TheLastEmperor
- Sep 10, 2009
- AFL Club
- St Kilda
Parish and Bonner would be perfect!
Thanks Skippos, he definitely seems like like he could be someone who beverage and dalrymple would be interested in. They place a premium on flexibility. Did Harry Mckay spend much time in the ruck and does it seem like something he could do serviceably at the next level?I really like both. Perhaps Redman more.
I haven't reviewed the metro game yet. I'm actually intending to do that tonight, so I don't remember too much aside from being super impressed with Redman.
My initial thoughts on Haysman: High character individual, future leader. Good on both sides of the body. Very hard runner. Is able to maintain top speed for much longer than most. Has a good turning circle. Not afraid to take on the game & break the lines. Maintains composure under pressure. Very good at weaving through traffic; just a smooth mover. Knock on him is that his kicking is only average at best, he's not super clean at ground level which you want from a short fella and for a bloke who's physically a good size he doesn't crack in hard enough to win his own ball.
Initial thoughts on Redman: Very high IQ player. Makes the right decisions. Reasonably creative. Has composure but could improve. Capable kick. Very clean hands both overhead, in traffic and at ground level. Just seems to always be in the right place at the right time, forward IQ/positioning elite. He's someone I reckon is an excellent chance to make the grade and someone I reckon could play forward, midfield or back and do well. I really like him. Just trying to gauge his athleticism a bit more now.
He really only had one good game at the champs - over at Subi against WA. Didn't impose himself like hoped. Not dominant inside (but capable, which is nice) but predominantly his kicking is scrappy. I don't like outside midfielders being questionable by foot and he is. That's why I've got him lower than most.
Nyuon is someone I think the sky is the limit for. His improvement since last year is staggering. He's now a genuinely capable user of the football. His tapwork is excellent. Athleticism great. His IQ has improved so much, finds the ball well. In a lot of ways is an extra midfielder.
The issue for him is matching up on the physical monsters at AFL level. He's going to need to gain 15+ kilos and learn to use it. Which is why he's a project. But when he does, I reckon he's going to be lethal. Ryder-esque through the ruck. Haven't seen him anywhere else but reckon he'd be capable down back with some development. But ruck is where he's best - and with how the Dogs seem to see ruckmen I reckon he's a perfect list fit as that athletic, extra mid type option.
Thanks Skippos, he definitely seems like like he could be someone who beverage and dalrymple would be interested in. They place a premium on flexibility. Did Harry Mckay spend much time in the ruck and does it seem like something he could do serviceably at the next level?
Do you really think Bonner falls that far in the actual draft at this stage, or is that a bit of a quirk of your phantom? Wouldn't have any issue selecting him far earlier than that.
I've definitely noticed that there's not a lot of fuss around him; you were pretty much the only one helping me keep the faith that my initial assessment was accurate, haha. I know you've used this argument before but I look closely at the relatively high selection of Wigg and question how Bonner can stay on the board anywhere near as long as he did, given their comparison quite heavily favours Bonner (from my perspective, at least). Particularly in a shallow draft, I fail to see how his height, versatility and kicking skills don't seriously command attention.I'm beginning to suspect that I perhaps rate him higher than most. It's half a quirk; one small change earlier could have had him going around Hawthorn's first. But I do also believe that I hold him in higher regard than the general consensus.
How does Bonner compare to Kolodjashnij? Apologies if that's already been covered.
From what you've described of Bonner he seems like the typical kind of player who never translates his under 18's game to AFL. If you know what I mean.Kolodjashnij a far more defined intercept game and more spacially aware as a player. Works much harder on defence (not hard). By no means an inside player but more willing than Bonner to get his hands dirty. Bonner a better opposite foot. I'd say KK more poised a player too but that's more speculative than factual.
From what you've described of Bonner he seems like the typical kind of player who never translates his under 18's game to AFL. If you know what I mean.
Understand what you mean just not sure how youve come to that conclusion. Any chance you could give me an example of players like that?
sam Colquhon'esque?Cale Morton? Highly rated in his draft year as a tall utility/flanker who moved well, long accurate kick but question marks over his contested game?
I guess that just describes what we were told about Howard all these years, maybe that's why I'm gun shy on that type of player.Understand what you mean just not sure how youve come to that conclusion. Any chance you could give me an example of players like that?
