Autopsy St.Kilda v North Melbourne - Practice Game

It looked like Long was often playing deeper than last year. Perhaps he has Pato's job now.
Hilly and Wood were very good, but Wood and Highmore looked like the same person to me. I honestly had to look at their number.
Dmac has put on some size and wasn't terrible, but if he plays seniors this year then something bad will have happened.

Jewb looked the best of the forgotten men though. I'd have no issues with him back in the 1s, form warranting.
Dunny l only noticed when he was standing still.
Compared to the rest of them he just doesn't have the athletic physique of an AFL footballer and Bytel looks well in front now. I feel shitty saying that cos he was my fave player pre Hunter/Steele, and l still think he's a great dude, but he's probably last in the queue now TBH.

One that surprised me was Lonie. He may not be done with because we looked bloody dangerous with the 3 smalls buzzing around.

Lots to like....

I didn't see enough of Mc Kenzie to say he shouldn't play seniors but looked very involved for the time he was on. Dunstan was starting very deep forward interestingly. The only touch I saw or noticed was as a link from half back.

Wood teased a few times at North, I think it was a game in Benalla or up that way he crucified us perhaps in a practice game where one of our kiwi recruits on him. Anyway, I hope he backs it up, he looked really solid and finished like a pro.

Ratts pioneered the three smalls at Carlton and had a lot of success.

Webster was pretty good but not outstanding to me. He wouldn't have a guaranteed spot but he has a foot in the door.

It looked like Long was often playing deeper than last year. Perhaps he has Pato's job now.
Hilly and Wood were very good, but Wood and Highmore looked like the same person to me. I honestly had to look at their number.
Dmac has put on some size and wasn't terrible, but if he plays seniors this year then something bad will have happened.

Jewb looked the best of the forgotten men though. I'd have no issues with him back in the 1s, form warranting.
Dunny l only noticed when he was standing still.
Compared to the rest of them he just doesn't have the athletic physique of an AFL footballer and Bytel looks well in front now. I feel shitty saying that cos he was my fave player pre Hunter/Steele, and l still think he's a great dude, but he's probably last in the queue now TBH.

One that surprised me was Lonie. He may not be done with because we looked bloody dangerous with the 3 smalls buzzing around.

Lots to like....

I read on the AFL site I think that Long is the player to take Paton’s role . I think Dunny only came on during last quarter but I agree that he might have fallen to the back of the pack of mids . We will see the next game if he gets more of a run .

Lonie brings a bit of fearlessness ( is that a word ? ) to our forwardline . For a little guy he does lots of tackles and chasing which doesn’t always show on stats . I think we function better with him there alongside The Talls and Butler , Higgins , Gresham , Wood or whoever else is there at the time . A little bit of small man agro .

On iPad using BigFooty.com mobile app

For the Carlton game don’t be surprised to see Clavarino get a game . They have to have a look at him sometime . So that’s my big tip .

Lots to like....

Today we had 26. Round 1 it is back to 22. Remember that Gresh did not play today. So Gresh, Butler and Higgins will be the likely first 3 picked before Lonie. plus Hannas still a chance for week 1.

Even with Crouch, Jones and Roma all out it is going to be tough to work out who will be in the final 22.

After today and the way he finished 2020 I would love to see Bytel get at least picked for Round 1 and 2. He looked very good in the midfield (such quick hands), but also very good when he pushed forward.

The game was on very early this morning our time, and then I was off playing golf first thing. Thanks to the guys who put the replays up. I just finished watching. Great viewing. Lots of things to like. Higgins a very sharp player. Sinclair excellent. Love him coming through from half back. Crouch looks the business. Paddy sublime, King gaining confidence, Wood more than useful, Billings class, Hill very involved. Could keep going....as I said, lots to like.

Only a practice game, but great to pick up form and confidence. Terrific to be watching footy again. Also to see Arden St after all these years. Went there when I was a kid. Looks quite different now. Is that rickety old stand still there? Couldn’t see it as that was where the camera was.

Roll on the season.

Didn't watch the game but looks it was a good hit out for the players.
I don't know anything about Mason Wood but being 6ft 2'' and 27yrs of age he just might of needed de-listing to get the best out of him knowing it's his last chance to make some good coin if he can perform.
At worst he will be a good fill in for injuries.
Once the team cuts it's team back to 22 players it's going to be interesting who gets in the team.

I would fully expect Bytel will be one that could be a best 22 starter and by the looks Sinclair could be moved to a half back flank and Long filling Paton's position.

Players I feel who are under the pump to get a game will Hannerbery , Kent , Dunstan.
If Crouch , Bytel , Hunter Clark ,Steele , Higgins , Jones , Ross , Gresham , Sinclair are in the team Hannerbery will need to stay on the park and have some form to go with it.

