Showdown Crowd

:rolleyes:
so 33% of the crowd were Crows supporters at a PORT home game?

Thats pathetic. You cannot blame the opposition for not turning up when the total attendance doesn't even amount over your total membership tally.

It looks like probably somewhere between 6-10k Port supporters didnt show up and to go with that, the Crows supporters didnt want to buy tickets to the game either.

As I said in my previous post, Crows not winning a game for a month and Port not winning in 6 or 7, plus the shit weather doesnt really = the full houses Showdowns were getting in the early part of this decade when both clubs winning almost weekly was a given.

You reckon Crows supporters dont use weather as an excuse for not going?

I would love to see it but I think they would be too afraid of what might happen if they are sellouts. Would be hard to justify not continuing to do it.

Unfortunately its comes down to politics and the 2nd AFL license and because of the action of the SANFL in 1990 Port dont own an AFL license, they sublicense one off the SANFL, tf it aint gonna happen

Well then your clubs future is a little shadey then. I cant see a solution to your clubs problems.

I was seriously thinking about going, but I had another commitment at the other side of town at 5:30pm. With the game finishing at 5:20, even if we were in a TD-style stadium in the CBD, I wouldn't have been able to get to my other commitment in time, so I missed the period of time Adelaide failed to score a goal (the delay between 7 and the radio).

People say parking's bad at AAMI, the MCG is 10 times worse with half the crowd. Adelaide Oval is just as bad as AAMI. A CBD stadium would have identical, if not worse, parking conditions.

I think for whatever reason people are losing interest. The diehards will always go but the rest dont find it as appealing as it once was. Its easier for them to stay home and watch it.
Also all teams have lower attendances when they are playing poor football.
I dont know why people seem to be losing interest in SA more than other states, maybe its football media overload, maybe the teams dont have the players that bring crowds just to see them like a Modra etc. Maybe we are tighter with our money in this State but I doubt it. I love the rivalry between our two teams but it does go overboard and maybe people are just plain board with it.

When I walked into AAMI today I couldn’t get over how empty it was, and almost 10 hours after the game I still can’t. I don’t care who is to blame and personally I blame both sets of supporters, but the turn-out today was PITIFUL! It’s a Showdown, and yet in the Northern stand I could move wherever I wanted to to get a better seat.

It felt like a pre-season game today. Not because of the atmosphere because for 31k it was good, but the amount of empty seats was unbelievable. I couldn’t believe it, this should never happen. Something is seriously wrong with football in this state when only 31k turn up to a Showdown. :(

People are starting to feel the pinch. Petrol, Utilities, Interest Rates, Food all keep going up. When going to the Footy nowadays people want value for their hard earned cash, AAMI Stadium as an entertainment venue just doesn't cut it anymore. For a day at the Footy for just me and my mrs it easily costs over $100, I hate to think what it costs a family of four.
Don't know about this. I was at the MCG last week and there were more Adelaide fans there than at AAMI today. Given that there are (supposedly) 600,000 Crows fans in SA, surely 17,000 of us could have afforded to buy tickets this week to fill the ground.

Is it simply a symptom of us becoming a lazier, more apathetic society with a more sedentary lifestyle? (Ie everyone is off at King Elvis' place watching on the big screen). Or is the issue of "staying in" more an issue in Adelaide than elsewhere?

Don't know about this. I was at the MCG last week and there were more Adelaide fans there than at AAMI today. Given that there are (supposedly) 600,000 Crows fans in SA, surely 17,000 of us could have afforded to buy tickets this week to fill the ground.

Is it simply a symptom of us becoming a lazier, more apathetic society with a more sedentary lifestyle? (Ie everyone is off at King Elvis' place watching on the big screen). Or is the issue of "staying in" more an issue in Adelaide than elsewhere?

Yes it is apathy that is the reason for the low crowds .... but who gives a stuff.

Can i just say that the worst excuse for not coming is not wanting to give the other side money, I go to the footy to watch my team, that includes the crows showdown match. Do people truly think is a valid excuse *(includes either side,)

you should go to the footy when your team plays, not when your team plays and they receive the money. Everyone craps on that the AFL is too commercial, yet we only want to give revenue to our own clubs??

