Southern Football League (Vic) Division 3 Seniors & Reserves 2015

2015 Premiership

it's a hobby not a career, you don't pay tax on it.
Otherwise Betty from bentleigh who plays competition bowls and wins the $1000 in prize money has to pay tax to ATO, but then she gets to claim travel expenses, uniform, laundry, equipment and that stupid hat she wears and get return. And also when she loses she can claim loss.

Mordialloc is one club that puts their paid players through their sports club as employees so they can keep track of expenditures and probably claim some kind of tax break.

most clubs are community clubs that are run by a committee of volunteers who give their time. If you tell them that they have to do BAS statements and deal with the ATO most people just wouldn't put their hand up to help.
They only start tax when you're turning over huge sums

So in answer to your off the top of your head question. Yes the ATO knows about these people that take money from clubs and ruin local footy and they don't give 2 shits about them

Can confirm, I used to play at Mordialloc years ago. We had to fill out tax declarations and got payslips just like a proper job.

T
Is this now a div 2 forum cause I've been waiting for the new one
Apparently taken all the good players from the Division so might as well take the thread as well.

People reckon Div 3 no good but Div 2 clubs head down to pick up players better than theirs, div 1 & 2.

Div 2 teams especially Heatherton, Springy Highett etc must be crap. Lucky the former 2 had finals to pump their pockets. With Heatherton out of the race for 2015 finals I hope their new players arent on 2 year contracts.

T

Apparently taken all the good players from the Division so might as well take the thread as well.

People reckon Div 3 no good but Div 2 clubs head down to pick up players better than theirs, div 1 & 2.

Div 2 teams especially Heatherton, Springy Highett etc must be crap. Lucky the former 2 had finals to pump their pockets. With Heatherton out of the race for 2015 finals I hope their new players arent on 2 year contracts.
Sour grapes, you recruit from were ever regardless of divisions you have good players in ALL 3 divisions it takes a good recruiter from a club to pick the eyes out of the players once identified a good player you approach with an offer what's the issue.

Good luck to guys getting paid from div3 sides to go div2. Have a crack i say but i think its funny some are definitely getting over paid.
Sounds like div 2 will be strong this year tho.

Do these players leave to chase success or money?

Good luck to guys getting paid from div3 sides to go div2. Have a crack i say but i think its funny some are definitely getting over paid.
Sounds like div 2 will be strong this year tho.

Do these players leave to chase success or money?
Better opportunity at a slightly higher level, some of them have played D3 for years & might need a change to freshen there footy up, $ help but isn't always the answer.

I think majority have left for money, I would to if offered big cash lol think its going to be keyzy skye grand final anyway but am hearing That eagles and heatherton have picked up alot of quality division 1 or better players

We
Can confirm, I used to play at Mordialloc years ago. We had to fill out tax declarations and got payslips just like a proper job.
were you offered for example $800 a game and then when you were paid they taxed it so you ended up with something like $690.
Had a mate who played there for $750 a game and when he got paid after two games it was $1300. He spat chips and demanded his $1500 so they had to up his pay to make it $1500 take home. Then he claimed over $1000 in tax returns haha.

Sour grapes, you recruit from were ever regardless of divisions you have good players in ALL 3 divisions it takes a good recruiter from a club to pick the eyes out of the players once identified a good player you approach with an offer what's the issue.

Thats one of the stupidest post on here. "it take a good recruiter from a club to pick the eye out of the players...", oh please, what level of due diligence did this good recruiter do other than hanging around the league presentation night snagging the league B&F and goal kicker. Yeah, some kind of recruiting skill there snag. I hope he wasn't paid an hourly rate. A good recruiter would have looked outside the league into ammo world etc and actually actually dragged his big butt off the bar stool and gone to watch a few games in other leagues to deliver a new commodity to the league other than to suck up our own and spin the $$$ funnel across the league. now that would be a good recruiter.

Completely agree with this 100% All I can say is that it is lazy recruiting by these div 2 clubs. For the last few years the majority of SFL clubs (especially div 3 clubs) have been very successful in recruiting from outside the league thus improving the standard. The standard of div 3 was probably the best it has been since we came down a couple of years ago.

And Trendmaster what better opportunity is there than to actually play in a premiership?

Geeze there is some tripe getting around on here!
Maybe some players didn't get contacted by certain clubs and chose to leave the club and start fresh on their own.
We know every team is gonna won the flag in feb but It's cricket season lads concentrate on that.

We

were you offered for example $800 a game and then when you were paid they taxed it so you ended up with something like $690.
Had a mate who played there for $750 a game and when he got paid after two games it was $1300. He spat chips and demanded his $1500 so they had to up his pay to make it $1500 take home. Then he claimed over $1000 in tax returns haha.

No they didn't withhold tax, from me at least. I'm not sure if they did withhold from anyone back then but things have probably changed now. I was told from the start that it be accessible income come tax time and I had to sort out how much tax i had to pay on my own. But yeh, just about every football expense becomes deductible then. I was young at the time and didn't know too much about tax, im sure i probably could of claimed more then what i did!

Well if you were "employed" by Mordialloc, you could of claimed kms in your car travelling from job to "job" for starters

Had I known then what I know now I would of claimed every hot dog and powerade i bought from the canteen on tax. Would probably get more back from that then the car expenses to be honest.

Spot on. Couldn't agree more.
Intrigued to see the standard of Div 3 this season to be honest. Think there will be a huge (and I'm talking huge) gap between the best and the worst in the div.

Geeze there is some tripe getting around on here!
Maybe some players didn't get contacted by certain clubs and chose to leave the club and start fresh on their own.
We know every team is gonna won the flag in feb but It's cricket season lads concentrate on that.

Yeah enough tripe for you to log on, read and post a reply. Why not stay on the cricket thread and "bounceback" when the footy season starts as you are embarrassing yourself.

Looking at the ins and outs it appears clubs are struggling to attract players to there club.

WTF you just stated what a great job the Springvale recruiter did in taking the Div 3 league B & F and goalkicker + all the other players snapped up by higher division clubs cashed up after hosting finals and your critising Div 3 clubs for not recruiting. You are like a vulture waiting for div 3 to do the hard work so you can swoop in a years time. Sorry the pickings may be less next year snah.

Hate to say it but the league is absolutly stuffed when clubs feed off their own.

Did any Div 3 club host finals last year or previous 4-5?...love to know

I was a guest at Springvales Golf day last Friday. Sold out event with 36 groups paying about a grand, best organised one of these I've ever been to. They had heaps of people working and running the day. After the golf they auctioned of sponsorship packages and did nicely. I asked about getting my own group next year and was told that the companies who signed up this year get the first offer. My point is don't whine about the finals money, they have got their act together. What have these D3 clubs done to generate more $$

couldn't have said it better. 'Bounceback' into your hole, you speak rubbish and scream of jealousy.

Southern Football League (Vic) Division 3 Seniors & Reserves 2015