clucas91

Nov 3, 2001
Tokyo
Brisbane
What sportsman have you met and spoken to?

I have met and spoken to:

John Newcombe
Lleyton Hewitt
Sam Loxton
Shoaib Akhtar
Richie Benaud

OK here goes

Shane Warne
Wayne Carey
John Longmire
Anthony Koutoufidies
Steve Waugh
Tamsyn Lewis
Simon Minton-Connell
Mark Henry (Worls Strongest Man)
Stacy Keibler
Jason McCartney
Ian Healy

Plenty and Plenty of other AFL Footballers but these were my favourite ones

Mostly local guys. I've bumped into quite a few KC Chiefs over the years. If you don't ask for an autograph, or try to offer sports advice (this can be very difficult) they tend to be friendly.

The biggest thrill re football was meeting the great Chiefs Quarterback/Super Bowl Champ/NFL Hall of Famer - Len Dawson. Met him twice.

The baseball legend George Brett is treated as a god in KC. I've met him several times.

Most of you have probably never heard of either of those guys, so I won't mention any of the others! :D

Back in High School, I was good friends with one of the muscle girls from the TV show 'American Gladiators.' I don't know if they telecast that one in Australia. You didn't miss much if they didn't, my apologies if they did. She's actually very nice. I haven't seen her in a couple of years. Then again, I haven't seen my "best friend" from school in about ten years. Go figure. Peace,

I could name a list so long it could fill the thread on its own-- but that's because I'm a sports journalist by profession.

But Mooster, I've got one for you... the owner of your NFL team, Lamar Hunt, whom I've interviewed on several occasions due to his MLS involvements with the Kansas City Wizards and the Columbus Crew, is one of the nicest, most un-pretentious, most down-to-earth men I have ever met, let alone interviewed for a story or a feature. I always get a thrill out of talking to him, because I get the feeling with him as being like a favourite uncle-- the guy's got stories upon stories that can go on for hours. You would never guess that the guy's in the Hall of Fame in three different sports in the USA.

Just reading your post made me reminisce about that. Not my all-time favourite, per se, but just my most memorable of this particular moment. That just stands out in my mind right now.

Other than that, I don't get so star-struck over interviewing athletes, coaches or other sporting personnel, because I do it all the time. I hope I don't sound too blasé on the matter. :D

Cheers,
William

When you say 'met' ... my definition is actually having a 'conversation' with.

My list:
Carl Hooper
Brian Lara
Ricky Ponting
Kevin Sheedy (well ... ex-sportsman)
Matthew Lloyd
James Hird
Mark Johnson
Jason Johnson
Damien Peverill
John "Nobody" Eales
Ben Tune
Toutai Kefu

A small list, but impressive if you ask me:

Vieira
C.Grant
Kernahan
Whitnall
K.Hunter
Merv Hughes
Tom Hafey
Steve Moneghetti
Kretiuk

Some were motivational speakers at my High School, some I ran into around melbourne, and some ran footy clinics at my primary school (bloody ages ago now...).

I have two sportsman I have met.

The first one is Billy Brownless, former player for the Geelong Football Club. He opened my bank account and he was a very nice, well mannered man who is very very tall.

THe second one, which my husband I think has told to every living soul on this planet, is Jose Luis Chilavert. He is a soccer player for Paraguay. What happed was that I was watching a game between the Socceroos and Paraguay, Chilavert did a blantantly violent tackle and the umpire sent him off but he refused to go. So, after much booing and yelling from the umpire he left, as he walked through the player exit I banged on the tunnel roof (made of see through roofing) and told him what I thought of him. He glanced my way and moved on.

Anyway, those are my moments of fame with sporting stars.

Keep smiling
Jennifer

Originally posted by daddy_4_eyes
A small list, but impressive if you ask me:

Vieira
C.Grant
Kernahan
Whitnall
K.Hunter
Merv Hughes
Tom Hafey
Steve Moneghetti
Kretiuk

Some were motivational speakers at my High School, some I ran into around melbourne, and some ran footy clinics at my primary school (bloody ages ago now...).

One man stands above them all in this list :)

Paul Kelly
Mark Bayes
Paul Roos
Liz Ellis
Tony Modra
Nigel Mansell
Keke Rosberg
Possum Bourne
Jim Richards
Stefan Johannsson
Jeremy Coney
Mark Greatbach
Viv Richards
Alan Border
Frank Bunce
Murray Mexted
Jeff Fenech
George Gregan
David Campese
Steve Menzies
Ian Murray
Tagd Kenelley
Eddie Charlton
Dale Lewis
Greg Chappell

quite a few now I come to think of it !

My definition is the same as yours top don, conversations and in some cases even more;)

Brett Lee
Some Melb Storm players
Too many AFL boys to name but some of my favs......
The very sexy and and famous Kingsly Hunter
Rick Olarenshaw
Matty Lappin
Joe Misiti
Nick Daffy
David King
Anthony Koutafides
Brodie Holland
Ryan Houlahan

Ok, heres my list:

The entire Hawthorn Football Club
The Australian Womens Cricket Team
Shane Warne
Damien Fleming
Sam Newman
Wayne Carey
Gary Ablett
Rex Hunt
Michael Tuck
Dermott Brereton
ok, ive spoken to heaps and heaps of AFL players, and i cant be bothered listing them all coz it will take ages.

