Statewide League 2008

mate if you think the bayview at burnie is ritzy
(even back then) then i would hate to think what you think the hilton is! but your right, it did send the club broke as well as spending ludicrus amounts on player payments ( having a fly in player) and the rate payers were peeved let me tell you!
LOL I can only go on the pics I saw in the local rag of it after it was done up, was a huge improvement on the old Bayview that I ate and drank at in early '92 :p
I remember they had a huge following, both home and at bigger away matches before that, it seemed to noticeably drop after the council bailed them out.

They're talking about a state wide league again? Wow!

I have only just found this thread. Here is an idea i have floated around the traps for a while for a statewide league, please let me know what you think:

Create one league. The league would be called the Tasmanian Football League (TFL).

Split the TFL into 2 divisions, North (Northern Tasmanian FL) and South (Southern Tasmanian FL) .

The two branches would simply run as the NTFL & STFL run now (no more than 12 teams per division), with Grand Finalists in each division.

Each division still retails their previous history - medalists, trophies etc.

The two divisional premiers then play off for a the Tasmanian Football League trophy.

There you have it - a statewide league, with a focus on regional footy! You could still have the North V South games mid year.

The Grand Finals would be split between the North and South each year. The simple way to do it is even years (02, 04 etc) the TFL GF is held in the South.

In the odd years (03, 05 etc) the TFL GF is in the North. Whichever region is not hosting the GF that year, will host the North v South match.

If they could do that....if they could bring in a Tasmanian Football League that suited the TASMANIAN environment, that could make the North V South rivalry a positive force for football instead of a negative.

Whatever they do, they cant have the north and south clubs play each other every week.

I think thats commercial suicide and they would end up back where they were ten years ago.

Tuesday, 4 March 2008
State League may kill NTFL
Wynyard would leave competition while other clubs don't see it working
By CHLOE HOPE

"NO" is the Wynyard Football Club's emphatic stance on the proposed State League.
"It will kill our club," president Dale Hutton said.
There are fears smaller NTFL clubs could move to country leagues if a State League is established, as proposed next season, endangering the existence of the NTFL itself.

http://nwtasmania.yourguide.com.au/...-other-clubs-dont-see-it-working/1195406.html

Hutton said he would be happy for AFL Tasmania to demonstrate in detail how the State League would work and benefit the smaller clubs.
http://nwtasmania.yourguide.com.au/...-other-clubs-dont-see-it-working/1195406.html

How the State League will benefit the smaller clubs?

The State League isn't here to benefit the smaller clubs Hutton you idiot, it's here to strengthen the Devils because Cressa said that's what we need!

But hey, when they do tell you how it will benefit the smaller clubs, please let us know.

I very much look forward to Wade and Co's answer!

Support for new league
JAMES BRESNEHAN
March 06, 2008 12:00am
THE nine-team State League football competition set down for 2009 has kicked a major goal, with 90 per cent of clubs surveyed showing support for the proposed new tier-one competition
In October when AFL Tasmania launched its comprehensive plan to revamp the structure of football throughout the state, the reception for a statewide competition was only lukewarm.

However, a survey of 24 major clubs over the past three weeks has returned an overwhelming green light for the State League.

It has many hurdles still to jump, but it was crucial to get clubs hooked on the idea.

"The survey was designed to find out what questions the clubs had about the proposed model for a state league," AFL Tasmania general manager Scott Wade said yesterday.

Interestingly, the survey did not ask directly whether clubs wanted a state league, rather if they wanted to know more about it.

"The survey was to find out if the clubs supported the model we released in late October, and, if not, what model they do support," Wade said.

"The overwhelming response from clubs is that they want to know more about the State League.

"Importantly, 90 per cent of them want to be part of the task force process that will shape the development of Tasmanian football. We also know that there are numerous clubs interested in exploring playing at the highest level State League."

The model for revamping Tasmanian football places the Devils' VFL team at the top of the pile, followed by a seniors-only State League consisting of nine teams, then a tier-two level of three regional leagues (North-West, North and South), each consisting of eight teams.

Of the State League teams, three would come from the North-West Coast (Burnie, Central Coast and Devonport), three from around Launceston (North and South Launceston, and the Meander area) and three from Hobart (Northern Suburbs, Eastern Shore, and a combined Hobart/Kingborough side).

AFL Tasmania will now meet with the clubs and league officials over the next six to eight weeks to hear their views on what shape football in Tasmania should take.

"Once we have done that, we will report back to the board of AFL Tasmania, because it is ultimately their decision on what will be done," Wade said.

