Review SHOWDOWN 55

Old mate is a crows supporter, was a decent junior player & made some interesting points re ports/ showdown.

He said Ports entire fwd structure/ entries are set up solely for Dixons benefit. He is the most targeted fwd in the afl along with curnow. But Dixon holds no fear for him at all, even if he has a great game he won’t do much damage because his kicking at goal & general play ate so poor. Said we are essentially tying our fortunes to a loser & duffman has a hard on for him because he is so big & buff

I concurred and said it’s written into Dixons contract that he has to be the number 1 target & if the ball isn’t kicked to him, or if he is not in frame then the commentators have to talk about him & ask where he is, like poochie dog from the Simpson’s

Also said ports midfield scares him. A lot. That he expected them to put on a 10 minute burst & kick 5 goals at any moment & didn’t feel comfortable until the last 5 minutes after McEntees miss & their rebound goal. And that a team with our midfield should be guaranteed to play finals. Also said kicking points essentially sets you up for the oppo to go coast to coast

He’s the guy who throws stuff at his telly whenever keayes, berry or McHenry touch the ball & we both agreed that there are some absolute rubbish players in most afl teams & we shouldn’t have given up playing footy so young

Again, this absolute shidiot is a known clapper who defended the regime to the hilt. He deserves the pain. * him.

The happy clappers turning might just be enough to make the club act, but they'll never for a second admit they're wrong, whenever we move Hinkley on will have been "the right time".

Handyandy “Also said kicking points essentially sets you up for the oppo to go coast to coast”

Remember seeing the stats on this and was surprised how little teams take it from defence to offence and score. Particularly if you’re playing a team with strong offensive pressure (which used to be something we were good at until recently) happy for Janus to provide the stats and show me where we sit now.

Who the * is ant
ant GIF

I’ve been on the sack Hinkley campaign since 2015 and dealt with a fair share of “happy clappers” over time

In saying that, I think anyone converted to the cause (however late that may be) should be welcomed as a supporting voice. No benefit in attacking them now when we need more support

Except of course when the converted are eventually those of the Kochie, Cornes and Whateley-ilk. They should be sent to the guillotine after the revolution.

I am a hopeful person by disposition. When it comes to Port, probably because of the success and never give up coaching attitude of the Fos Williams and Cahill eras, I always believed we could pull off a win from anywhere. Butters and JHF believe that and play that way. Unfortunately when those two were trying their guts out, many others had already given up and they were left to do it all. Kenny's coaching started with a never give up attitude too and we were good at fighting out wins then with limited talent. Unfortunately its gone downhill badly from there and unless we clean up or clean out the wimps from our playing team and coaching panel we'll never enjoy real success.
Wimpiness from the top to the bottom is why we regularly fail in big games and why I'm losing patience with our team.

He said Ports entire fwd structure/ entries are set up solely for Dixons benefit. He is the most targeted fwd in the afl along with curnow. But Dixon holds no fear for him at all, even if he has a great game he won’t do much damage because his kicking at goal & general play ate so poor. Said we are essentially tying our fortunes to a loser & duffman has a hard on for him because he is so big & buff
This is why I don't quite get the criticism of Marshall and to a lesser extent, Georgiades.

Dixon gets targeted so frequently, basically overtargeted, that it doesn't surprise me when Marshall or Mitch get a bit complacent and moody. Marshall could be leading down the guts but Charlie will get it bombed into him.

We are just so easy to defend because the opposition knows our gameplan.

Dixon is a very good contested mark but not to the point where it wins games and as stated, he is not the best set shot at goal so a lot of good marking is let down in conversion.

And to add to this point, you would think we would have 3 crumbing small forwards at the feet of Dixon. Nut. Only Rioli with two defensive types.

G Cornes nailed in todays Sundy Mail - or perhaps he has been reading BF.
In Summary:
Port didn't match Crows intensity.
Ports mental strength AND tactics were below par.
L Jones matchup on Fogarty was stupid.
Dixon never gets an easy kick.
Ports woeful inside fifty kicking etc etc
And of course playing an injured Rozee was a big mistake.

In Summary:
So basically he gets this thread to write his article, which he's then paid for :rolleyes:.

Seen better football pundits in Bunnings...

After winning 4 of the last 5 Showdowns, the Crows now believe they have an edge over us (which they do)

Compare that to our coaches and players attitude towards Showdowns.

Unfortunately I think it will be a number of years before we win another Showdown.

After winning 4 of the last 5 Showdowns, the Crows now believe they have an edge over us (which they do)

Compare that to our coaches and players attitude towards Showdowns.

Ha "winning formula" - ie the same way any half-decent team has dismantled us in the last few years. They all know nothing's going to change.