Nothing like Howard in my opinion and I watched Christian as a college player and at Glenelg. Howard played for Sacred Heart and Glenelg's U18s no senior footy, yes he was a left footer and there are similarities to Bonner's kicking styles, but that's where it ends. Bonner is taller 191+, kicks off both feet, is playing senior football at West Adelaide & possibly league by year end and can roll forward. Howard was never a first rounder I think everyone would agree to that. Bonner is a 20-30 selection in my opinion, Skippos & I both rate him but Skip slightly higher. If he continues with his consistency shown in the Champs and develops his defensive game which is showing signs he may push into the top 20.I guess that just describes what we were told about Howard all these years, maybe that's why I'm gun shy on that type of player.
I can't remember someone like Brodie Smith having any of those doubts pre draft.
Cale Morton? Highly rated in his draft year as a tall utility/flanker who moved well, long accurate kick but question marks over his contested game?
Col
sam Colquhon'esque?
I guess that just describes what we were told about Howard all these years, maybe that's why I'm gun shy on that type of player.
I can't remember someone like Brodie Smith having any of those doubts pre draft.
No dramas thanks for answering. My biggest concern with him is whether he has the intensity to make it at the top level. Seems like a lot of these tall athletic types don't work out because they just dont have the competitive juices. Do you think he has that aggression in him?Sorry mate totally missed that part of the question.
It's a weird one. He's got the height and I suspect the leap, but he hasn't really impressed me too much in the brief stints he had there. I'm going to have to be completely honest and say 'I don't know' - it's possible, someone like a Ben Griffiths who has similar height/athleticism/style is capable in the ruck but James Stewart - a similar type too, looks absolutely lost there. At the moment I'd be inclined to say he could at a stretch but not ideally, but I just don't know.
Unless he gets a major stint there towards the back end of the season, I'd propose that his potential for ruckwork shouldn't effect his stocks one way or another.
No dramas thanks for answering. My biggest concern with him is whether he has the intensity to make it at the top level. Seems like a lot of these tall athletic types don't work out because they just dont have the competitive juices. Do you think he has that aggression in him?
I think you've got Blake Hardwick and Mason Redman going too late, and the likes of Haysman, Nyuon, Brine too early. Too many South Australians/not enough Vic Country, which I guess is understandable given you've seen more of the SA boys. Agree with leaving out Hinchliffe. For an overager with a big body, I reckon he's soft and lazy. Pass.
I'm amazed I haven't seen mention in any draft threads, anywhere, of Kurt Mutimer. Mid/hbf for Dandenong and Vic Country, uses the ball very nicely with good penetration and accuracy off the left boot, high disposal efficiency, a good mix of contested and uncontested ball, strong overhead, and is a willing tackler, averaging 4.5 at TAC level, to go with 19.4 disposals.
He played four games at the Champs for 8 disposals (at 75%), 15 (73%), 18 (89%), 14 (79%).
185cm, 80-odd kg. I like him. If you wanted a hbf and don't get Bonnor, or don't like his lack of contested game, take this bloke with a pick after 30 and you've done well.
I reckon not ....will be best as a forward that can get up the ground ala Riewoldt and is excellent at turning his opp inside out and running back toward goal using his paceSorry mate totally missed that part of the question.
It's a weird one. He's got the height and I suspect the leap, but he hasn't really impressed me too much in the brief stints he had there. I'm going to have to be completely honest and say 'I don't know' - it's possible, someone like a Ben Griffiths who has similar height/athleticism/style is capable in the ruck but James Stewart - a similar type too, looks absolutely lost there. At the moment I'd be inclined to say he could at a stretch but not ideally, but I just don't know.
Unless he gets a major stint there towards the back end of the season, I'd propose that his potential for ruckwork shouldn't effect his stocks one way or another.
Brind SA[QUOTE="Skippos,
Every time I watch him and review him I rate him even higher. Honestly - the only reason he's not in the top 10-15 for mine is discipline/weight. I'd love to see him 86 kilos of muscle not puppy fat - and I'm not sure how that'd affect his game. I've also heard of a (minor-ish) disciplinary incident which is never ideal. He plays so many roles. Has so many strings to his bow - I think the only thing potentially stopping him from making the grade will be him as a person. I don't know if he's a massive flog or not.
Who was this about skippos got lost? Haha