A major stumbling block for the proposed model could be that it calls for each of the nine participating clubs to be started from scratch.
http://www.news.com.au/mercury/story/0,22884,23328014-13222,00.html

Statewide won't get up. The stumbling block will be $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$. Scott Wade should be held accountable for the terrible state our VFL side is in.Why do people think a State Wide Comp will lift the standard of football.

SFL wary of state league plan
JAMES BRESNEHAN
March 08, 2008 12:00am
SOUTHERN Football League clubs may have agreed to take part in AFL Tasmania's "taskforce" to explore a proposed state league competition next season but yesterday warned there was little interest from their players.
What's more, none of them believe the state league idea will work.

New SFL boss Paul Harriss said yesterday the Premier League and Regional League clubs were far from impressed with the model put forward for a state league in 2009.

It calls for three new clubs in each of the state's South, North and North-West.

The SFL clubs feel a state league would be costly, would cannibalise the existing football structure in the South and would struggle for a supporter base.

The proposed state league will be a hot topic when the SFL clubs next meet on March 31.

"The view of the clubs is every club has an open mind about it at this stage, which is why they have indicated they are prepared to participate in the taskforce," Harriss said.

"They made it very clear to me that there's not much interest from their players for the state league model which has been proposed -- three nebulous clubs to be created in the South.

"There's no question at all among the clubs that they simply don't see how in any practical way the state league as proposed can work."

A questionnaire sent to SFL clubs last month asked if they would be prepared to participate in the taskforce to develop a state league.

It did not ask if they supported a state league.

Clubs were also told that if they were not involved in the taskforce, they could not be in the discussion process.

"The clubs are also pretty annoyed that, in their words to me, they have been told it's not up to debate, there will be a state league in 2009, do you want to be part of the discussion process," Harriss said.

AFL Tasmania will meet the clubs and league officials over the next six to eight weeks to hear their views on the new look for Tasmanian football.

"Once we have done that, we will report back to the board of AFL Tasmania because it is ultimately their decision what will be done," AFL Tasmania general manager Scott Wade said.

http://www.news.com.au/mercury/story/0,22884,23340160-13222,00.html

Hey guys...world's biggest Tasmanian footy fan here, 38yo, 12 years in Qld, South Launceston junior and fan, and Devils nut -

www.tassiedevils.moonfruit.com

I personally believe that regional footy is the only way we'll achieve any strength or stability in the local stuff. I was a big fan of the SW league, but that started early because my own side inexplicably made it in - any Launceston , Scottsdale or City fan who was there in the mid-80's will tell you of their disbelief when underachievers East Launceston were accepted as the second northern side in late 1985...many of my rival mates back then gave up on it straight away, and never bothered, instead grimacing as the NTFA was swallowed by a stronger NWFU...the North lost its GF, identity, the rep colours were lost, and then over time out went the teams too, into leagues they could afford to play in...long story short, once the North/NW sides bought into SW and the South reneged on its promise to go from 6 to 4 SW sides, it all died...the fiasco of 1994 Launceston and aborted Ulverstone, then the crumbling from 1997 to 2000 just showed how bad things could become...

The NTFL has done well, however...very robust league, insular in its attitude to everyone else (!)...I can't comment on the South, but I'll always be wary of any comp that willingly embraces promotion and relegation - it's the best way to f### a sport, I say, and to compound things further - unlike the EPL, there's no money!

Let's put it this way - how many of you want a relocated VFL side as our new AFL team representing Tasmania? None of us! We all say, even the Hawk supporters, that we deserve the Mighty Dark Green, and nothing short. The same argument applies here, and I heard all this in 1985 at school! Tell a successful NTFL side that their application was rejected, and you've just lost a huge chunk of support...

To me, however, if you tell the local NTFL side that they have the chance of taking out a valued Tasmanian premiership against the South, and that we're all equal in an equal setup, then we have something we could use...

I favour an amalgamated NTFL/STFL scenario where the big games are the combined final series - the big flag is the state premiership. We could be looking at a 20-odd team league here, but I see no value in a statewide comp half the state won't follow. We should be using our intrastate b!tchy rivalry, our regional insularity, as a weapon, not as an obstacle we need to overcome.

And then we need to fix the Hobart Devils, but that's another story...

