Expansion Since when did Voss become the Gold Coast expert ?

fishmonger

Jun 2, 2005
Grassroots Footy
In return, Voss will share his ideas about ensuring the Coast's AFL venture succeeds.

What, because he is an ex-Vic who moved to Brisbane ?

That makes him the world's leading authority on Gold Coast culture.

http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/sport/afl/story/0,26576,23688511-19742,00.html

Just like Robert Walls knows everything about Queensland. :rolleyes:

I'm sure that's exactly the knowledge they are after.

The local Titans followers will just love their adopted expert, just like they love the "touros" who flock there every summer. I'm sure they're all chanting "Voss" "Voss" "Voss" and doing thie "your my idol" salute down at Surfers right now. :p

Vossy's great isn't he?
- He'a ginge who could play footy (maybe that's a theme for a new thread?).
- He's a thug who could play footy.

I'm sick of him being the almighty footy expert on all topics. And worse still, like Teflon Dean noted, he'll be hailed as a great coach because the 'Gold Coast Pirates' will be given a bundle of talent at startup (presuming he gets the gig...though like Chris Judd it seems he alone can dictate his destination & future because everyone is scrambling head over heals for his services).

[Come on, someone reply and cut me down...pick on my grammar too!).

Vossy's great isn't he?
- He'a ginge who could play footy (maybe that's a theme for a new thread?).
- He's a thug who could play footy.

I'm sick of him being the almighty footy expert on all topics. And worse still, like Teflon Dean noted, he'll be hailed as a great coach because the 'Gold Coast Pirates' will be given a bundle of talent at startup (presuming he gets the gig...though like Chris Judd it seems he alone can dictate his destination & future because everyone is scrambling head over heals for his services).

[Come on, someone reply and cut me down...pick on my grammar too!).
You are bitter and twisted. Just accept the fact he was too good for your mob on the only day that matters not once but three years in a row. Only then will you be able to move on with the rest of your life.

Voss brings a marketing angle to the game, nothing else. He is an illiterate halfwit.

I predict he will be widely hailed as a genius when the list that virtually gift wraps a flag finally salutes.

Anyway, watch this space, as I have noticed threads critical of Voss seem to have a propensity to vanish.

As a person who worked closely with Voss at the Lions and witnessed first hand his coaching abilities, I can tell you that you will definitely be eating humble pie. He brings more than PR to the position should he accept it. He has one of the best footy brains I have seen from a player in 22 years of coaching.

Many people would argue that Brendan Fevola has a good footy brain. It doesn't mean they would rate him as a coach.

Anyway, I already stated he can't lose.

Give me the Gold Coast team and a seven year contract and I will deliver you a flag with my eyes shut.

Voss grew up in the Beenleigh area which is within the City of Gold Coast's boundaries,

http://www.goldcoast.qld.gov.au/gcplanningscheme_new/support_files/maps/context/context_1.pdf

So to all you tossers above who seem to be resorting to anything in the hope of seeing him fail :rolleyes:, that might give him a bit more of an idea than any of the other candidates.

He's also been highly recommended as ready to coach by the AFL National Talent Manager Kevin Sheehan who strikes me as an honest bloke with an above average knowledge of footy. Seriously, get a life.

Voss grew up in the Beenleigh area which is within the City of Gold Coast's boundaries,

http://www.goldcoast.qld.gov.au/gcplanningscheme_new/support_files/maps/context/context_1.pdf

So to all you tossers above who seem to be resorting to anything in the hope of seeing him fail :rolleyes:, that might give him a bit more of an idea than any of the other candidates.

WOW!

He grew up near the Gold Coast so that definitely means he'll be a great coach.

I take back everything I stated.

He's also been highly recommended as ready to coach by the AFL National Talent Manager Kevin Sheehan who strikes me as an honest bloke with an above average knowledge of footy. Seriously, get a life.

Who probably wants to keep his job.:rolleyes:

Care to provide me with any examples where Sheehan has disagreed with populist AFL in house views?

Glad to see the replies came as expected.

Am I bitter that Brisbane beat the Pies in two Grand Finals? Not sure that 'bitter' is the correct word, but I certainly was shattered.

Tim Lane isn't my favourite commentator but do you think that's the case just because he's a Carlton Supporter?

Get over yourself Kn@ckers.

Why am I not surpirsed to see fishmongrel and the teflon idiot hanging sh*t at every opportunity they can get on the new gold coast team. Have a look at em over at the "only sold 1000 tickets" thread. Fair dinkum...your personal agendas (one is dreaming that Tassie gets a team, the other that north will survive in melbourne) are just too funny

What, because he is an ex-Vic who moved to Brisbane ? ...
First idiot post - Voss grew up in Beenleigh.
Beenleigh's as much Gold Coast as Frankston is Melbourne. I don't think there's a beach within half an hour of Beenleigh.
Yeah - the beach is 35 minutes from Beenleigh. And Frankston is in Melbourne. Second idiot post.

FTR - Voss started his AFL career at the Gold Coast, playing at Cararra. Out of all the prospective coaches for the Gold Coast, he'd easily have the most local background and local knowledge

Whether he's the right man for the Gold Coast job can be debated. But not for the reasons given by these 2 idiotic posts.

