St Kilda fans should be proud !..not ashamed

TW

Thanks for that:thumbsu:. But I can well understand why Carlton fans would distance themselves from you!:p

Not only are you vainly trying to denegrate St Kilda... but showing absolute contempt to Geelong FC!

The two best teams in 09 played off..and only one could win... there was always going to be tears! It always comes down to who takes their chances in 120 minutes of high pressure. One will falter (if evenly matched) and make the mistakes more costly & obvious!

Note: apparently the GFC mantra all day was "stay calm don't panic"... they had learnt from experience!

...BUT you are sort of sounding like the worse shade of a bluebagger though! ;)

Corps....St Kilda blew it.

They had more than enough opportunities but blew it.

Spade is a spade.

Here...You give it...you cop it.

Sainters gave plenty during the year.

It's all fun in here...is it not?

It's not like they don't give my club the odd tongue lashing.

chin up Sainters....there's always next year......again

Corps....St Kilda blew it.

They had more than enough opportunities but blew it.

Spade is a spade.

Here...You give it...you cop it.

Sainters gave plenty during the year.

It's all fun in here...is it not?

It's not like they don't give my club the odd tongue lashing.

chin up Sainters....there's always next year......again

In fairness we're only repeating what the police are saying

The only cheating club is yours and yours alone

Yea yea... Carlton is the only club who ever breached the salary cap and has been suspected on tanking. OMFG! What a sheltered little existence you've built for youself. Talk about bullshit and denial.

I have simply said I am proud of their effort this year and you wish to turn it into reveling in failure, do you see what sort of creep you are coming across as?

It was a failure and many opposition fans have been pleased. These are just facts mate. There are reasons for it too... such as your one-eye-closed accusations.

I even saw one Saints supporter make the comment 'winning isn't everything'. You guys have just got to demand a little more at this stage I think or it will be another 40 odd years before you taste success. Try following the lead of your coach.

It was a failure and many opposition fans have been pleased. These are just facts mate. There are reasons for it too... such as your one-eye-closed accusations.

I even saw one Saints supporter make the comment 'winning isn't everything'. You guys have just got to demand a little more at this stage I think or it will be another 40 odd years before you taste success. Try following the lead of your coach.
So you are saying that there is something wrong with showing some appreciation to a team of blokes who won 23 games for the season and tried their utmost in a GF? Are you really that miserable or has your trolling totally consumed you and you actually believe what you are saying? If so I was right about you in the first place and a Club like Carlton deserves people like you.
Mate, you are one very ordinary football supporter.

How the hell can Saints fans be "Proud as Hell" about losing a golden opportunity such as yesterday.

GET REAL.

Yes you had a brilliant H & A season, and you went into yesterdays game 22-2 for the year. You dominated the game but LOST.

YOU SHOULD HAVE WON.

No ifs or buts.

You Sainters should be livid that the Club failed AGAIN.

Come next year, you are back with the pack again.

THIS year, you SHOULD have won. You were dominant all year.

Every year a team is a beaten Grand Finalist but rarely is the DOMINANT team of the year the LOSER.

PROUD????....you should be LIVID.

Do you thing a Geelong supporter would have been livid last year??

I'm not going into the 2010 season thinking we could repeat Geelong performance but footy is unpredictable who would have thought the Sainters would be contenders at the start of this season?? There were a lot of people that didn't have them in the eight. Who would have thought that the Hawks would finish outside the eight??

So you are saying that there is something wrong with showing some appreciation to a team of blokes who won 23 games for the season and tried their utmost in a GF? Are you really that miserable or has your trolling totally consumed you and you actually believe what you are saying?

I've been pretty clear in what I've said. This year was a massive failure for St Kilda. If you want to be proud of that, go for it. It would seem that supporting a success-less club has left you all being happy with second place just coz you won 23 games for the season. I would be very disappointed had my team squandered what should really have been a GF win... and I've seen five of them at my club. Had I seen none I certainly wouldn't be feeling proud of the team.

