St Kilda President Andrew Bassat tees off on the AFL draft system, specifically father/son and the Northern Academies

Remove the points discount on F/S

Limit F/S to only Hall of Fame players rather than 100 gamers
How about if only premiership players sons or grand sons were eligible for F/S, no matter how many games they’ve played, rather than 100 games for any player.

That way you tie the son to a club that their dad/Grandfather has a serious legacy with, and you probably more than half the number of eligible father sons that could compromise drafts?

No, the question would be why did the AFL introduce these ridiculous NGA rules? But it isn’t in his interests to raise it because St Kilda can benefit.
All they did was make it even after having teams on different rules for so long. Teams are going to rort it though & it won’t be even as zoning cannot be, that’s what the draft is suppose to be for but they have screwed it up.

This St.Kilda bloke has opened up two seperate discussions - the shiteness of the Saints & the draft & trade system.

I have made my opinion known about the Saints themselves so won't go back over it. However, I do agree that the draft & trade system needs a complete overhaul.

Here is something I posted a while back and it will solve all of the problems everyone has been speaking about :

REVISED AFL TRADE & DRAFT STRUCTURE

NATIONAL DRAFT POINTS VALUES

EQUALISATION ROUND

(for all non-finalists only from the year prior in reverse ladder finishing position)

EQ.1 - 5000

EQ.2 - 4750

EQ.3 - 4512

EQ.4 - 4286

EQ.5 - 4072

EQ.6 - 3868

EQ.7 - 3675

EQ.8 - 3491

EQ.9 - 3317

EQ.10 - 3151

ROUND ONE

R1.1 - 2993

R1.2 - 2844

R1.3 - 2566

R1.4 - 2438

R1.5 - 2316

R1.6 - 2200

R1.7 - 2090

R1.8 - 1986

R1.9 - 1886

R1.10 - 1792

R1.11 - 1702

R1.12 - 1676

R1.13 - 1536

R1.14 - 1459

R1.15 - 1386

R1.16 - 1317

R1.17 - 1251

R1.18 - 1181

ROUND TWO

R2.1 - 1129

R2.2 - 1073

R2.3 - 1019

R2.4 - 968

R2.5 - 920

R2.6 - 874

R2.7 - 830

R2.8 - 788

R2.9 - 749

R2.10 - 711

R2.11 - 676

R2.12 - 642

R2.13 - 610

R2.14 - 579

R2.15 - 550

R2.16 - 523

R2.17 - 497

R2.18 - 472

ROUND THREE

R3.1 - 448

R3.2 - 426

R3.3 - 404

R3.4 - 384

R3.5 - 365

R3.6 - 347

R3.7 - 329

R3.8 - 313

R3.9 - 297

R3.10 - 282

R3.11 - 268

R3.12 - 255

R3.13 - 242

R3.14 - 230

R3.15 - 218

R3.16 - 207

R3.17 - 197

R3.18 - 187

ROUND FOUR

R4.1 - 178

R4.2 - 169

R4.3 - 160

R4.4 - 152

R4.5 - 145

R4.6 - 137

R4.7 - 131

R4.8 - 124

R4.9 - 118

R4.10 - 112

R4.11 - 106

R4.12 - 101

R4.13 - 96

R4.14 - 91

R4.15 - 86

R4.16 - 82

R4.17 - 78

R4.18 - 74

ROUND FIVE

R5.1 - 70

R5.2 - 67

R5.3 - 63

R5.4 - 60

R5.5 - 57

R5.6 - 54

R5.7 - 52

R5.8 - 49

R5.9 - 46

R5.10 - 44

R5.11 - 42

R5.12 - 40

R5.13 - 38

R5.14 - 36

R5.15 - 34

R5.16 - 32

R5.17 - 29

R5.18 - 28

ROUND SIX

R6.1 - 26

R6.2 - 25

R6.3 - 24

R6.4 - 23

R6.5 - 22

R6.6 - 21

R6.7 - 20

R6.8 - 19

R6.9 - 18

R6.10 - 17

R6.11 - 16

R6.12 - 15

R6.13 - 15

R6.14 - 13

R6.15 - 12

R6.16 - 10

R6.17 - 9

R6.18 - 8

OTHER

* no discounts for father-son or academy choices

* free agency compensation picks permanently scrapped

* priority picks and any other assistance picks permanently scrapped

* father-son qualification reduced to 1-game

* player nominates club of choice if father played for more than one club

* primary list is reduced to a maximum of 40 players only

* rookie list is scrapped permanently

* any player who is being paid above the median AFL salary figure can be traded to another club without their consent

Yes, yes, a self-made billionaire is clueless to the out-of-salary-cap rorts going on.
Surprised you have time for Big Footy alongside your efforts in splitting the atom.

It was actually a little cotton-on salary cap joke, but I see that one went over your head

Brett Ratten's gotta be the unluckiest bloke AFL, doesn't he? Given the flick for Malthouse at Carlton, and then Ross at St Kilda... messiahs coming home.

As for Bassat, maybe if they didn't act like petulant babies because a player decided to play somewhere else they'd be in a better position to get free agents?

Brett Ratten's gotta be the unluckiest bloke AFL, doesn't he? Given the flick for Malthouse at Carlton, and then Ross at St Kilda... messiahs coming home.

As for Bassat, maybe if they didn't act like petulant babies because a player decided to play somewhere else they'd be in a better position to get free agents?
The worst part about it, and why Bassat’s rant is even funnier, is that they got Lyon back thinking that he could get that list into the top 4.

