Some of the good sides are getting better......

Witsend - Your entire arguement is based on missed shots at goal. If they sailed through you wouldn't be here writing what you are. I can't wait till we play the cats next year!

Geelong didn't dominate the last quater at all either. Certainly made more of there opportunities though and that's the only thing you have to bring to the table. One quarter where everything fell into place in a hard fought contest. In your eyes though, because you won the final quarter, it was all class.... lol whatever!

Tell me this, why are the saints currently favourite for next years flag as Geelongs team will pretty much stay the same?

I'll tell you why, everyone saw it plain as day who the better team was on GF day.

As I said, there's nothing wrong with what they're doing.

BUT, Brown is 28. Fev is 28. Bradshaw is on the wrong side of 30. Black is 30 and Power will be 30 next year. That's the core of this side.

It wouldn't be a problem if the new teams weren't dominating the drafts, but they could end up with no flag, old players and their first pick being Pick 39 in the draft.

Absolutely. But again, I reckon it's worth the risk. They were going to have this problem anyway in three years when Bradshaw, Brown, Black and Power are all either retiring, or getting to that stage. Might as well go all in and be a top contender than settling for making the second week of finals for the next few years.

Don't forget, it's an allegedly weak draft and the next 2-3 drafts are going to be ransacked by the new clubs. Basically, it's a good time to be challenging, crap time to be rebuilding. I think Brisbane have done spectacularly (depending on how the Fev brouhaha works out of course).

Next year will be fascinating though, the most open in years. Geelong are slowly coming back to the field, the Hawks have to improve on this year, the Saints have got the fire and Brisbane have the makings of the most dominant forward line in the comp. Throw in the perennial spoilers of the Magpies and the Crows and a resurgent Eagles (going on their last third), it should make the thin gruel of the Swans 2010 a little easier to swallow :eek:

Witsend - Your entire arguement is based on missed shots at goal. If they sailed through you wouldn't be here writing what you are. I can't wait till we play the cats next year!

Geelong didn't dominate the last quater at all either. Certainly made more of there opportunities though and that's the only thing you have to bring to the table. One quarter where everything fell into place in a hard fought contest. In your eyes though, because you won the final quarter, it was all class.... lol whatever!

Tell me this, why are the saints currently favourite for next years flag as Geelongs team will pretty much stay the same?

I'll tell you why, everyone saw it plain as day who the better team was on GF day.

1. Gambling = popular opinion. Should not be used to prove a point.

2. People expect Scarlett, Milburn, Harley, Mooney to start declining.

3. Saints have topped up with Lovett, he could be extremely good for them.

4. It has nothing to do with grand final day.

Personally - I think Ross has hit the panic button picking up guys like Peake and getting rid of Ball and the wrong Clarke. The guy missed a premiership by 12 points and is making all sorts of changes to the list. Doesn't seem like great strategy to me.

I know the guy likes recycling players but geez - a bit of young talent would be good. The list of average players is getting longer. We're talking established players that don't have a lot of upside. He's gone to an extreme and I expect he'll come unstuck.

I didn't mention shot's at goal...so my argument is NOT based on that. You just made that up.
And BTW...just cos one of a group of shots goes through doesn't mean they all would. When a goal is kicked it goes back to the middle. If you kick 3 behinds in a row it is ridiculous to say they all should/could have been goals.
Who knows what would have happened had one of those shots been a goal? You could have kicked another goal straight away or we could have, The whole dynamic changes...
And I will just agree to disagree with the last quarter bit. I was there and have watched the replay MANY times. We smashed you and , for the umpteenth time, 3.4 to 0.3!! How is that not a smashing in a quarter of footy where 12 goals wins it?
The way I and the spectators I know (many of whom were neutrals) saw it...
It was enthralling arm wrestle until 3/4 time with periods of dominance from both teams...eg Saints in the latter half of Q1 and Geelong in the latter half of Q2 until Milburn's brain-fade.
Then with a quarter to go and kicking into the wind, 7 points down...
Geelong found another gear and made all the plays that mattered.
But you go console yourself with the fact that you believe you are/were a better team on the day or the year.
Losing a GF hurts like hell...believe me, I know...but the result cannot be argued.
Also re betting:
A: Geelong and St Kilda are EQUAL favs next year atm...not that it means anything, particularly.
B: If you want to use betting as the arbiter of who's better...
Why were Geelong raging favourites in the GF? $1.70 to $2.65!! When you had lost just 2 games all year by a combined total of 7 points, including a 1 goal victory over Geelong.
Because most people felt Geelong at their best are a better side than St Kilda at their best.
And you know what? They were right...Geelong beat St Kilda by 12 points in the GF.