St Kilda fans SHOULD be proud.
Proud of the fact a team of rejects, misfits and underwhelming players made it through the season 20-2.
How that happened, I don't know.
But I do know it won't ever happen again, so lap it up saints fans; it won't get any better than this.

I've been pretty clear in what I've said. This year was a massive failure for St Kilda. If you want to be proud of that, go for it. It would seem that supporting a success-less club has left you all being happy with second place just coz you won 23 games for the season. I would be very disappointed had my team squandered what should really have been a GF win... and I've seen five of them at my club. Had I seen none I certainly wouldn't be feeling proud of the team.
Of course I didn't want second place but to not show any recognition for the effort they displayed this year would be a very ordinary thing for any decent supporter to do, I guess that's where you come in.
One thing is for sure , I could never be proud of cheats.

See, that is the whole mentality right there.

Since when do you get the luxury of having the underdog mentality and being proud in defeat...when you finished on top of the ladder, go into the GF with a 22-2 record and you are full strength and trained to the minute?

Were Geelong proud of themselves last year?

St Kilda threw away a golden opportunity...

Ashamed of them?...No
Proud of them?...Hell No

Livid at them?...in a football sense?...Hell yeah

Typical reaction of a pea-hearted Carlton fan. You've obviously got some agenda judging from your signature...

I flew down from Brisbane for all three finals and am absolutely gutted at the lost opportunity, but I'm still proud of the step that we took this year and am confident of success in the not-too-distant future...

Hurting like hell but we're in good hands...

FWIW I'd also like to congratulate Geelong on not only a great game but also how many of their fans reacted in the aftermath...

St Kilda fans SHOULD be proud.
Proud of the fact a team of rejects, misfits and underwhelming players made it through the season 20-2.
How that happened, I don't know.
But I do know it won't ever happen again, so lap it up saints fans; it won't get any better than this.

Proud of the fact that we knocked your bunch of jokes out of the finals two years in a row, apart from a flag it doesn't get much better than that... Would like to think that we'll have a chance of making it three in a row next year but to be honest I doubt you'll get anywhere near the finals... Average effort, average team, ordinary club and a pathetic post...

One thing is for sure , I could never be proud of cheats.

So you're not proud of your club then, or are you just playing ostritch? Or do you figure most of those responsible for your clubs tanking have moved on and it's not the players fault they were drafted with tanked for picks?

While playing dumb suits you, it just lacks realism.

Its an interesting discussion this about whether you view the season as successul or not.

I think Ross Lyons comments at the club function after the GF neatly encaspulated how the inner sanctum at that club felt about the year. Unfinished business. As much as Carlton flogs try to paint the picture, there was certainly no backslapping at St kilda.

Its hard, almost impossible not to see them up there again next year.

Dare say a lot of opposition supporters - certainly this one -have tons more respect for Saints now more than any other time.

I pity the mercliess flogging that will be handed out to Carlton by St kilda next year

So you're not proud of your club then, or are you just playing ostritch? Or do you figure most of those responsible for your clubs tanking have moved on and it's not the players fault they were drafted with tanked for picks?

While playing dumb suits you, it just lacks realism.

:confused: I'm talking about a club that cheats, which club has been penalized by the AFL for cheating? Do you know? or are you playing the Osterich? The tanking and criminal presidents are just another of your clubs attributes and you seem to be the type that revels in that mire.
You have already proven to be a very poor supporter for bagging other supporters for appreciating their teams efforts , it just gets worse for you.

Its an interesting discussion this about whether you view the season as successul or not.

I think Ross Lyons comments at the club function after the GF neatly encaspulated how the inner sanctum at that club felt about the year. Unfinished business. As much as Carlton flogs try to paint the picture, there was certainly no backslapping at St kilda.

Its hard, almost impossible not to see them up there again next year.

Dare say a lot of opposition supporters - certainly this one -have tons more respect for Saints now more than any other time.

I pity the mercliess flogging that will be handed out to Carlton by St kilda next year
A very accurate description.:thumbsu:

Proud of the fact that we knocked your bunch of jokes out of the finals two years in a row, apart from a flag it doesn't get much better than that... Would like to think that we'll have a chance of making it three in a row next year but to be honest I doubt you'll get anywhere near the finals... Average effort, average team, ordinary club and a pathetic post...

