Roast Something is about to drop...

The fact he self reported cost him a 10 week ban, had he not reported himself he gets nothing as it is undetectable. Not sure where the incentive is there.

Anyone who bets on their own betting account will get caught whether self reporting or not. Garry Lyon attests to that who was recently found and warned for betting too close to game time which media cannot do. I believe Heater got caught betting on a Pies game on his account did not self report and got 8 weeks.

Someone in Stephenson’s situation will never self report ever again. The message is clear, do not volunteer to become the whipping boy.
Stephenson has potentially saved himself from a gambling addiction and 10s or 100s of thousands of dollars lost. Not a bad result from the self report for a cost of 10 games in a 15 year career.

This hasnt stopped, JS said in the PC. That this has made him sick and has ALMOST scared him from betting again. Please i cant believe this bloke, just looking at him hes a clean skin but he wants roll with the bad boys. I knew something was up with this bloke. Tattoos on his leg and behind his ear, kicking points when there easy shots for goal, it all comes out in the end. Might be a little soon for this, but we might of already seen the best from this bloke.

The fact he self reported cost him a 10 week ban, had he not reported himself he gets nothing as it is undetectable. Not sure where the incentive is there.

Anyone who bets on their own betting account will get caught whether self reporting or not. Garry Lyon attests to that who was recently found and warned for betting too close to game time which media cannot do. I believe Heater got caught betting on a Pies game on his account did not self report and got 8 weeks.

Someone in Stephenson’s situation will never self report ever again. The message is clear, do not volunteer to become the whipping boy.
Undetectable?! I think there's been a few cases where "detective work" has got AFL players and officials into strife for betting. The self-reporting was a good move for Stephenson/Collingwood to make.

This hasnt stopped, JS said in the PC. That this has made him sick and has ALMOST scared him from betting again. Please i cant believe this bloke, just looking at him hes a clean skin but he wants roll with the bad boys. I knew something was up with this bloke. Tattoos on his leg and behind his ear, kicking points when there easy shots for goal, it all comes out in the end. Might be a little soon for this, but we might of already seen the best from this bloke.
I really hope this is meant as some sort of a joke!! If so, it's not funny!

Stephenson has potentially saved himself from a gambling addiction and 10s or 100s of thousands of dollars lost. Not a bad result from the self report for a cost of 10 games in a 15 year career.
If he hardly bets, and having a few $12 fun bets it’s hardly a gambling addiction.

Whilst gambling can certainly become an addiction, it’s like drinking, many can partake as some harmless leisure fun.

As a person who has been to the racetrack since I was a child, I’ve seen the whole gamut.
The addicted penniless gamblers (or they appear so).
The addicted.

The punter with set limits (eg $50 a meeting).

Even race goers who don’t bet or just have a dollar here and there.

Like all vices it can go way too far. But for many it’s a harmless leisure activity.
Like drinking, eating at restaurants, going to the opera. They all cost but how much is the issue.

What? Lol. Not sure if this is a serious post or not. If it is what garbage.

I’m struggling to see any player we have that can impact the game the way Stepho has this season.
We will restructure. I’m afraid Thomas doesn’t give us that breakneck speed that Stepho has.
Look at the last goal assist he had. The corralling of the oppo player, the tackle, the pick up, the eyes lowered, the pinpoint pass.
This is something I don’t see in 10 year players, and certainly not in any current CFC player.
We can’t replace him, but our coaching staff should be fired if they don’t at least try.

I pretty much credit Stepho with changing the way our team plays, after his breakout last year. There was a two-to-three game period in which he looked a little tired, was maybe pushing up the ground a bit more, people were saying “it’s been good to give him some exposure, now it might be time to head back to the VFL”... and he never looked back and neither did the team.

Massive loss, but we’re in a good spot, a game clear in 2nd, we get Elliott back soonish, and Stepho back for finals. There’re only a few games there that should really trouble us in WCE, GWS and Adelaide. Have to show our mettle again.