Friday, 4 April 2008
State league summit - Coastal footy clubs gather to talk about premier division
By ANGUS LIVINGSTON
THE impact on player numbers and finances are AFL Tasmania's main concerns as it proceeds with plans for a State football league.
In a questionnaire sent to 24 clubs across the State, the AFL quizzed committees on player numbers, finances and volunteer numbers.

http://nwtasmania.yourguide.com.au/...r-to-talk-about-premier-division/1216188.html

Monday, 7 April 2008
Clubs back State league EXCLUSIVE
By ANGUS LIVINGSTON

EIGHT clubs have agreed "in principle" to plans for the new nine-club State league - with Ulverstone the only one which has not signed on.
The Advocate understands AFL Tasmania's new plan for the league has been unofficially circulated to the clubs targeted to be involved.
Two of the three Coastal targets - Burnie and Devonport - have given in-principle support.
Launceston, South Launceston and the Northern Bombers have also agreed to the plan, while Glenorchy, Clarence and North Hobart are on board.
url]http://nwtasmania.yourguide.com.au/news/sport/afl/clubs-back-state-league-exclusive/1217867.html[/url]

The more I read about it, the more stupid it gets...

Because the Devils were "insipid" for a season, we now have to overhaul the entire structure of Tasmanian footy...?!? Hello - anyone remember 3 straight finals appearances before linking up with the Kangas...?

And we'll do it by telling all the other sides outside these 9 to f### off, while still sizing up which of their players will be taken...these 9 sides aren't even representative of the Tasmanian population, because noone lives in frigging Ulverstone, while half of the state will be split between only 3 Southern sides...

I remember East being told by Longford, who were zoned to them, to p!$$ off when they tried to schedule a meeting regarding Longford players who could play for East in 1986...will anything change...? Longford were anti-S.League from the beginning...and to be honest, why shouldn't they look out for themselves...? It's sides like that who were the casualties 20 years ago, good country sides who ended up in lower leagues because they couldn't handle the sustained travel...

I say Northern and Southern divisions of a united Tasmanian league involving all teams - noone goes. Let the regions sort out their club balance (e.g. East and Devonport, exactly which Southern regional side should join the old TANFL big boys...etc...), but not by stealing players from each other to feed a supercomp no one but the supporters of those teams will follow.

How about this: Play your season in your region. Then a top 5 in each region plays as normal through the EF/QF and Semi weeks of the finals. The 2nd semi final winners get a week's rest as usual, but instead of a GF, they play against the winner of the other region's PF instead at home - North 1 v South 2, South 1 v North 2. And here's the best bit - if the resultant losers are from the same region, they can play off for a regional flag if they wish, while the other two play for the Tasmanian Premiership...5 week final series...not just a token end of season game with a grand title, but hey, if you want it, you can still have it...

I can't see how the new statewide setup will deliver an improved standard. You'll get a couple of superpowers, teams giving it up because of the travel (the Devils pay more than any local side, and yet we saw Derbyshire and Stephens give it up because of the grind - these guys are Tassie's elite, what about the average but still talented pleb who's in and out of the side for Burnie...?)...and when the token goodwill stuff ends, who's in control when the inevitiable parochialism pops up again...?

One of the bigger areas that crop up at a local level is where are the volunteers going to come from? We find it hard to chase up any new people to work on Match day, our social club workers are all aging and not many young ones are taking their places. When you think of how many people are involved in getting ready for a home game, working on the day and working at any social functions to raise funds for the clubs I just don't see how many clubs can stretch their volunteer base that far. And you are right about travel as well Gibbke, people just don't seem to want to travel to games anymore but when you think of how many people work full time now and usually have to commute its no wonder most just want to stay at home if they have to travel any distance to their teams away games.

Tuesday, 8 April 2008
NTFL clubs seek detail of State plan - No Coastal clubs outright against Tassie league
NTFL By ANGUS LIVINGSTON

THE shape of the new State league is becoming clearer after last night's meeting of the North-West taskforce in Ulverstone.
As revealed in The Advocate yesterday, the new proposal for the State league includes:
A seniors competition and under 23 or under 21 competition with a limited number of over-age players;
$50,000 a year for a development officer/ general manager;
Free buses to games;
No game levies;
No annual licence fees.
http://nwtasmania.yourguide.com.au/...s-outright-against-tassie-league/1218391.html

From the Examiner today(need credits to access online)
Statewide League 'still long way off'
The return to a Statewide Football League is still a long way off according to Launceston Football Club president Mark Thurlow.
Thurlow said he was furious at reports that Launceston and other clubs including the Northern Bombers and South Launceston had already signed off on a nine team State competition scheduled to start in 2009.
"I don't know where this information is coming from but at no stage has Launceston signed anything," he said.
"No principal plans for a new competition have been put in front of us and I would say there would have to be at least 50 points that are still to be discussed"
AFL Tasmania has started the task force meeting with Launceston, the Northern Bombers and South Launceston attending a meeting last Thursday and the major North West clubs met in Ulverstone last night.
Thurlow made the trip from Launceston to attend the meeting and he said it was the role of the task force to seek information from the clubs.
"Any Statewide League is still a long way off, there is so much to be discussed," he said.
Terry Morris

The more I read about it, the more stupid it gets...