I also feel Carlisle is our CHB ahead of Frawley , however to have a quality player like Frawley available is a huge plus.

Long - Howard - Wilkie
Coffield - Carlisle - Hunter Clark
Billings - Steele - Hill
Butler - Battle - Higgins
Membery - King - Lonie?

Ryder / Ross / Gresham

Bytel - Sinclair - Jones - Wood?

It's going to be interesting when Marshall comes back and Crouch is available after his 2 game ban.

"Ryder was spotted running extra laps post-game as he builds his fitness to a level to carry more of the ruck load for the start of the season."

I thought Lonie was BOG. His footy smarts are a real weapon, and his tackling keeps improving, even his interceptions turn things our way. I think I recall he's had impressive pre-seasons before, I think he'll have a cracking season.
Roma commented during the broadcast how incredibly high Higgo's footy IQ is as well.

We'd have to bat deeper with legitimate forward options now than any other team, and possibly by a fair bit.

King
Skunk
Marshall
Battle
Gresham
Butler
Billings
Higgins
Lonie
Wood
McKernan
Kent

You could field two very competitive forward lines with that group, and they'd both probably be better than the forward lines teams like Essendon and North will be rolling out this year.

HF: Billings Battle Butler
F: Lonie McKernan Membrey

HF: Gresham Marshall Higgins
F: Wood King Kent

Jono Marsh played in our last final and he'd probably be 13th in line to get a game up there now, and Kent also played, and he might now be as far back as 12th in line. As did Lonie, who is now probably 9th or so.

Kent played 15 games for the year and in his last 7 he averaged just 8.5 disposals, and kicked a solitary goal.

In his last 10 games he averaged....

1.4 tackles per game!! :oops:

What was he doing out there!?

If yesterday is anything to go by:

Higgins >>>>>>>>>>>>Kent
Wood >>>>>> Kent

With the added bonus of Wood being a genuine aerial threat, while Kent is butter-hands overhead.

The game was on very early this morning our time, and then I was off playing golf first thing. Thanks to the guys who put the replays up. I just finished watching. Great viewing. Lots of things to like. Higgins a very sharp player. Sinclair excellent. Love him coming through from half back. Crouch looks the business. Paddy sublime, King gaining confidence, Wood more than useful, Billings class, Hill very involved. Could keep going....as I said, lots to like.

Only a practice game, but great to pick up form and confidence. Terrific to be watching footy again. Also to see Arden St after all these years. Went there when I was a kid. Looks quite different now. Is that rickety old stand still there? Couldn’t see it as that was where the camera was.

Roll on the season.
I used to live around the corner and now I’m racking my brain trying to remember if they have a stand...

I’m pretty sure they don’t, they have a small viewing area that’s attacked the building (admin and adren Street gym)

For the Carlton game don’t be surprised to see Clavarino get a game . They have to have a look at him sometime . So that’s my big tip .

They are usually trying to get some run into likely round one players in the preseason games. I think we have a few to come in still who are on managed programs (Greash, Hanners etc). He might miss out and have to make it back through the VFL. At least they should have a platform to push for selection this year.

Didn't watch the game but looks it was a good hit out for the players.
I don't know anything about Mason Wood but being 6ft 2'' and 27yrs of age he just might of needed de-listing to get the best out of him knowing it's his last chance to make some good coin if he can perform.
At worst he will be a good fill in for injuries.
Once the team cuts it's team back to 22 players it's going to be interesting who gets in the team.

I would fully expect Bytel will be one that could be a best 22 starter and by the looks Sinclair could be moved to a half back flank and Long filling Paton's position.

Players I feel who are under the pump to get a game will Hannerbery , Kent , Dunstan.
If Crouch , Bytel , Hunter Clark ,Steele , Higgins , Jones , Ross , Gresham , Sinclair are in the team Hannerbery will need to stay on the park and have some form to go with it.

I also feel Carlisle is our CHB ahead of Frawley , however to have a quality player like Frawley available is a huge plus.

Long - Howard - Wilkie
Coffield - Carlisle - Hunter Clark
Billings - Steele - Hill
Butler - Battle - Higgins
Membery - King - Lonie?

Ryder / Ross / Gresham

Bytel - Sinclair - Jones - Wood?

It's going to be interesting when Marshall comes back and Crouch is available after his 2 game ban.

Im not holding my breath for Wood but he was outstanding. He's a renowned tease and might be a frustration for fans but he looked like Nick Riewoldt yesterday. If Max King had played with the same stat line we'd be needing a lie down. He played off a wing and was marking all over the ground, must have had 4 goals as well.

I think Woods issue at North was he had to be the long dump to the top of the square focal point. North had Brown who is a lead up forward and not much else in the tall forward department.