I’m struggling to see any player we have that can impact the game the way Stepho has this season.
We will restructure. I’m afraid Thomas doesn’t give us that breakneck speed that Stepho has.
Look at the last goal assist he had. The corralling of the oppo player, the tackle, the pick up, the eyes lowered, the pinpoint pass.
This is something I don’t see in 10 year players, and certainly not in any current CFC player.
The Lab on 360 tonight examining his running patterns was sensational. He may not be a rocket scientist off field, but he is a big thinker on it.
We often talk about the F50 impact of Cox or Reid, I tell you the impact of this loss will be much higher than any of those two.
One less gifted player for the opposition to worry about

Jordy gets the goal square back and stops having stints in the midfield.

Did you see the stats on 360 tonight?
He is the igniter.
Number 1 in the AFL for scoring goals in the first 10 minutes of the game.
And top 4 or 5 in other stats.
As well as allowing the rotating FF structure between him and DeGoey.
Yes, deadly serious about missing top four without his input, and importantly, speed inside the F50.
Sorry I don’t agree at all. Regardless of stats we will still perform well.

Far out the kid could do a hamstring and miss 4 weeks. Look at the injuries we covered last year

Realistically why the hell did he self report via advise from Geoff Walsh.

Honestly it was a mates account they had zero chance of linking to Jayden unless his mate and himself had a falling out. Even then he could deny and never be proven.

Walsh should have said stop doing it and say nothing.

Honestly it was a mates account they had zero chance of linking to Jayden unless his mate and himself had a falling out. Even then he could deny and never be proven.

Could you imagine if it had been a member of the public or even worse a journalist who had heard Stephenson make the comment and not Howe? As painful as it was Howe did the right thing as did Walsh

The fact that he knew it was the wrong thing to do, the weight of that on his conscience and that looking over his shoulder mentality, with the fear he may get caught, and subsequently a massive suspension for hiding the facts of his betting activity, could have had a huge impact on his mental state, and that in turn, be a detriment to his performance onfield.
He did exactly the right thing, and l am sure it's a huge weight of his shoulders. Serve his time, and come back with a clear conscience.

It’s hard to shake off the thought of Stevo playing three compromised games. Mind boggling that his betting may have influenced some of his onfield play, and maybe the outcome of games, even if only slightly or unconsciously. I know the AFL found otherwise.

The integrity of the game is paramount, despite all the surrounding issues (AFL administration, poor journalism, dubious umpiring, questionable Tribunal decisions). Unthinkable that a player (one of ours!) may have undermined that, or at the very least exposed himself to that possibility.

I'm not seeing this as a cynical attempt to exploit his position at an AFL club, but more like naivety, stupidity, ignorance, take your pick.

Despite all this, we still have Stevo the player, and can look forward to his return. Suppose it will add some spice to September (but spice we didnt need).

It’s hard to shake off the thought of Stevo playing three compromised games. Mind boggling that his betting may have influenced some of his onfield play, and maybe the outcome of games, even if only slightly or unconsciously. I know the AFL found otherwise.

The integrity of the game is paramount, despite all the surrounding issues (AFL administration, poor journalism, dubious umpiring, questionable Tribunal decisions). Unthinkable that a player (one of ours!) may have undermined that, or at the very least exposed himself to that possibility.

I'm not seeing this as a cynical attempt to exploit his position at an AFL club, but more like naivety, stupidity, ignorance, take your pick.

Despite all this, we still have Stevo the player, and can look forward to his return. Suppose it will add some spice to September (but spice we didnt need).
Exactly .... thanks VP

We have an ability to self-sabotage like no other club! Off the top of my head over past decade or so, Heath Shaw, Alan Didak, Dane Swan, Travis Cloke, Josh Thomas & Lachy Keeffe, Jeremy Howe, Jordan DeGoey, Sam Murray and now Stephenson have all been sanctioned for breaking the law, AFL code of conduct or team rules. Hurting the team and bringing ridicule on themselves and the Club. It’s unreal.

Add Sharrod Wellingham to that list it's crazy

The fact that he knew it was the wrong thing to do, the weight of that on his conscience and that looking over his shoulder mentality, with the fear he may get caught, and subsequently a massive suspension for hiding the facts of his betting activity, could have had a huge impact on his mental state, and that in turn, be a detriment to his performance onfield.
He did exactly the right thing, and l am sure it's a huge weight of his shoulders. Serve his time, and come back with a clear conscience.
I dunno, it was a couple of $10 Multis. Yes wrong but I could have lived with it if I stopped straight away

Undetectable?! I think there's been a few cases where "detective work" has got AFL players and officials into strife for betting. The self-reporting was a good move for Stephenson/Collingwood to make.