I spoke directly to the son of a former Saints board member at the time who was adamant that getting Ross back meant “Ross can take this list to the GF next year”.

12 months later Ross is telling them that they need to rebuild and they don’t have enough talent.

Now they’re angry Battle is leaving after not paying him enough to make him a restricted free agent, but also tapping multiple contracted players at other clubs, declaring that they’ll be aggressive.

What an organisation.

He was right about one thing: St. Kilda's "role is meant to be to just make up the numbers."
It quite literally was as part of inclusion into the VFL from VFA - the rich clubs needed a solid club that captured the geographic inner SE/bayside area of Melbourne and St Kilda fit the bill without pissing Sth Melbourne off too much

How about if only premiership players sons or grand sons were eligible for F/S, no matter how many games they’ve played, rather than 100 games for any player.

That way you tie the son to a club that their dad/Grandfather has a serious legacy with, and you probably more than half the number of eligible father sons that could compromise drafts?
Terrible idea. You are massively disadvantage teams like Freo, Saints, Melb, Dogs etc that rarely if ever win premierships

He can cry all he wants, but Father Son selections and academy's will never leave the AFL system. The league has a huge talentpool issue, and taking away access to northern players would be detrimental to the league. There also has to be a discount to the northern clubs in terms of academy selection because they deserve it through the time and effort they spent developing these players. The idea that a club like Brisbane spending money and man hours on a player only for him to leave for a victorian club is absolutely laughable. The argument should be just how much should we pay for these players. You have to remember these are players who would have never been in the AFL system if it wasn't for clubs like Brisbane, etc. So again, he's free to moan like a child all he wants, but a president at a club like St Kilda will have absolutely no pull in this discussion. Especially in terms of Father Son selections, because Victorian clubs would want to protect that as well.

na. You don’t need to consistently get handouts to be competitive. The advantage you should get from an academy is to get near guaranteed access to players without the go home factor. You don’t need any discounts, that’s just getting an advantage on an advantage.

Bassatt just deflecting from his decision to sack an in contract coach, appoint Ross Lion and they’re no better off
Yes pretty much this.

Nice timing for his rant "Oi AFL! The draft is ****ed mate, change it" when they already decided to.

Are Saints supporters stupid enough to believe this bloke is the Sigma powerbroker who forced the change?

Fella seems to think he's Eddie with the captains calls and big hits, at least Eds picks worked out some of the time.

Terrible idea. You are massively disadvantage teams like Freo, Saints, Melb, Dogs etc that rarely if ever win premierships
You also thin out the number of father sons that established clubs have access to.

It’s a meet in the middle concept.

na. You don’t need to consistently get handouts to be competitive. The advantage you should get from an academy is to get near guaranteed access to players without the go home factor. You don’t need any discounts, that’s just getting an advantage on an advantage.
Then simply Brisbane will close their academy's, sydney will do the same and it goes on. And the AFL will deal with a greater talent issue, and suffer because of that. And this isn't a handout. A handout is getting these players for absolutely free. Having a discount on these players is absolutely fair in the equalisation of this competition. Because Northern Clubs will always be disadvantaged when recruiting interstate players, so this is the only way to keep the competition equal. Also, how many times does Brisbane travel outside of Queensland in comparison to Carlton traveling outside of Victoria. If you think getting a 15-20% discount on an academy player is unequal, then how about the advantages you get to retaining victorian players and the fact that you travel far less? Can't have it both ways. You also have to accept the fact that the AFL competition is never equal. Clubs like yours and Collingwood has a distinct advantage over clubs like us, so your comment is a bit ironic considering your club is more protected then most clubs. Secondly, Northern clubs have to deal with issues that Carlton will never have to deal with. We will always travel more, we will always deal with player retention issues more. However, we will gain access to academy players. It isn't equal, but we're allowed some advantage. So deal with it.

Then the AFL can let GC and GWS have access to all Queensland and NSW for their academies. It would cost the AFL maybe another $1mil and give the smaller brothers in the northern market a massive leg up.
I’ll guarantee you, Brisbane and Sydney wouldn’t let that happen, so they can shut up and just take the leg up they are given.

Thats not necessarily true though in regard to wealthy clubs doing it off their own bat is it. The AFL has set up a majority of clubs with favorable fixturing and full exposure.

A lot of the clubs are chasing arse as a result.
St Kilda have been given handouts financially from the afl aswell, so it’s such an odd perspective he’s gone with, it’s majorly built from the club itself, afl helps clubs as they need it to survive. Fixturing is done for clubs performance mainly with their popularity a part of the decision. A lot of this is club built, he’s complaining since their club hasn’t benefited from what’s been given and haven’t taken proper advantage or properly advanced their standpoint as a club.

Then the AFL can let GC and GWS have access to all Queensland and NSW for their academies. It would cost the AFL maybe another $1mil and give the smaller brothers in the northern market a massive leg up.
I’ll guarantee you, Brisbane and Sydney wouldn’t let that happen, so they can shut up and just take the leg up they are given.
Delusional take. All the acadamy's would end. We'll keep taking our leg up here, while you keep taking yours by always having an MCG grand final, by always traveling less and by having easier player retention. Victorian clubs have absolutely no right to complain because they're the most entitled lot of them all.

One premiership in a 150 years suggest just making up the numbers is what they have always done.

St Kilda President Andrew Bassat tees off on the AFL draft system, specifically father/son and the Northern Academies