Many people would argue that Brendan Fevola has a good footy brain. It doesn't mean they would rate him as a coach.

Anyway, I already stated he can't lose.

Give me the Gold Coast team and a seven year contract and I will deliver you a flag with my eyes shut.

Smart idea eh?? Vossy delivers a premiership - you said so, he fails - you already knew he isnt good enough, quite a smart line to take, either way you cant lose.
Keyboard heros like you are just that.. the guy has been in the system as a player-captain-all australian - premiership player. Coaching could be another feather in his cap, we dont know yet. But looking at what Bomber had to go through before delivering a flag and Grant Thomas had to go through before getting shipped out clearly shows having access to a great list is not the be all n end all of delivering a flag.
Well, I am not expecting a rationale reply from you so keep going with your mindless rabble. Good luck.

Yeah - the beach is 35 minutes from Beenleigh. And Frankston is in Melbourne. Second idiot post.

That was exactly my point! :confused:

Beenleigh's technically Gold Coast but no one considers it to be, just like no one would consider someone growing up in Frankston to be a "Melbourne local".

First idiot post - Voss grew up in Beenleigh.

FTR - Voss started his AFL career at the Gold Coast, playing at Cararra. Out of all the prospective coaches for the Gold Coast, he'd easily have the most local background and local knowledge

Thanks for the info.

Whether he's the right man for the Gold Coast job can be debated. But not for the reasons given by these 2 idiotic posts.

Exactly .

WOW!

He grew up near the Gold Coast so that definitely means he'll be a great coach.

I take back everything I stated.

Who probably wants to keep his job.:rolleyes:

Care to provide me with any examples where Sheehan has disagreed with populist AFL in house views?

1st point was in relation to him being from Brisbane, it had nothing to do with coaching ability

2nd point is pretty much what someone who desperately wants the GC to fail would say about someone who had a good opinion about someone involved with the bid.

GC are lose/lose, if they fail they lose, if they succeed it is because the AFL handed them success on a plate. According to some.

That was exactly my point! :confused:

Beenleigh's technically Gold Coast but no one considers it to be, just like no one would consider someone growing up in Frankston to be a "Melbourne local".
Sorry Lenny. I should've picked up on your irony.

Meanwhile - http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/sport/afl/story/0,26576,23700518-19742,00.html
Coasters strike gold with Voss
Andrew Hamilton Herald Sun May 15, 2008

MICHAEL Voss has taken another step towards senior coaching by agreeing to help the Gold Coast build the playing list he may eventually oversee. Gold Coast Football Club bid committee chairman John Witheriff walked out of a meeting last night confident Voss wanted to be involved with the AFL's 17th club.

And AFL chief executive Andrew Demetriou gave Voss a ringing endorsement, saying he ticked all the boxes relating to the type of personality the league wanted involved. "He is a Queenslander, he is very respected and is a great leader," Demetriou said. "He has been involved with the AIS (Australian Institute of Sport) and everyone associated with him there has been impressed by his character."

Demetriou said the AFL would be instrumental in the construction of the club, but the coaching appointment would be made by the new side's board once the licence had been granted. "There is absolutely no doubt we will be involved in how this club is set up," Demetriou said.

The AFL's involvement will come through its representation on the football sub-committee, which comprises bid team members Graeme Downie and Alan Mackenzie, AFL Queensland chief executive Richard Griffiths and AFL national development manager David Matthews.

Voss last night accepted an offer to join that committee. Witheriff said the meeting and Voss's decision to accept the position were significant steps for the club. "No coach would be interested in joining an organisation if they didn't believe in the list and its potential to be competitive and to challenge for a premiership," Witheriff said.
"Michael had some very positive thoughts. I doubt he would have agreed to join us if he wasn't interested in the coaching position."
http://news.realfooty.com.au/sport/voss-moves-closer-to-coaching-gold-coast-20080514-2e8q.html

Voss moves closer to coaching Gold Coast
The Age May 14, 2008

AFL great Michael Voss has moved a step closer to being appointed coach of the new Gold Coast franchise after meeting with the bid's leaders on Wednesday.

Voss, who played 289 games for Brisbane and captained the club to their 2001-03 premierships, has been appointed by the bidding party to act as a consultant working on how the Gold Coast franchise's inaugural playing list might be put together.

The bid team - known as GC17 - last month officially applied to be granted the AFL's team license. Voss has often been touted as the best man to coach the new side given his achievements during his playing career, which ended in 2006, and his profile in south-east Queensland. He recently confirmed he was interested in coaching the side.

GC17 head John Witheriff described Wednesday's meeting with Voss as a "useful, positive discussion" and said he had agreed to work with the bid's football committee to consider how it might put together a playing list.
The bid team has until October to meet the AFL's criteria before it can be granted a team license.

I don't know enough about Voss to comment on his suitability .
Obviously he has a number of assets that have already been identified .
As for coaching it is always a diffficult question .
Some coaches are good at getting underperforming teams to be competitive
e.g. Northey , Daniher but can't carry them higher . There a number of coaches that can ensure a team with a good list take home the premiership .
This coach will have the pressure of starting from scratch and building .
Some people would see this as an opportunity , others would like the
luxury of experience .

Expansion Since when did Voss become the Gold Coast expert ?