I 99.9% disagree. The clandestine nature of it made it 99.9% undetectable unless someone talked. Whilst the circle was two people tight he was fine, but as soon as he went to Walshy the egg was broken.

There would be thousands of bets placed weekly of around those amounts across all of the bookies so to identify these three as suspicious, at those amounts, without video evidence would take spot checks (even then there’s no proof if they deny any wrongdoing) or preemptive monitoring of a players social network. There’s no chance the latter is happening because the integrity department at the AFL isn’t well resourced enough.

The catch 22 Stephenson found himself in is that if he didn’t self report and the .1% took place things would have been a whole lot worse. Because it could have cost him his career and at the very least a season on the sidelines. The guilty conscience compelled him to confess.

Now that the heats gone out of it a bit I’d love to know when the league were notified? How the story came out on the eve of the suspension? And how much negotiation went into orchestrating a completely contrived outcome?

I dunno, it was a couple of $10 Multis. Yes wrong but I could have lived with it if I stopped straight away

True, but we are looking from a external point. If you're playing in a billion dollar industry, for one of the, if not, the biggest club in the industry, and it's your career for the next 12 to 15 years, with the capacity to make you millions of dollars and live a very comfortable lifestyle, $10 multi's mean alot more in the scheme of things.

We are Collingwood, and we are unique!

some of the article ...

But one unintended consequence of the gravity of his suspension is that it has turned the spotlight 180 degrees back onto the AFL and its problematic gambling nexus.
With one hand, they slap down Stephenson for his $36 betting spree. With the other, they take an estimated $10million from online bookmaker Beteasy. At $36, it is recklessness. At $10million, it is good business.
With one hand, they preach moderation in gambling. With the other, they wave through a gambling advertising blitz on TV, radio, in print media, online, all over the AFL's own website and at the grounds, unrelenting and inescapable, until your head spins like poker machine wheels. Gamble responsibly? How about advertise responsibly?

With one hand, the AFL forbid footballers to bet. With the other, they strew temptations to bet in front of young men, traditionally society’s highest risk-takers and the incidence is proportionately higher among footballers, who have time and cash to spare and whose whole existence is a continuous exercise in backing themselves. Does anyone really believe that Stephenson is the only footballer to have a wager this year?
The AFL, indeed all major Australian sporting bodies, have explanations for this Janus complex, mostly disingenuous.
Gambling is legal, and in moderation harmless, and is vital to the funding of sport? The same was said of smoking, long since divorced from sport without bankrupting it. The same is said now of pokies, now disappearing.
Gambling companies work with the AFL to police footballers and so safeguard the game from corruption? Firstly, that co-operation, if so noble, should not be contingent on money changing hands. Secondly, how well is it going? Stephenson self-reported transactions that all agree would otherwise have been untraceable.

True, but we are looking from a external point. If you're playing in a billion dollar industry, for one of the, if not, the biggest club in the industry, and it's your career for the next 12 to 15 years, with the capacity to make you millions of dollars and live a very comfortable lifestyle, $10 multi's mean alot more in the scheme of things.
But you’re thinking like a mature individual.

I’d venture that quite a few of the youngsters playing AFL now are living with minimal maturity and think that life just happens.

Constantly players when they retire talk about how quickly the career came and went. Some will no doubt say they regret not taking advantage of the opportunities.

Even watching the progress of players from young to retired you can see their natural growth as people.
As an example, Paul Williams. When he first came to Collingwood he was about 17 I think.
If you heard him speak, he was so painfully shy and endearing, struggled to get words out.
Today, he’s coached and blossomed in those areas.

Maturity and understanding comes with life lived and learned. Sometimes not at all.

I’m sure some players have no real understanding of the privilege they have playing.
Then there are some like Kyle Martin, who regardless of the fortune of AFL would rather be a tradie and play at a lesser level.

People view things differently.

I bet in day 15 years time if Jaidyn was speaking about now, he’d shake his head and go, wow, what the hell was I about then. If I knew then what I know now....

Roast Something is about to drop...