I say Northern and Southern divisions of a united Tasmanian league involving all teams - noone goes. Let the regions sort out their club balance (e.g. East and Devonport, exactly which Southern regional side should join the old TANFL big boys...etc...), but not by stealing players from each other to feed a supercomp no one but the supporters of those teams will follow.

How about this: Play your season in your region. Then a top 5 in each region plays as normal through the EF/QF and Semi weeks of the finals. The 2nd semi final winners get a week's rest as usual, but instead of a GF, they play against the winner of the other region's PF instead at home - North 1 v South 2, South 1 v North 2. And here's the best bit - if the resultant losers are from the same region, they can play off for a regional flag if they wish, while the other two play for the Tasmanian Premiership...5 week final series...not just a token end of season game with a grand title, but hey, if you want it, you can still have it...

I like it. That's pretty much the same as what I suggested on page 4 of this thread. I even sent my idea to Scott Wade and got a response.

Seems like they have other plans tho ...A mini AFL for Tassie = disaster!

I'm heading back down there for a 12 day tour next week. :)

I like it. That's pretty much the same as what I suggested on page 4 of this thread. I even sent my idea to Scott Wade and got a response.

Seems like they have other plans tho ...A mini AFL for Tassie = disaster!

I'm heading back down there for a 12 day tour next week. :)

The difference in mine is that the combined part of the finals starts a week earlier - yours is like the Superbowl (the AFC and NFC never meet in the playoffs until a single rep is decided from each conference), but in mine you could conceivably have two North or two South teams playing off for the state flag...I decided on this because the biggest danger is that the state GF would be seen as a mere exhibition match if it was the only time STFL and NTFL sides ever met, a week after their "real" GF's...this was a common occurence in the old days...and if there's a difference in standard between the two comps, the two losers of the PF's could still face off for a regional flag the next week alongside the state GF if both were from the same region...a 3rd place playoff could be a possibility if you have the venue booked and need to honour the commitment, but these end up being a w@nk usually...

It must be noted that there would be no real changes to either league in this set up, outside the last fortnight of finals...you gain nothing in team rationalisation, player streaming and development within clubs, yadda yadda...all the finalists would need to do is check that a bus is available on PF weekend if they finish second! I'm sure Wade and co would take one look at this and say "what's the point", because it sounds like they're hell-bent on cutting teams to fit a model...personally, I just feel at the end of the day in the long term, all they'd have done would be to axe and cripple a lot of teams, and in our sparsely populated state, gathered many but not enough of the best footballers to create a reasonably but not emphatically higher standard comp...so will it be worth the cost? Sure, all of the old TFL sides went back and dominated their regions after 2000, but hey - the SW comp died and noone was talking about it until the AFL gave us an extra $2m from the billions they had in the bank! Hello...can anyone else see a problem here...?

i roll my eyes as i see the same mistakes about to be made again...

devonport and burnie will spend themselves into a hole when travel expenses get to them and no one outside of their traditional supporter base will support them.

south launceston will get teary and continuously threaten to leave the league when no one wants to play at youngtown.

glenorchy will let their stupid pride get in the way as they forget about financial sensibility and do whatever it takes to compete with clarence.

don't ask me why, but for some reason, as far as statewide footy is concerned, north launceston and clarence have always been, and will always be, the glamour clubs.

the smartest team in the state has always been, and will always be ulverstone, so long as they stay away from this thing which will be a disaster.

once again we will have a statewide league, and local clubs will be left to flounder. only this time it will be worse, because there is another couple of layers of crap in tassie footy since the SWL folded - AFL tas have become the most power hungry, ego maniacal organisation in the history of sport, and we have the devils sucking sponsorship, money, players and resources out of the rest of tassie footy.

what do i think?

what i say now i have said before...

the problem was that there was never any direction in tassie footy - everything that happened over the last 10 years just happened.

a decision should've been made when the SWL folded - were we happy with a northern comp and a southern comp? or was the goal to once again have a statewide league?

no decision was ever made. the decision by default was that we would forever be happy with a northern comp and a southern comp. its how the best clubs and the best players all clamoured to the same leagues (this is particularly the case in north - in the south there was no real option).

this was fine... but now we're talking about a statewide league again, and the structure of footy in tas over the last 10 years has not benefited this goal.

