Jimmy

Jan 20, 2004
7th ave
1 and only Sturt
Who will win?

The Sainters to return to form and fire up for the Swannies. I dont think it will be the boring spectacle we all think it will be. The Saints play an attacking brand of footy but the Swans will keep them in check, but the Saints will run out winners!!!

Saints to win by 17 points!!!

its ugly to watch, but i think sydney have the ability to strangle st.kilda, force them wide and not allow running play or quick counter attacks. midfielders are more than capable at dead balls, and a very potent forward line

sydney by 22

It'll be won or lost on the scoreboard.
The team that scores more points than the other will win... unless we get that goal umpire from earlier this season. Then out of bounds on the full, near the Saints goal, may be counted as a point :)
Go Saints!!

aussierules0k said:
It'll be won or lost on the scoreboard.
The team that scores more points than the other will win...
Go Saints!!

someones been watching robert walls to much methinks...

A game that could go either way with the swans continuing there good form or the saints rebounding from a nasty loss allthough given that even before the saints nasty loss they were not travelling in good form at all i believe the swans will prevail in a tight and close contest then kick the last 2-3 goals of the match to make the scores exagerate the the win for the swans.
But then again if reiwoldt fires barry will have to switch on to him from the G-train causeing a missmatch (in my oppinion) at the advantage of the saints as he is far too good at overhead marking for leaping leo even though leo has done well in the past against taller marking types i dont think hell be able to cover that of reiwoldts. the only other option is goodes. Though this is ONLY if reiwoldt fires and even if he does it doesnt guarantee a saints win in any form. ;)

I have a feeling it could be a close one. The saints will throw everything they can at the swans. We could have some of the saints boys reported by trying to gain back some respect. I still reckon Guerra could play. The swans should able to handle the saints but must make the saints pay on the scoreboard.

In a classic finals encounter, I reckon the swans will just sneak home. It's 9pm here in London and I'm excited already. Just another 13 hours to go.. :eek:

:) The Saints will expose Sydney's game plan on a bigger ground. Two totally opposite game plans will be played...Saints -fast, attacking, exciting Swans -slow, tight, boring.

Saints by 23 points -run away in the last quarter.

Grrrrr said:
:) Saints by 23 points -run away in the last quarter.

If the Saints are to win I reckon they'll need to do it early, to catch the Swans before they get into gear and open up a decent lead. The Saints generally seem to be good starters and the Swans have been a bit dopey early in recent weeks so that could be on the cards.

The Swans haven't been as good in final quarters this year as they were last but if its even at 3/4 time I suspect the Swans will have the experience and strong bodies to grind out a win.

Grrrrr said:
:) The Saints will expose Sydney's game plan on a bigger ground.

:confused:

We just won by 40 points at Stade De Oz, which is big, we beat the tiges by 65 or something points at the MCG, if the gameplan was going to be exposed there, wouldn't it have been exposed by now?

Swannie midfielders in better form, the whole team playing like men possessed since the death of their trainer. Don't think they'll be able to hold both of Riewoldt and Gehrig, but BBBBH will make up for it at the other end. Swans by 7pts.

Cheer Red Blood said:
:confused:

We just won by 40 points at Stade De Oz, which is big, we beat the tiges by 65 or something points at the MCG, if the gameplan was going to be exposed there, wouldn't it have been exposed by now?

According to Paul Roos, the dimension of "Stade De Oz" are similar to that of the SCG...

And, as for Richmond, they proved to be the easybeats of the competiton this year. Any team would have beaten "The tiges" at the MCG this year.

The rain is on it's way - and anybody going to the game can expect to get pretty wet tonight. Honestly cannot remember the last time the Saints won a game in miserable, wet conditions outside (I know they got smashed by Port in Launceston earlier in the year after it had rained there for the previous 2-3 days before), everything is really falling into place for Sydney who will be high in confidence after impressive recent performances and playing a team who are still looking for some.

Sydney by 26 points - 12 goals to 8, it will be a pretty even first half though.

bOmBeR_BoY1 said:
The rain is on it's way - and anybody going to the game can expect to get pretty wet tonight. Honestly cannot remember the last time the Saints won a game in miserable, wet conditions outside (I know they got smashed by Port in Launceston earlier in the year after it had rained there for the previous 2-3 days before), everything is really falling into place for Sydney who will be high in confidence after impressive recent performances and playing a team who are still looking for some.

Sydney by 26 points - 12 goals to 8, it will be a pretty even first half though.

Anyone who thinks rain is Sydneys firend couldnt be further from the truth if they tried. We played one good game in the rain against WC, but all that proves is that WC is even worse than we are. We are still 14th or 15th best in the wet.

looking at the team changes, stkilda dropped 3 hacks and replaced them with 3 hacks, therefore sydney for me, stkilda just dont seem to be resilient enough for finals football

bOmBeR_BoY1 said:

Against the Bulldogs last year in Tassie, it was round 21 and the worst conditions I have ever seen. Before that was Hawthorn at The G last year in about round 10 I think it was. Wet, windy and miserable would be the best way to describe the conditions that day.

RodgerFox said:
Against the Bulldogs last year in Tassie, it was round 21 and the worst conditions I have ever seen. Before that was Hawthorn at The G last year in about round 10 I think it was. Wet, windy and miserable would be the best way to describe the conditions that day.

Yup, point taken. I think maybe their poor form this year outside has something to do with the increased amount of games they've had a the Dome this year, I think they've played 14 games at the ground and all have been wins of course.

I know the Bombers had this problem in 2002, but still won a majority of their games at the MCG. This year though I think our performances at the MCG have been much better than the ones at our home ground, the Dome. There only losses out of 9 games at the ground this year was one to Melbourne when they were absolutely flying mid-season (but revenge was of course taken on the weekend) and their worst effort of the season against the Blues, in a game which they still had opportunities to win in the second half.

Anyone notice that 'Swans' has been dropped off their name, they are just known as 'Sydney', as shown in footy records, media stories, etc.

I was wondering how the old South Melbourne supporters feel about that?

BrisGirl said:
Anyone notice that 'Swans' has been dropped off their name, they are just known as 'Sydney', as shown in footy records, media stories, etc.

I was wondering how the old South Melbourne supporters feel about that?

I don't think it matters what they call themselves. After having just spent the past 2 months in Sydney, it's clear that no one up there knows who they are anyway.

Don't let the AFL fool you that they are making in-roads into the Sydney market.

St. Kilda vs. Sydney