Statewide League 2008

What worries me most is what undisclosed deals are Wade and co brokering to get their yes vote.
Devonport finds itself in a strong bargaining position with AFL Tasmania as there are suggestions that a Tasmanian Devils-listed player could be offered to coach in 2009 and other inducements could come its way in order to get a yes vote.

Its ok to be a club of your word but what about the players at Ulverstone, what do they want to do......? do they have to leave the club they love in order to play in a higher standard comp or do they stay put and play in a weakened comp flogging sides like they did through the mid 90's.
Tough call and one the players are going to have to make very soon.
thoughts....

Those players back then didn't exactly jump ship at the first opportunity...they spent a few consecutive seasons belting NTFL sides before just a few of them went to the TFL...I think SW will need to convince the players everywhere that it really is the big deal before you see any massive influx at a SW team...

Has there ever been any talk with the new SWL about having a franchise player that sits above the salary cap?

I think there are concessions for a coach in the exisiting business plan, so why not try and get a playing coach, and then have a franchise player (who you could pay up to $30-$40k p.a.) who will be the face of development in the area, attend training/junior clinics etc.

That way, each team could have 2 big-name players, which will stop some of the ex-Devils flooding out of the state, and give the league a bit more credibility. I think ideas like this need to be put forward or else the league will struggle once past the honeymoon period.

Total player payments would then be around $100-$130k a year ($60k salary cap + $40k coach + $30k franchise player). It would not be compulsory for a club to have a franchise player.

Thoughts (it may have already been raised)?

There's definitely going to be discussion about a Talent Player Retention fund which would go a logn way to keeping ex Devils etc in the state playing in the TSL.

Kingborough seeks statewide league spot
A southern Tasmanian football club is lobbying to join the planned statewide league, but needs millions of dollars.
The Kingborough Football Club has not been invited to join the league for the first season in 2009 because its grounds and facilities are not considered up to standard for the competition.
The Opposition leader, Will Hodgman, is supporting the club's efforts to raise $3 million for an upgrade.
"Here we have a wonderful opportunity for one of the fastest growing municipalities in the state to field a football team in the new proposed statewide league and they're going to miss that opportunity if they still play on that dung heap at Kingston Beach," Mr Hodgman said.
"We need to see a vision and a commitment and a greater degree of urgency from all levels of government and indeed support from the private sector to make this happen sooner rather than later."
The statewide football league is a step closer after Clarence voted to join the competition next year.
Club officials met last night for more than two hours and decided to give their in-principle support to AFL Tasmania.
Eight clubs have now confirmed they will take part, four from the north and four from the south.
Lauderdale is yet to make a decision, while Devonport will decide tonight.
http://www.abc.net.au/news/stories/2008/09/10/2360289.htm?section=sport

Roos hop on board
ADAM SMITH
September 10, 2008 12:00am
THE proposed 2009 State League was effectively signed, sealed and delivered last night when Clarence members voted to join.
Arguably the biggest and most successful club in the modern era, the Roos acceptance of the league ensures powerhouses from all three regions of the state have now joined.

Clarence joins North Launceston, South Launceston and Launceston, Burnie, North Hobart and Hobart in agreeing to the State League.

Glenorchy, Lauderdale and Devonport are the three

remaining clubs of the initial 10 invited, yet to commit.

Devonport is holding its meeting tomorrow night, while the Bombers and Magpies are almost certain to follow Clarence's lead.

Lauderdale will be reluctant to leave the entire Eastern Shore zone to their neighbours, while it is impossible to imagine Glenorchy playing in any local competition without Clarence.

Like the six clubs before them, the Roos still have their concerns regarding certain elements of the business plan but are confident the issues can be worked through with AFL Tasmania.

Last month the Roos were reluctant to accept AFL Tasmania's offer, feeling the initial details provided were far too vague.

But with each club jumping on board during the past five weeks, the reality of a State League was becoming more apparent.

Clarence president Richard Mulligan said around 100 members gathered at Bellerive last night to discuss details, with the actions of other clubs carrying considerable weight.

"It wasn't a (unanimous vote) but a predominant majority," Mulligan said.

"We voted to go in as we consider it in the long term to be in the best interests of the club to play at the highest level, subject to the resolution of outstanding issues. If the other clubs had not voted (to join), I doubt the decision we made would be the same."

While respectful of the Magpies' decision to reject the plan last month, Mulligan is hoping their members will reconsider their vote before the September 23 deadline.