1. Gambling = popular opinion. Should not be used to prove a point.

2. People expect Scarlett, Milburn, Harley, Mooney to start declining.

3. Saints have topped up with Lovett, he could be extremely good for them.

4. It has nothing to do with grand final day.

Personally - I think Ross has hit the panic button picking up guys like Peake and getting rid of Ball and the wrong Clarke. The guy missed a premiership by 12 points and is making all sorts of changes to the list. Doesn't seem like great strategy to me.

I know the guy likes recycling players but geez - a bit of young talent would be good. The list of average players is getting longer. We're talking established players that don't have a lot of upside. He's gone to an extreme and I expect he'll come unstuck.
Lyon offered him a 3 year contract its not his fault he wants to play for another team

One day, some day - that seems to be a pretty common theme amongst St. Kilda supporters.

Can't wait, next time, one day, next week, next month, next year - what about winning something when it counts. Living in the future or the past might make you sleep better at night, but the facts are simple. Geelong won the Grand Final and St. Kilda finished the same as 14 other teams.

I really do hope you guys win one some day. Then you might know what it feels like to be contented and enjoy the now. Instead of it always being about getting a team the next time. Words are great but results are better.

I didn't buy the crap last year by Geelong supporters that we were the better team, etc etc - facts are Hawthorn were premiers in 2008 and Geelong finished equal last with everyone else. It hurts, but no amount of bitching or arguing about who is the better team or who has had the best year changes the facts.

To the topic - it looks like an awesome season coming up. Lots of teams have addressed their needs and it looks like a very hard fought premiership is on the cards. Several very good sides with some other middle of the road sides from this year also looking to improve.

Bring it!

Geelong threw everything they had into last season, they're spent and they're gone.

Most die hard observant Geelong supporters would know this, you could sense it in the Grand Final. Congrats, one of the best teams ever.

Maybe hes replying in kind to some of the less magnaminous of your fellow supporters, personally I am ignoring both sides (and we certainly have our own share of sore losers) as participating is only making their tiny little keyboard warrior peckers perk up more :eek:.

Completely agree mate, that small section of my post was actually directly quoted from the bloke I was replying to, with teams switched around :D

Lyon offered him a 3 year contract its not his fault he wants to play for another team

They made trading difficult (asking the world for him, quoting AA nominations, grand final centreman, etc) then, when a trade wasn't completed they 'rescinded' the 3 year deal.

arseh*le effort.

Jolly, Burgoyne, McGlynn, Kenedy, and a host of others requested trades and got them, often below the odds because clubs did the right thing.

This is the problemw ith Geelong logic.....quite bizarre...

You had a better list than Hawks thats why you lost it?

Ok.....we have an "inferior" list to you but dominated you in all aspects of the game bar the scoreboard?

Ok......

Theres that "gap" again....*yawn* bring on the Cats next year......and Blake their "gun" ruckman.....:thumbsu:

the logic is simple we have played in the last 3 granf finals and won 2 of them a great achievement.

the bottom line is we have a far superior list than any other side, next year we will have 12 AA on our list, maybe 13 if harley stays on.as for you dominating us in the gf, when the game was on the line we had too much class, the cream rose to the top and thats why we have so much joy and you have so much pain.