Lleyton Hewitt
Greg Norman
Mary Pierce
and many more.....I'm too lazy to write them all

Anthony Stevens
Mark Porter
David King
Winston Abraham
Matthew Lloyd
Glenn Manton
Anthony Koutifides
David Neitz
Matthew Richardson
Jim Stynes
David Rodan
Brett Chandler
Andrew Gaze
Lanard Copeland
Shaun Flegler
Eloise Southby

Originally posted by you_idiot
I could name a list so long it could fill the thread on its own-- but that's because I'm a sports journalist by profession.

But Mooster, I've got one for you... the owner of your NFL team, Lamar Hunt, whom I've interviewed on several occasions due to his MLS involvements with the Kansas City Wizards and the Columbus Crew, is one of the nicest, most un-pretentious, most down-to-earth men I have ever met, let alone interviewed for a story or a feature. I always get a thrill out of talking to him, because I get the feeling with him as being like a favourite uncle-- the guy's got stories upon stories that can go on for hours. You would never guess that the guy's in the Hall of Fame in three different sports in the USA.

Just reading your post made me reminisce about that. Not my all-time favourite, per se, but just my most memorable of this particular moment. That just stands out in my mind right now.

Other than that, I don't get so star-struck over interviewing athletes, coaches or other sporting personnel, because I do it all the time. I hope I don't sound too blasé on the matter. :D

Cheers,
William

William err...you_idiot ;)

I understand he is a nice guy. I have seen him from a distance a few times, but I don't consider that "meeting him." He spends a great deal of his time in Texas - flies up for the games. He has other non-sport business endeavors in KC as well.

For anyone interested, Lamar Hunt was largely responsible for the creation of the AFL (American Football League now called AFC) and the merger which led to the modern NFL. The Super Bowl Trophy is named after him too (although he has only won it once).

:mad:

Originally posted by Mooster7

The baseball legend George Brett is treated as a god in KC. I've met him several times.

Speaking of KC, the Royals are having another shocker of a season. 8-17.... it's early days though ;)

Originally posted by True_Roo

Speaking of KC, the Royals are having another shocker of a season. 8-17.... it's early days though ;)

No, not the early days. The season will go just like that. I still go to the games from time to time, but my heart really isn't in it.

Just when I think I may convert to a full on Detroit fan, the Royals beat them too. :confused: :)

Viv Ricards (after some kanga cricket demo at the WACA in the 80's. Huge hands, top bloke).

Richard Hadlee (same as above but different year. Smaller hands and not half as cool).

Ben Cousins (at a mate's party. Good fella).

Clive Waterhouse (scowling, grumpy bastard at the time (before wrecking his knee too)).

Todd Pearson (good mate of mine).

James Harvey (went to school with).

Viv Ricards (after some kanga cricket demo at the WACA in the 80's. Huge hands, top bloke).

Richard Hadlee (same as above but different year. Smaller hands and not half as cool).

Ben Cousins (at a mate's party. Good fella).

Clive Waterhouse (scowling, grumpy bastard at the time (before wrecking his knee too)).

Todd Pearson (good mate of mine).

James Harvey (went to school with).

No, not the early days. The season will go just like that. I still go to the games from time to time, but my heart really isn't in it.

Just when I think I may convert to a full on Detroit fan, the Royals beat them too. :confused: :)

The Tigers don't seem to be doing much better ! 9-17 is almost on par with the Royals.

I'd love to go to an MLB game.. everytime I've been to the U.S. it's been in the off season though :(
I'll have to go over in the warmer months to catch a game :)

well... not including footy players...
I've met cathy Freeman, Ruth Buckstein (captain of the Victorian women's cricket team & opening batswoman for australia)... actually i think thats about it...
i got on the news with Cathy though :D

apart from footballers... umm... John Fitzgerald... think thats it.
oh yeah and Sarah Ryan... not the swimmer, this Sarah Ryan is like the no1. for beach flags or something in under 18's or something. She goes to my school.

I am going to count footballers coz that's about it!! :D

Matty Lloyd
Rob Forster Knight
Aaron Henneman
David Spriggs
Clint Bizzell

Um...didn't meet him, but walked past Lleyton Hewitt and Kim Clijsters (how the hell do you spell that!) in Crown Casino...my bloody friends wouldn't let me chase him coz he was out with his girlfriend and should be allowed to have a break...bloody bitches...(scuse my french) and the only girl that offered to chase him was on crutches.....:( :(

Mostly local guys. I've bumped into quite a few KC Chiefs over the years. If you don't ask for an autograph, or try to offer sports advice (this can be very difficult) they tend to be friendly.

My relatives live in Kansas. I used to love Christian Okoye, he was my favourite player.

Anyway, my list:

phil krakouer
jim krakouer
andrew krakouer
ross glendenning
matthew larkin
wayne harmes
rod ashman
phillip walsh
rod austin
shaquille o'neal
most aussie cricketers on 95 tour of the west indies
michael holding
richie richardson
joel garner
corey mckernan

probably others i forgot.

oh, and bob hawke. he played a bit of cricket didn't he? :D

Originally posted by red+black

My relatives live in Kansas. I used to love Christian Okoye, he was my favourite player.

From what part of Kansas? I live on the Missouri side, but work in Kansas.

I saw Christian Okoye once at a shopping mall. We didn't really have a conversation. We were walking passed one another and I smiled and said, "Hey! Christian Okoye!" He smiled and waved back. I don't know if that counts within the "rules" of this thread. ;) Peace,

Sportsman you have met.