I suspect he will benefit enormously from not being asked to play the #1 role

We'd have to bat deeper with legitimate forward options now than any other team, and possibly by a fair bit.

King
Skunk
Marshall
Battle
Gresham
Butler
Billings
Higgins
Lonie
Wood
McKernan
Kent

You could field two very competitive forward lines with that group, and they'd both probably be better than the forward lines teams like Essendon and North will be rolling out this year.

HF: Billings Battle Butler
F: Lonie McKernan Membrey

HF: Gresham Marshall Higgins
F: Wood King Kent

Jono Marsh played in our last final and he'd probably be 13th in line to get a game up there now, and Kent also played, and he might now be as far back as 12th in line. As did Lonie, who is now probably 9th or so.

Kent played 15 games for the year and in his last 7 he averaged just 8.5 disposals, and kicked a solitary goal.

In his last 10 games he averaged....

1.4 tackles per game!! :oops:

What was he doing out there!?

If yesterday is anything to go by:

Higgins >>>>>>>>>>>>Kent
Wood >>>>>> Kent

With the added bonus of Wood being a genuine aerial threat, while Kent is butter-hands overhead.

I'm no Kent fan but I think him and Membrey were used a bit higher up the ground like extra link up wingmen off a forward flank, not a typical defensive forward. His stats don't look like much but his role was obviously good enough to keep getting games over others. We don't seem to like the long kicking and hope game under Ratts, short chips to a mark in space mean you don't lose the ball and probably the reason we had higher than average conversion from inside 50 entries.

Just had a read of the Norfie gameday thread.
Some are shit scared Mason Wood may actually be something.
Would love him to have a great season just to anger them more.
Strange bunch over there. Carried on about all their outs, tumbleweeds when Hanners, Jones, Gres, Marshall, Jones,Paton, Carlisle and Geary were mentioned.

Just looking at those outs, a season or so back if we had outs like that, it would have been devastated.
We have got some real depth.

I think Woods issue at North was he had to be the long dump to the top of the square focal point. North had Brown who is a lead up forward and not much else in the tall forward department.

I suspect he will benefit enormously from not being asked to play the #1 role

They had Brown for that but he would injure himself every time he came good or back up a great game with an average one. North fans lost patience with him in the end and at 27 he's got to make the most of every chance now. Hopefully that's the kick up the arse he needs. He looked elite yesterday but the North fans have been there too.

I didn't see enough of Mc Kenzie to say he shouldn't play seniors but looked very involved for the time he was on. Dunstan was starting very deep forward interestingly. The only touch I saw or noticed was as a link from half back.

Wood teased a few times at North, I think it was a game in Benalla or up that way he crucified us perhaps in a practice game where one of our kiwi recruits on him. Anyway, I hope he backs it up, he looked really solid and finished like a pro.

Ratts pioneered the three smalls at Carlton and had a lot of success.

Webster was pretty good but not outstanding to me. He wouldn't have a guaranteed spot but he has a foot in the door.
I reckon Webster and Long are competing for the same spot, and based off yesterday, I'd have Webster ahead.

Long was better in the second half than first half, but he needs to get those dumb free kicks out of his game.

Some are sh*t scared Mason Wood may actually be something.
Strange bunch over there. Carried on about all their outs, tumbleweeds when Hanners, Jones, Gres, Marshall, Jones,Paton, Carlisle and Geary were mentioned.

Just looking at those outs, a season or so back if we had outs like that, it would have been devastated.
I absolutely lost my marbles when Paton went down (as many would know) because of this muscle memory.

They had Brown for that but he would injure himself every time he came good or back up a great game with an average one. North fans lost patience with him in the end and at 27 he's got to make the most of every chance now. Hopefully that's the kick up the arse he needs. He looked elite yesterday but the North fans have been there too.
Their Blake Acres

Brown really wasn’t the crash and bash pack marking type though. Wood was often one out in the square with the ball on his head.

I’m not saying he’ll be Gary Ablett Snr 2.0 but I think he’s better as an accompaniment option rather than the main man.

Some are sh*t scared Mason Wood may actually be something.

Just looking at those outs, a season or so back if we had outs like that, it would have been devastating.

I find no joy in the Schadenfreude that comes from beating North, they are a fellow struggler, I'll get more amusement when the Hawks tumble down or GWS or Geelong.

I reckon Webster and Long are competing for the same spot, and based off yesterday, I'd have Webster ahead.

Long was better in the second half than first half, but he needs to get those dumb free kicks out of his game.

I thought Long was pretty poor, apart from a few bumps, I don't think I noticed him. Webster was trying to out do him with aggression but as least had a few nice plays.

Autopsy St.Kilda v North Melbourne - Practice Game