09 gf =02 gf or the 07 prelim with the pies vs cats

this year was the saints best chance to win the flag, they were tacticly ahead of the rest of the comp with their frontal pressure just like the hawks were in 08 with the zone and the cats in 07 with the fast movement up the middle style of play.geelong and hawthorn got their premiership, saints failed.

true blake is no gun ruckman but have a look in your own backyard king is even worse, does nothing around the ground and isnt anything special in the ruck.Plus ottens is better than gadiner so we have your measure their :thumbsu:

the saints supporters are fooling themselves if they think they have anywhere near as much chance of winning next years flag as they did this year.

they have the 4th oldest list in the comp with no good young talent coming through
they have lost depth by losing hudston and ball.
they were tacticly ahead of the rest of the comp this year, sides will know how to use it and how to deal with it much better next season.
they had a great year with injuries this year, chances are they will not get this again next yeart.

the saints are a very good side byt geelong are simply a better side who is know a great side

Geelong the benchmark

Hawks at least did something about their defence, and making the midfield ridiculously strong

Bulldogs adding what they've been craving ravenously for during the past 2 seasons in an established key forward

Saints adding flair and pace to their midfield

Brisbane now with the most ridiculous forward line in the country

At least with Gold Coast raping the draft, clubs are going all out for the 2010 premiership - from a neutral perspective, i JIZZ IN MY PANTS.

Fact of the matter is when opposition teams match up against Geelong, they are going to look stronger in more than half of the positions. The players are just, bigger, better and bolder.

All this talk about them being tired and lacking motivation is utter nonsense. They even won the Pre-Season Cup last year. They are going to be very hard to beat, anyone picking another team to win it, is basing it on them getting injuries or suffering bad luck in the finals.

St Kilda didn’t have an injury all last year and still couldn’t roll them.

Good luck I say. Good luck!

Could tell halfway through the third quarter that we had you, scoreboard or no. Game was starting to become more stretched, Cats starting finding players who didn't have one or more Saints directly on their tails, could just see the St Kilda gameplan start to come apart. Only continued on in the last quarter, if they had have played 5 quarters we would have beaten you by 6 goals +

I didn't mention shot's at goal...so my argument is NOT based on that. You just made that up.
And BTW...just cos one of a group of shots goes through doesn't mean they all would. When a goal is kicked it goes back to the middle. If you kick 3 behinds in a row it is ridiculous to say they all should/could have been goals.
Who knows what would have happened had one of those shots been a goal? You could have kicked another goal straight away or we could have, The whole dynamic changes...
And I will just agree to disagree with the last quarter bit. I was there and have watched the replay MANY times. We smashed you and , for the umpteenth time, 3.4 to 0.3!! How is that not a smashing in a quarter of footy where 12 goals wins it?
The way I and the spectators I know (many of whom were neutrals) saw it...
It was enthralling arm wrestle until 3/4 time with periods of dominance from both teams...eg Saints in the latter half of Q1 and Geelong in the latter half of Q2 until Milburn's brain-fade.
Then with a quarter to go and kicking into the wind, 7 points down...
Geelong found another gear and made all the plays that mattered.
But you go console yourself with the fact that you believe you are/were a better team on the day or the year.

Wow!!

Isn't it amazing how perceptions can completely flip-flop in 12 months.

:)

we got mooney and harley when they were very young and than developed them into top players ourselves.

if lovett was a top player essendond wouldnt of let him go so easily.

the bottom line is its best to develop your own, thats partly why geelong have won 2 flags with their current group and st kilda have 0.

You got Mooney from North Melbourne!!!:confused:

Stop wagging remedial English classes!
And Lovett isn't a left over, he was keenly sought by three clubs!
And you got Mooney from North.

Good one d..khead, Mooney was only about 19/20 when he was traded to Geelong in 99, Know your facts before you cast judgment on other quotes.

Some of the good sides are getting better......