that the Tasmanian expansion team became a viable option, we would have been liquidated.
lol getting 5,000 members buying 4 game memberships isn't going to make a difference, along with the mostly empty tassie stadium.

if they ditched that idea and went with something more sustainable there might've been some short term pain, but by now we'd be seeing the beneifts.

Having worked in media management for a long time, one of the greatest frustrations is when other stakeholders announce something ahead of you.

Thing is, when those stakeholders are the ones with the $$$ or regulatory approval, there's not much you can do about it.

Would have thought someone with your vast experience would know this intuitively.
Absolutely - I do it for a living. But it isn't difficult when gazumped to put a holding message online. To just be silent isn't my preferred option. Now when they do make a statement its old news. Get on the front foot.

Absolutely - I do it for a living. But it isn't difficult when gazumped to put a holding message online.

What are we meant to say?

"These media reports are actually true but we acn't confirm that".

To just be silent isn't my preferred option. Now when they do make a statement its old news. Get on the front foot.

Nah, that's 90s thinking when you could reliably work around print deadlines, broadcast bulletin times.

Nowadays its best to say nothing in this kind of situation given the social media mill

You only need to front foot and get ahead of really bad news.

And this ain't bad news.

Ever get the feeling that our club has become "the Canary in the Coalmine" for the AFL.

They use us to test the waters in locations like Canberra, Gold Coast and Hobart and now WA. If it works, they try to permanently locate us there or expand the league into that market.

I feel this may mean that a 3rd WA team is potentially just around the corner, and they will either ask/force us to relocate or the team becomes the leagues 20th team.

What are we meant to say?

"These media reports are actually true but we acn't confirm that".

Nah, that's 90s thinking when you could reliably work around print deadlines, broadcast bulletin times.

Nowadays its best to say nothing in this kind of situation given the social media mill

You only need to front foot and get ahead of really bad news.

And this ain't bad news.
Not how I see it but respect your opinion.

Ever get the feeling that our club has become "the Canary in the Coalmine" for the AFL.

They use us to test the waters in locations like Canberra, Gold Coast and Hobart and now WA. If it works, they try to permanently locate us there or expand the league into that market.

I feel this may mean that a 3rd WA team is potentially just around the corner, and they will either ask/force us to relocate or the team becomes the leagues 20th team.
Maybe move to 20 teams with 2 divisions?

From Melbourne? Which airline?
They'll charter a flight or put on one-off extra flights for the Melbourne fans. Point is though that there is capacity of an airport existing at all to shorten the travel amount once you get off the plane from 2 hours to less than an hour.

Having worked in media management for a long time, one of the greatest frustrations is when other stakeholders announce something ahead of you.

Thing is, when those stakeholders are the ones with the $$$ or regulatory approval, there's not much you can do about it.

Would have thought someone with your vast experience would know this intuitively.

Completely understand that

How about communication to Tassie members who are paying the same or more for half the games and already have paid?

Clearly these conversations have been happening, why not put a hold on Tassie memberships?

Shambles

What would be your line though?
I would have something on the website along the lines that we acknowledge significant media speculation around where we may play games in 2025 and we understand this is of considerable interest to our members. However at this stage nothing is confirmed. Tag it with the usual we work hard to ensure the future of the club and get the best deal we can for members. When details are confirmed we will advise our members first.
Obviously it would be somewhat expanded from these quick points but at least the members would have something official to hold the ground.

I would have something on the website along the lines that we acknowledge significant media speculation around where we may play games in 2025 and we understand this is of considerable interest to our members. However at this stage nothing is confirmed. Tag it with the usual we work hard to ensure the future of the club and get the best deal we can for members. When details are confirmed we will advise our members first.
Obviously it would be somewhat expanded from these quick points but at least the members would have something official to hold the ground.
So nothing then

Analysis Should we be pursuing a secondary market post-Hobart? If yes, then where?