"We want to be in the same competition. There is great rivalry but also great friendship."
http://www.news.com.au/mercury/story/0,22884,24323660-13222,00.html

Pies' league secret is out

BY MARTIN AGATYN
10/09/2008 12:00:00 AM
DEVONPORT Football Club members will be asked to vote tomorrow night in favour of joining AFL Tasmania's statewide league next year.
The club has attempted to shroud its intentions in secrecy ahead of the critical vote, but a source close to the club has revealed members will be asked to vote in favour of the statewide move.

http://nwtasmania.yourguide.com.au/news/local/sport/afl/pies-league-secret-is-out/1267737.aspx

A southern Tasmanian football club is lobbying to join the planned statewide league, but needs millions of dollars.
The Kingborough Football Club has not been invited to join the league for the first season in 2009 because its grounds and facilities are not considered up to standard for the competition.
The Opposition leader, Will Hodgman, is supporting the club's efforts to raise $3 million for an upgrade.
"Here we have a wonderful opportunity for one of the fastest growing municipalities in the state to field a football team in the new proposed statewide league and they're going to miss that opportunity if they still play on that dung heap at Kingston Beach," Mr Hodgman said.
"We need to see a vision and a commitment and a greater degree of urgency from all levels of government and indeed support from the private sector to make this happen sooner rather than later."
The statewide football league is a step closer after Clarence voted to join the competition next year.
Club officials met last night for more than two hours and decided to give their in-principle support to AFL Tasmania.
Eight clubs have now confirmed they will take part, four from the north and four from the south.
Lauderdale is yet to make a decision, while Devonport will decide tonight.
http://www.abc.net.au/news/stories/2008/09/10/2360289.htm?section=sport

How about we bring in Mt Pleasant while we're at it? Be about as good.
If they played football as good as they complained about EVERYTHING they'd be an AFL club by now.
Kingborough can change their colours and emblem while they're at it too.
Kingborough Crows.

logo.gif

September 10th 2008 | Poor Crowd Bad Sign For Future.
By James Bresnehan - Link

Doubt has been cast over the viability of the proposed new State League football competition after a meagre turnout watched last Sunday's SFL preliminary final between old foes Glenorchy and Clarence.

North Hobart Oval was almost empty by the three quarter-time break in what was one of the main matches of the Premier League season.
It was second only to the grand final to be held at the same venue between North Hobart and Glenorchy on Saturday.
SFL president Paul Harriss was concerned yesterday that State League clubs would struggle to put enough bums on seats to survive.
SFL Premier League clubs Glenorchy, North Hobart, Clarence, Hobart and Lauderdale have been invited to leave the SFL and join the State League next season.
They have until Tuesday-week to sign on.
But Mr Harriss said last Sunday's disappointing crowd that saw Glenorchy down arch-rival Clarence by 53 points did not auger well for State League.

Officially, 2702 attended four games on the day.
"By half-time in the senior game there would have been lucky to have been 300 left," Mr Harriss said.
"If that's the best we can do in a top-notch knockout final, it doesn't look good for State League."
He is concerned about the clubs.
"You've got to worry about the sustainability of State League," Mr Harriss said.
"I'd like to know what AFL Tasmania's strategy is to attract crowds.
"If the clubs don't have good gate takings, how will they be sustainable?
"It's one thing for them (AFL Tasmania) to say they'll pay for travel, footballs and umpires, but who is going to pay for the players?
"It takes thousands of dollars to run a club for the year, and I wonder if they will be able to generate enough turnover. That's what killed the last statewide league - people wouldn't travel to away games. Without crowds, you have limited revenue."
Glenorchy, as well as many fans, was disgruntled over the late finish to Sunday's preliminary final, which finished at the extraordinary time of 5.30pm.
Harriss said the day had been scheduled "down to the last minute".
However, hosting four games on the day, over-runs with coach's speeches to their players, the medal presentation to Kingborough's premiership Colts team and a game-stoppage for a serious injury to a Clarence player in the senior game, put the day horrendously behind schedule.
"It wasn't ideal, but it was unavoidable given what happened throughout the course of the day," Mr Harriss said.

0,,6243092,00.jpg

The poor turnout at North Hobart Oval during the final quarter of Sunday's Preliminary Final between Clarence and Glenorchy.

Pies' league secret is out

The (Devonport) club has about 450 financial members and Wilkinson said all of them had been notified of the meeting, in addition to public notices advertising the meeting.
That number puts a lot of the Southern clubs to shame.
How the hell can some of those Southern clubs compete off field with clubs well set up like Devonport etc.
Hobart Lions has 59 members - up from 32 last year! :eek::eek::

Jesus H Christ! And many of them want to stay as Lions - oh dear oh dear....