when the SWL folded, i was always of the impression that it was only a matter of time until the SWL was restarted. so what should've happened was a return to regional competition. a north, a northwest, and a south.

a statewide league would run in one of two ways - 2 teams would come from each region, autonomous of the other clubs. players would strive for the higher level of footy, which would be these teams... one would take in the clubs west of ulverstone, one would take in clubs east of ulverstone, the clubs in the north would be divided by the 'invisible line' through launceston, and the south would see one eastern shore and one western side club.

the other option would've been a 9 team competition with the top 3 teams from each region. the teams would promote out of the sfl, ntfa or ntfl, so they wouldn't have a senior team in that comp. each year the premier would promote to the statewide league, and the bottom team from each region would promote. this is a model that i really like.

however, this is all pie in the sky stuff - bombers, devonport and burnie had no faith in a competition that didn't involved each other, and no leadership or direction ever came from the top.

so what's the answer now? forget about it... a statewide league isn't needed. what we need is to either forget about the devils, or we should aim for another tassie team in the vfl.

what? i hear u say - another team when the devils already suck?

the devils suck because outside of the suits at AFL tas, no one has any faith or interest in the devils - not the public, and not the players.

if we stop forcing players to move to hobart, and if we stop pressuring players to be involved in a devils set up in which no one is interested, then i think the situation is improved.

if the devils are rebadged hobart, and guys only have to associate with a training program and team mates based in hobart, they're more likely to support it.

similarly, if we have a northern team, players will not be pressured to move to hobart, the public will support the team, and with that public support, players will be more interested.

lets forget about the statewide league. for it to work properly will need 5 years worth of structural change.

of course, being tasmania, this won't happen - they'll jump in feet first, and then wonder what the hell they're going to do in 5 years when it goes belly up... again.

Do the players want a Statewide League?

Anyone out there know what the players really want when it comes to the SWL?

My mail is it's just a formality and that the ABC are going to cover it.

Assuming the will broadcast a game on the days the Devils are in Melbourne.

Thinking you can't have the Devils and the SWL side by side.

As for two VFL sides out of Tassie. Get real! There is surely not the talent around.

Where will it all lead all this stuff? It's a bit of a worry.

Tuesday, 15 April 2008
Gloves are off NTFL says there's no support for State league - NTFL says there's no support for State league
By CHLOE HOPE

NTFL clubs have officially distanced themselves from any in-principle support for the proposed State League, just as AFL Tasmania revealed more of its plans.
NTFL general manager Ian Wotherspoon said despite suggestions that the majority of clubs had given some semblance of support to the proposal, many NTFL club officials had sought him out to deny their support.
"Was the feeding of that story part of AFL Tas's propaganda," Wotherspoon wondered.
http://nwtasmania.yourguide.com.au/...e39s-no-support-for-state-league/1223427.html

Tuesday, 15 April 2008
'Tis season to be wary

HO HO HO - look what Father Christmas is prepared to give selected NTFL clubs if they agree to join the proposed State league.
$50k, no home game levies, a guarantee of 70 per cent of games played in their local area, and all buses to away games paid for.
For this privilege, clubs have to trade away their under 19 and second tier players (people); run the risk of losing the foundation of their football club (more people), and most importantly, desert a competition that was gracious enough to throw out the lifebuoy when the very same administration left Devonport and Burnie bobbing around in the ocean just a few years back.
Jump this time and there will be no parachute to pull - there will be nothing to come back to.
I'm certain we're not dealing with Santa Claus.
http://nwtasmania.yourguide.com.au/news/sport/other/tis-season-to-be-wary/1223426.html

Tuesday, 15 April 2008
'Tis season to be wary

HO HO HO - look what Father Christmas is prepared to give selected NTFL clubs if they agree to join the proposed State league.
$50k, no home game levies, a guarantee of 70 per cent of games played in their local area, and all buses to away games paid for.
For this privilege, clubs have to trade away their under 19 and second tier players (people); run the risk of losing the foundation of their football club (more people), and most importantly, desert a competition that was gracious enough to throw out the lifebuoy when the very same administration left Devonport and Burnie bobbing around in the ocean just a few years back.
Jump this time and there will be no parachute to pull - there will be nothing to come back to.
I'm certain we're not dealing with Santa Claus.
http://nwtasmania.yourguide.com.au/news/sport/other/tis-season-to-be-wary/1223426.html

What a spot on article Ned Perry. And that goes for last week's article too on the mariners. How can we have an elite u/18 comp, Statewide comp and the Devils running in Tasmania and expect it to be workable. Players won't go for it and the supporters won't go for it.

Statewide League 2008