Autopsy St.Kilda v North Melbourne - Practice Game

I find no joy in the Schadenfreude that comes from beating North, they are a fellow struggler, I'll get more amusement when the Hawks tumble down or GWS or Geelong.
Couldn't care less about them, was talking about their obvious concern that Wood may come good somewhere else. Hope it turns into resentment.
Apart from GC, norf are the most vanilla, non de script, uninteresting club in the League.

"Ryder was spotted running extra laps post-game as he builds his fitness to a level to carry more of the ruck load for the start of the season."

Carlisle is definitely on the outer at the club - they don't even remember what his first name is.

Just had a read of the Norfie gameday thread.
Some are sh*t scared Mason Wood may actually be something.
Would love him to have a great season just to anger them more.
Strange bunch over there. Carried on about all their outs, tumbleweeds when Hanners, Jones, Gres, Marshall, Jones,Paton, Carlisle and Geary were mentioned.

Just looking at those outs, a season or so back if we had outs like that, it would have been devastated.
We have got some real depth.
Definitely would have been devastating to lose both our Jones'...

Yeah I agree, but the spot Paton leaves is still up for grabs I think- DMac may even end up there.
The list has gone well past people like DMac playing.

It looked like Long was often playing deeper than last year. Perhaps he has Pato's job now.
Hilly and Wood were very good, but Wood and Highmore looked like the same person to me. I honestly had to look at their number.
Dmac has put on some size and wasn't terrible, but if he plays seniors this year then something bad will have happened.

Jewb looked the best of the forgotten men though. I'd have no issues with him back in the 1s, form warranting.
Dunny l only noticed when he was standing still.
Compared to the rest of them he just doesn't have the athletic physique of an AFL footballer and Bytel looks well in front now. I feel shitty saying that cos he was my fave player pre Hunter/Steele, and l still think he's a great dude, but he's probably last in the queue now TBH.

One that surprised me was Lonie. He may not be done with because we looked bloody dangerous with the 3 smalls buzzing around.

Lots to like....

Lonie was one that really pleasantly surprised me. Would have been easy for him to drop his head and request a trade last year (even if there weren't any suitors) when we brought in Snags, but he just does the work and seems to really be getting the best out of himself. Having Butler and Higgins will help his development as a player.

There is a chance that 17 teams missed out on "this year's Butler" by not offering a 3rd round pick for him.

Lots of players played well but to me Hill was very good all day, ran everywhere and worked his arse off. Wood looked like Riewoldt in the blurry stream, he played really well off a wing drifting forward and back and using his run and obviously converting everything. Battle looks like given forward time he could be a gun. Billings worked well setting up lots with his good disposal. Lonie really lively and pace setting for the others who got more attention. Ryder is a force. I thought Long was a bit disappointing and Hunter Clark I was hoping for a bit more from despite a solid outing. The backs held up without Carlisle and Paton okay. Good to see Dunstan, Mc Kenzie and Webster getting a run.

The Roos say that Wood does really well in presaeson matches and doesn't in the real thing, i wouldn't know about it. does anyone else know?

What player sets out just to do well in practice matches?

It's a bit of a stupid comment, don't you think?

There's a reason we had him on the list for 8 years, and he should have bailed from North 3-4 years ago, because we weren't utilizing him well. He had a lot of early career injuries and then due to his good endurance, B. Scott basically relegated him to a hard running decoy for Petrie, Waite, Brown etc.

Utilize him as an attacking forward and he should pay off. Play through him, not around him.

Just had a read of the Norfie gameday thread.
Some are sh*t scared Mason Wood may actually be something.
Would love him to have a great season just to anger them more.
Strange bunch over there. Carried on about all their outs, tumbleweeds when Hanners, Jones, Gres, Marshall, Jones,Paton, Carlisle and Geary were mentioned.

Just looking at those outs, a season or so back if we had outs like that, it would have been devastated.
We have got some real depth.
Bizarre bunch

When newnes left all I felt was nothing but the best for him given we delisted him. I hoped he would make it at Carlton.

Lonie was one that really pleasantly surprised me. Would have been easy for him to drop his head and request a trade last year (even if there weren't any suitors) when we brought in Snags, but he just does the work and seems to really be getting the best out of himself. Having Butler and Higgins will help his development as a player.

There is a chance that 17 teams missed out on "this year's Butler" by not offering a 3rd round pick for him.

Lonie is an interesting one. He so often has looked really good over the last few years, but remains on the fringe. I suspect he misses out for round 1 as he will be behind Gresh, Butler and Higgins, and therein lies his problem - as good as he is as a small forward, he is behind Gresh and Higgins because they have the added capability of being able to play mid, something Lonie has never been able to do at AFL level. So it's a choice between Butler and Lonie for the dedicated small forward, and in that contest he loses out to Butler because Butler makes more of his opportunities.

I thought Long was pretty poor, apart from a few bumps, I don't think I noticed him. Webster was trying to out do him with aggression but as least had a few nice plays.

Jimmy has always had that aggression about him - he's always been one of out more "ornery" characters! The difference between Jimmy and Longy is that Jimmy is probably more disciplined in his aggression, so he doesn't give away as many frees as Ben. I really hope he can stay healthy because I can definitely see a place in the team for him at his best.

Yeah if Webster can get back to his best and it's a choice betweeen him and Long - I'm taking Webster. Better accumulator, better skills and more channelled aggression. Long had a solid year last year, but he didn't make the position his own as much as I hoped.

I think Ben Long has more X-Factor than Jimmy, Longy is likely to make a match saving tackle or momentum turning mark etc. Webster is probably more reliable (if he can stay on the park).

Neither of them is really suited to the Paton role (lockdown) IMO but hopefully one of them can do it makeshift.

Is Webster quick enough for the likes of Charlie Cameron etc?

I absolutely lost my marbles when Paton went down
Nek minnit

hhynxAt.gif

Bizarre bunch

When newnes left all I felt was nothing but the best for him given we delisted him. I hoped he would make it at Carlton.

Same with all we let go.

Newnes did his best for us, maybe would look much better in this current list.

Had the play of the year last season with his boundary goal after the siren

Couldn't care less about them, was talking about their obvious concern that Wood may come good somewhere else. Hope it turns into resentment.
Apart from GC, norf are the most vanilla, non de script, uninteresting club in the League.
Nth will end up in Tassie , they have picked the worst time to be re- building.

Autopsy St.Kilda v North Melbourne - Practice Game