How about we bring in Mt Pleasant while we're at it? Be about as good.
If they played football as good as they complained about EVERYTHING they'd be an AFL club by now.
Kingborough can change their colours and emblem while they're at it too.
Kingborough Crows.

Kingpin at least Kingborough has a realistic vision, strong junior set up and one day will get its new ground for all to enjoy.

They also just won the under 17's recently just to prove its on track.

Your mob on the other hand continues to have its head in the sand and thinks it will play Statewide at the TCA. If Wade stops them in their tracks well he has my support on that one.

No proper junior set up, no star players (apart from a good CHF), no infrastructure. Just money in the bank but no creative brains.

No good having bulls they can burst the pack if ya can't kick straight mate.

I just can't believe they wouldn't waddle on down to Nth Hobart Oval, talk to the Demons and the city council about how all 3 parties can work together and create a top notch venue for FOOTBALL to prosper from.

But no, Hobart will think its bigger than it is, stick it out at the TCA, where the wind will never stop blowing, the mud gets deeper & anything less than a good Mill or 2 wouldn't change a thing.

This club although in my heart is and always will be the modern equivilent of Richmond in the AFL. Over the they finish 9th, over here Hobart always 5th.

I am now a member of the NHFC and very happy. Why have I done this you ask, well mate the people there think outside the square, have a lets do it for footy mentality and well this club ticks the boxes for me.

I still love Hobart but just shake my head at the direction it continues to take. Will they merge with Sandy Bay???? No that would be too logical.

As for your Kingborough Crows comment very funny here and what a debate that would take if Kingborough does ever join SWL.

Over and out.

Dear Will Hodgman, They (Council and Football Club) have been talking about this since at least 1983 (Was going to be built up at the sports centre) thats 25 years of talk. Dont hold your breathe on this one :(

I am now a member of the NHFC and very happy. Why have I done this you ask, well mate the people there think outside the square, have a lets do it for footy mentality and well this club ticks the boxes for me.

I still love Hobart but just shake my head at the direction it continues to take. Will they merge with Sandy Bay???? No that would be too logical.

North Hobart have a "let's do it for footy" mentality?

Oh my God, I have heard it all now!

You've been hanging around your mate Dan Garlick too long! The same Dan Garlick who was plugging the North Hobart kiosks after a goal in the Regional League Under 17's Grand Final on Saturday!

Duff, even you're smart enough to realise North Hobart are motivated by one thing and one thing only - FLAGS!

And don't get me wrong - that's the way they should be!

Oh "I still love Hobart!" - please!

For mine, if you did you sure as hell wouldn't have joined up down the road!

Kingpin at least Kingborough has a realistic vision, strong junior set up and one day will get its new ground for all to enjoy.
A realistic vision? Hahaahahahahahahaahahh :D
I must admit, I quite enjoyed that one!
Their sole quest is, and has been since 1998 to stop Hobart from ever getting its identity back in any way possible.
If you'd ever been privy to seeing some of the outlandish - in fact ridiculous complaints and requests they've made/had in regard to that - you'd see winning premierships hasn't been all that high on the radar.
Absolute stupidity and small-town syndrome.

Duff TV said:
They also just won the under 17's recently just to prove its on track.
Don't expect me to clap.

Duff TV said:
Your mob on the other hand continues to have its head in the sand and thinks it will play Statewide at the TCA. If Wade stops them in their tracks well he has my support on that one.
What's this 'your mob' business? The Hobart Lions are NOT my team.
They do have their heads in the sand on many issues though, yes.
As far as I'm concerned my team ceased to exist at the end of 2004.
PS: AFL Tasmania has stated that the club will be playing at the TCA Ground.
Is it ideal? IMHO it's a 50/50 thing.
Not a great ground, poor facilities and has always struggled to attract supporters, I'd like them to base themselves in the Plaister Stand at North Hobart and play there but until it could be guaranteed that they wouldn't be screwed over AGAIN by playing at North Hobart they're doing the right thing, and the Council are upgrading the lighting up there.
Would much prefer playing down at North Hobart though, certainly.