That's a little bit harsh Harvs to Hayes...

You shouldn't be calling Collingwood "a bunch of jokes" and "an ordinary club".

Shouldn't Collingwood and all their players and fans feel proud about giving it their best shot even though they ultimately FAILED?

Listen to the good gospel in this thread my boy.

That's a little bit harsh Harvs to Hayes...

You shouldn't be calling Collingwood "a bunch of jokes" and "an ordinary club".

Shouldn't Collingwood and all their players and fans feel proud about giving it their best shot even though they ultimately FAILED?

Listen to the good gospel in this thread my boy.

If they want to be proud of this year then good on them... Doesn't mean we have to put up with obnoxious waffle like in Magpie's post without responding... I think the fact that our year was better than Collingwood was self-evident in that we played them twice and won by 15 goals and then a convincing final win as well. And the fact that we finished above them on the ladder in both the H&A season and the final series... I'm fully aware that St Kilda lost the grand final, doesn't mean that everything is totally black and white... Your intellect isn't up to comprehending that though... I await your stunning troll response...

Saints should indeed be proud. After this GF I've developed a new-found respect for them. Having rewatched the GF, I'll call it as it is - Saints were clearly the better team in the first 3 quarters and were unlucky not be have the game sewn up by half time.

But at the end of the day, this game is not just about skills talent and speed but its also about resilience, and thats where the cats were better. Put it down to big-game experience - the saints will come back bigger and stronger next year I'm sure.

:confused: I'm talking about a club that cheats, which club has been penalized by the AFL for cheating? Do you know?

Yeah yeah... Carlton is the only team to breach the cap according to you :eek::eek::eek:

You have already proven to be a very poor supporter for bagging other supporters for appreciating their teams efforts , it just gets worse for you.

Again... I've been pretty clear in what I've said. I'm not sure what it is exactly tha you fail to understand. Although you do seem to have a tendancy to write your own interpretations as a sad reflection of reality.

Saints should indeed be proud. After this GF I've developed a new-found respect for them. Having rewatched the GF, I'll call it as it is - Saints were clearly the better team in the first 3 quarters and were unlucky not be have the game sewn up by half time.

But at the end of the day, this game is not just about skills talent and speed but its also about resilience, and thats where the cats were better. Put it down to big-game experience - the saints will come back bigger and stronger next year I'm sure.

I must say I have a very healthy respect for Geelong after Saturday.

We knew they were a great team, but the way they handled victory was outstanding.

Chapman's acceptance speech was brilliant. Very humble, respectful, and extremely classy.

Well done Cats.

Of course Saints fans should be proud of the team's year, and even of the effort in the grand final. It was a great game, with two good sides playing good footy. Even good sides occasionally lose to good sides, there's no shame in that.
The players should be both proud, but hungry. They should know they had a great year, but burn that it wasn't great enough.

The only thing Saints fans have to be ashamed of right now is that Steven Milne is among their playing list.

Of course Saints fans should be proud of the team's year, and even of the effort in the grand final. It was a great game, with two good sides playing good footy. Even good sides occasionally lose to good sides, there's no shame in that.
The players should be both proud, but hungry. They should know they had a great year, but burn that it wasn't great enough.

The only thing Saints fans have to be ashamed of right now is that Steven Milne is among their playing list.

Yes I agree that we deserve to feel proud of our team's efforts this year. To finish minor premiers with a 20-2 winning record, win two finals and make a GF, only to then lose an epic game in the last few minutes to a quality side like Geelong, is nothing at all to be ashamed of.

Obviously it was disappointing to fall just short of the ultimate prize of a premiership but hopefully the Saints players use it as motivation to go one step better next year.

As for Milne, I think you're being a bit harsh. He may have had a disappointing finals series but he still had a very good year and made the 40 man AA squad. Having said that, his inability to stand up in big games would have to put his place in the side under pressure for next year.

St Kilda fans should be proud !..not ashamed