Harden up AFL fans, I struggle to believe that this is a valid excuse

Too many of our supporters are soft-*****.

Get out there and support the team.

I make sure if the Crows are playing in Adelaide whether it's a home game or an away showdown - i'm there. Simple as that.

Good post, the crows players were always going to be under the pump, they needed their crowd and the crowd didnt deliver. Its different for you guys, as you guys deliver on crowds consistently, but making arbitrary decisions for not turning up is crap.

crows supporters who turned up - full marks

crows supporters like the couple of beauties i heard on 5AA today, that swore they were one eyed but then chimed in with the qualification that they were not going today to not give money - disgraceful

I hope the true crows supporters get the finals tickets when they make them and not these fair whether 'one eyed's who think they are real supporters because they fly to melb twice a year

Did sound nice though.

I might drop by next weekend :p

I've only got one of the heated chairs though :)

As for the money thing, I don't think that's it. As I said, when I had access to a box, I went to a few Power games, because they were playing very good footy; so if they were playing a Brisbane or Collingwood (ie, a decent team), I'd go to watch a good game of Footy.

People can argue all they want, but the pathetic turn-out today is primarily as a result of AAMI Stadium.

Went today and i was appauled at the turn out. 31k is terrible for a showdown. Although the weather may have attributed to the low attendance, I think the lack of Port Members in the stands and Crows supporters in general is hurting our chances of getting a city-based stadium. I don't really care of the logistics of the situation; people complaining about traffic and such. If we get a new city-based stadium, then the government will be forced to upgrade public transport and we'll all be better for it. It's a win win from my simplistic view.

People say parking's bad at AAMI, the MCG is 10 times worse with half the crowd. Adelaide Oval is just as bad as AAMI. A CBD stadium would have identical, if not worse, parking conditions.

Not to have this descend into another conversation about a city stadium - but every public transport line ends in the city, less than 10 mins walk from the MCG. OR you could park in the city, if you're determined to drive, or park in Richmond. You can't compare the convenience.

So why are Crowds in WA going up, why is membership going up in WA. Why are they building a new stadium

Why are attendances going up in Victoria, why do they keep upgrading their stadiums, why is membership up in Victoria.

Why are attendances in Sydney going up, Why are they putting a new team in Sydney?

Why are attendances and Memberships going down in SA?

Cant blame foxtel me thinks.

are they? wouldn't mind seeing some evidence on these points.

This year, I could go to the majority of the games, but I've only been to a few.

I spent $4k on a projector at Christmas, I've got a very good sound system, I have a chair with heated massagers in it. I can watch the games on a 110" screen, in hi-def, in comfort and warmth. I can eat decent food and not get ripped off massively for it, and (I didn't today obviously), if I wanted to have a few drinks while I watched it, I could.

I hate AAMI Stadium, it takes me 45 minutes to get to West Lakes when the Footy isn't on, when it is, that blows out to about an hour and a half. It's cold, it's often wet, it's uncomfortable.

Throw into the mix I had a massive night out last night, and the idea of driving for well over 2 hours, to get wet, and freezing, with a couple of hours sleep, didn't appeal to me.

That being said, if Walker had played, or Hentschel had returned, I would've gone.

AAMI is the problem, pure and simple.

no, supporters like you are the problem.

you qualify your support, and then make excuses for not being fair dinkum about it. conditional supporters are the problem. and frankly there is another name more commonly used.

now, don't get me wrong. I have no problem with your right to choose, and do what you want. that's your choice, but lets not makes excuses and pretend you're not a fairweather supporter. as is your right, but you want your cake and eat it too. you want to not go to games because you can't be arsed, but you want to pretend that you're a committed supporter too.

do what you want, but get off the fence. you're not alone either for that matter.

Unfortunately its comes down to politics and the 2nd AFL license and because of the action of the SANFL in 1990 Port dont own an AFL license, they sublicense one off the SANFL, tf it aint gonna happen

to be fair you don't own the license, your club name, your colours, your guernsey or any other of your image rights. in fact, your arse is entirely divided up between the SANFL and the AFL.

welcome to franchise town :D

actually to be fair, this is true of all the clubs.

Showdown Crowd