In Summary:
Did he mention anything about his sons dumbass Dixoncentric forward structure?

I mean it’s blatantly obvious to everyone

Handyandy “Also said kicking points essentially sets you up for the oppo to go coast to coast”

Remember seeing the stats on this and was surprised how little teams take it from defence to offence and score. Particularly if you’re playing a team with strong offensive pressure (which used to be something we were good at until recently) happy for Janus to provide the stats and show me where we sit now.
Fair call, but I recall McEntee missing one late then it was up the other end in rankines hands pretty quick
And with the kick in rule most teams can get it out to centre wing pretty easy with a couple of kicks so that’s a lot of hard fought territory lost fast

This is why I don't quite get the criticism of Marshall and to a lesser extent, Georgiades.

Dixon gets targeted so frequently, basically overtargeted, that it doesn't surprise me when Marshall or Mitch get a bit complacent and moody. Marshall could be leading down the guts but Charlie will get it bombed into him.

We are just so easy to defend because the opposition knows our gameplan.

Dixon is a very good contested mark but not to the point where it wins games and as stated, he is not the best set shot at goal so a lot of good marking is let down in conversion.

And to add to this point, you would think we would have 3 crumbing small forwards at the feet of Dixon. Nut. Only Rioli with two defensive types.

I agree that we are easy to defend. We have the one tired gameplan, no plan B and one of the worst, most unimaginative gameday coaches I have had the displeasure of following. Any changes he does make are usually after the horse has bolted.

Yes its one thing having Gray and Wingard at their best crumbing at the feet of Dixon if we insist on long bombing it to him. Its a burning effigy of that in 2024.

Regarding Dixon's goalkicking. He has the best GA% of any of our key forwards so far in 2024.
1 % behind Marshall in 2023
Best in 2021
And 2020

The exception being 2022 where Marshall had an outstanding year with 62.5% with Dixon 2nd again with 55.3%

All years in which Marshall, Finlayson and Georgiades have been playing. Without question I would like Dixon to be a better set shot and you can say that a lot of good marking is let down in conversion. However that would apply equally or moreso to our other tall forwards.

Finally regarding your comment on whether Marshall and Georgiades are a bit moody or complacent. I don't care if they have got the shits up because our gameplan sucks. They are professional athletes representing the faith of over 60 000 members and hundreds of thousands of supporters. They are out their to do their upmost to help the team win. Additionally, they have to have the confidence of the coaches and the players coming at them that they will take the mark and kick the goal. Being a players in the last couple of games and seeing dropped chest marks, playing from behind, missed set shots and general apathy around the ball, my confidence in those team mates to do their job is not going to be sky high.

Dixons kicking at goal is rubbish
Lost count of the number of shots 30m out & directly in front that he misses. It’s all mental, he is actually a better shot from 50m when there is less pressure on him.

90% of Marshall’s kicks this season are from the boundary or 50m plus outside because Dixon is such a fwd pig hogging all the space in front of goal

Would like to see a heat map of his set shots v the other forwards, I suspect it would be telling.

I agree that we are easy to defend. We have the one tired gameplan, no plan B and one of the worst, most unimaginative gameday coaches I have had the displeasure of following. Any changes he does make are usually after the horse has bolted.

Yes its one thing having Gray and Wingard at their best crumbing at the feet of Dixon if we insist on long bombing it to him. Its a burning effigy of that in 2024.

Regarding Dixon's goalkicking. He has the best GA% of any of our key forwards so far in 2024.
1 % behind Marshall in 2023
Best in 2021
And 2020

The exception being 2022 where Marshall had an outstanding year with 62.5% with Dixon 2nd again with 55.3%

All years in which Marshall, Finlayson and Georgiades have been playing. Without question I would like Dixon to be a better set shot and you can say that a lot of good marking is let down in conversion. However that would apply equally or moreso to our other tall forwards.

Finally regarding your comment on whether Marshall and Georgiades are a bit moody or complacent. I don't care if they have got the shits up because our gameplan sucks. They are professional athletes representing the faith of over 60 000 members and hundreds of thousands of supporters. They are out their to do their upmost to help the team win. Additionally, they have to have the confidence of the coaches and the players coming at them that they will take the mark and kick the goal. Being a players in the last couple of games and seeing dropped chest marks, playing from behind, missed set shots and general apathy around the ball, my confidence in those team mates to do their job is not going to be sky high.
I think we are kinda in agreeance.

I don't think Dixon is a great set shot but you are willing to die on that hill. Fair enough.

And the complacency I mentioned of Marshall and Georgiades was not an excuse by me just that I can understand it. I think we've all been on teams where you don't the ball and becomes a bit systemic. They should be running out with fire in their bellies. It's footy.

Review SHOWDOWN 55