Duff TV said:
No proper junior set up, no star players (apart from a good CHF), no infrastructure. Just money in the bank but no creative brains.
There's that modern saying again.
They've actually got a more structured 'pathway' now with junior teams right down than what they've ever had. Has it worked? Hmmmm.
Interestingly enough, when Hobart didn't have that deep pathway they made the finals of the Colts 12-consecutive years across the Statewide League and into the SFL.
Had at least one of its teams (1's, 2's, 3's or 4's) playing in the finals every year since 1986.
We didn't need other clubs to get there, we didn't always need a school team to get there either - we had quality people at the club who knew their business and it used to be a great club with an excellent culture, a club that was worth its salt and young players wanted to play there.
Those ideals and basic fundamentals have been eroded completely and that's what disappoints me a lot.

No. No star players that's absolutely correct.
That would be in part because the club doesn't throw coin around for players like it used to which got it in the mess years ago.
Also too, look at how the club has been torn to shreds in the past few years, stumbling from one crisis to another and showing an enormous lack of ambition seemingly stumbling on from one season to the next?
They don't seem to have any sort of plan.
They don't even want to acknowledge their old supporters or past players let alone their tradition - seriously what decent player would want to go into an unstable environment like that?
They've gotta sort this out once and for all, it has been eating at that club like a cancer for a long time and the damage is spreading by the year.

Duff TV said:
I just can't believe they wouldn't waddle on down to Nth Hobart Oval, talk to the Demons and the city council about how all 3 parties can work together and create a top notch venue for FOOTBALL to prosper from.
That's fine in theory. And Hobart does suffer from a lack of imagination a lot of the time I'll concede that.
Just that last time they did that the 'doin' it for footy' brigade wanted everything for themselves and had a theory along the lines of "everyone else can bugger off".
Hobart, Sandy Bay & Southern Cats all found out just what they're like!

Duff TV said:
But no, Hobart will think its bigger than it is, stick it out at the TCA, where the wind will never stop blowing, the mud gets deeper & anything less than a good Mill or 2 wouldn't change a thing.
I agree with the basic premise of what you're saying in many ways.
The she'll be right attitude will continue on and they won't make the move, but can you blame them after their previous history with that sort of thing?
I wouldn't trust North and I would certainly not trust AFL Tasmania to make sure North didn't rake in all the cash like last time.
Hobart has around $800,000 invested.
Most of that was through the sale of the Brisbane Hotel - another Hobart tradition lost - although that one I agreed with.
The talk I've heard is that they're going to spend some of it renovating the kiosk and bar at the TCA Ground.

Duff TV said:
This club although in my heart is and always will be the modern equivilent of Richmond in the AFL. Over the they finish 9th, over here Hobart always 5th.
Since around 2003 that attitude has become extremely prevalent. I've heard players say it themselves.
The old HFC attitude of trying to cut down as many big guns as possible and trying to snatch premierships has fallen away to "ah well we made the finals!".
The thing the concerns me a lot is the fact that there seems to be a culture in the place now of near enough's good enough.
The fact that they recognise that they've lost a frightful number of financial members and supporters and past player involvement - they know WHY these people no longer wish to be involved with the football club - yet they a) stubbornly refuse to admit the Lions hasn't worked as a concept, b) refuse to concede that the way it all came about was divisive, dishonest and insulting to those who gave their all for that place for decades, c) refuse to make any reasonable attempt at righting any of these previous wrong-doings.
It's absolutely ridiculous and bloody-mindedness of the highest order.

Duff TV said:
I'm not one for ticking boxes myself personally.
But I will say this, a passionate HFC Tiger NEVER joins The Bastard Squad. EVER.

Duff TV said:
I still love Hobart but just shake my head at the direction it continues to take.
I don't love Hobart anymore. In fact I absolutely hate them.
It's not because of the colours, jumper or emblem so much.
It's because this current lot took over what was once my team and completely changed the place and what it once stood for. Not for the better either.

Duff TV said:
Will they merge with Sandy Bay???? No that would be too logical.
No that would be just further stupidity.

Duff TV said:
As for your Kingborough Crows comment very funny here and what a debate that would take if Kingborough does ever join SWL.
They won't get in.
In 2033, a near 70-year old grey-headed businessman called Rodney Herweynan will be on the back page of the Mercury lobbying Kingborough City Council (there'll be a city down there by then) for a new ground in the region.
Once again nothing will be done and 50 years of talks will continue... :p

Quote:
Originally Posted by Duff TV

Oh Duff i just choked on my coca pops!!!! You hvae joined NH... I feel ill.. Please do not speak to me for 6 weeks. As for my offer of commentary i have had to renig on that! I can't sit in a comm box with you now. It would be like Bush sitting next to Bin Laden!

