Silly Season - Whispers

Perhaps, maybe just talking himself up at a new club. After Troyan and Jones the depth certainly fell away. So maybe his payments werent warranted.

Wellconnected maybe you could shed some light on the rumours that the Seville senior coach was approching new clubs at the end of last season. Two clubs at least were approached.

is this another 100% wrong comment again finger coming out of you arse? or could you shed some light on the matter?

The Finger;19715057[B said:
]Put the feelers out to a number of clubs to play next season. Obviously believed he was out of a job.
[/B]

interesting to here. from what i knew he nearly wasnt going to coach at all as it was interupting with his young family? but been reapointed and i would have to say he's done extremely well with seville coming from where they were 2 years ago!

Kueffer & Attard would have taken up just half of the $46k so l think it might be a bit more.
But really who cares if they spent more good luck to them.

Think its a fair blight on contributers and the clubs they support if they can not believe that there are decent footballers out there that do play for the challenge and for the reason of playing for a good club and with mates. Its not all about money. As for the the talk of Y.G using Govt monies to pay players...R U SERIOUS!! As if any level of govt is going to allow funds for rec upgrades and communitty benefit be used for recruitment of players or coach's. Lot of talk on this forum about a club 80% or more dont believe will be close to finals. As for the Kueffer Attard observation,,they would spend double at the club on what they make, great clubman as well as very good footballers. Healesville first game...BRING IT ON!!

Well i'll be pencilling that one in should be a good game to watch!

I hope its a bit closer than that. What are your reasons for this prediction Local Knowledge?

I'd consumed the best part of a bottle of red when I wrote that, so no reason at all really. I guess I've failed forum writing 101 "never post when affected by alcohol and /or drugs."

As it will be Yarra Glens first game for the season, and with a flag unfurling and all that, I'm sure their season opener will be a fair effort.

I know Deano played the odd game this year - but had no intentions of holding a younger player out but rather preserve some talls for when it mattered. I agree if De Munk is playing you would have to question Yarra Glens list but he didnt even consider himself in the mix at any stage in 2010 so why would he in 2011 when they have recruited several players?

Perhaps, maybe just talking himself up at a new club. After Troyan and Jones the depth certainly fell away. So maybe his payments werent warranted.

Wellconnected maybe you could shed some light on the rumours that the Seville senior coach was approching new clubs at the end of last season. Two clubs at least were approached.

Dont agree with the depth call Fingerbang. Cecere was good, came second in the league B&F, Crowley was a gun in the midfield and Mark Holy is a fair player. Seinor is a freak but shame he was injured most of the year. The 2s won the b&f as well which is a good indicator the depth was there.

Hadnt heard about him approaching clubs but i know he was re-signed before the club presentation night because thats when they announced it. Ive been told he was on ordinary money in comparison to what other clubs are paying, so he would have been well within his rights to look for a better offer - From what i have seen from the sidelines and around the club he has done a great job improving the culture and developing a pretty young side so would have earnt a payrise...

Bit harsh Medevil knocking a bloke who is 40! He played a lot of handy games over a long period of time. Not sure where you get your info from but I am 99% sure he wouldnt even think of playing.
Not being harsh just telling it like it is, yes he WAS a handy player 8 years ago but time catches the best of us, and he still played this year in the seniors and if he plays next year then no offence but the pigs will finish last in div1.

dont think he played too many games Medevil - only a handful I think - what makes you think he is playing? My source suggests the complete opposite!

Vinnie to MOOROOLBARK as Assistant coach and chairman of seletors

Maybe Upwey are moving to the EFL via Mooroolbark!!
Coaching staff include Bernie Ryan, Greg Spence and now the Mutcha. The whisper is a number of current players are on the move to join them. Also heard they may be losing a number of new under 18s, instead of heading up the hill they are moving to EFL, apparantly dissjointed from the seniors are the Upwey juniors. Have a separate ground and very little input/interest from the senior club. Not sure who wrote an earlier post about more leaving the YV than entering this year but I reckon he is right on the money

cheesehead you seem to really know your stuff, maybe you should have a word to your source and ask him what part of his ass hes pulling it from. the upwey 18s will be a very formiddable side in 2011

dont think he played too many games Medevil - only a handful I think - what makes you think he is playing? My source suggests the complete opposite!
Your missing what I am saying, if he is good enough to get a game in the seniors in div1 next year and plays then they are better off staying in div2 because they will get smashed in div1!

I think everyones understands your point Medevil but no one understands why you are suggesting he is playing as a reason for your prediction???
Even if he did we are not taking Yarra Glen lightly!

I think everyones understands your point Medevil but no one understands why you are suggesting he is playing as a reason for your prediction???
Even if he did we are not taking Yarra Glen lightly!
Not many div2 premiers come up and make a real impact bar Seville under Brett Fisher, so unless they improve by well over 50% on this year then the only threat they will be is for relagation!

It would be fair to say the Seville side tha twon in 2nd Div looked nothing like the one that won the follwing year. After a hiding in the first round apparently Fisher went to the club president demanding they open the chq book.

And where are they now??
One is back in Div 2, but the other has apparently gone onto bigger and better things. :rolleyes:
Still, the point remains that not all recently promoted teams struggle when promoted.
Another point is that often the Div 1 Premiers take a fall from grace too, so although it is true that clubs often do struggle when promoted, it is not necessarily a reliable yardstick to compare the standards of the two divisions.
...and apart from fostering smug elitism, why bother to compare?

You could argue (and some have) to your blue in the face about the differences between divisions. I think the best indicator of how yarra glen is managing in first div will come after their first 5 or 6 games have been played. Til then, speculating about how good this team is or how much that team will get smashed seems like an exercise in futility. YG have proved last season they're good enough to enter 1st div, lets hope they turn out to be competitive/successful as it will make for a better competition and a better standard of footy in general.

The arguement can never be settled. If a side comes up and gets flogged people will argue they lost heaps. A side will go down into 2nd Div and win everything and then every other club has lost heaps of players from the previous year. Then you have the sides that come up and spend a fortune and they cant see what the fuss is about.

Silly Season - Whispers