Interesting article written by the Launny president Mark Thurlow on page 83 of the examiner today. I do not have the tools at work to cut and paste or scan. If someone could pop it on here it is well written and he along with the the northern clubs should be commended.

I am in favour of the SWL and always have been. It makes sense unlike the drivel we get every week now in the Southern Premmy League and if you read the scores in the north things are not much better! Get Behind it!

Heard a rumour also from a reliable source that AFL Tas will not run the SWL and all funding etc will be run by AFL Vic. I suggest with all the rumblings S Wade may be moving on. IMO i think AFL Tas and Wadey do a fair job. I am sure no other state in Australia has such a divide like we do between our people. Whoever does the job will never win.

National anthem

You've been hanging around your mate Dan Garlick too long! The same Dan Garlick who was plugging the North Hobart kiosks after a goal in the Regional League Under 17's Grand Final on Saturday!

I remember that now and wondered at the time what the hell that was about.

mmmm, a bit distracting for all. Other than that he's a super GA.

Who's singing the national anthem this weekend or will it be pre-recorded?

Love that version they played up north for the rep game. Ya know the Playschool one.

Eighth team joins up
BRETT STUBBS
September 12, 2008 12:00am
THE 2009 Tasmanian State League can now officially proceed after Devonport voted to join the new competition last night.
It means eight of the 10 invited clubs have now committed, giving AFL Tasmania its minimum eight-team competition -- and Lauderdale and Glenorchy are expected to follow suit before the September 23 deadline.

"It is up and running," AFL Tasmania chairman Dominic Baker declared last night after hearing of Devonport's acceptance.

Devonport joins North Launceston, South Launceston, Launceston, Burnie, North Hobart, Clarence and Hobart in the new competition.

What was tipped to be a tight vote after a two- hour meeting became very one-sided with an 87-29 majority in favour of leaving the NTFL to join the State League.

Devonport president Neil Wilkinson said it was an important vote of confidence.

"We've had some folks who had some doubts and are long established members," Wilkinson said.

"But honestly we had the board support, a lot of the past players, life members' support, plus the current players supported it, so we are very happy in the end."

Like the other seven clubs, Devonport has some minor issues to sort out with AFL Tasmania, including developing a business plan with the club and the Devonport City Council, but it is now all systems go for the new league.
http://www.news.com.au/mercury/story/0,22884,24333938-13222,00.html

The fighting has started already with 30 comments mainly on who has the right to the magpies colours if and when Glenorchy sign up.

Two letters were posted in the Examiner yesterday from Mark Thurlow(Launceston) and Tony Newport(South Launceston) supporting the TSL.

Statewide league has list of 'positives'
IN response to the letter (Examiner Saturday, Sep. 6) "State league a stepping stone" by Tony Stonjek.
When are the former NTFL delegates going to get the message that no one cares about their personal attacks and negativity towards clubs and the future of Tasmanian football?
The current boards and administrators of the Launceston-based teams should be commended on the way they have spent countless hours, days and weeks researching the documentation for the proposed Tasmanian Statewide league. They have been open, honest and transparent with each other and the Communities they represent. They are simply going to move on, be positive and do what their club people and the players want for the future of football in this State.
Launceston, North Launceston and South Launceston football clubs have gone to their members for their votes with the result of a combined total of 258 in favour of the proposed TSL and 35 against. Overwhelming support for a TSL!
The Launceston-based clubs this year, each paid out about $9000 in bus costs. The AFL will finance the TSL buses.
The AFL will also not charge us gate levies. We currently each pay the NTFL $1850 a home game totalling $16,650. So buses and gate levies have already put us around $27,000 ahead.
At this time it is proposed that $50,000 goes to each club for junior development in
their zoned areas which cover the State. That is building for the future.
Then we have access to an AFL funded facility grant of $700,000.
Importantly the players want to be challenged, play on the best venues available and play against the best players Statewide.
These are positives. Negativity, like that displayed by Mr Stonjek, will get Tasmanian football absolutely nowhere.
—MARK THURLOW Launceston Football Club President.
Mistakes of the past may not be repeated
WE all have 20-20 vision in hindsight. The old Statewide league was a financial disaster.
To assume that a new Statewide competition will be equally so is just that: an assumption and without a thorough analysis nothing more than opinionated and defeatist rhetoric.
Twelve months ago the now invited clubs to a new Statewide competition were 100 per cent opposed to the concept. So what has changed?
In the first place a proper and thorough consultative process began. Clubs began to feel listened to and their input is reflected in the radically changed and current shape of the new proposal.
In the second place the clubs began talking with each other they were not cowed by the understandable resistance generated by the SFL and the NTFL.
Both of these regional leagues knew that their competitions were going to be drastically affected. The clubs took the broader view that they could not just ignore a proposal that was potentially in their best long-term interests. Are they to be condemned for acting on self-interest? Clearly as elected representatives of their club that is their job.
Change of any kind is not risk free. Statewide could fail. Indeed it seems there are some in our community who will pray for just that.
No club has made this decision lightly. At South Launceston it has been an exhausting and demanding process. On the night the club voted, with caveats, to go Statewide we spent a tough three hours of passionate and challenging debate.
We also had representatives from the NTFL and AFL Tasmania to put their case. We were prepared to risk our supporters being persuaded to vote against the proposal without a case of bottled water in sight.
Tony Stonjek (Letters On Sport, Sep. 6), insults the intelligence of all of our supporters when he says that we have been conned. We acknowledge that we owe a great debt to lan Wotherspoon and the NTFL.
We were faced with a choice of remaining in a regional league or going to a Statewide league and this was a decision not of the NTFL's making. Nonetheless we have had to face up to it. Looking backwards is one thing — doing so with a closed mind is positively dangerous. It is time to move on. — TONY NEWPORT, football director. South Launceston Football Club.

Two letters were posted in the Examiner yesterday from Mark Thurlow(Launceston) and Tony Newport(South Launceston) supporting the TSL.

Statewide league has list of 'positives'
IN response to the letter (Examiner Saturday, Sep. 6) "State league a stepping stone" by Tony Stonjek.
When are the former NTFL delegates going to get the message that no one cares about their personal attacks and negativity towards clubs and the future of Tasmanian football?
The current boards and administrators of the Launceston-based teams should be commended on the way they have spent countless hours, days and weeks researching the documentation for the proposed Tasmanian Statewide league. They have been open, honest and transparent with each other and the Communities they represent. They are simply going to move on, be positive and do what their club people and the players want for the future of football in this State.
Launceston, North Launceston and South Launceston football clubs have gone to their members for their votes with the result of a combined total of 258 in favour of the proposed TSL and 35 against. Overwhelming support for a TSL!
The Launceston-based clubs this year, each paid out about $9000 in bus costs. The AFL will finance the TSL buses.
The AFL will also not charge us gate levies. We currently each pay the NTFL $1850 a home game totalling $16,650. So buses and gate levies have already put us around $27,000 ahead.
At this time it is proposed that $50,000 goes to each club for junior development in
their zoned areas which cover the State. That is building for the future.
Then we have access to an AFL funded facility grant of $700,000.
Importantly the players want to be challenged, play on the best venues available and play against the best players Statewide.
These are positives. Negativity, like that displayed by Mr Stonjek, will get Tasmanian football absolutely nowhere.
—MARK THURLOW Launceston Football Club President.

My response to you Mark Thurlow is if you didn't care about the former NTFL Director's response, why did you write a letter in?
His demeanour of late is starting to remind me of one well known administrator!
Mark if he had half a ****ing brain would understand that there is always a risk element attached with new venutres and for ****s sake he should know that being a businessman! Stupid ****ing twit!
And this bloke is president of a footy club??? :rolleyes:
The question Mark needs to ask himself is if it did go arse up, what's plan B? Clearly Launceston don't have that at the moment because they are too caught up in success.
Maybe he actually should take a leaf out of Mr Newport's book and write a letter that is balanced. At least South understand the risk attached to the SWL!
And the scoreline: Stonjek and former NTFL Directors 1, Thurlow NIL!

At this time it is proposed that $50,000 goes to each club for junior development in their zoned areas which cover the State.
If this is the case I hope they also set up their own junior leagues because us country clubs can't compete moneywise with them now so we haven't got a hope if they have $50k to inject into their juniors.

Agree, why don't they set up their statewide junior comp too from say Under 12-16? At least it has a chance of being even to some degree...

The fighting has started already with 30 comments mainly on who has the right to the magpies colours if and when Glenorchy sign up.

Oh dear! :eek: I don't know how many times I can swear in a day but I'm getting close to the threshold! :rolleyes:
Logic would suggest an alternate strip for the away side when the two teams play each other...
Whether logic rules over common sense remains to be seen...

Ahh Tasmania, Explore the B*tch in you! :thumbsu:

Statewide League 2008